Male Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 19 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the stress of entry and exit"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Upon entering Male the customs agent was quite professional. Carts were easy to acquire as our luggage arrived fast and in poor condition (possibly due to GOFirst). One airport employee impeding our path to the exit was eagerly ready to stop us and ask ridiculous questions as if he was the actual customs agent. Annoyed that we were the only tourists stopped, we impatiently waited for his ego to be satisfied so that we could meet our arrival team and proceed with our holiday. While awaiting our boat we noticed how unbearably hot the airport felt and how few shopping/dining options there were. We tried to seek service at the local bank where we were met by a rude employee. Fortunately the duty free shop kept me busy. Upon departure we were fortunate to have a hotel escort. Onsite covid testing was quick and painless. Despite holding both a valid visa and boarding pass in my possession an agent appeared requesting to see each document that was painstakingly loaded into the online system for web check in. This agent then proceeded to photograph our passports. After listening to his excuses for almost 10 min in this insufferably hot airport the man instructed the check in agent to continue checking our luggage. Mind you this airport is the size of a shoebox. It cannot be this hard to manage people and processes. The island is beautiful but this inappropriate behavior is no boost for tourism. I would not recommend this island for the stress of entry and exit (despite how much you plan to invest in your holiday).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"We give the airport good marks"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | We used the airport facilities both for international arrival/departures and domestic (sea plane). The international part was no so bad at all; the Covid Clearance was fast and correct, luggage arrived within a reasonable time and all worked pretty well. Not really first class but not as bad as some reviews should indicated. Staff was courteous and friendly. The transfer to/from the sea plane terminal was bumpy (literally speaking) and luggage handling somewhat chaotic, but somehow it worked and with a bit of positive attitude, we really found it pretty good and quite amusing. The business class lounge was not the most modern and delicate one, for sure, but had what we needed and was quite comfortable. Check in "Qatar" was very well organized, friendly and correct in every way. Same for immigration and document control. We give the airport good marks, not need to worry when going to/from Maldives.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"absolute chaos on entering"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Very rude staff, absolute chaos on entering, security staff very rude and do not follow Airlines baggage policies, handled inside our bags without sanitising or changing gloves, tried to tell us we could not take Mosquito spray in our hold suitcase, took our umbrella off of us got safety issues, zero customer service here!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Holiday in Paradise but departure Airport is Hell"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Horrendous lines for the first bag check and temperature check before you enter the terminal, need around 30 minutes. Absolutely chaotic boarding, no seating, no separate lines for Business Class, no covid19 distancing at all. The boarding by busses needs 1.5 hours because they simply don't have enough busses if 5 aircraft's depart at the same time. Around every 15 minutes came one bus per Gate which only be load a maximum of 40 people due to covid19 restrictions. Holiday in Paradise but departure Airport is Hell.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"step up your services and speed at the airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Very slow, running late on our arrival and departure, nearly missed connecting flight back home because of slow progress at Male airport. Lovely Maldives, you are amazing but please step up your services and speed at the airport!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Absolutely poor customer service"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Horrible security airport service who has over redundant security check points, demanding customers to take on and take off stuff frequently. Disgusted by airport security guard who could not distinguish between being professional and being rude to boarding passenger who has forgotten to take off a belt while passing the metal detector gate. Just a command “take it off” is all that was issued and a chin upwards tilt to signal the passenger to start the security scan all over again. No please, no words. Absolutely poor customer service.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"this airport goes from bad to worse"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Second visit to Male airport in 7 years and this airport goes from bad to worse. Arrival was reasonable, even though we had to disembark the plane and walk around in airside with no guidance which terminal door to use to get into the airport. Then the bags get x-rayed on arrival, more queues there. No air conditioning and wifi requests your phone number and email address. Regardless, that was reasonably okay. Departure was ridiculous - you have to go through security twice, first queue was 30 min, then check in queue 20 mins, then another security queue 30 mins, then you reach the "duty free" that are more expensive than the hotels. The only cafe in the departure lounge had one guy at the cashier and one guy making coffees, and they also provide table service with that staff. Then you go to the gate and there is no seating, because all departure gates are in a single large room. Wifi requests your phone number, email address, and after capturing that, doesn't work. Disgrace.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"employees extremely rude"

(United States)

Male is a small but reasonably clean airport. You won't be able to find any interesting things to do here. It is fine to be a small airport, but the service of some airport employees is terrible. They were extremely rude and asked us to move our luggage outdoors only a few minutes after we finished our meals and are still waiting for our flight. Also, when I used the U.S. dollar bills that I received from an island resort, they asked me if I have a U.S. dollar bills in brand new condition and refuse to take the older bills. After I asked why, they reluctantly took the bills.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"not modern by any standards"

(India)

Verified Review | You cannot avoid Male airport if you are travelling to the Maldives. Not modern at all by any standards. They were making a modern terminal, but the new Govt. stopped the process for reasons best known to them. The terminal is old but manages. No aerobridges, you have to walk from the aircraft to the terminal and same for reverse. The terminal itself is clean. Immigration is fast and efficient both ways. Customs is also fast and they let you out fast. But once you're out of the customs, then there is no airconditioning and the terminal is quite warm. Plenty of seats but very few overhead fans. A few food stores, like Burger King and other restaurants, but very expensive. Water costs $1 and above for a 500ml. bottle, but there is also a water fountain near the exit, so if you have an empty bottle, you can refill it. They don't allow you to enter the checkin area till just before 3 hrs. of your flight, so if you arrive early then you have to sit in the outside area with only a few fans. Baggage storage is available for $5 a bag for 24 hrs. Toilets are there but not very clean. No free wifi, since you have to provide a local phone number to get a passcode to use the wifi. After checkin, the inside terminal is pretty much small, but a few charging points and a few internet terminals are provided for free use.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

Male Airport customer review

(Canada)

Massive renovation and rebuilding effort underway. Nothing to do after security and before passport control. New facility promises more. Let's hope so.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 19 Reviews