Sydney Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 403 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"worst designed airport"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Without doubt the worst designed airport in the world. Shocking set up, confusing road layout for entry and exit via car. Parking has ridiculous pricing. Why do the entry lanes to international terminal drop off and parking cross each other? A person in hi-viz standing there will not help. Police are always nearby directing traffic (which is a huge help) but surely the incompetence of roads and maritime NSW for the road layout is preventing them doing actual beneficial police work? I hope those who designed the airport and surrounding road layout have nothing to do with the future designing of any important areas in the future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"really unpleasant experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Arrived at the same time as several other international flights it seems as there were thousands of people merging into a huge sea of heads. The smart gate kiosks were overloaded with people pushing and unsure where queues were. Several out of service. No staff offering assistance or directions. Took over an hour to get through the crush to customs so we missed our connecting flight. Really unpleasant experience and I can’t imagine what first time visitors to Australia think. Awful is an understatement.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"filthiest airport in Australia"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney Airport has been and still is the filthiest airport in Australia. Just walking into departures and arrivals outside there's years of grime, black dirt and more. It never changes, always disgusting. We can imagine what visitors to Sydney think. You really set the standard Sydney Airport Corporation. Suggest they do some overdue work.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Slowest immigration clearance ever"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Absolute disgrace. Slowest immigration clearance ever. What a joke. Cos that's the way we like to welcome visitors and return residents with non Aussie passports: Not have a parking position ready for 30mins at the airport. Then having a defective aerobridge for an A380 and then making hundreds of people queue for 45mins.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"really needs to improve"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney airport really needs to improve how prams and strollers are handled from airplanes. Normally the stroller is given back at the gate however Sydney Airport transfers the pram/stroller to the oversized baggage area which either takes a million hours or returned back to the gate for someone (staff) to bring it down to the oversized baggage area.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"10 minutes to get into a cubicle"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Toilets are disgusting. No lid on toilet so when flushing all germs will be spread nicely. No toilet brush - to make sure you can clearly see your predecessors leftovers. Inside cubicle walls have marks and stains of goodness knows what. Doesn't look like it has been cleaned for months. Number of toilet cubicles cant cope with number of passengers. Had to line up for 10 minutes to get into a cubicle. Looks like toilets were subject to cost cutting. Would recommend do get a hygiene inspection done. Pathetic.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"can my luggage travel with me?"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Can my luggage travel with me? I travel/transit through Melbourne and Sydney regularly. Last month, Sydney Airport baggage handlers decided that my luggage should stay an additional night in their airport. Today, they decided that the luggage should go to Auckland, even though I actually travelled to Wellington. I thought the Sydney Airport had a modern, up to date, bar coded, computerized baggage system to assist these handlers! Do your jobs better! This stuff is a huge inconvenience to the travelers that pay your wages!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"desperately needs an upgrade"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | I think Sydney Airport desperately needs an upgrade. It’s not just the airport itself, but also the roads leading up to the airport. The inefficiency was astounding, with the traffic lights near the airport only allowing a maximum of 6 cars through each time, which resulted in a 15min long wait. The taxi from the airport to our hotel cost us about $60, but the trip to the departure terminal cost us over $100. What if people are in a rush? Is everyone expected to leave for their flight four hours beforehand so as to ensure that they wouldn’t get caught in the traffic? The roads simply do not have the capability to keep up with the inflow of passengers. In addition to that, the use of technology instead of staff to aid in the check-in of baggages only served to slow us (and other passengers in front of us) down. The automated bag drop off could not scan our baggage tags, and only when we asked the staff for help did they mention that the tags need to be on the side of the luggage. If the machines are incapable of scanning bag tags attached “wrongly”, signs informing people of where to place their tags would be more welcome. We did not have this problem in Melbourne. Singapore’s airport updated their system after being met with the same problem, and I hope that Sydney will do the same, because we wasted another 20min on that. Finally, my sister’s face could not be recognised at the face recognition device during immigration. The man in front of me didn’t know how to use the machine. I suggest having a mixture of counters staffed by humans and the electronic ones to increase efficiency.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"bag collection the slowest experienced"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I travel through Sydney International terminal every two to three weeks. My common destinations are LHR, DFW, Philly, Birmingham, JFK, AKL. I don't know why, but Sydney airport is the only one I visit that has a single lane entry for departing passengers. This single entry lane means the time I need to allow to travel just from the exit lane of the M5 tunnel to the departure doors is around 20 mins. All other airports I visit have multiple lanes (and no light-sabre-waving officials) as part of a ring system and all take far less time to access than Sydney and most are much bigger than Sydney. Once in the airport, things are not too bad until after passing through customs, where you're thrust into a Westfield-esque shemozzle carefully designed for you not to be able to easily find your departure gate. On arrival, things are definitely designed to destroy the will of the traveller. Immigration is reasonable. Bag collection is the slowest I experience in all airports I visit, and the old technology sloping carousels are the most destructive of baggage but the worst feature is that the traveller has to lug his/her baggage over 200 metres to meet anyone coming to collect him/her, in an exceptionally dangerously designed pick-up area (cars, parking, have to compete with people scurrying to other cars, causing frequent problems, and requiring officers attempting to mitigate the mayhem. All it requires is a loop system multi-lane drive-by immediately outside the baggage collection and welcoming area (like all other airports!) So simple and so easy to use for tired travellers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport to get into"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Sydney International Airport must be the worst airport to get into during peak hour. It takes an hour traveling from intersections robey street and Qantas drive to the drop off at international airport departures. There’s construction going on at the moment, building lanes after lanes with one lane entering the entrance of the Airport. This is why the traffic jam occurs. Sydney Airport has figured out how to make money with building multistory car parks, but haven’t figured out that 4 lanes into one lane equals traffic jam! Do something about Sydney Airport!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no