Zanzibar Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 18 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"my worst airport experience"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | The airport is very chaotic, on arrival we stayed in a long queue, after some time the airport staff came to let us in, the whole document check took a lot of time, onle 2 offices for 300 people. At departure, we were 20th in the chech-in line, and it took us 2 hours to chech- in our luggage. This resulted in a delay of our departure time of chourse. I don't know if the issue was with the airport staff or the charter company ( Animawing) as the other queues went faster. They mixed the tickets from 2 different destinations for the same company, then they searched for our names on printed sheets. At the immigration check , they took all my fingerprints but none of my husbands. Security check was the lowest ever possible. This was my worst airport experience so far.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a stupid and short-sighted way to treat tourists"

(United States)

Not Verified | Where shall I start? How about with the fact that in order to board my outbound plane, which I had a confirmation code for and a receipt, they claimed "There was no reservation." This resulted in visiting four "offices" and "officials". I was at the point of missing my flight and therefore my safari. I am embarrassed to admit I burst into tears. When I produced a $100 bill, they "found" my reservation. I was routed through Zanzibar on another portion of my trip to Africa and another mess! The rude gate agent would not listen to me when I said that my flight was called-I missed my flight and guess what? Yep - more $$$$$. I was also ripped off by the airport money exchange, their transport to the resort, and phone data purchase. Never, ever, ever will I go back to this island and I tell everyone of my experiences. This is a stupid and short-sighted way to treat tourists. For a temporary "win" they lose any future business and with media, it is an ignorant thing to do because the message gets out to the world.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"crammed into a stifling room without air conditioning"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Unpleasant. When I was there, hundreds of passengers were crammed into a stifling room without air conditioning. It's the kind of heat you can't imagine unless you experience it. (The small duty-free shop is air-conditioned so I spent a lot of time examining bottles of spirits and picking through trinkets.) Arrival wasn't much better. There were three different entry forms on offer and the staff member I asked said I should fill in all three. It turned out only one was right.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is pretty chaotic"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | The infrastructure is poor as expected. However, this can be managed if the weather is not hot. What makes the airport one of the worst is the staff. Unfriendly service almost everywhere especially in the lounge. This is better than the ground floor service (still bellow any standards). The airport is pretty chaotic and the security is more than questionable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"staff was helpful"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I did not experience any line ups or other issues experienced by others. The whole check-in process was easy and the staff was helpful in checking our bags all the way back to Canada. We visited the lounge upstairs but the lounge was very outdated with stale food. Not recommended but it is better than downstairs waiting lounge.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport I have ever seen"

(Italy)

Not Verified | The worst airport I have ever seen! No organization, huge queue, everyone asks for money, temperature inside is so hot you can’t imagine. I asked to switch on the aircon and they laughed at me for my request. Never again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"everything is chaotic"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Horrible airport, everything is chaotic and people constantly want money for everything. The security searched my husband’s bag (checked luggage) and decided that a mosquito repellent and a deodorant must go to rubbish cause of the inflatable liquid sign on them! You must be joking! When I explained to her the toiletries and personal care items are allowed and she could as well take another 5 items from my suitcase following her logic thinking, she said I need some education! Who is the one who needs education? Can’t even do her job properly. Or maybe she wanted me to “buy out” the items I was about to lose? Hah! The funny thing is that everybody who wants to visit Zanzibar will have to go through that horrendous experience as there is no alternative airport. Good luck to whoever is flying in the future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport I have ever visited"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I am lucky to have travelled to many remote places with small airports. Zanzibar is the worst airport I have ever visited. Arrival meant waiting for luggage in a barn in tropical heat as bags were hauled in 2 by 2. Departure started with queuing outside the airport for half an hour in heat for all passengers to put all their luggage through only 1 scanner. The entrance for this allowed only 1 person at a time to sort their stuff. Inside was hot, dirty and provided no information on flights. No one knew when planes were going or seemed to care. It would have made a good comedy sketch but this is an international airport handling thousands of passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"very small and only short walks"

(Sweden)

Not Verified | Old terminal building but very small and only short walks. Quick delivery of bags. Small souvenir shop where it is possible to find last minute items.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"cannot imagine how it is during high season"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | For arrival: there is only one place to collect your luggage, without belt, but anyway you won't miss it. The toilet next to arrival gate was clean, but very basic. Many moneyexchanger shop inside the airport with relatively good prices (little bit lower than outside, but much better than in Arusha) For departure: very basic airport, no airco, so as can be immagined, it is hot and humid. The check-in desk is basic (if don't want to call it old-fashioned). The waiting room is small and very basic, with few shops (agaim, warm!). The toilet is clean. Very good free wifi. Announcement is clear. My visit is at the end of high season, cannot imagine how it is during high season!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 18 Reviews