Copa Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 274 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Absolute nightmare airline"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Absolute nightmare airline. They told my wife and 6 other passengers to go to the wrong gate in Panama. The passengers finally found out which gate they were supposed to go to, by the time they made it there it was too late. The passengers were told they would have to get the next flight at 10:30AM the next day! My wife had an emergency passport from the Ecuadorian consulate so Panama immigration didn't allow her to stay at a hotel. What did Copa do? Nothing, they gather no cover, no food and weren't even kind to her for all of this. So my wife lost an entire day of her vacation and was treated like garbage by Copa employees. I called the only number available and they said they only deal with reservations and "can't help" with customer service issues. On top of that they had no customer service number! An international airline with no customer service line? Pathetic. So I emailed them and waited over 96 hours for a response, they gave no explanation as to how they screwed up and offered $50 credit. I said that is unacceptable and demanded to speak with management. They have yet to return my email since telling them that their "solution" in inadequate.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Quito via Panama
Date FlownApril 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"have been very disappointing"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Copa Airlines have been very disappointing. Their staff isn’t accommodating if you are only English speaking. I was so uncomfortable on my way to Panama that I decided to upgrade my seat paying an extra $60 US. While waiting my turn to board my flight by the time they called my seat number, they claimed I had to check my carry on because there was no more room. I think it’s absolutely appalling that they advertise when you purchase your upgrade that it also guarantees extra space for your carry on. When I asked the gentleman flight attendant he completely ignored me. The lady working the gate who brought me my bag sticker reassured me that I was right and I shouldn’t have to check my bag. When I asked her why she was still taking my bag instead of someone else’s who didn’t pay extra for services. She grabbed my bag shrugged, walked away and pretended like she no longer spoke english. Don’t waste your time or money. I would pay more to fly Air Canada. Last time I give another air line a change. Yours truly.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RoutePanama to Toronto
Date FlownApril 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"avoid Copa Airlines at all cost"

(United States)

Not Verified | The customer service is terrible! Staff at LAX are extremely rude! They caused us to miss our flights after multiple cancellations. They don’t give refunds. My entire experience was horrific! Please save your time, money, and frustration and avoid Copa Airlines at all cost!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to San Jose, Costa Rica
Date FlownMarch 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"No refund offered only voucher"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Our booking was moved forward by 48 hours without Copa even bothering to inform us. Only found out because we booked through Budget bookings and they let us know. Apparently Copa’s policy is that you are expected to constantly check your booking to see if they’ve changed it. No refund offered only voucher for flights on Copa but when we tried to actually receive that the website would say a voucher was emailed but despite repeated attempts none was ever received. And spent hours trying to get through to someone on the phone with no success.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to San Jose Costa Rica via Panama City
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"They changed my flights twice"

(Argentina)

Trip Verified | They changed my flights twice (EZE-MIA), and made me pay for the extra stay and several COVID tests, and obligated me to pay extra fees for my carry-on bag for being "too big" when I already traveled before with no issues. You just lose a client!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Buenos Aires
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Copa Airlines is a sketchy company"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My wife and I had a flight booked to visit Costa Rica on vacation. A couple days before our flight out, I happened to check the website to discover that the flight week booked was quietly cancelled and they re booked us for a 1am flight. No call, no text not even an email from Copa. Needless to sat we couldn’t make this trip and immediately requested a refund on the website. Now, 2 months later we still have not received a refund and haven’t even received an email confirmation from Copa that we will be getting one. I’ve tried calling the airline several times now and usually after an hour+ wait on hold they connect you with a reservations department that can’t do a thing about it. Conveniently the refund department doesn’t have a phone. I now know that Copa Airlines is a sketchy company and I’d book with caution.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWashington to San Jose via Panama City
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they just completely ignored my request"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst airline I have ever interacted with. I am a seasoned traveler and have used many different airlines over the years. We had a reservation with Copa that had to be cancelled due to Covid, and when I tried to change the reservation, and followed their instructions, the reservation was cancelled and they would not help at all. Despite clear evidence that the problem was on their side and that I followed the suggestions by their agent, they just completely ignored my request and now I am left with useless credits that I have to use within a year on an airline that I would not suggest anyone uses. It would have been very simple for them to just change my reservation but they completely refused. Do not use Copa ever.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuayaquil to Lima
Date FlownJune 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"nothing but misinformation, lies"

(United States)

Not Verified | Copa Airlines sent a cancellation advisement email in April. I have been trying to get my refund through Expedia for 4 months and then through Copa Airlines for 4 months and have gotten no response to any of my 20+ emails to Copa Airlines. Expedia Supervisor committed to a full refund via email within 30 days of the which would have been May 11th. On May 12th I call Expedia and complain that the refund wasn't received or credited in my bank account. Expedia said they made a mistake and had to start the process all over again and asked for an additional 8 weeks. 8 weeks later they said they ran into a glitch with the Copa Airlines refund tool and needed between 8 to 10 weeks additional time. Copa has been no better. You call their customer service line and they give you email addresses to contact for refund help but they never respond. Their website has a refund tool but you never receive any confirmation as to whether you've actually achieved anything in the way of requesting your refund. No follow-up email. No auto-generated courtesy email.. Nothing! I paid through Expedia so I asked Chase (my bank) to chargeback Expedia but they did a chargeback on Copa Airlines instead. That effort resulted in more frustration as the chargeback was denied. I have tried everything to get help from an ethical, decent, professional at Expedia and at Copa and received nothing but misinformation, lies, and have nothing to show for all my effort after 8 months.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRecife to Panama
Date FlownApril 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Terrible experience. This is an update of the review I posted yesterday. I missed two consecutive days of flights because of Copa Airline's lack of communication, systems malfunction, and also the incompetency of the Copa Airline's rude staff at LAX airport. I now found out that my return flight for this trip that didn't happen has been mysteriously changed to a day earlier. I didn't make a request to change the return date because I never make it to the destination. I'm waiting until later today to get to Copa's counter at SFO to talk to someone there and make my request, so I do not understand how this happened. I will update.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to San José, Costa Rica
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Terrible experience. I missed two consecutive days of flights because of miss information. Copa airline has the worst customer service I ever encountered, they do not have a working phone number to call then and no way to get an answer by email. However, I did also noticed that there are some agents willing to help but they are very busy and the only way you can talk to someone is by getting to the airport while they are processing check-ins and wait a few hours until they are done, if they have time and someone is willing to help you could get help. On 12/8 I went to take my fly from SFO (with a layover in Costa Rica) with the info I could gather on my own and my negative C19 test but it’s was impossible, so they booked a flight for us to Costa Rica for the next day through LAX, and even though I was on time to board Copa an hour before departing they made it impossible for us to take the flight because of malfunctioning of their systems and miscommunication, so last night while I got stuck in LAX from 8 pm to 7 am 12/8-12/9 and after waiting until 3 am to talk to someone, I asked for credit and cancel and credit the return flights and this person told me that I didn’t need to cancel the flights ether the return flight just not to show and I would get a credit, but I didn’t believe her and I realized I was wasting my time talking to her so I’ll have to go to SFO airport and talk to someone else there. Reading the reviews and experiencing all this plus the unfair treatment that I saw at the LAX airport not only to me it totally makes me regret having to book with them and even wanting to travel. I'm looking forward to talking to someone tomorrow when I go to SFO and see what can be done. I'll do my best to update.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to San Jose via Panama City
Date FlownDecember 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no