Wellington Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 28 reviews
7/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"cannot believe the queues"

(Australia)

Unverified | I cannot believe the queues at Wellington Airport. I was on a small plane arriving from Melbourne. The flight wasn't even full, yet the queuing started almost immediately. The first for seemingly no reason at all. I have no idea what the holdup was. Then towards the so-called smart gates, of which there were only three. People took forever to go through so I queued up with others at the all passports desks (again of which there were only three). It took forever! I had no baggage to claim and yet I had to queue up with others in order to get to customs. My card had been marked as clear as I had nothing to declare but there was no option to go straight through, but wait in single file. Meanwhile, a friend, waiting to pick me up wondered where the hell I'd got to. It took close to an hour after getting off the plane. Wellington airport is way too small - the corridors are narrow, there are not enough smart gates to make things flow smoothly. It just feels cramped and very badly designed. I also had to queue for ages just to buy a bottle of wine at duty free. I'd absolutely had enough by then. Wellington needs to learn a few things from Melbourne airport where I was out of the airport within 15 minutes.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"huge queues at Immigration and Customs"

(Australia)

Unverified | Luggage arrived very quickly. But huge queues at Immigration and Customs. No 'fast track' for Business Class, this is the first airport I've come across this! But staff were excellent and friendly. Lots of taxis waiting. Taxi was good. Great driver and helpful.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"things get done with a smile"

(New Zealand)

Arrival into Wellington was a domestic flight and departing was an international flight to Fiji. Typically overpriced beverage outlets but 200m or so from the terminal there is a Burger King if a coffee is required. Other than this little gripe, Wellington is a really funky little airport with the Lord of the Rings theme and the international departure area has an awesome themed design to it. Hope the runway does get extended so that more international flights will come as it is very efficient and things get done with a smile.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"lovely small airport"

(United Kingdom)

Lovely small airport. Check in swift, do not go through security till go to the gate, that was simple and very quick. Plenty of choice of shops and cafes, goods very reasonably priced in shop with plenty of seating. Staff friendly, excellent views of the planes from terminal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"plenty of comfortable seating"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Flew into Wellington from Sydney and I had my baggage and was through security less than 15 minutes after leaving my seat which was brilliant! I got to where I needed to go (hoping to transfer to an earlier flight) quickly but alas, just missed out. No problem, plenty of comfortable seating and a decent range of eating options for a small airport. Bathrooms were plentiful and clean too. The LOTR sculptures hanging from the ceiling are cool. When leaving, a short stroll to my gate and all was very pleasant and clean. All staff I interacted with were friendly and professional. If I have a choice of flying in or out from Wellington or Auckland, there is no contest.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"backyard unprofessional operation"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Disappointing to say the least. Only airport I've ever known that does not open until 90 minutes before your flight for access to departure gates and 2 hours before flight. End up like homeless people in the wind and cold! What a way for a capital city to treat guests to their country. Also means you are ripped off and unable to use airline lounges because you can't access them in time. Very backyard unprofessional operation.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"location is spectacular"

(New Zealand)

Whilst there is some rebuilding work occurring, overall this is one of the world's best little airports in my opinion. The Lord of the Rings theme is excellent, transport to and from is efficient and the cafes on offer are not vastly overpriced compared to the city centre. Location is spectacular so would recommend a window seat in good weather.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
5/10

Wellington Airport customer review

(Australia)

Arrived at Wellington Airport late in the afternoon and because of delays leaving Brisbane Airport we missed our connecting flight. My daughter aged two was sick in the customs area and no officers bothered to help, though they did manage to walk past. Check in for Domestic was slow, I waited 20 minutes before someone helped me and in saying this there were only two other couples in the queue. The parents room was a shambles, actually it was disgusting. It looked like it had never been cleaned. Also an automatic door opener would have been nice as trying to get a bag trolley and two kids through is a mission. Not enough seating in main area or domestic waiting area, I found a couch behind a large car signage and there were food scraps and rubbish thrown on the floor. Food kiosks are extremely expensive. If you're a family with young children this airport isn't going to help you with your basic needs. I have travelled in and out of this airport many times but this is the first with children. There is nothing to entertain young ones other than running through the shops and running back out with lollies in their hand.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

Wellington Airport customer review

(New Zealand)

Our plane from Wellington to Auckland was delayed 2 hrs. There was not enough seating in the boarding lounge. There are also no toilets. We left this lounge through security who were very rude as they had to re-scan any bags we were carrying.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
10/10

Wellington Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

A good airport. Plenty enough self-service ANZ kiosks around to do your check-in although could have been done with some more staff around (not the airports fault). Easy enough to find your way around the terminal. Could have been done with more toilets though and seating prior to going through security to your actual gate. Never done security right at the gate before but staff there were very efficient.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 24 Reviews