Shenzhen Baoan Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 14 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

Shenzhen Baoan Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 18th December 2014

Excellent new terminal spacious and with lots of check-in counters. Flew China Southern to Nanjing and the check-in was swift as was security. All passengers get patted down regardless of whether you beep or not which was a bit of a nuisance. Beyond security good amenities and restaurants. We had an early morning departure and the terminal was very busy but it is definitely large enough to handle the number of people. One downside is we got a bus to the plane which took 20 minutes.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
10/10

Shenzhen Baoan Airport customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 1st September 2014

Beautiful terminal and concourses in the new terminal. Light and airy honestly the airport I would most enjoy waiting around in for a flight delay. Also good food and shops and a general uplifting feeling. Also the bus transit link back to Hong Kong was fast and efficient. Going through security screening was a bit of a line but the check procedure was quick enough.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
8/10

Shenzhen Baoan Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 18th August 2014

The new terminal is amazing but the ground transport options are disjointed until the new direct train line is completed also there are few options for early morning departures. The communal areas are massive well lit and free flowing. Many shops allow for casual browsing. First Class Check In for Shenzhen Airlines was more like a 5 Star hotel in a segregated area.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
1/10

Shenzhen Baoan Airport customer review

Review by (Netherlands) 3rd August 2014

Even though this airport is new it is terrible! Very long waiting lines at all levels. Security slow and no matter if you beep or don't beep you will be checked. Furthermore I really don't understand the "designers" of the airport runways. It needs just few drop of water and the runway is flooded causing long extremely long delays. Airlines staff cant give details about any delays and communication is poor. No regular updates. An airport to avoid.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
1/10

Shenzhen Baoan Airport customer review

Review by (Canada) 21st May 2013

What is the point of going through security screening without getting beeped if all of us have to get a body search? That part annoyed me. Then there were massive delays across all airlines it was chaotic. No updates were given regarding the flight time. The queues were even more chaotic the airport staff were unable to maintain order in the airport. Total inefficient. Go to Hong Kong airport instead.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
1/10

Shenzhen Baoan Airport customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 24th April 2012

Huge terminals with insufficient lighting counters with very long lines incredibly long security lines but the worst thing is the delayed flights. Passengers are never given information as to why their plane hasn't arrived or worse if on time and boarded on time the plane is towed away from the gate where it sits engines off for hours before being allowed to take off. The terminal is very old dirty and with staff who never listen when you ask questions.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
2/10

Shenzhen Baoan Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 7th August 2011

Terminal D is the temporary International Terminal. In reality it is a glorified bus terminal as it does not have any airside gates directly to aircraft just bus bays to ferry passengers to and from their respective planes. Entering the building for departure everything seems back to front and confusing. Firstly you are swabbed for explosives before being allowed into the building. I had to ask where Check-In was located I was then directed through the Customs area. In front of me was Immigration Check-In was off a corridor to the right that I had walked past. Check in was clumsy with passengers being asked to walk behind the counters and x-ray scanners to handle baggage. Other staff were having to walk along the conveyor belts to clear constant blockages. Next came Immigration then there was only one xray and search area open in a tight constricted area. Everyone was being quizzed about their baggage and I had to pull my carry-on apart for inspection in the small area. Finally I was in the smallish lounge area with three duty free stores and a single restaurant. So there was only a vending machine if you wanted a drink but I only had notes not coins.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
5/10

Shenzhen Baoan Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 26th July 2011

The Metro now runs from the city centre to the airport. If you are flying with China Eastern (MU) Terminal A the check in is hard to find. Its at the end of the building around the corner from the main hall.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
4/10

Shenzhen Baoan Airport customer review

Review by 31st May 2010

Return domestic flight in one day. Busy Airport and glad I was travelling first class as there were a lot of queues for Economy. Public transport seemed good. I had a Chinese escort and she easily arranged a bus to our destination (I am not a bus person) and calls to go to the bus from the terminal were very efficient. Had a one hour delay on the way back to Shanghai but with the storms in China that week could not blame anyone at all.
no
/10

Shenzhen Baoan Airport customer review

Review by 6th March 2008

Two terminals (A & B you can’t miss them with 20 feet high letters on the outside of each building). The terminals are connected by a walkway on the second floor (departures level). Both terminals are wide and open with good public facilities and numerous options for transport to Shenzhen and HK Self Administrative Region. Downtown bus No.330 has several stops and terminates at Shenzhen Station and Lo Hu Boundary Crossing where you can change to a train to Kaoloon. These are frequent and cheap and in my opinion are a far better option to taxis who are adept at all the usual airport taxi scams. A golden rule in China is that it’s always better to get a taxi downtown where competition is keener and drivers more reliable not to mention safer. That unpleasantness aside other transport options to HK include fast and frequent (every 20-30 minutes) busses to the HK boundary and onward to a number of destinations in the SAR itself. Perhaps most useful for foreigners are those to Kaoloon including Hung Hom Station (main station) Prince Edward MRT station (Mong Kok) Nathan Road at Tsim Sha Tsui (TST) MRT station. The only downside of these services is that they use the Hong Gang Port crossing which involves exiting the bus for Chinese immigration reboarding and exiting again for HK inspections then reboarding for a third time before continuing your trip. Sounds complicated but it is actually quite straight forward even with a minimum of Chinese. All can be booked at the official desks near the exit doors for both terminals- you will be taken to your bus when it arrives by a uniformed hostess. Never go anywhere with a non- uniformed person as there are plenty of touts looking for a quick buck and you will be scammed perhaps even worse. Other options include the fast turbojet to Central on HK Island and helicopters to HK International Airport neither of which I have tried. As for SZ airport itself food facilities abound and are much better for range and price than almost any other Chinese airport- and I’ve been to quite a few! Terminal B has a Starbucks and McDs (arrivals) and KFC (departures) all with free internet access. The other terminal has a Pizza Hut (arrivals) and a couple of pricy Chinese options in departures. The walkway between the terminals has a couple of Chinese food options which are reasonably priced. All restroom facilities are reasonable for China- again with the smoking but what can you do? BYO paper or take the dispensers near the hand wash area as there is none in the stalls- this is common practice for all Chinese public facilities. Most stalls are squat type but one sit down is usually available for “the infirm” but it may double as a store room for mops and buckets - welcome to China. Don’t tip the staff as it is not a Chinese custom.
no
1 to 10 of 13 Reviews