Vote Now  

Sydney Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 420 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"the terminal looked quite dated"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrived at Sydney Terminal 1 at 6.30 on Wednesday morning. Walk to arrivals from the gate was quite long and the terminal looked quite dated. Was confused about e-passport kiosks as signage isn't great and no information was given. Had to walk through a duty free shopping area, which was confusing. Managed to use the e passport kiosks round the corner and the process was really easy. Signage was good and the queue for the e passport gates was really short. Didn't have to wait a long time for baggage and the queue for customs/quarantine went really quick. Pleasantly surprised at the ease of arriving. Terminal building definitely needs updating though.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"embarrassment to Australia"

(Australia)

Went to pick up family from SQ251 on Sunday morning. It took 40 minutes to travel the 1 km of Marsh Street to the Airport. It is always bad but now there is only one lane into the airport parking due to even more road changes. I need not have worried as there were no air bridges for this aircraft and it parked remotely with passengers bussed in. After 75 minutes there was still no baggage - just under two hours to get through the airport. Then the car park, 31 minutes from level 5 to the boom gate all because it was that slow the machine was trying to extort even more money from already paid tickets. Yes there was one very harassed staff member there who for each car had to talk on the intercom to a remote location to have the boom gate raised. Yet over recent years the airport operator has miraculously managed to greatly increase the Duty Free shops but where are the gates for aircraft, where is the baggage service, where is the traffic management. State or Federal Governments need to take a firmer control of this embarrassment to Australia.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"terminal itself is worn and seems tired"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Getting to the airport is an event in itself if you live in western suburbs. The train line is there but is expensive to use plus you have to change at some very busy interchanges. Train is not an option if you are travelling with family and have luggage. Airport and facilities: Plenty of parking, again very expensive! The terminal itself is worn and seems tired especially when compared to Asian counterparts. There are a decent number of food outlets available before immigration check in and yes there are showers incase you forgot to have one. Immigration queues are always long, lately the system has been changed which is very efficient and takes away having to stand in front of a bored immigration officer, however security check in is a terrible and takes forever. The facilities on the other side are nothing to write about, the duty free shops are not the cheapest in the world. On arrival if you AUS/NZ epassports, check out is extremely fast and efficient, the arrival hall is once again boring and tired.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"ended up queuing when we didn't need to"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived after a traumatic journey from Christchurch the immigration was confusing, we used the epassport machine but the signage was unclear and we ended up queing when we didn't need to. We were ticked off twice for not using the automated gates, customs queues are long and exhausting.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Sydney airport is outdated and old"

(Australia)

Verified Review | After travelling Europe for a month and flying to nine different cities and airports on arriving in Sydney I have to say Sydney aiport is old, cramped, outdated, small and dirty, especially the toilets which were filthy for an early morning flight that we came on. Going through customs was very good compared to the disaster that was Dubai airport. Sydney airport is outdated and old, needs major refurbishment to keep up with the utlra modern airports of Dubai and Paris. Its time for a new arrivals terminal. It's the first impressions that count.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"customs lines were massive"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney Airport has the most disorganised customs arrival hall in the world. Lines were massive and the officials just could not be bother to organise anything. It gave one the impression that creating orderly lines was just all too difficult on a Monday morning and they just smiled and had a chat to one another. Senior management should be ashamed that they allow this to happen.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the most disorganised customs arrival process"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Monday morning getting through customs - terrible. Massive lines, no customs officials trying to sort things out. Must be the most disorganised customs arrival process in a first world country. Most customs officials just smiling and talking between themselves. Management should be ashamed of themselves.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"dramatically improved from previous visits"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Entry as a Kiwi holding an e-passport was very easy and I zoomed through immigration. Pleasantly surprised how fast my baggage arrived and I was out before I knew it. The arrivals terminal though was not very nice. I couldn't find an ATM with any ease and there was limited eating options. Signage through to where I was to be picked up was ok. When leaving the traffic getting to the airport was horrific. Parking fee for my friend dropping me off was extortionate. However, one inside the facilities were good in terms of food and shopping. Bathrooms were clean. WiFi was easy to connect to. Security was quick and easy. Overall, dramatically improved from previous visits in past years.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"pathetic baggage handling speed"

(Australia)

Pathetic baggage handling speed at Sydney Airport. Waited 40 minutes just to collect baggage and an additional 25 minutes to go through customs. This is the worst airport beyond record. By comprison Hong Kong Airport is about 20 minutes waiting for baggage on arrival.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport in Australia"

(Australia)

Verified Review | As someone's iterated before, having a dozen or so seats for 100+ people in the curfew waiting area is abysmal. Security reasons! Never land here unless you have a way out asap. If you have to stay between the hours of 11pm-5am it's worth just planning to go to Melbourne international instead, trust me. Literally the worst airport in Australia, I've been to better ones in third world countries.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no