Tel Aviv Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 74 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"a time-consuming experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | It had been 11 years since I last arrived and departed from Ben Gurion Airport and some things have changed. Arrival was the same: A long walk to passport control from the gate, a little bit of a wait, and the usual interrogation by the border agent. I was temporarily detained as were other members of my group, but we were soon released without further questioning 15 minutes later with our entry permits (which have replaced the passport stamps). Checked bags were on the carousel by the time I arrived at baggage claim, so it was a very smooth and easy exit from the airport. Departing was a slightly different experience. I arrived 4 hours before my flight in case of long lines pre-check in. I got in line with 3.5 hours before my flight and by the time I had my interrogation, there were just under 3 hours left. The interrogation was surprisingly quick (10 minutes, which included questioning by a supervisor) and then I was allowed to check in at the El Al counter. After check-in, I went to security and was directed to the lines where the agents thoroughly check all the carry-on baggage. This was the most time-consuming process of being at the airport and a few passengers who arrived late were allowed to cut in front of me for fear of missing their flights. This process took a solid hour-plus just to have my bags inspected and then another 25-30 minutes for the inspection (as well as body scan). If the agents don't know what something in your bag is, they will ask you (they did this with one of my articles of clothing). If you have food that is concealed, they will ask you to open it up to visually confirm it (this happened with my protein bar. I also ate it in front of them since I was hungry). Once finished with the security check, I repacked my bags and proceeded to the biometric passport scanners and received my exit permit, which you scan to be allowed into the main departures waiting area. There wasn't enough time to grab a coffee or something to eat as my flight was already boarding. Before boarding my flight, gate agents checked my carry-on bags one last time for any liquids and then scanned my boarding pass to allow me to get on the plane. Plenty of seats and shops in the concourse, but a severe lack of charging stations/outlets. Overall, it's a time-consuming experience and, yes, I know of people who have been detained and questioned by personnel before getting on a plane in Tel Aviv. I also know of one person who was pulled off a plane and questioned. Everything is based on the sticker/barcode number the initial security folks place on your passport before you reach the check-in counters. I'd definitely arrive 3-4 hours ahead of your flight. Security will take time, especially if you are not an Israeli national.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"by far my preferred airport"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | I'm in love with TLV airport, this is by far my preferred airport! The inspection stations are orderly, the security check is fast, the duty free is large and varied, the terminals are large and there are enough seating places, the restaurants are not too expensive and everything is excellent.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"security is very strict"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | The interview at the departure only took me about 2-3 minutes, quite fast compared to the others. The airport security is very strict as compared to other airports and this is understandable because of the political situation that this beautiful country is in against some countries of the world. Airport is clean and plenty of affordable restaurants to choose from. Shopping for souvenirs is expensive though as is common to other airports.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"security was also horrendous"

(Norway)

Not Verified | The worst airport I've ever experienced. Queues are longer than US immigration, and at is just check-in. Security was also horrendous. Big crowd, no orderly lines, only 4 of 15-16 checkpoints open for no apparent reason. Travelled on June 14th 2018. General strike in the country or nepotistitically hired airport manager? Unbelievable. Way worse than developing countries, like traveling in th 90s! Over 2 hours to get through check-in and security, with more than 60 min being check-in queues.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"my favourite airport"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | At first glance their is nothing special about TLV airport and does not look as if it was built for speed or efficiency. After deplaning their is a long walk to passport and the luggage carousels. We landed on Wednesday at 2.20 in the afternoon and by 3.00 were already at the train platform outside terminal 3. Our luggage was unloaded from the plane within minutes of landing we flew by passport control and to our surprise within minutes the carousel was spitting out our luggage. This puts Tel Aviv airport as my favourite airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"extremely stressful and traumatic"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Upon arrival at Terminal 1 I could barely get through the entrance as there were so many people blocking it. As a traveller who needed Special Assistance due to impaired mobility I could not see how I was going to get to any Special Assistance Desk or Information Desk as I could not even see over the mass of people. Eventually I saw what I hoped was a member of airport staff and approached him and informed him that I needed a wheelchair - his answer was “You have no chance!’ Then he pointed to a queue and told me to join it, after finding out which airline I was travelling with. Another female member of staff who had been standing with him then asked me to go with her and she would find me a seat whilst she would get a member of Easyjet staff to come to me. When the lady from Easyjet came to me she said there were no wheelchair available and I had two choices - either walk with her through check in and security or wait ‘hours’ on a wheelchair. I would add that I had booked Special Assistance when I booked the flight at least 5 months prior to travelling and had also spoken to the Special Assistance Team at Easyjet to confirm that I would be allowed to bring an extra carry on bag for medical aids and medication and therefore I was also carrying a doctor’s letter confirming all of the aforementioned details. After explaining that I was only able to walk or stand for very short periods the Easyjet assistant went away and returned a few minutes later to say a wheelchair would be supplied as soon as possible and she took my boarding pass and passport and got me checked in and a member of security came to me and after a few questions cleared me through security. When the wheelchair arrived I was taken to the boarding gate. When the flight began to board I was taken to a waiting area next to the tarmac and eventually transferred on to a vehicle which transfers passengers with disabilities out to the aircraft. As the fixed seating was limited and there was no seat left for me I was seated on a wheelchair that was in the vehicle. The wheelchair had no brake and as soon as the vehicle started to move the wheelchair started to move around dangerously and my husband who was travelling with me had to try to jam the wheelchair into a corner for my safety. I found this whole experience through Tel Aviv airport extremely stressful and traumatic and have never had this unacceptable level of Special Assistance in any other airport. I am writing this review hoping that it will be read and acted upon and that no one else will have to experience anything like this in the future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"manager was extremely rude"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | My flight to Barcelona was canceled because of the technical problem (2.04.2018). Since I have a connection flight I was seeking for help from airport staff including, information desk, ticket office, staff at the gate. Unfortunately, I did not find any help! The manager was extremely rude, she talked to me in absolutely unacceptable manner. I do not understand how you can employ people with this attitude to the job!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"fairly well marked"

(United States)

Not Verified | As a frequent business traveler I find the airport to be one of the easiest to check-in, clear security and go through immigration. I was dropped off, went to the business counter for Lufthansa and 20 minutes later I was in the poorest run business lounges I have ever had the displeasure to be in. But this is about the airport - easy to get around, light and spacious, fairly well marked and fairly friendly staff. There were lines for economy class for almost all airlines, but for business class I just went straight to the counter. Can't say the staff were friendly, fairly cold and efficient, but I'll take that over friendly, happy and incompetent staff!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"cannot praise him enough"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | As I have mobility problems I needed wheelchair assistance on the 5th March when I arrived from Eilat on my way home to the UK via Tel Aviv. My flight arrived at terminal 1 but I was transported to terminal 3 with the ambulift. However my flight went from terminal 1 and I had no way of getting back there on my own. The assistance gentleman went above and beyond his duty to care for me and to escort me in a wheelchair, with my suitcase, by shuttle bus to the right terminal. He then saw me through security and notified the check in desk that I needed help when the time came for me to check in for my ongoing flight. I cannot praise him enough.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Not a great advert for the country"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We landed at Ben Gurion Airport at 17.30. We then waited for nearly two hours to clear immigration. The staff were slow and couldn't care less. I left like an Irish immigrant arriving in New York about 100 years ago. I travelled to China last year and they were much more friendly and efficient. Not a great advert for the country.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 66 Reviews