American Eagle

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 113 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Don’t fly American"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Philadelphia to Myrtle beach. Sat on the tarmac while pilot told us weather was bad. Flight cancelled and returned to gate. Rebooked 24 hours later. No one offered meal or hotel. Turns out it was not weather but a technical issue. Why can airlines lie and get away with it? Don’t fly American.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhiladelphia to Myrtle beach
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Why did I pay extra"

(United States)

Not Verified | Mazatlan to Dallas Ft.Worth. The plane had only 1 working bathroom which resulted in the aisle being blocked for almost the entire flight. This is unsafe and inconveniet. When I checked in, even though I paid extra for my ticket to be able to have a carry on, they made me check it. I told them I didn't want to because I had medicine in it. They told me to take the meds out and check it. Why did I pay extra for my ticket?
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMazatlan to Dallas Ft.Worth
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

American Eagle customer review

(United States)

Trip Verified | Never fly this airline. They failed two times to tell me I was standby on the next flight and the next day also. My handicapped friend & I waited five hours to be told that. I could have booked another airline or drove to JFK for my connecting flight on British Airways. I was surprising my daughter for mother's day, flying back with her to Lebanon. Approx $1200 later I am rescheduling until Sept after driving from Michigan to Cleveland so my sister would care for my animals. Terrible, no response from them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCleveland to New York JFK
Date FlownMay 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

2marked decline in reliability"

(United States)

Trip Verified | College Station to Washington via Dallas. I have flown out of College Station for six years. I have noticed a marked decline in the reliability and on-time performance of the American Eagle flights in the past year or so. I have flown four times in the past couple of months, and each time the flight was delayed at least an hour. Today I scheduled a connection with an extra hour of connection time, but it is not enough. I am going to miss the connection. I fly internationally quite often and have given up trying to fly American Eagle for those trips, because missing the connection is not something you can recover from. The thing I hate the most is the way they say, delayed 20 minutes. Then delayed an hour. Then delayed an hour and 10 minutes. Then delayed two hours. etc. If the delay were at least estimated with a little more accuracy, then a person could make plans. The problem is that the planes are so ancient that there are constant maintenance problems. This airline, like nearly all US carriers, is a mess. It is just terrible. If I had any choice at all about travel, I would not fly American Airlines, but in my town there are very limited options. Unfortunately American Eagle does not give a darn about its quality of service. The ground crew in CLL just shrugs their shoulders. Not their fault.
AircraftERJ-145
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCollege Station to Washington via Dallas
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"never fly American Airlines"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Louisville to Dallas. We arrived at the airport at 416pm because our flight was set to leave at 635 PM. The boarding pass at first was not confirmed at the ticket desk. The staff had to go get a supervisor. He said she could not find it because my flight had been changed to depart at 8pm. Instead of gate 29 we were now 49. We walked to 49. I looked at my phone and at 417pm and got an alert starting the flight would be late. I was already at the ticket desk by then. Then after sitting for two hours next to gate 49 they announced my flight gate had changed to 1. I have a fused foot and if my daughter had not been with me I would not have made that walk with my luggage in time. I will never fly American Airlines or its affiliates ever again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLouisville to Dallas
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"cramped into the shuttle bus"

(Canada)

Verified Review | After the 50 passengers were cramped into the shuttle bus, we were told the pilot requested mechanics to deal with a technical issue and we would have to wait a "couple of minutes". 10 min later, with doors closed it was hard to breath. The driver cranked the AC to full blast and opened the doors and now we were freezing. After 30 min standing in a cold, packed bus, we were told we would go back to the terminal. Another 10 min later the issue was solved by an off duty mechanic, and we were lucky to be on our way. In short, it was disrespectful, and a health hazard experience.
AircraftERJ 145
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington DC to Toronto, Canada
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Generally unfriendly service"

(United States)

Verified Review | This was a top to bottom terrible experience with American Eagle. I usually fly Delta and now know why. This flight was booked for me for business. Generally unfriendly service especially by gate staff that either seem inexperienced or poorly trained. 1 to 1.5 hour delays on O'Hare-Wichita both ways, with a 20 min wait on tarmac at O'Hare from CVG due to no boarding tunnel driver. 3 gate changes at O'Hare within 45 min. Late arrival, arrived at hotel after mignight for AM talk. Coming home, was reassured connection would be no problem, then progressive delays and missed connection. Was told by attendant there would be customer service agent to rebook and arrange hotel, but there was none. Gate staff was grumpy and blithely said no hotel because was weather delay, then I asked her to confirm, she reluctantly called and confirmed it was mechanical. Took 15 min to get hotel voucher 30 min away and told could call for shuttle, called hotel and they said no shuttle and airline "always does that". Returned to gate and another 15 for cab voucher, still had to cover tip. Hotel at midnight, rebooked for 8am flight. Meal voucher $7 did not cover meal at airport. Flight itself was average enough, arrived safely. Given option, would not travel on American again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWichita to Cincinnati via Chicago
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"I couldn't pick a seat"

(United States)

Verified Review | Albany to Chicago. This plane is clean and attendants pleasant. But I'm upset with the fact I couldn't pick a seat and I am assigned the last seat 18 that does recline. I have a health issues where I would have never chosen this seat. This plane is small and cramped. For where I'm destined I could have picked my usual airline but was suggested by the IT company that is flying me out to pick this one or another airline. I am sadly disappointed. If I can avoid this airline in the future I will. Seat comfort is zero. The lower part of the back indents in so I am hunched forward in this seat that can't recline.
AircraftCRJ 700
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteAlbany to Chicago
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"hated their jobs and were lazy"

(United States)

Verified Review | Monroe to Dallas Ft Worth. I have never in my adult life had the flight attendants be so lazy. They were nice, but when it was time for beverages, they not only left out the part where they tell you what they have, by they requested that everyone keep their order to one drink per person (it came off rude). Then the gal walked through with a box holing the snacks and just put it in front of each passanger to get their own snack and then they came through with the drink cart, once my snack was already almost gone. And then why I was surprised, but they came over the speaker to tell everybody to put their shades down, before we landed, so the plane wouldn't get hot. Never have I ever felt like the flight attendants hated their jobs and were lazy.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMonroe to Dallas Ft Worth
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"they allowed overbooking"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Chicago to Toronto, they allowed overbooking - resulted in finding volunteers in current flight to move to next flight and resulted in delaying. I was very surprised by the fact that they allowed overbooking, and they had to find 4 volunteers to move to the next flight. The crew member mentioned that the current flight will not be going anywhere until they find volunteers to move to the next flight. Is this a joke? It's a simple math that if the flight is full, they should not take any more customers, but it happened. Not only this delayed the departure time, they provided no compensation whatsoever for people who waited to meet their schedule; this is outrageous. They are ruthless when it comes to customers being late to board on the flight, and if it's other way around, they want our patience - very frustrating. Another problem was that the flight landed in Cleveland to fuel their gas. This was very upsetting because this implies that they did not fully fuel their gas to get to Toronto. I can't stop myself thinking that they can't do math. This delayed another 2 hours or so, and we finally landed to Toronto at 5:00 pm, instead of 2:31 pm. I have nothing more to say about this airplane other than it's stupid and lazy. Only good thing to talk about is that the flight crew lady on the plane was very nice and tried her best to keep us calm. She needs a raise for covering others' problems.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no