Airline of the Year  

American Eagle

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 100 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Very disorganized and chaotic "

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to Charlotte. Very disorganized and chaotic at the boarding gate in Toronto. Delayed 90 minutes deleting. Maintenance. No food or what're nearby (Gate A9). Nearest food/refreshment A19. On arrival 15 minute delay at arrival gate - no gate agent. Really? The inability to get the easy things causes me to question the company's ability to execute safely.
AircraftCanadair CL 65
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Charlotte
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"unpleasant all around"

(United States)

Verified Review | Los Angeles to San Francisco. I'm a platinum level member of American Airlines. I travel the SFO to LAX with return flight almost weekly. 2017 they made changes subbing out the short flights to American eagle. American eagle is already inconvenient due to the shuttle bus you have to take from the main terminals. Everything is slow and experience is unpleasant all around. So far this year 4 of 4 flights have had significant mechanical plane failures where I've been delayed up to three hours at a time. Unless AA changes these routes to normal planes in and out of terminal four at LAX they are going to lose a very valuable customer.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteLAX to SFO
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"satisfactory experience"

(Qatar)

Verified Review | Houston to Chicago. This was a codeshare flight with Etihad. Had a smooth checkin and courteous check in staff at IAH Houston. I lnked the aircraft as it was my first Embraer aircraft experience, just a basic aircraft with no frills and hype. 2x2 seat configuration and was served a coke and pretzels. Overall a satisfactory experience with American Eagle.
AircraftEmbraer 175
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIAH to ORD
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"worst experience ever"

(United States)

Ft Walton to Albany via Washington. The attitude of the person at the desk was inapproprate. The airline overbooked the flight and was asking for a person to come forward and take a later flight. Why airlines overbook I'll never know but his attitude was really nasty. He said in an annoyed voice that if no one came forward it will delay the flight and everyone would miss there connecting flight. Sounded like a threat to me and many other people. Secondly to make your connecting flight you have to be bused from the plane to a waiting area and then bused back. People wind up standing - on the bus both ways, in the waiting area etc. I fortunately had check my bag at Ft. Walton but those that did not have to get their luggage and bring it on the bus both ways. What a mess. Will never fly American again. Worst experience ever and I fly quite often!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVPS to ALB via IAD
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"if you can avoid American"

(United States)

Check-in was smooth. Staff nice for the most part. Seats are uncomfortable. All flights have been delayed, or cancelled. Flying back to Manchester (NH) flight was delayed and weren't able to fly back until 3 days later, staff did not handle, and we were yelled at. We decided to fly JetBlue to Boston the next day and rent a car to drive to Manchester. We didn't get a refund, or money, or credits, for staying at the airport hotel overnight, the JetBlue flight or the rental car. If you can avoid American.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMHT to PHL via DCA
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"delayed again, then canceled"

(United States)

Avoid American Eagle at all costs. I live near Roanoke and most of my flights have to go through American Eagle. I have lived in the area for 3 years and never had an on time flight with them. The last time I flew with them, they canceled my flight at boarding time "because there weren't enough people", and I swore them off. I had no choice today, however, and now I'm typing this from a hotel in Charlotte after my flight was delayed, then delayed again, then canceled.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteROA to CLT
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a vast contrast"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew American Eagle from Columbus to New York. There is a vast contrast between flying American Airlines mainline and American Eagle. American Eagle (AE) is to be avoided if you have any other option, especially if your route uses one of their old embraer or bombardier planes that insist on gate checking roll on bags, CRJ700, ERJ140 and ERJ145. American Airlines mainline are my airline of choice especially when flying internationally. I fly AE in and out of Columbus frequently to connect with the AA mainline international flights. I used to book Delta Connect (DC) flights on separate tickets to avoid AE but the DC schedules changed making that option impractical. As examples, with AE you have a 50/50 chance of arriving in Columbus and having to wait a couple of hundred yards back from the gate for about 10 minutes until the below wing ground handlers saunter out of their break room to marshall the aircraft onto stand. You can then wait an average of 15-20 minutes to have your gate checked bag delivered back to the jet bridge. DC normally do this in under 3 minutes for the same aircraft type. If you hold check a bag you better allow yourself a full 45 minutes before it will be delivered on the carousel. With any weather disruptions anywhere in the AA network they will delay and cancel the AE flights, especially the flights in and out of their 2nd tier bases, to the benefit of the mainline and hub flights. Then you will get a shrug of the shoulders from their staff and a statement that because it is weather related the airline bears no responsibility for any delays etc.. You will have about a 20% chance of a maintenance issue on any given flight with this older fleet. Normally it will take 20 minutes to fix the issue and then typically an hour to update the maintenance logbook before you journey can continue. It is unfortunate that the AE below wing operations are so bad as their above wing staff do appear to hustle and to be nice to the passengers.
AircraftE145
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteCMH to LGA
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"gave a snack and beverage service"

(United States)

Phoenix to Bakersfield with American Eagle. Very quick flight 1 hour and 10 minutes. It was on time departure and arrival. Planes are the smaller ones like 25 seats. I had a aisle seat. It was fine for economy and the size of the plane. Comfortable flight. Flight attendant gave a snack and beverage service. Nice to have a service from Bakersfield to Phoenix. Both ways the plane is plenty full.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePHX to BFL
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"extremely rude to us"

(United States)

Coming back from Phoenix to Des Moines over spring break. Tried to check in curb side (as others were already doing). No one seemed to know what was going on. We were told to go the the guy next to one lady. He sent us back to her. They were both extremely annoyed with us. Then she sent us back to him and he said his computer wasn't working to go inside and check in. There were several people outside that were able to check in except for us. They were extremely rude to us. Went inside to check in and it was compete chaos. The check in computers were not very user friendly. Everyone working seemed extremely stressed out. Finally got up to the gate and once again they were stressed out saying they were short of help. The seats on the planes both going to and coming home were the most uncomfortable seats that we have ever had to sit in. Will definitely avoid American if possible.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePHX to DSM
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"wonderful in-flight staff"

(United States)

No overhead space to speak of, wonderful in-flight staff. Flight on time, and very comfortable seats. These planes are really too small for people of my stature. It is very sad what American Airlines has done to STL, with sad and disgruntled staff.
AircraftRegional Jet
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteSTL to ORD
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 100 Reviews