Sydney Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 394 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"worst airport to get into"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Sydney International Airport must be the worst airport to get into during peak hour. It takes an hour traveling from intersections robey street and Qantas drive to the drop off at international airport departures. There’s construction going on at the moment, building lanes after lanes with one lane entering the entrance of the Airport. This is why the traffic jam occurs. Sydney Airport has figured out how to make money with building multistory car parks, but haven’t figured out that 4 lanes into one lane equals traffic jam! Do something about Sydney Airport!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Searched for water bubblers"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Searched for water bubblers whilst departing and arriving at Sydney domestic airport. Was unable to find a fountain on our departure but just passed a single fountain right near the exit to baggage claim in a corridor upon our arrival. If the airport was serious about customer service and the environment they would ensure that water fountains were scattered generously around the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"lots of shops and restaurants"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Sydney Airport has two terminals, one for domestic, and the other for international flights. Transfer between the two can be made by trains or buses. Please note, train journeys, start or end at airport terminals have an extra 14 AUD added to the ticket price. The international terminal has lots of shops and restaurants.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
2/10

"tiring stay at this airport"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Very rough transit staff, very expensive and not good at all to transit here. No smoking room or area, very disappointed with airport policies. Really tiring stay at this airport because of no entertainment, nothing to do apart from sit and do nothing, very sad.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"That's a disgrace"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | When I arrived at Sydney Airport in the morning of March 10th, I checked out currency rates at one of the booths outside the arrivals hall. I wanted to exchange Canadian dollars for Australian dollars, and they are within a few pennies of each other. I have no problem paying a commission which in this case was fourteen dollars on a two hundred dollars but I do have a problem being cheated. I was told my two hundred Canadian dollars were worth o+ne hundred and twenty eight Australian after commissions. You do the math. That's a disgrace. I really hope the airport authorities will clean this up, as it's an embarrassment for such a wonderful country. We all need to make a profit but keep it reasonable. I used the bank machine, got the correct rate within a few points and paid a two dollar fee! Be aware if you are using currency exchange in the arrivals hall. Same company as outside!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
no
5/10

"quite expensive to eat there"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Generally its quite expensive to eat there in Arrivals or departures. Seating at gates okay. I hate the long walk through all the duty free at international departures, a real pain. Arrivals hall old and dingy and gets very crowded in international arrivals.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"difficult to use by passengers"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Sydney Airport is difficult to use by passengers. It is confused, chaotic, poorly signed and has inferior pedestrian and auto access. I travel often for both business and pleasure. I'm sure I'm not alone in sharing with you my always unpleasant experience when using Sydney International. Access Departure: This terminal has only a single vehicle lane supplying the departures check-in areas. In most cases, my driver must wait in a queue (monitored by baton-waving officers) for some time before I can get to the departures doors. Sometimes the queue extends all the way back to half way down the exit filter lane in the M5 tunnel. And all this time it is only single lane. And it causes impatience by some drivers, who then break laws out of frustration. After checking in, there is only one channel to the customs control, often causing unnecessary delay. After passing through customs, the traveller is expelled into a chaotic, Westfield-esque experience where signs guiding people to gate lounges (a major reason people going to airports!) are rare and not obvious. Access Arrival: After leaving the aircraft, travellers walk to the randomly placed auto passport process stations, then to the baggage carousels, all of which work reasonably (placing of the auto passport stations should be thought out better, it's too random). After collecting bags, and passing through immigration control, travellers are then faced with something no other airport I travel to anywhere in the world does, namely, a very unpleasant and exhausting unreasonably long (more than 200 metres) walk to an exceptionally poorly designed pick-up area. The points I raised above are all peculiar to Sydney airport. Particularly, the last point is addressed in all other international airports I use, by having a multi-lane ring road passing to a concourse immediately outside the airport exit doors so cars can briefly stop to collect their weary traveller. Usually, at the end of the concourse is a taxi and shuttle dedicated area. I make these comments because I am tired of using Sydney Airport, and because it is a source of complaint from overseas visitors.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Sydney Airport is too small"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We were told by a relative to allow 3 hours to get through Sydney Airport for our evening flight to Kuala Lumpur by Malaysia Airlines. 3 hours to get through the airport, I thought. Checking In: We saw 2 lines of queue going to the checking desks. A short one (baggage drop - online checked in) and a long one (complete check in). The long queue was about 6 times longer than the shorter queue. We opted for the shorter queue, but we found that it was crawling relative to the long queue. After more than 40 minutes, we dropped our baggage at the desks. I noticed that people who joined the other longer queue were attended to earlier than us. This is not right as we had made the effort to check in online. Immigration: There were queues to the immigration desks, but this was civilised compared to the Malaysia Airlines check-in procedure. Security: This, in my opinion, was not up to international standard of a major airport. Firstly, there were long queues to go to the screening hall. It appeared to be confusing, people being split up to the various screening areas. As we progressed up, there was more confusion, the last of that group would go first and people were who went through the process, had to go through repeatedly. I accept that are following an established protocol, but it appeared really confusing. The staff appear to look harassed. Secondly, the queue moved so slowly. We were there for more than 30 mins at least. It was not calm and orderly. And finally, there was the “mayhem” in the boarding process. Malaysia Airlines boards by seat numbers with the passengers at the back going in first. The point being, there are people who can see that the boarding process has started but they do not know exactly what is happening. Are they being called to board? There are no obvious signage or clear audio announces to inform passengers what was happening. Because they were not sure of the announcement, anxious for more information about their situation, they moved to the front. As a result, the area around the boarding area is packed with people. This full plane load of people blocked the main hall where other passengers have to cross to catch their respective flights. This is not a very civilised manner to board a plane in a modern-day airport. From the experience that I had, Sydney Airport is too small for the passenger number it is handling. It should be enlarged for the increasing number of passengers going through.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"arrivals is a disorganised mess"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Sydney Airport’s arrivals is a disorganised mess. It certainly doesn’t compare to global airports out there. It seems drab, unwelcoming, slow, unpredictable and the customer service is simply bad. Long waiting periods at the baggage conveyor belts and the equipment often malfunctions.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"No customer service, confusing signage"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Sydney Airport is one of the worst airports I have ever been to. No customer service, confusing signage - if any, outrageous station entrance / exit charges, and surly staff. Oh - and the toilets are filthy. This Airport is worse than Heathrow - and that is saying something. The OPAL train fares between Mascot and Circular Quay etc., have been really good value. Likewise for the Ferries. And we had been walking to / from Mascot and the IBIS Budget everyday to avoid the draconian Airport charges. But we just got well stung for getting out at the Domestic station. My companion was feeling sick on the way home from the city and didn't want to do the walk. But what a rip-off - $15 (£10) just for getting out of the train station. Then we had to pay $14 for a shuttle van to the hotel. There was no 'thank you' from the station's exit gates nor the staff manning the gates to make up for such outrageous charges. We got through the station exit gates and then all of sudden the signage disappeared. With such outrageous charges the Airport obviously can't even be bothered to tell folks where to go for such as the van shuttles etc. What a cash cow train scam. But we understand that if we had let out Opal cards 'go negative' we could have exited at the Airport for free, thrown them away, and got new ones (if required).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no