Airline of the Year  

Paris Orly Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 53 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Bad signage, unhelpful staff"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Horrible airport experience. I agree with the previous reviews. Will try to avoid this airport in future. Bad signage, unhelpful staff and very bad communication. More staff and equipment required at the security checks. Queues huge and long waiting times. Get there early to reduce the stress levels.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"most dysfunctional airport I have ever been to"

(New Zealand)

We arrived at Paris Orly two hours before our flight as instructed by the airline. We queued up for security 1.5 hours before departure time. The sign indicated it would take 45 minutes to clear all checks, which seemed longer than it should be. After 30 minutes of moving slowly the security scanning stopped for 20 minutes, apparently at the request of the police. We were told all flights would be delayed but they did not know by how long. We were still queuing for passport control when our flight boarding time technically closed. In total it took 1.5 hours to pass through standard security checks and passport control. We were still 10 minutes walk away from our gate and it was departure time. We found someone from the airline and made it onto the plane, seven people missed the flight. Once in the queue you are stuck, people in front of you have later flights but no one cares. There are no signs telling you if your flight is delayed or has departed. There is free WiFi upstairs but not downstairs, same with air conditioning. There are no additional checks just disorganisation. Most dysfunctional airport I have ever been to. Line up for security at least 2 hours before your flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"people had to rush to the gate"

(Ireland)

There were huge queues for security, as big as I have ever seen at any airport. There were then further huge queues for passport checking before getting to the departure lounge. We weren't told of any particular security threat so I assume this is normal procedure for this airport. All told we took about 90 minutes to get through those checks and as we only had carry on luggage we wouldn't have expected to arrive at the airport 2 hours before our flight time. We might have missed our flight had we not been very early. I was hoping to look at the shops but hadn't time, the duty free area was almost deserted as people had to rush to the gate when they got thorough.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Information clearly displayed"

(France)

We chose this airport as opposed to CDG, efficient, clean, helpful staff. Information clearly displayed. I don't recognise our experience with the other comments. Perhaps their airline procedures are the problem rather than airport. Confused! Will certainly use again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"simply horrible experience at any level"

(United Kingdom)

Avoid if you can! Simply horrible experience at any level - huge line for the passport check, rude staff, lack of any signs. No indication on which bus can transfer you to Charles de Gaulle airport. Shabby interiors, dirty bathrooms and everyone extremely unhelpful.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"I found signs a bit confusing and lacking"

(United Kingdom)

Arriving at Orly South Terminal by the train shuttle is like entering a palace through the back door, but I noticed that the airport airside must have been recently refurbished. The tones of red and white allows for a sense of elegance and modernity and I have enjoyed the best restrooms I have recently experienced in an airport. Extra clean and almost posh and in red and white too. I found signs a bit confusing and lacking. Airside it was a bit of disappointment as it doesn't seem to have been refurbished at all and it still seems consistently 70s in its carpeted minimality. I appreciated, though, not being pushed through an endless gallery of duty shops as it happens in most more modern airports. On the contrary you have to walk the extra mile here if you want to go shopping from most of the gates. The overall experience was smooth and the staff is kind and helpful enough.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"will avoid Orly at all costs"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | First time through Paris Orly. Shocked at lack of facilities air side. Poor food choices, limited duty free and no place to sit. Patently not big enough for class of aircraft. And it's just grubby. Try pushing a broom around occasionally. Even more shocked at the chaos at security. Staff are clueless, arrogant and rude. I appreciate how difficult their job is, but try to do it with grace and have some pride in what you do. We complained but supervisor was as clueless as staff. We simply did not feel safe after security check. Staff are not paying attention. Will avoid Orly at all costs.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"I think I prefer CDG"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flight from Toulouse into Paris Orly was ontime. Transit was simple. Airport is compact but the non-schengen wing (Gate 31) of Orly West is very overwhelmed. There were two 77W flights (470 passengers per aircraft) to the French Caribbean plus a 738 (189 passengers) to Agadir and a 752 (112 passengers) to New York all departing within 30 minutes of one another but there were only two passport control booths open. The result was a 1 hour and 10 minute wait to get through passport control. Ridiculous. The airside area after security was a zoo since most people were running to catch their flight and there is a distinct shortage of seating. On the bright side, the restrooms were clean and the British Airways lounge is quite nice. I think I prefer CDG, however (I never thought I would say that).
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"a big mess"

(Albania)

One thing that everybody mentions about Paris Orly is that it's understaffed, and they are right. It can look small since is the second airport of Paris, but its not. The staff was disorientated, long queues, overcrowded. The terminal building definitely needs a refurbishment. It was hard to find my luggage as the bags from my flight were spread in different places. A big mess.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"ridiculously understaffed"

(United Kingdom)

1 hour and 20 minutes to get through passport control on a broken ankle which was ridiculously understaffed. This was followed by a 20 minute wait for the bag checked. The flights were all delayed because of how slow the process was. The airport was deserted in the departure lounge, except for passengers running for their respective flights. Embarrassing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 50 Reviews