Cologne/bonn Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 72 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Atrocious queue management"

(Croatia)

Trip Verified | Mismanaged and understaffed! Atrocious queue management. Had a connecting flight with 1.5hrs in between. Took me over 1 15 minutes to get to my gate; thanks to having only 2 security gates open, and only after jumping the queue. I counted at least 10 flights departing within the following 60 minutes - doesn’t take a genius to count that this is insufficient. To add insult to injury the staff at security, clearly lacking any motivation, had absolutely no sense of urgency. I take about 30 flights a year and flown many airports - this has to be the worst experience I had. Curious and uncommon that even on connecting flights passengers had to leave the secure zone and go through security again. Surely if you’re struggling to manage security, you can reduce all the connecting passengers checks…
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very bad experience"

(Slovakia)

Trip Verified | Very bad experience, you can easily see the age of Terminal 1 everywhere you look at arrival, it's really quiet hard to navigate to get out of the arrival hall, escalators not working, getting to trains took 20min just walking on departure. Getting to departure hall was ok, not long waiting lines but the experience there was awful my flight was at 21:25 with many other departures around that time or later, but all shops started to close from 8pm, not enough places to sit, people sitting everywhere on the ground, long lines in restaurants/bars/cafes - worst experience were toilets, water everywhere on the ground.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst Airport I have been in"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This is the worst Airport I have been in. I was in transit from a RyanAir flight from Stansted to reach Corfu Airport with a second RyanAir flight. The first flight was scheduled to arrive 9.45am but actually arrived 9.59am and I was forced to get out from the departure area and to do security checks again. The second flight was leaving 11.25am with gate closing at 10.55am which gave me 56 minutes to pass security again and run to the gate. The queue to security checks was so huge that I would have needed more than 3 hours to complete it on time. The organization was a disaster and the number of security tracks was way to small compared to the number of passenger arriving. As a result I finally missed the connecting flight and I was forced to book another flight with stop in Budapest and pay for a hotel night. Companies should allow at least 3hr transit time in this case and not trying to sell faster tickets with insufficient transit times.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one hour and half on a queue"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | On last 29th July we flew from Cologne to Porto. We arrived at Cologne-Bonn airport two hours before to check in our suitcase with time and have time to have a snack and a drink, We spent one hour and half on a queue for arriving at control and we arrive at our gate just on time. When We passed the control the queue was much longer so I suppose that lot of people missed flights, In our flight lots of seats were empty when the person in check in said that it was impossible to change seats because the flight was full- I have travelled and used different airports in Europe and Canada and this is the worst I have never used.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport I've experienced"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Our first flight was from Manchester which had a delay as we arrived in Cologne. Then the staff there would not let us transit and made all passengers go to the exit. So we had to go back to departures and join the queue for security which was so long that we missed our connecting flight. I booked a further flight for later in the evening and we checked in online and joined the security line which ran for probably a mile all the way out of the airport. We arrived at the security line well before 3 hours. There were hundreds of passengers all stuck in the queue and due to this a lot would be missing their flights. There was one staff checking the boarding passes with one machine before letting you through into scan your bags at security. So there was a huge bottleneck there. Several people were jumping into the queues out of desperation. The staff were rude and not willing to answer any questions. The airport was badly signposted. All airline counters had signs saying no info, but they were happy to sell you tickets. I travel a lot and this is the worst airport I've experienced, just disorganised chaos. Hundreds of passengers missing flights because of the airports incompetency. Never flying through this airport again and I recommend other travellers to avoid this. Huge amount stress caused to me and my family due to their inability to manage an airport
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Most disappointing experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | One of my worst experiences! Only landed in Cologne to transfer - no signs of where to go, some signs even misleading, no staff anywhere and if you do get lucky finding one, they won't or can't help you because "this is not their job". Missed my flight as a result. Also, finding someone communicating in English is tough, they probably do understand but for some unknown reason refuse to answer other than in German. Most disappointing experience in a long time and my first missed flight ever.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I wouldn't fly from this airport again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I'm a frequent traveller, 6 trips this year alone and this is by far the worst airport I've ever had the misfortune of experiencing. The queue for security was probably 2 miles long, which stretched across two buildings and outside. It was at least 4-6hrs just for security, a member of staff said (which is a conservative est.). They only had one person checking boarding passes for an entire terminal and only one person at a time being x-ray'd/searched. There was no organisation, management should be sacked immediately and not let anywhere near an airport again. Staff/police were rude and ignorant. They couldn't care less if you missed your flight. Surely it would've made more sense to call flights to security, in order of departure? We turned up 3hrs+ before our flight with no bags to check in. We queued for almost 3hrs and then had no choice but to ask people if we could queue jump. After 3hrs of queueing, 3 considerable queue jumps of almost mile and a 40min flight delay, we unbelievably made it onto our flight. But there were numerous empty seats on the plane, through no fault of the passengers. I wouldn't fly from this airport again, even if they paid me.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Cologne/bonn Airport customer review

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Worst ever experience in airport. Airport completely understaffed, no information nor help provided to travellers. The very few staff were completely unhelpful. Police not very useful. In these circumstances, they should limit the number of flights.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"This is the worst airport"

(Bulgaria)

Not Verified | This is the worst airport I have been travelling from and to. Dirty small toilets and no seating places. I received an email advising me to be at the airport 3 hours prior to departure, check-in starts only 2 h prior, so I have been looking for places to sit and wait - there are barely any, no charging points.At arrival, I needed some information about trains and rails, an angry gentleman answered my questions as if I was an intruder! Overall, a bitter experience!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport experience ever"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Worst airport experience ever. Enormous slow moving queues to security desk. Very understaffed, police were rude and unhelpful. Many passengers were pushing in rather than joining the queues. Only one security desk open to serve thousands of arriving passengers. Security were not in a rush to process passengers despite the huge queues. We queued for over three hours to 2 am and couldn’t collect our car hire car as they had shut. Never seen anything like it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 72 Reviews