Winnipeg Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating N/A
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 12 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

Winnipeg Airport customer review

Review by (Canada) 12th March 2013

I use this airport at least once per month and it is no where near the major improvement over the old terminal which people are touting. Firstly the long and skinny design of the terminal causes domestic travelers to have to walk quite far to the furthest gates (11 and 12). There are no moving sidewalks as the terminal is too narrow. Secondly the power plugs provided at bar table setups throughout the terminal have no seats! People can't be expected to stand at these charging tables awkwardly overall it just causes the power plugs to waste away unused except for the 1 which is accessible from the normal gate seating. To pay $20 (soon $25) in Airport Improvement Fees for the 'privilege' of using this airport is a hoot. I'd prefer using the old terminal which allowed me to go gate-to-curb in less than 2 minutes versus the extra couple needed for this unusually long terminal (if arriving at those far gates I specified earlier). There is only one escalator to baggage claim so when that is broken (and it has) the $20 in AIFs paid to use the terminal involves you carrying any carry on baggage down about 40 stairs or wait for the single elevator. Furthermore the rotating door to enter the terminal is frustratingly slow as people are pulling baggage and consistently get stuck which has lead to the door cracking and going out of service for weeks. While the increase in food options is nice over the previous terminal it would be great to have a McDonalds instead of the same old Tim Hortons as in every other airport. This terminal has 3 Tim Hortons - they should allocate space to a different fast food chain.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
10/10

Winnipeg Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 28th December 2012

On December 16 I arrived back in Winnipeg for the first time since 2009. It was my first experience at the new terminal. What a pleasure compared to the old terminal. As usual baggage handling was efficient again no wait landing taxiing or departure (once aircraft was fixed but that is another story). No chance to check out airport on arrival. However on departure once I cleared US Immigration (still glad they do it there instead of O'Hare) I was pleasantly surprised at shops and restaurants available in the 'USA' section of airport. It seems to be a well designed terminal with good facilities for US bound travelers.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
10/10

Winnipeg Airport customer review

Review by (Canada) 25th July 2012

With it vast windows it feels like the openness of the prairie. There are many great restaurants in the terminal. Check in was fast and efficient. Tim Horton’s was open for my early departure.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
9/10

Winnipeg Airport customer review

Review by (Canada) 5th March 2012

I haven't been to the new terminal but have been to the old one many times. On the first floor is an information desk and check-in. On the second floor there are shops a nice arcade and several restaurants. It is a maze through security. What made me upset was the poor security procedures for blind people in the airport. They were helpful but the staff could not make up their minds about what to do with my cane whether to make me go through while holding a staff members hand or whether to send me through with my cane knowing it would make the machines beep. Other than that it's a wonderful airport and I look forward to going to the new terminal this July.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
6/10

Winnipeg Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 25th January 2012

The new YWG is a huge improvement over the former concrete block that served as Winnipegs Airport. Its open and airy feeling. Check-in as with all modern domestic service airports is by kiosk. Its simple and straight forward it prints your boarding pass and baggage tag you apply it and then drop it on the belt. Security was a little slow at 6am on my outbound flight but nothing horrible. I was pleasantly surprised at how many restaurants stores and services were open at 6am. I was able to buy a coffee quick breakfast and magazine. Departures area has wonderful feeling with the large floor to ceiling windows and high ceilings. The airport was very clean throughout. My only complaint would be that when coming back and waiting for my baggage on the Level 1 area there is only a Tim Hortons that is small so friends waiting to pick me up had nothing to do browse or see. It was rather empty.... but looks like more service will be added in the future. All in all it is a fantastic improvement.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1/10

Winnipeg Airport customer review

Review by (Canada) 21st December 2011

The new terminal has opened but is nothing to write home about. The check-in was different with no check-in counters just mini podiums but airline staff were helpful. You have to put your bag on the belt yourself as two airport staff who stood and stared. Security was a breeze however security staff seemed confused. Boarding area is big and airy but I found it to drafty you have way more distance to walk with no moving sidewalks. Shops and eating areas are limited overpriced and should be avoided. A lot were closed up as it was mid morning. It is the kind of airport you want to spend little time and is very little improvement over the old one. Overall poorly laid out and planned.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
3/10

Winnipeg Airport customer review

Review by 17th March 2010

I have a soft spot for YWG because it was my port of entry to Canada as an immigrant in 1993. Have to say that not much has changed since then. Air Canada arrives on the south side of the terminal and West jet etc arrives on the north. The International arrivals is tucked away underneath somewhere. Arrivals and check in are on the same level so it can be busy. The next floor has a spacious and fairly new departures area with a couple of uninspiring restaurants and shops. One floor up again is a rather cute observation area - large huge windows and a few information boards - its a cool place to hang with kids and would be even better if the airport was busier. Back down to the Departures level -there is the security and then not much else. A small bar and coffee shop and basic supply store. This area lacks beauty - its dark and dingy. The new airport can only be an improvement on the old building but for now the present airport does the job OK. There is plenty of parking and the car hire is convenient to the terminal. There is also a hotel attached that has better food options.
no
3/10

Winnipeg Airport customer review

Review by 25th October 2007

YWG is a smaller airport originally built in the early '60s and the existing terminal is to be replaced with a new facility by about the end of the decade. Food and retail services are average and mostly concentrated outside of the secure area of the airport. The airside part of the terminal is dark and gloomy however thanks to a late '50s/early '60s architectural style that seemed to regard natural light as something to be kept out rather than let in. Making a connection through Winnipeg should be a fairly quick process due to the airport's compact size and the fact that it's not a hub airport. However those with a long wait between flights might feel the need to leave the confines of the airside part of the terminal.
no
na

Winnipeg Airport customer review

Review by 6th October 2006

It's nice to see that Winnipeg International is finally building a brand new facility. The new terminal will be gorgeous once it opens in late 2008. Till then we will make do with the very tired terminal we have. Winnipeg will finally have an airport to be proud of!
no
na

Winnipeg Airport customer review

Review by 12th November 2003

I fly out of Winnipeg International almost everyday. See I am a student Pilot and I love Winnipeg International. It has the best ATC and has a small traffic flow for a major airport. Flying is my life so Winnipeg International is part of my life! If you're worried about some tombstones being outside the airport you have more problems than with just the Airport!
no
1 to 10 of 11 Reviews