Chania Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 18 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"needs to improve passenger experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flew into and from CHQ as part of a 10 day holiday. Arrived into a bottleneck at passport control, and the queue went out of the arrival terminal and almost onto the tarmac (only 2 windows open and a number of holiday flights arrived not too far apart). Leaving Chania was an opportunity to see the other side of the airport. Check-in was fairly painless and efficient. However, once through check-in and security checks, it is very cramped airside. Duty free is pretty limited, and food and drink stands are over-priced (nearly €4 for a bottle of Coke). The cramped conditions are made worse by the free-for-all boarding procedures (keep your eyes on the departure screens as they don’t announce flight departures). I am aware that Fraport have invested in expanding the airport, but as more airlines start to use Chania (and the list is likely to increase), space in this airport will be even more at a premium. The airport is convenient re: location, as we were based in the West of Crete, but this airport needs to improve passenger experience drastically in all areas.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"The most unhelpful staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Worst experience I’ve ever had at an airport. We were laughed at for trying to find something we forgot on the plane by the arrivals staff. The most unhelpful staff I have ever encountered anywhere.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a very haphazard airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This is the worst airport I have been to. The staff are rude and inexperienced and provided us with misleading information in regards to the hand baggage and then proceeded to accuse us of ‘tricking them’ just because we did not want to pay an extortionate fee of £170 to send of our suitcases. FYI I based it on the Norwegian Airlines website and thought the fee was £49 however they told me Norwegian rules don’t apply and that the Chania swissport rules apply which are not what the check in lady told us. She was rude and should not be working there and she herself told us it would be no more than £50. Very rude staff and a very haphazard airport, go to Heraklion instead, save yourselves the trouble.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
6/10

"rude, unprofessional and slow"

(Germany)

Not Verified | The security stuff are rude, unprofessional and slow. Lines are long and food stalls are much too expensive for this country. Too bad for a nice new airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Incredibly rude"

(Sweden)

Not Verified | Boarding was delayed by more than one hour. I approached the staff - including the terminal supervisor - to ask them to inform a very long line of families with very small children that the flight was delayed. Believe it or not, I was told by one of the check-in staff at the gate that the flight was not delayed! I asked her to look at the screen where it stated the departure time as 00.05 and pointed out that the time now was 00.40. She scoffed, the terminal supervisor turned her back on me and continued to chat to the check-in staff. Incredibly rude! Incredibly unaware that the airport might need to have passengers to survive and that there is something called customer service. I will definitely avoid anything to do with this airport in the future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"the whole building is welcoming"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I am sat in a light and airy air conditioned building drinking Cappicino Freddo. The queue for checking in was small but very organised and the whole building is welcoming. Arrival was just as good although a slight wait for baggage due to three aircraft coming in close together. This airport has come on a lot since last year and I recommend it. The indicator boards all seem to be working ok and the WiFi is good. What more can you want. Don’t blame the airport for things they don’t control.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"provided the wrong information"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Terrible! Our flight has been delayed for more than an hour, just as our arrival flight and the previous flights from this airport. On moments like this you depend on the information screens on the airport to be able to know when to board. The information screens provided the wrong information and so we had already missed our flight once we got to the gate! According to the staff it was our fault because we had to be in the gate while the screens told there was no boarding.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Good food available"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrival to Chania airport was easy, no hold ups and straight through to a waiting taxi. Departing was just as easy and again no hold ups. Good food available. Toilets were very clean as was the whole airport. It was a pleasure to arrive and depart from Chania airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"prepare for bad service"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | So what has changed since the rebuild and the takeover by Fraport? Nothing! Same check-on procedures, if you booked business with any airline it’s worth nothing! Queues at check-in, queues at security, no lounge. Why would one book business flying to and from CHQ if there’s no benefit attached to it. It might not be the airports fault but there’s no such thing that rectifys airline charging a premium for nothing, but the airport management doesn’t seem to care at all. The shopping prices however are in line with Fraport. High price, no service, as usual. But HER is as bad so if you need to fly to Crete, try to prepare for a bad service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"staff are not well prepared"

(Sweden)

Unverified | Chania Airport seems to have a lot of passengers traveling but I feel the staff are not well prepared to handle them. Most of the staff say they don't know when you ask basic help. The food counters available in the terminal are very few and do not have enough space for the customer to be seated.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 18 Reviews