Tel Aviv Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 85 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"It was a very civilized experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I found the airport very easy to use. On arrival, at passport control, passports are not stamped, instead a small computer print out is issued which I then inserted into a scanning machine that let a turnstile open to let me into the baggage claim area. With no checked bags, I walked out and helpful information counter assistants gave me directions to an ATM machine and choices of transportation. I withdrew shekels using my home country issued ATM card. Shared taxis (called sheerut) were outside the departure section with their drivers asking exiting passengers their destination. The sheeruts wait for their minibuses to fill before they leave. I took a taxi instead - nearly four times more expensive though! Departing Tel-Aviv, I was prepared for the gauntlet of security barriers. A mile or so before the terminal, at a check-point, the taxi was stopped and a female guard asked to see my passport. At the terminal, I used the machine to print out my boarding card. Before going into immigration section, I was directed to an area for security questioning where two pleasant, young looking women asked me questions about myself - my name, my traditions, how did I come to airport, whether someone had given me anything to carry - and a sticker was put on the back of the passport. In the section with immigration officers, there were many automatic passport readers, one of which I used and similar to arrivals, a computerized printout was issued which I inserted into a gate and, voila, I was inside for security screening. Security staff were very helpful in managing the flow of passengers going through the x-ray machines. I did not have to take off shoes or belts or take out the liquids. It was a very civilized experience. The central hall of the departure lounge is high and round with variety of stores (similar to what you see at many airports or big cities) and eating places. Gave me the chance to spend my remaining shekels, Directions to the gates were easy to find and read. Printed directions were in Arabic, Hebrew, and English. Lots of chairs. The departure gate had been organized into sections for different boarding groups -- so it was not a free-for-all when boarding began. In sum, it was a very civilized exit from the country with no need to wait in line for a passport officer to stamp your document!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"one of my best airport experiences"

(France)

Trip Verified | I had read and been told the worst things about security measures and screening at this airport, so I had rehearsed and armed myself with lots of patience, expecting the worse. I must have had some luck though, since, first of all, I was travelling with carry-on luggage only, so I avoided the check-in or drop-off procedure (I had printed my boarding pass before arrival) so I headed directly to the boarding area. There is a special lane for business class passengers as well as those travelling with carry-on only, where I cleared security in less than 3 minutes. I was politely asked two basic security questions and unlike EU airports, did not even have to take out of my luggage liquids or tablets! Passport control was the same breeze (there is probably slightly less traffic on shabbat). The waiting area is spacious with some rather good food options. Surprisingly one of my best airport experiences!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the most inefficient airport"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | This is the most inefficient airport in terms of security and screening. I have been going through this for 2 hours! And it's not over. On top of that I am traveling with a senior citizen who doesn't speak Hebrew or English and they split us in two different security lines. What need is there to make a senior citizen uncomfortable when she is coming to your county to spend money on tourism.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Security and customs are a nightmare"

(Colombia)

Verified Review | The airport itself is very nice, modern, clean and good shopping. Toilet facilites are good, good restaurants and a nice smoking area in the bar. Security and customs are a nightmare. Crack a joke and you will end up in a tiny room for 3 hours while beieng investigated. Be sure not to arrive before chekiking in, or you will be questioned and investigated.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one of the worst airport arrival experiences"

(Australia)

Verified Review | This really was one of the worst airport arrival experiences (and I have experienced hundreds including chaotic ones such as Dehli). There was a huge swell of a crowd which eventually had to narrow to the seven cubicles which were open to foreigners of the about thirty there. No officers were there to inform of the likely time or to ensure an orderly progression and of course as we milled forward the sixty or so wide crowd had to scrum into the seven (dual) lanes. I think we were luckier than many of the poor people way behind us which joined later and we only spent an hour in the shuffle. Really was expecting something that was at least half-organised. A most disappointing introduction to a wonderful country.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"departure is an equal mess"

(United States)

The passport control has huge lines on arrival. They really need to work on getting that time shorter and reducing the crowds. The VAT refund on departure is an equal mess as we had to go from one place to the next and walk for such a long time to finally get the 20$ and 15% of which they will hold back as commission.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"is unfortunately still a nightmare"

(Germany)

I am using Tel Aviv airport several times a year. The process of checking-in and security controls has improved over the last few years but is unfortunately still a nightmare. I fully understand the security controls but the (90%) unmotivated staff makes it terrible. The airport facilities itself could need a refresh, a lot looks old and used. The food court is mostly a mess although they try to clean it quite frequently.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"found the whole process to be very efficient"

(United Kingdom)

I arrived early at Tel Aviv's Ben Gurion Airport in anticipation of the vigorous security checks that are undertaken for departures. I ended up waiting around for quite awhile in the check-in desk area as it wasn't possible to check in until 3hrs before departure - pretty tedious. However, they did invite those of us already there to start going through security about 3.5hrs before hand, so all was not lost. I have to say I found the whole process to be very efficient. I think the experience of going through security here is probably different for everyone, I was definitely subjected to more questioning because I was travelling alone and I'd also visited some other countries in the Middle East, but the staff were all very courteous and professional. Once I checked in I went through an additional check of my carry-on luggage, which again was thorough but very efficient and very professional. I would most definitely suggest that people get to the airport early in Tel Aviv though, I think I was lucky as it was probably a quiet time of year. If you hit the airport during a peak (especially around the Jewish High Holidays) you could easily get caught up in some long queues I'd imagine. Beyond the security, the rest of the airport was pretty humdrum if I'm honest. The food options were limited and not very exciting and most of the shops (not something that interests me much at airports anyway) were just Duty Free places to souvenir places.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"security is a pain"

(Canada)

Very confusing arrival into Tel Aviv at 5am. Transit area was closed so had to exit airport which meant long unorganised queue waiting to go through customs. No staff able to help me transit to next flight, from baggage claim had to find departures and go through security again. Two levels of security, first someone looks through your passport and ask why you visited each stamp in there and all details about your home, family, and work. Then you go through a more detailed security where your entire carry on is emptied and inspected. There is a long security line since all foreigners take 20 min each to get their bags searched and answer all their questions. All the while those with local passports bypass you. Once you get past security you enter duty free which is very large shopping area. There is only one food court and very expensive such as sandwich and coffee meal $10, burger combo $20. There is also sushi, kebabs, pizza. Currency exchange charges $3 commission which is hefty so use your foreign currency directly in shops as their rate is better. There is sufficient seating, clean bathrooms, and ample charging stations. There is only one lounge available to public. I had a few hours in transit but didn't find any seats where I could sleep so only option is dirty floor. Overall airport is very small with limited food and shopping. I would not transit through there again, too boring, security is a pain, expensive. The least they could do is offer more comfortable seating, modernise with some lounges and sleeping areas for long transits.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"nice airport, efficient service"

(Israel)

Tel Aviv is a very nice airport with efficient service in all aspects - check-in, security and passport control. I have traveled in a few airports in my life but I never seen an airport this efficient and clean. We flew on passover which is a time of big movement of passengers and we got to the duty free in less than half an hour. The only disadvantage is the food and beaverage have high prices.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 56 Reviews