Top 100 Airlines  

Sydney Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 388 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"staff are extremely helpful"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Travelling back to Jakarta from Sydney and it was a nice airport. Two things I really like are that the staff are extremely helpful and the tax refund is not as crowded as other airports I've visited. The shops and duty free offer quite good things and there's a few restaurants. Signage is also good.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"above basic standards of service"

(Singapore)

Fairly good International Airport with the above basic standards of service. Signs will guide you from your plane to the immigration area in Sydney. Certain nationalities can use the E-gate and skip queues, but as my flight was an early arrival there were no queues and this was not necessary. Outside in the arrivals area you'd find a few uninspiring choices for food and drink. Departing Sydney was a breeze. Bag drop for my BA flight was a quick one, and as I was eligible for the E-gate I did not have to queue to see an immigration official. No queue at the security check which was good. Shopping and food choices inside the airport are ok and I see they're making renovations to improve the service. Because Sydney International is a small-medium sized airport there is not much walking to be done and you can get to your gate in under 10 minutes. Their wi-fi is also good and there was no hassle to connect to the network.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"as unhelpful as possible"

(United Kingdom)

We are leaving Australia after 3 great weeks enjoying the company of the friendliest people we have met - until arriving at Sydney airport. The staff here seem to have been recruited to be as aggressive and as unhelpful as possible, including a manager who simply said 'I don't know' and 'there's nothing I can do about it' when we asked when the tax refund office was going to open (it was 50 minutes late opening) and what would happen if we had to board our flight before anyone turned up. What a shame that they were the last people we saw before leaving.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"avoid this airport if you can"

(Australia)

The international airport Customs queues have been a joke for over 18 months and continue to be so. Arrived on 24 July and the "green channel" queue was almost impossible to find and very badly managed, in fact hardly managed at all. People were just walking in from wherever. Not hard to sort but nobody seems to care. Transfer to domestic airport is also a nightmare. I live in Sydney so have to use it but my advice to others would be to avoid this airport if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a total disgrace"

(Australia)

I live and have been travelling into Sydney via the domestic airport for many years as a frequent flyer. The management or should I say mismanagement of the taxi pick up areas is a total disgrace and embarrassment to the state of NSW. The frustrations of travellers waiting for the process of getting ones taxi to play out is very evident on the face of most. The confusion an anarchy that seems to be the norm has been accepted by the airport management for too long. I implore this area to be reviewed and improved.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"decent selection of restaurants"

(Australia)

Sydney Airport is mildly comfortable, with a decent selection of restaurants. However, the staff could be more pleasant. The free Wi-Fi was excellent, and hotels are nearby. There are signs around which should help you get to the place you want. Overall, it genuinely depends on your personal experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"food was very average"

(Australia)

Arriving at the airport, nothing too fancy before customs to be honest. Just overpriced items as usual near the food court as well as the below-average check in counters (outdated tech). Customs and security were alright. Now, once you go into the duty free zone, it's like a whole different world. If you were placed in the duty free zone with no knowledge of where you are, you'd immediately think it was a shopping centre and not an airport. Seriously, some of the items in the "duty free" shops are just outright more expensive than you get from outside retailers. Also, terminal seating has these armrests between each seat. Can SYD just change it to no arm rests for particular areas? Food was very average for it's pricing at an average of AUD$10. Airport staff are excellent though, they're very professional. Free WiFi is pretty good.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"staff didn't seem bothered"

(United Kingdom)

Sydney is the worst airport I have used. All food options are outside the security yet nobody tells you before you go through. Once inside nothing is open before 6am and unless you want a McDonalds or snacks forget it. Staff didn't seem bothered either. Get me to Singapore Changi ASAP please.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"slow and unpleasant"

(Papua New Guinea)

It had been 5 years since I used Sydney for international and I'm pretty sure it's gotten worse. Arrival was no problem and I even got my baggage 20 minutes after deplaning, compared to the hour-long waits in the past (but this was probably unusually fast given that I typically wait 30 minutes for baggage at the domestic terminal). Departing was much worse. Long queues at check in and security - the staff are efficient, if unfriendly, it's just that the passenger numbers greatly exceed the capacity. Then airside is a warren of narrow spaces and it took ages just to find some truly awful cafes and some crowded seating and toilets. I've got no good advice to give - the airport works, it's just slow and unpleasant. Allow plenty of time and use Melbourne if you're connecting. Sydney's international terminal is a great example of why you shouldn't privatise a monopoly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"overpriced designer goods"

(Australia)

Departure was bearable (as I can sit in the lounge), however the whole place is just geared to selling you overpriced designer goods. All food options are of the 'fast' variety. Would you like chips with your new Gucci handbag? The early morning arrival back home was a shambles - a similar experience to every other time I arrive in Sydney. Baggage took forever to arrive (what takes less than 10 minutes at Singapore, takes Sydney staff 45 minutes). Well over an hour to get through. Embarrassing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no