Top 100 Airlines  

Orlando Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 114 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"never fly to this airport again"

(United Kingdom)

We arrived on 17th August and it took 3 hours to get through passport control!Absolutely disgusting and I have never experienced anything like this anywhere in the world including several other US airports. 3 hour wait in hot conditions, nearly all families, many with babies and not one offer of cold drinks, any updates or even an apology.Totally unprepared for the number of passengers landing and with many desks unmanned. Disgusting service and a very bad advert for the US. Will never fly to this airport again, would rather fly to Miami and drive up.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"found the whole approach very disorganised"

(United Kingdom)

We have flown into the U.S. several times before (twice into Orlando, but arriving at Sanford airport) and expect a reasonable wait to get through controls, which is fine as we are coming from international flights and there is a job of proper checks to do and we respect that. However, our arrival in MCO was ridiculous: held on plane for 30 mins (after 10hr flight) at gate, because airport could not accept any more passengers to queue at that time. Once inside, waited further 40 mins in grungy first holding area, to be taken through in groups of 20 to next main queue, where you could see the processing desks and officers. We waited approx. 30 mins more in this next queue with a tired child, limited seats and little information. Eventually, in our wait during the next queue, one of the staff asked (apparently randomly) our last travel dates to US, it was within two years and we were directed to a new area of self-serve booths - thus bypassing the main queue we had been waiting for, but without any apparent planning or reason for us being asked. The same applied to a few behind us and then we cleared within about 20 mins after that, repeating the photo/fingerprinting again with an officer despite having done that with the booth. Overall, I found the whole approach very disorganised, even US citizens were not clearly directed or advised it seemed, as several ended up in our queue for a while, before being redirected elsewhere. I noted on our return to UK that they have now set up 'family' lines, seperately from adult travellers, which is a good idea (whether you are travelling without kids and want the peace of not queuing en masse or are with a family and perceive a faster service by being separated). I would agree with other reviewers that better queue splitting, organisation and signage would drastically improve the arrival experience and most likely speed of processing at MCO. (Our wait for over an hour at BUDGET car rental desk, which was the only one with such a ridiculous line, only added to the overall negative impression of the arrival). We would recommend anyone travelling to use Avis or Hertz based on what we witnessed of efficiency and customer service. For the £30.00 we saved on our car hire pre-paying on Expedia, it wasn't worth the experience with Budget and we would not use them again, anywhere - despite a positive experience with their office in downtown Orlando, whose operator was excellent. Perhaps they should swap the team around as collectively the four or so staff we saw at the airport branch seemed to take a ridiculous amount of time dealing with each customer and walking up and down the counter. Total time in airport from arriving at gate to getting in the hire car was 3h45m - awful. Return flight, generally ok getting into airport to return car (well signposted). Security lines were long, seemed disorganised and genuinely felt that X-ray checks were rushed through and not especially thorough (liquids not scanned seperately as they are in UK, laptops and electricians left in bags, etc). We would deliberately avoid using this airport on a return visit to florida which limits airlines we could use, but I could not face another arrival like that, almost half as long as the trans Atlantic flight. Also, does make you reconsider Orlando itself, if that is the overall experience for many first time visitors and especially families, which make up a good proportion of the international flyers I expect.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not a good advert for the USA"

(United Kingdom)

It took us 2 hours to get through security when we arrived in Orlando. The staff were slow and discourteous. No air conditioning and the carpet was filthy. We were kept in a smaller holding area first. Not great when you have had a 9 hour flight. We were shouted at by a member of staff to tell us to get on the shuttle into the main part of the airport. The security staff were obnoxious and aggressive. They barked orders at us, one after the other, and made us feel uncomfortable. Beyond security, there were hardly any facilities and everything was really expensive. Avoid the duty free - the plane or Gatwick are much cheaper - and one small glass of wine from the bar cost over $13. I would not look forward to using this airport again and would try to avoid it at all costs. Not a good advert for the USA.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security staff horribly rude"

(United States)

