Airline of the Year  

Oslo Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 108 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"excessive, chaotic delay at passport controlE

(United Kingdom)

Excessive, chaotic delay at passport control in departure area of Oslo Airport. No information, stressful and uncomfortable. Families with children were finding it particularly difficult. Unclear what cause of this excessive delay was. Necessitated flight leaving an hour late. Very unsatisfactory for a major international airport. Obviously poor management and insufficient staff.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"definitely the most efficient"

(Norway)

Verified Review | Excellent new security checkpoints / conveyors in Terminal A. Someone clever designed those. Usually less than 5 minutes waiting at security. Sufficient number of bag drops. All in all (after reopening) one of my favorite airports and definitely the most efficient in check-in/security in Europe!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"a great leap of improvements"

(Norway)

Verified Review | The new concourse at Oslo Gardermoen airport is a real delight to travel through. What's more, SAS ground staff are very professional. A bit overboard with too many 'duty-free' shops (the usual stuff). Other than that, a great leap of improvements indeed.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"there was no queue"

(United Kingdom)

After reading previous reviews about the potentially long queues for international departures passport control, we decided reluctantly to forgo a visit to the OSL Lounge in order to go straight through to the gate area. However, there was no queue and we ended up in a very quiet international gate area with about an hour to wait until our flight. Even though there was a Doha and a Pakistan Air flight, as well as a couple of UK flights all due to depart within 10 minutes of each other, we did not see any huge queues at the two passport booths. It was a little frustrating not knowing how long to plan for the process. Shame there is no lounge after the passport control booths.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"a vast improvement"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | The new Oslo airport opens officially in April 2017 but is already operational. It is a vast improvement, there is much more space in the departure lounge with plenty of elbowroom, more seating plenty of clean toilets etc. The tax free shop is much bigger with a better selection. There are several other typical airport shops. However, still no announcements of gate changes so passengers have to keep their eye on the monitors. It would be helpful if the gate changes were to be put on the screen at the first gate where early passengers might still be waiting. Security went quite fast.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
6/10

"people are just standing around"

(United States)

The architects failed at a key functional requirement - seating at the gates. There are about 28 seats at each gate, there is a massive open corridor (approximately 30' wide), so people are just standing around turning in circles trying to figure out what they are going to do without a seat for an hour or more. Also there are no USB charging stations so no "universal" charging stations - you have to have your large bulky converter on you in order to charge if your not a local. I think they are going to regret their choice in floor finishes - they alrwady look dated and dirty in many areas - the light wood and the dark black tile.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
1/10

"passport control for departure is a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Passport control for departure is a nightmare. Catching this plane could be a near thing and I joined the queue one hour before my flights departure time. Just made it and could not see what the cursury glance at my passports was worth that stupidly long line for! And why not put on extra staff if that passport glance is so vital. There is almost nothing worse when travelling then long queues where both those people in the queue and those supposedly marshalling it have no idea what is happening and react panickingly to rumours. Will avoid using this airport in future. Has spoilt my whole view of Norway.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"mess of an airport"

(United States)

I only happened on this mess of an airport due to a connection on Norwegian. Somehow I had it in my mind based on UK, French, Spanish even Greek airports that European airports were more organized and comfy than American airports. What a disappointment. The signage is atrocious; we nearly exited the airport after a half hour walk through the terminal when we should have been making a simple connection. The long lines for food and lack of seating and cramped dirty spaces was like something out of the dark ages. I have zero interest in making another connection in Oslo.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"overcrowded, almost nowhere to sit and wait"

(Sweden)

OSL must be the worst airport in Europe. It's overcrowded, almost nowhere to sit and wait. If you find a seat to grab a bite, you get a shock when you see the prices. When transiting Intl to Domestic, you have to collect the baggage and get thru customs and check in the baggage again. After that a long long wait for a security check done by unfriendly staff. The signage is poor. Not enough toilets. I have my doubts that things will get better after the construction of the new pier is completed. A really badly managed airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"worst managed airport I've ever seen"

(India)

Oslo is the worst managed airport I've ever seen. Asked t rate the terminal seating and terminal cleanliness but who has the time to spend time at terminal? Everyone's always in hurry because no departing passenger would ever have time for waiting here. According to general international departure perceptions, one should be at airport at least 3 hours before the departure time. We arrived about 3.5 hours before. First of all long queues for check-in. We were taking an Emirates flight to Dubai. Reached Emirates counter and it took about 20-25 minutes for us to check in. For security, no signage present, we had to ask the airport official. We proceeded towards the security check, out of about 7-8 counters, only 2 were working with long long queues. It took us about 30 minutes. Security check was smooth, no complaints. Then came a smelly, cramped shopping area. We found our gate and before that was hell waiting for us - passport control. It took us around 2 hours in a queue to clear with Emirates staff helping us. The process is that there are only 2-3 passport control counters, always flooded with passengers. If you have a flight on SAS, at the gate is closing, SAS staff would come and get all the passengers through passport control. So those who are waiting for their turns in queue remain at their same position even after hours. In short when the flight crew comes, the passengers clear passport control and boards their flights. We to were taken by Emirates officials and jumped the line and got through the passport control. We reached the gate 10 mins after the actual time the gate was meant to close. Not only us but about 50-60 passengers were with us. We didn't have time to spend at gates and hence boarded the plane as soon as we cleared through passport control. In short, the worst management I've ever seen on an International airport and too busy for a capital city.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no