Sydney Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 322 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

Sydney Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 28th June 2015

We are regular users of T1 and can sympathize with a lot of the previous comments here. But on this last trip all was well. An 8am departure saw us check in and thru emigration and security without any delays. The border patrol guy even had time for a chat. Have never seen the airport so deserted. Toilets airside were clean and most of the food places were open. Arrival back in the early evening was the same story. Of course my passport wouldn't scan (it seldom does) but went straight thru the manual check without delay. My partner (American passport) went thru the automated system without problems. Luggage was soon available and customs/quarantine was also quick. Landing to airport hotel room in 40 mins. Sometimes you can be lucky.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit27-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
5/10

Sydney Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 20th June 2015

Although the facilities are new the airport is clean. The airport has one of the worst immigration and custom processing facilities in the world. It isn't unusual to find that only one luggage security scanner is operating. The queue is always hopelessly long, and the immigration personnel can be very rude. I suppose with the monopoly of being the only airport in Sydney, they can afford to do so. The parking charges are incredibly expensive. Trying to squeeze too much infrastructure within the limited space, has turned their car park into something resembling a maze. The lane lines are confusing. The signage is poor. The congestion entering and exiting the airport is incomprehensible for a modern city. Trying to drive along Qantas Drive during peak hours is like driving through peak hours in the city, one could hardly move. Perhaps it is time that Sydney has a second airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date Visit20-06-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
/10

Sydney Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 11th June 2015

My wife and I use the Sydney International Terminal for convenience at least once a year on average and we feel that nothing has changed in a long time. The International Airport Terminal itself has the appearance of a tired, old world and filthy patchwork quilt. Operationally it is expensive, pokey, dirty and noisy and has officials with attitude. The treatment of passengers in arrivals is dysfunctional and nothing short of embarrassing. On our last arrival my wife's electronic passport was declined three times and she was obliged to get back into the long non resident immigration arrival line along with other frustrated passengers. Asian arrivals waiting for the rest of their party behind the cramped immigration area were shouted at to get down the narrow filthy steps into the baggage area "or else". No directions, no guidance, no one asking for our Ebola Forms and most of the people on our flight making a quick straight line from immigration into the Arrivals Hall uninterrupted without baggage or any other checks. Filthy amenities, washrooms where people still need to touch and push doors to access toilet areas. This International Terminal operation wouldn't rate as a regional/country airport in most other countries and remains a national embarrassment.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
no
0/10

Sydney Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 31st May 2015

Truly dreadful - national embarrassment. Since taking over Macquarie Bank has only invested in the things that give them a return. So almost constant extensions to the world's most expensive car parks and ever more modern looking shopping areas. Alas the rest of T1 is left to rot. Tired old building that is poorly maintained and rarely cleaned. An inbound immigration sections that could barley cope with 707s let alone A380s. Macquarie will never invest in what could be called 'the public infrastructure' even modestly. So no grade separated pedestrian and road bridges like other airports - cheaper to just paint on a pedestrian crossing and watch the chaos. Despite pocketing a taxi surcharge the taxi rank is cattle race with pathetic vehicle circulation. Macquarie are too stingy to even put up a covered walkway from the terminal to their monopoly priced car park. An utter disgrace.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
0/10

Sydney Airport customer review

Review by (Thailand) 19th April 2015

I and my colleagues went to New Zealand together and transited at Sydney Airport during Thai New Year Holiday. There were so many tour groups in the queue. At first we were waiting in a different line but after a while the flux of the tour group crowd were pushing us to the back. That wasn't the worst thing airport staff seem not bother managing the tour groups the small groups or individual travelers. There were bunches of individual travelers trying to cut the line with the reason that their flight was boarding. We were almost late for boarding our flight. We finally had to ask the Officer to help us with the queue when we had only 10 minutes left before boarding time but the Officers didn't bother to do anything. I suggest the airport looks at managing the queuing system to at least separate the lines by the group size of travelers and the next flight time.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
3/10

Sydney Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 8th April 2015

Passengers off just one A380 queued up nearly back to the embarkation point trying to navigate through to the arrivals hall - poor signage and few instructions. No staff were coming through the queue and directing tired and frustrated passengers down to the numerous kiosks positioned by the smartgates - so no-one knew they could form different lines. Half of the kiosks seemed to reject passports which shouldn't have been rejected so it took a number of attempts again leaving painful queues. If you could successfully get the kiosk to work the smartgate then rejected some of the tickets. After that to be faced with seemingly surly and rude customs officers and being pushed into ever decreasing space which took forever to exit through the 'nothing to declare' channel made for a truly wonderful experience! Compared with so many other airports around the world dreadful.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
2/10

Sydney Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 29th March 2015

I'm not sure what Macquarie Bank is trying to achieve at Sydney Airport but it is truly dreadful! At the moment it presents like a large Dan Murphys scattered with MacDonalds and other equally poor quality food offerings. It is one of the worst airports I have ever had the misfortune to visit. Soulless generic and boring.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
0/10

Sydney Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 17th March 2015

A truly dreadful airport. Its not so much that it is old but it is very poorly maintained dirty and scruffy exceptionally badly laid out loud and very poorly signed. Toilet areas are disgusting and this is not a place where I would eat. All space that might be used for passengers has been turned into retail areas - its not so much an airport as a run-down shopping mall with very cramped departure gates attached. It is slightly better for arrival than departure but there is not much in it. This airport needs new ownership new management and a lot of investment.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities N/A
no
0/10

Sydney Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 17th March 2015

Long queues a lot of cutting in by the usual suspects from China and India. Long lines at security and then I met the most abrasive discourteous security person ever. At the end of the process I stopped to chat him about his attitude complained to his supervisor and lodged a complaint with the airport via their website. This was automatically turned over to the security company who replied with the usual tripe.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
0/10

Sydney Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 17th March 2015

Without a doubt the sorriest excuse for a major international airport. Just returned from an overseas visit to Tokyo Hong Kong and Bangkok. Arriving back in Sydney on March 3 was by far the most excruciatingly painful difficult third world airport experience of the trip. There was nothing positive about the experience. The arrivals hall infrastructure is completely inadequate with thousands of arriving passengers queued up well back into the terminal. Half of the kiosks weren't working with the ones that were working with long painful queues. If you could successfully get the kiosk to work (I couldn't necessitating a 60 minute wait in a service queue) it was likely the smartgate wouldn't take the ticket. Overwhelmed customs agents were short tempered screaming at incoming visitors. The temperature level was high. Baggage delivery was just as bad. And of course I missed by domestic connection as a result of the two hours it took me to get through. What a waste of time money and energy. You call this a world class international airport? I would suggest Australian regulators get on a plane up to Singapore Hong Kong Bangkok and Seoul for a look at the present. They have their head in the sand and whoever is responsible should be fired. The Sydney airport is simply an embarrassment to all Australians.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no