Verified reviews  

Air Mauritius

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 130 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"do not recommend this airline"

(Norway)

Verified Review | London Heathrow to Mauritius with Air Mauritius. Staff was helpful and friendly. Food was very average. Entertainment was very tragic. This route uses the old style entertainment system Which plays a set number of films on loop. Inflight entertainment system was old and not flexible and the screens were unclear. Bad quality monitors and headphones, nothing was to actually see and hear. The seat were uncomfortable, very little legroom. They lost my luggage, no one knew why or where it was, we waited 5 days for luggege without any information from the Air Mauritius what happened, when we could expect it . We got 2000MUR (ca. 40 GBP) as atonement, but it was enough only for a swimsuit and shampoo. We do not recommend this airline at all.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to MRU
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"pricing was competitive"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew London Heathrow to Mauritius. Great service from Air Mauritius, seats ok, inflight entertainment not so good, food ok at best. Travelled from London Heathrow a week before on a 747 when service was again excellent, food really good, inflight entertainment ok but big downside were seats where legroom was poor. I believe 747s are being replaced in next year or so. Service at airport check-in at both airports was very friendly, helpful and efficient. Luggage all arrived. Pricing was competitive. I would use again.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMRU to LHR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"aircraft has seen better days"

(United States)

Verified Review | Singapore to Mauritius. Air Mauritius is frightfully expensive. I paid twice as much for this 7 hour flight as I paid for a 22 hour flight trans-pacific on another carrier. I take my hat off to the cabin and ground crew, they are well trained and in most cases love their jobs. Their smiles are genuine and are attentive to passengers (or to me at least!). The aircraft has seen better days. Entertainment system was old and screen was small. I don't even watch TV. No wi-fi. Seat Livery could do with a makeover - looks a little chintzy, though you can tell it was inspired by the colors of Mauritius, the seats being turquoise to match the natural lagoon. Staff were well-dressed in navy jackets, white shirts and really awesome rainbow scarves. Food wasn't bad. I think I had some stir fried veggies and rice (Oriental Vegetarian meal). Was hoping they'd surprise us with Haagen Dazs ice-cream but they didn't. Do you want to go to Mauritius? If you do, I recommend Air Mauritius, as it's the only way you can get there.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to MRU
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"meal very average"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Mauritius to London Heathrow with Air Mauritius. Staff are perfectly friendly. Food is poor with the business class meal very average. No snacks available during the flight except the packets of pretzels which the staff went to get me from economy class. Entertainment is poor. This route uses the old style entertainment system which plays a set number of films (about 4 English language options) on loop. The seat is average - old style business class angled flat but with nice cushions. Route and timing is good - on time and direct to London is great.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMRU to LHR
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"food could be better"

(Belgium)

Flew Air Mauritius from Mauritius to Paris. Old plane but it was clean. Crew friendly and helpful and service was good. The food could be better. Space was acceptable. Inflight entertainment system was old and not flexible and the screens were unclear. For us not so important due to the fact that it was a night flight.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMRU to CDG
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"it was a good flight"

(Mauritius)

Mauritius to Kuala Lumpur and return with Air Mauritius. Check in was smooth and efficient. Flight was half full. Flight attendants pleasant and helpful. Food was ok, but was better on inbound flight. Entertainment was adequate for the flight with AVOD. Seat comfortable for 7 hour flight, regular drinks service by crew. a small snack was served before landing, which could be improved. Overall, it was a good flight.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMRU to KUL
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"no flat bed is provided"

(Australia)

Perth to Mauritius was excellent. Day flight, very pleasant FA on my side, (the one on the other side clearly was not happy to there) great food. The trip back was a little disappointing. They ran out of my choice of food (fish) and instead of informing me and suggesting something else on the menu, they decided of give a disgusting, tasteless staff meal! I didn't know that and they only told me about it when I returned it untouched. In fairness, they then asked if I wanted something else. Way too late guys! Of course, by then I was put off by the whole thing and decided to sleep instead. No flat bed is provided and for the price you charge is just not on Air Mauritius. Shame on you! Flight Manager was a welcoming and very pleasant. Honesty and transparency is the best policy. Always inform the passenger first.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMRU to PER
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"very good experience"

(China)

Mauritius to Beijing with Air Mauritius. Very smooth check-in, immigration and security procedures at MRU airport. The A340 aircraft was a bit old but comfortable enough. Extremely good service by staff onboard and discrete meals. On-flight entertainment system could be improved but overall a very good experience.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMRU to PEK
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"am most impressed"

(Australia)

Perth to Johannesburg via Mauritius, and on the 4 flights I took in the last month I am most impressed. I flew with a 3 and 4 year old which I thought would be challenging but it wasn't. The crew were attentive and thoughtful, food delicious, drinks never ending, and the amenity kit great. The kids got packs (different) on all 4 flights. Kids meals were age appropriate and delicious. IFE a bit dated but enjoyable nonetheless. The only reason I don't score full marks is because of the seats - what is up with that crazy weird seat?
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePER to JNB via MRU
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"it's fairly comfortable"

(India)

Mumbai to Mauritius return with Air Mauritius. Somewhat dated aircraft with very sad IFE. The flights were on time, seats were comfortable, food was decent, and they still hand out amenity kits. Not exactly fabulous, but it's fairly comfortable. Wouldn't mind flying with them again if they ramp up their frequencies up a bit.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBOM to MRU
Date FlownMay 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes