top100_2016  

Sydney Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 383 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"avoid this airport if you can"

(Australia)

The international airport Customs queues have been a joke for over 18 months and continue to be so. Arrived on 24 July and the "green channel" queue was almost impossible to find and very badly managed, in fact hardly managed at all. People were just walking in from wherever. Not hard to sort but nobody seems to care. Transfer to domestic airport is also a nightmare. I live in Sydney so have to use it but my advice to others would be to avoid this airport if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a total disgrace"

(Australia)

I live and have been travelling into Sydney via the domestic airport for many years as a frequent flyer. The management or should I say mismanagement of the taxi pick up areas is a total disgrace and embarrassment to the state of NSW. The frustrations of travellers waiting for the process of getting ones taxi to play out is very evident on the face of most. The confusion an anarchy that seems to be the norm has been accepted by the airport management for too long. I implore this area to be reviewed and improved.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"decent selection of restaurants"

(Australia)

Sydney Airport is mildly comfortable, with a decent selection of restaurants. However, the staff could be more pleasant. The free Wi-Fi was excellent, and hotels are nearby. There are signs around which should help you get to the place you want. Overall, it genuinely depends on your personal experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"food was very average"

(Australia)

Arriving at the airport, nothing too fancy before customs to be honest. Just overpriced items as usual near the food court as well as the below-average check in counters (outdated tech). Customs and security were alright. Now, once you go into the duty free zone, it's like a whole different world. If you were placed in the duty free zone with no knowledge of where you are, you'd immediately think it was a shopping centre and not an airport. Seriously, some of the items in the "duty free" shops are just outright more expensive than you get from outside retailers. Also, terminal seating has these armrests between each seat. Can SYD just change it to no arm rests for particular areas? Food was very average for it's pricing at an average of AUD$10. Airport staff are excellent though, they're very professional. Free WiFi is pretty good.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"staff didn't seem bothered"

(United Kingdom)

Sydney is the worst airport I have used. All food options are outside the security yet nobody tells you before you go through. Once inside nothing is open before 6am and unless you want a McDonalds or snacks forget it. Staff didn't seem bothered either. Get me to Singapore Changi ASAP please.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"slow and unpleasant"

(Papua New Guinea)

It had been 5 years since I used Sydney for international and I'm pretty sure it's gotten worse. Arrival was no problem and I even got my baggage 20 minutes after deplaning, compared to the hour-long waits in the past (but this was probably unusually fast given that I typically wait 30 minutes for baggage at the domestic terminal). Departing was much worse. Long queues at check in and security - the staff are efficient, if unfriendly, it's just that the passenger numbers greatly exceed the capacity. Then airside is a warren of narrow spaces and it took ages just to find some truly awful cafes and some crowded seating and toilets. I've got no good advice to give - the airport works, it's just slow and unpleasant. Allow plenty of time and use Melbourne if you're connecting. Sydney's international terminal is a great example of why you shouldn't privatise a monopoly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"overpriced designer goods"

(Australia)

Departure was bearable (as I can sit in the lounge), however the whole place is just geared to selling you overpriced designer goods. All food options are of the 'fast' variety. Would you like chips with your new Gucci handbag? The early morning arrival back home was a shambles - a similar experience to every other time I arrive in Sydney. Baggage took forever to arrive (what takes less than 10 minutes at Singapore, takes Sydney staff 45 minutes). Well over an hour to get through. Embarrassing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"signage is unclear"

(Hong Kong)

I was transitting in Sydney from Auckland to Hong Kong. My flight was delayed and I had just 1 hour for the transit which was tight. When the flight arrived from AKL it took a long time for the passengers to deplane. The plane parked far away from the terminal and the transfer bus was driven very slowly. In the terminal the signage is unclear and I could not find the transit desk - because time was short I did not have time to collect my second boarding pass at the transit counter. The security check for transit had a long line and the check was slow. When I arrived at the boarding gate it was about 10 minutes before departure. The staff at the boarding gate were shouting at me about my boarding pass - I explained everything and they helped me to check in. I was warned my luggage may not go with the flight but surprisingly it made it. Did not find the attitude of staff that professional and the transit service was stressful.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"staff were efficient"

(Australia)

It took 10 minutes from the plane door to the airport car park at 7 am last week. The arrivals hall appeared packed but the automatic gates were working well and we didn't have to wait for luggage. The staff were efficient. Still the international airport as a whole is a national disgrace. The only, and never ending, renovations being undertaken are only to the shopping areas. The gate lounges are woefully inadequate for larger planes and the arrivals section feels cheap and cramped. the arrival drop off traffic always seems to be chaotic. Not the best welcome to the country.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"dirty and poorly organized"

(United States)

Over 45 minute queue to enter the airport rental car entrance (@ 9 am on a Sunday morning). Lane signage was almost non existent until the very last moment making it necessary to circle the airport and get in line over 1/2 mile before the first rental car exit lane sign. The Airport is dirty and poorly organized funneling every departing international passenger through a single doorway into two mammoth snaking queues to automated passport scanners that do not recognize changes in men's facial hair, requiring yet another queue for additional screening.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no