Best Cabin Crew  

Sydney Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 367 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"security comically overzealous"

(United States)

Out of the dozen or so airports I've been to Stdney is the worst. We had to transfer between the domestic terminal (mediocre with some issues but not the worst ever) to the International terminal. It's a setup I've seen before but there is no complimentary tram or shuttle to transport passengers you have to pay $6/person to take the train or bus. I've never encountered this particular situation, but, it's a fast reliable system, so we dealt with it. Security was comically overzealous during our transfer, ensuring our safety by thoroughly searching my bag for a pair of nail clippers, which I then was forced to throw away, despite having no issue carrying them onboard at 4 previous airports (including Sydney domestic) within the last few weeks. We moved on our way to grab some lunch as we hadn't eaten in several hours and we would be transferring to a long flight. But wait, where are the restaurants? After wandering past multiple expensive duty-free shops, we were unable to find a single restaurant. Reviewing a map showed there were 2 or 3 options about 10 minutes away in another wing, so we marched along that way. Once we arrived, we were shocked to find, our choices were limited to a few fast food places, the highest quality of which seemed to be McDonald's. In a large international airport in a major metropolitan area, the star food option is McDonald's. We opted for some quick items from a couple of the low-quality food chains, one of which was okay, and the other of which was disgusting and pricey. It looked like the main duty free area was under construction, but why on earth would they not leave a couple of restaurants open? Do they really think tired travelers are more interested in expensive designer purses and trinkets than they are in a decent meal? This airport is an embarrassment to Sydney, which is a shame, because it's an awesome city. I'm glad I saw the city before the International airport. If I ever visit again, I'll do everything in my power to avoid the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"bags were delivered very fast"

(Australia)

Leaving on QF 23 on 21st January, a very quick check in and through to Business Class lounge in a few minutes despite the e-passport machine not reconising me, but the staff and immigration staff were very good. Arriving on 30th January on EK 418 at 9am. The airport was nearly empty. Straight off plane, through to Duty free and then to Immigration, very nice lady smiling and happy. Bags were delivered very fast and then through to exit. A very fast exit so from plane to taxi about 25 mins. Fantastic.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"getting worse by the day"

(Australia)

Getting worse by the day, more than two hours to get out of this airport, no immigration entry forms were available on the way to passport control area, baggage check queue was spiraling around carousel area making passengers confuse where the end of the queue was. No officers were there to control the situation. Credit to immigration officers cos all the lines were served by officers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
6/10

"breezed through the formalities"

(Australia)

The trick with Sydney International Terminal is to pick a flight that leaves in the afternoon, as in the morning it is jam-packed. I breezed through the formalities and on to the 1.30 departure with hardly a hitch. Coming back I made the mistake of arriving in the early morning along with three other large, full planes. There was a large crowd at immigration and baggage collection. Despite that, and thanks to the electronic passport machines, I was out in thirty minutes.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"this place just gets worse and worse"

(Australia)

This place just gets worse and worse. On departure the queue for security checking was so large it was jammed up against the egress from the immigration desks. On arrival the on-time aircraft waited 22 minutes for an arrival gate (it was not the only aircraft waiting). Again I ask myself what the airport operator is doing about these issues and the only answers I see are more duty free shops. Please, what Sydney needs first and foremost is a functioning efficient airport, not another shopping complex.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"treated us with great contempt"

(Australia)

We arrived at Sydney domestic airport and found the desk for REX, the person behind the desk was disinterested in assisting us with checking in until we requested a wheel chair as I am unable to walk long distance. I am not worried about this person it was the security person who treated us with great contempt. I was searched by a female security guard while my husband put my handbag, x-rays (medical appt), crutches through the dray machine. When we had finished finished my husband asked this not so nice person (being very polite here) grunted at us to come over because he wanted to search my handbag. He rudely told me he was going to search my handbag (could hardly speak english). He went through my handbag twice, my wallet twice, and then took my handbag, wallet and everything from my bag back through the machine. He threw my handbag and all the contents at me and told me ok.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"never encountered such a ridiculous situation"

(Australia)

Four of us arrived from Norfolk Island. Needed to use the bus from international to domestic. This was advertised to run every 10 minutes. Emerged from the terminal to see a full bus drive off. Another bus behind the first one parked a few metres away and the driver disappeared into the terminal for 30 minutes. When he emerged he drove away only to return 10 minutes later. When I told the driver we had been waiting 40 minutes he said the wet weather had affected the traffic. As a consequence we missed our flight to Melbourne. Fortunately the Virgin ground crew were very helpful and managed to get us on a flight 2 hours later. I have never encountered such a ridiculous situation. Transfer between terminals is very quick and easy even at large airports such as Heathrow. Sydney is a disgrace as an international airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"becoming a logistical nightmare"

(Australia)

It seems getting to the Airport to drop or pick some one off is becoming a logistical nightmare and the so called security guards at the drop off ppoint think they own the place urging you to hurry up, without any regard to the safety of the passenger. The Pick up area is no better as if you are late you end up paying a hefty fee.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"a very average international airport"

(Australia)

International Terminal. A very average international airport. Being Australia's busiest airport and a major gateway for travelers to go in and out of the country, Sydney Airport is not at the standard where it's supposed to be in. Yes, the airport is clean and have everything it needs to operate properly. The staff were helpful and the process from check-in to boarding can be considered to be smooth. However, I find that the airport lacks the glamour and 'wow' factor that travelers love seeing at major airports like Singapore, Hong Kong, or London. I would love to see more decorations and improve the atmosphere of the terminal (maybe add more skylights to give the illusion of space or carpet to add sense of luxury).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"a second rate airport with basic facilities"

(Australia)

A second rate airport with basic facilities that is focused solely on being cheap. From the arrival to immigration involves a long walk around a circuit of the duty free shops before getting to immigration. There are no travellators and the passageways constrict movement of large numbers of passengers. Once through immigration which they are trying to automate (unsuccessfully, since the booths constantly fail) you get to a crowded debacle of passengers trying to retrieve their baggage and exit through customs. That is if the airport has not done a deal with Border Force and the TV networks to film a reality TV show, in which case you are in for extended delays as the Border Force pretends to be efficient.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
no