Riga Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 29 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

Riga Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 18th July 2015

I have used Riga airport many times over the past 10 years and have seen the airport grow in size and in the number of airlines which now use the airport. The airport is currently building a new 2nd terminal and there are some alterations to where aircraft are parked, it can mean a very slight delay in deplaning and getting to the terminal buildings. However once inside passport control and baggage collection for inbound flights is still and slick operation with an average time 30 minutes from landing to been outside and on the way into Riga. Flying out from Riga is totally painless and smooth. Before security, there is a good choice of restaurant's with a TGIFs and Lido, which between them offer a mix of Latvian and International dishes. Security is painless and very efficient with little or no queues, we were travelling at lunchtime on a Sunday which is a peak time and it took us 10 minutes to clear the security process. Airside there is a good mix of shops and also food and drink outlets. I am sure Riga is hoping to become a hub for the Baltic States given new terminal and the talk of a rail link into Riga. The taxi fare is the region of 11-15 euro depending where you are going in Riga.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit18-03-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
8/10

Riga Airport customer review

Review by (New Zealand) 14th July 2015

I had low expectations but was pleasantly surprised. The airport is spacious, clean, and attractive. Security was very quick and there was plenty of shopping options and seating. They are renovating extensively so we had a long bus ride to our plane.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit14-07-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
2/10

Riga Airport customer review

Review by (Austria) 10th May 2015

Could be a nice cosy Airport however its main problem seems to be the staff. Security checks are extremely slow and time consuming they won't open more than 2 checkpoints even if people have to line up for 1/2 hour and would miss their flight due to slow security checks. security staff is unfriendly and refuses to speak English. It can also happen that you have to spend 15 min or more inside the plane after landing as no staff is available to operate passenger bridge. Screens are incredibly small and do not really help you to receive required information about your flights.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

Riga Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 9th March 2015

Flew back from Riga last night. Didn't arrive at the airport due to our flight being diverted to Kaunas Lithuania. However outbound the service was extremely poor. Staff were rude and the operations implemented at Riga airport were terrible. Coffee shop staff were useless and the departure lounge was severely overcrowded. It was also extremely hot in there. Wouldn't recommend.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping N/A
no
na

Riga Airport customer review

Review by (Belgium) 18th August 2014

Mixed feelings. We went to Riga for a short city trip. Arrival at Riga airport was no problem luggage handling went very quick so we were satisfied with the service. Unfortunately the departure one week later was a horrible experience. After our in time arrival at the airport the electronic check-in devices did not work properly. The staff helped some passengers and refused to help some others in a completely arbitrary manner. We were sent back to the enormous waiting row for normal check-in. Time became short but the staff assured us there would be no problem to catch our flight in due time. For the control of documents before entering security checkpoint only 1 (one) lane was open for the big crowd. And the rows became longer and longer. We asked information to staff members who seemed to be totally uninformed job students note able to deal with the problems. 10 minutes after the start of the boarding of our flight we (and a lot of other travelers) decided to switch through the priority lane: first we were allowed then a staff member tried to send us back in a rude and impolite manner which we refused to do (one older women in front of us already started crying). The lady who already refused to help us before even had the courage to laugh us in the face while passing by. The checking of documents went very inefficiently also in the priority lane. We managed to get through 10 minutes before departure time made a run at the gate and were lucky enough to catch our flight to Brussels just in time. I understand that in a small airport handling a big crowd of departing passengers is a challenge but I'm convinced that here a more better handling would not only have been adequate but also possible with a more efficient organisation and a more professional attitude of some staff members. Worst experience ever in an international airport.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping N/A
no
10/10

Riga Airport customer review

Review by (Germany) 21st April 2014

The airport is not too big so that it has short ways from check-in to boarding. Check-In is possible at self service kiosks to avoid waiting times. The Restaurant and Cafe in the public area is cheap and offers a wide choice of good foods. No long waiting lines at the security checks. There are different shops and restaurants/cafes in the security area with a wide choice. The Duty free shops have a great choice of goods and good prices.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
7/10

Riga Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 28th January 2014

RIX is a small efficient airport. Check in was slow because staff was not familiar with the transit 72 hours visa policy at Beijing airport. She was apologetic for the delay. Security was easy staff are professional and friendly. Finnair use airport lounge it was surprising good good design comfortable and some hot food as well. Boarding was quick but immigration staff are not so friendly at the gate I don't understand why they are there anyway considering we out of EU from Helsinki. It was a not bad airport except immigration staff.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
9/10

Riga Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 5th May 2013

Surprisingly modern although compact airport. Flew CDG-RIX-TLL return. Good duty free easy enough check in and cap on the max price a taxi can charge you (10Lats from the airport to anywhere in the city). Jetways on most gates. Food mostly located groundside although there is a great little pizza place buried out of the way in Concourse A. Also great for entertainment is a free "Tab Bar" loaded with Android tablets which anyone can use as well as charging ports for your airport. Overall a very pleasant surprise.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
9/10

Riga Airport customer review

Review by (Latvia) 11th January 2012

On departure AirBaltic desks do have huge queues but they move quite quickly and are getting better as people use machine check-ins more. Modern duty frees have opened and several food outlets airside. Most flights have jetties. On arrival there are three options for getting to the city - taxi (about EUR 15); AirBaltic minibus which stops at all the major hotels (EUR 5 per person); ordinary bus (about EUR 1 per person). Modern clean and efficient airport with free wifi throughout.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
8/10

Riga Airport customer review

Review by (Latvia) 11th November 2011

Riga International requires a new terminal as it has become very busy over the last 2-3 years. Apart from the long queues during the busiest hours generally it is very good. Catering ok (however quite expensive) organization and signs are good facilities well maintained and clean. Electronic check-in and baggage drop zones have been introduced however Check-in desks are still overcrowded.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 28 Reviews