Greater Bay Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 13 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

“the seat is comfortable”

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | The staff are friendly and the seat is comfortable. The air ticket is cheap. Although there's no TV and wifi, I can bring my pad and watch films. Very good.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Osaka
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"legroom and comfort was OK"

(China)

Not Verified | The flight departed on time but arrived 10 minutes late. The legroom and comfort was OK. The food is average. The ground staff is helpful. I would recommend this. The in-flight entertainment was fun and engaging. The only major thing is the flight WiFi is bad
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOsaka to Hong Kong
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"Would book again for price value"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | I thought that the airline was a classic budget airline, nothing special, but not as bad as some comments make you think. We couldn't check in online, but the check in and bag drop off didn't take longer than 10 minutes. Our baggage allowance was 20kg and was checked, the carry on was 7kg. The cabin crew was adequate, we left with a 10min delay and we got a water bottle on the flight, pretty standard for budget airlines. Enough leg room and seats were pretty new and good. Would book again for price value.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Seoul
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

“this was a sour experience at best”

(United States)

Not Verified | Initially the ticketing process is noticeably behind the times but nothing too terrible. Just don’t expect to get a boarding pass right when you purchase the ticket. You must get one from the gate agent. The boarding process was smooth and they were fine with me having one personal bag and a roller board in the overhead. But they made my girlfriend check her bag. The real problems started in flight. We knew this was a low cost carrier so our expectations weren’t very high (despite paying an obscene amount for the tickets, $900 USD for the two of us!). Regardless, we had just flown in from the United States so we were both very jet lagged and just wanted to sleep. My biggest bone to pick was that it was an evening/nighttime flight and they kept the full, bright, cabin lighting on the entire flight. The picture I attached is over 2 hours into the flight. I asked them why they wouldn’t dim the lights so people could sleep and they said it was so “people could eat”. Even though there were no meals even being served. And even if people were eating, they had personal lights to use so it was very odd that they felt the needed to keep the entire cabin lit up for the select few that might be eating. This made no sense to me, as it was a 5 hour nighttime flight. I am a very frequent traveller and spend probably about 50% of my waking life on airplanes, and on every other carrier I’ve flown, the cabin gets dimmed after food & beverage service even on daytime flights. And despite the quality of service in the United States usually being well behind this part of the world, this was without a doubt the worst experience I’ve ever had with an airline. Not only were the flight attendants dismissive but just downright oblivious of why simple things like never dimming the lights affects the quality of a flight. It didn’t help that the seats were small and it would’ve been more comfortable to sit on a park bench for 5 hours. The food and drinks were nonexistent unless you wanted to pay a pretty penny for something. All in all, for the price that we paid, this was a sour experience at best. I highly recommend you avoid this airline at all costs unless you are out of options. Or at least do not expect a comfortable seat, ride, experience, or to be taken care of in any aspect. 2/10 on a good day.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNarita, Japan to Hong Kong
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

“lost my family's prepaid food order”

(Japan)

Trip Verified | The flight was ok but I was shocked that they somehow lost my family's prepaid food order. I asked during the flight when the food was coming they asked me to prove I had ordered it. I showed them my booking email but there was no point as they couldn't verify it and didn't have any of the food I had ordered anyway even though they were advertising it as an option to buy onboard. They couldn't even guarantee I would get my money back but said I should email their customer services after the flight!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Hong Kong
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst flying experience ever"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Worst flying experience ever. My flight got delayed 6 hours with no explanation. They only notified us about the delay when we check in our baggage and told us that we may depart at 12pm. But then at the boarding gate they told us that it will be delayed again. I spent my whole day in the airport
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Tokyo
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"do not care about their customers"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | DO NOT TAKE THIS AIRLINE Got charged 100USD because their max weight for checked in baggage is 10kg. Ridiculous and the first time I experienced something like this. Almost all other airlines I've been on allows 20kg. I believe this is probably how they make money and this is very very bad and predatory practice. What's more is my flight got delayed 1h 30min from 4:15pm to 5:30pm, and when it was 5:30pm we were still not allowed to board. If you're looking for a budget airline take HK Express or some other ones. AVOID THIS ONE obviously they do not care an ounce about their customers
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Bangkok
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"do not recommend Greater Bay Airlines"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | I do not recommend Greater Bay Airlines. I was supposed to take a short trip from Taipei to Hong Kong on 9th August. My flight was cancelled when I was on the way to the airport, without any reason given. I was forced to take an alternative carrier on the same route and same time last minute, which cost me lot of money. To this day, the airline is refusing to communicate with me and refund me my ticket, despite multiple attempts to contact customer service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTaipei to Hong Kong
Date FlownAugust 2023
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"experience with this airline was a mixed bag"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | My recent experience with this airline was a mixed bag. The inflight service provided was satisfactory, and I appreciated the friendly attitude of the staff. The spacious seating also added to the overall comfort of the journey. However, there were notable drawbacks that left me with a less than perfect impression. One significant issue I encountered was the inability to check in online. This inconvenience resulted in unnecessary hassle and time wasted at the airport, which could have been easily avoided. Moreover, the airline's IT infrastructure, including their app and website, was highly disappointing. The interface was clunky, and both platforms seemed to be plagued by technical issues. It was frustrating to navigate through a system that was barely functional, leaving a lot to be desired in terms of user experience. While the in-flight experience was acceptable and the staff's friendliness did leave a positive mark, the inconveniences caused by the lack of online check-in and the subpar IT infrastructure considerably impacted my overall perception of the airline. Improvements in these areas could undoubtedly enhance the overall travel experience for passengers. I hope that the airline addresses these shortcomings to provide a smoother and more seamless journey for its passengers in the future.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Hong Kong
Date FlownJuly 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"cost can add up quick"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Take this airline if you plan on traveling light. It is a low cost airline so if you plan on purchasing check in luggage, cost can add up quick. I don't expect service from a low cost airline but at least the flight attendants offer us free bottle of water as the flight took off. Food has to be purchased prior boarding.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Bangkok
Date FlownMarch 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 13 Reviews