Sydney Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 448 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Crowded, chaotic, disorganized"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Maybe just a busy time of year, but this airport is a zoo. Crowded, chaotic, disorganized. In need of an update. Looks like the traffic in and out of this airport exceeded capacity a long time ago. Qantas lounges here are supposed to be some of the best, but those days are over. No other options so just have to deal with it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an utterly ridiculous process"

(Australia)

Unverified | Absolutely disgusting the customer service at this airport. If you ever fly internationally do not depart/arrive at this airport and especially don't use Qantas. Missed our connecting domestic flight after a 14 hour flight from SFO due to an utterly ridiculous process that involves collecting your checked bags and then having to re-check them for the domestic flight. As a result unless you connecting flight is 4+ hours apart you will not make it. Qantas don't care either which is the icing on the cake.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"stunned by the treatment at Sydney"

(United States)

Unverified | Awful Airport. After being spoiled at Auckland Airport (and by spoiled I mean having a space to sleep and roam around), I was stunned by the treatment at Sydney. Myself and about 35 others who were spending the night in the airport were all forced to go to this small little charging station with about 8 chairs total and watched as security guards pulled down a gate and locked us all inside. It was crazy! Most people were just sprawled around on the floor while the lucky 8 or so who got chairs didn't dare budge. If you insist on locking people in a room at least get some more seats or cots.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"toilets totally filthy"

(New Zealand)

Unverified | Arrived at 6.01 am on 5th September from for transit. The state of the toilets at 6am had to be seen to be believed. Totally filthy - especially those adjacent to departure gates 8 and 9 - looked like the result of a bad night party. And don't forget that the airport is effectively closed for flights from late evening 11pm to 6am. One would expect that at 6am the toilets would be reasonably clean! Then there is the question of finding the departure gates 51 - 63! You have to fight you way through the duty free shopping center - hard to believe that you are actually a traveler and not a shopper. And then the cost of food and beverages - off the planet.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Give yourself lots of time"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Give yourself lots of time if flying out of Sydney Airport. It seems like every international long-haul flight leaves the airport in the morning and it creates traffic chaos! Took us almost an hour to get there and the airport is only 18km away from the hotel! There is only one lane off the main highway to get to the International Terminal. Luckily I was flying business class and received an Express Pass to get through Customs and Security, but the regular line up was long (the lineup started almost at the check in counters). Flying to the US requires a secondary screening prior to approaching the gate where agents will verify your boarding pass. Passengers are randomly selected for a secondary screening so be forewarned, get to the gate early. If flying out of Sydney's International Terminal in the AM, give yourself a min. of 3 hours. Once inside though, the terminal has lots of amenities with shopping and dining choices available.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the rudest people I have encountered"

(Australia)

Unverified | What is it with the security screening staff at Sydney airport. They are the rudest people I have encountered at any airport around the world. Their attitude and the way they speak to people is appallingly and I have seen this on numerous occasions. They need to have a long hard look at themselves.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"what a confusing and frustrating experience"

(Australia)

Unverified | Had to collect my partner from the airport at 6 am today what a confusing and frustrating experience. I was directed up to level 1 where there was no space, I couldn't go up, it was blocked with cones and the only way down was to exit. I went round the perimeter and back in to a 15 min limit. Inside I looked for flight info unlike other airports where there are clear large boards, I had to search, I found a small group of 4 screens one not working, the one I needed, so went to B arrivals a lucky guess, the whole place seem dirty and unfriendly. As is the experience when arriving as a passenger.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport experience"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Worst airport experience. 30 minute traffic jam due to one lane to drop off family members blocking all routes, high parking fees to pick up. I am picking up my daughter and 15 minutes free waiting time is a joke designed to extort parking fees off customers. The same one lane entrance to drop off passengers has been in place for 70 years so no change.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"Immigration was a breeze"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | My mother needed wheelchair access and this service was excellent with really friendly staff and allowed the more mobile within our group to go through together. One even allowed us to make a call on her mobile because we needed to contact my aunt who was meeting us. Baggage delivery was very prompt - the bags were awaiting collection by the time we got through Immigration. Immigration was a breeze using the electronic scanning facility. Customs was also a breeze (despite what you see on the Border Security TV programme). On our departure from Sydney, I was randomly checked for explosives - this was handled very well. Glad they undertake this - not had this before on my many journey. Marked down on Food and Beverage as it was expensive.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"not a good look Sydney airport"

(Australia)

Unverified | On arriving last night from Auckland I went to the first available toilet in the airport prior to immigration screening and was, once again, shocked by the state of the toilets in general - in particular every toilet bowl was dirty (looked liked the toilets had not been cleaned for days). Together with toilet paper strewn all over the floors, dirty and stained tiles in the stalls, stained toilet seats - altogether a very unpleasant, third world experience. This was also the experience I found when arriving once again from Auckland in February 2017 - I thought it may be a one-off experience and there might have been a reason (cleaners strike?) so passed it off. Apparently this appears to be the norm - which is very embarrassing for Australians in general as international travellers are seeing this as their first experience to the country. Last night people were queuing up to use one or two toilets that were not as filthy rather than use the dirty ones - not a good look Sydney airport - time to lift your game and pay cleaners who do a decent job.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no