Worst experience ever at Orlando airport - security staff horribly rude and so slow. No signs to tell you what you can and cannot bring in a bag. Airport was hard to manoeuvre and prices are extreme. The only good experience I had at this airport was leaving it. Would never recommend this airport to anyone.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"never ever been more disgusted"

(United States)

I have never ever been more disgusted when arriving back to Orlando, from the United Kingdom (Gatwick). Our arrival was at 6.08pm, it took us till 6.35pm to arrive at the gate. We were then advised that due to immigration there would be a twenty minute delay, then advised another thirty. We waited approx another ten minutes before we were allowed to disembark. After walking past two international flights that arrived before us, and met a wall of people. We were advised that we could go to the left due to having American and Green cards, walked around another corner and another row of people at least four wide. When we finally got to the immigration area, we were astounded by the number of international people standing in line. I felt sorry for those with small children, who after a nine hour flight and then traveling to the airport prior were having to stand in that line. Why not do what they do at Gatwick, families with small children have a separate line. I hope that when they open the new International side that they look at the operation you are doing now that is not working. Go to England and look at their departure area, ours is lacking terrible. We arrived at 11.00am, and was through airport security in less than ten minutes. Compared to nearly fourty minutes when we left. Hoping someone from Orlando International Airport reads this, and that definite changes are made with departure and arrival.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"bags never turn up together"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I visit Orlando International (MCO) quite regularly and overall it is a nice airport but it is spoiled by one long term irritation (bag collection) and a more recent one (TSA related). International Arrivals MCO’s international credentials are irritating. Having collected your bags from the carousel and then gone through customs, unless you are travelling lightly you have to give up your bags for transfer to the main terminal building only to have to retrieve them from yet another carousel. Invariably the bags never turn up together and sometimes the time for them to arrive is excessively long. This airport needs a one-stop international arrivals terminal, collect your bags once and go. Departures security on my last few visits, the TSA have spoiled the party. They seem to think that by penning people together before allowing them to pass through the scanners, they are being efficient. Wrong. All this does is succeed in annoying normally mild mannered people who see that they are being processed out of turn. The first TSA person you encounter does not even check boarding passes in correct sequence. We had about 20 people behind us when 2 females just walked to the front of the line and the guy said they are next. It is no use arguing because they are clearly selectively deaf. Do not get me wrong, there are many very pleasant TSA staff and they have a tough job but the whole TSA management structure at MCO need to be re-trained. Last week they did not have the trays ready for the scanner so told everybody to just pass through with minimal checking. Whilst it made the process quicker becuase I did not have to get my laptop out or take my shoes off, their job is to check people properly. They might feel people constantly bash them but most times they deserve it by being stupid. Orlando airport management need to have words with the TSA before they become as bad as Miami airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"limited and unimpressive"

(United States)

This is a busy airport loaded full of families of angry children (if they are leaving) and completely exhausted children (if they are arriving.) First time passengers are confused wandering around and wondering why the plane did not land right at Disney World. All they would need to do is process departing families separately thru TSA and a majority of the delays at security would be eliminated. The food choices are limited and unimpressive. The seating areas would be better if they had family areas. A family traveling with me was seeking a "lactation pod." If the would do a better job accommodating families with children this place would be better. Not enough functional charging stations.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport experience"

(United Kingdom)

The worst airport experience I have had. It took a total of 2 hours to get from the aircraft to the hire car stations. The processing at TSA's was ridiculous, with around 20 people stood/sat around not working and only around 10-12 people actually checking passports, slowly. 20 new machines which weren't being used and after around an hour of queueing they decided to open them, but that actually seemed to take longer. I will never fly into Orlando again.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"seating at the gate was very limited"

(United Kingdom)

On arrival we were met with a long snaking queue for immigration, although there were plenty of gates open so the queue moved reasonably quickly. Halfway through the queue you are given the option of going through the fast track gates, depending on how recently you have visited the US. We were allowed to use them, however by the time we had gone through the process three times, then queued up to pass on our details to the Immigration Officer it probably would have been quicker to stay in the regular queue. However, overall the queue was no longer than 30 minutes. The layout of the airport is a hub and spoke design with a main terminal building and four satellite ones. Our bags arrived quickly after immigration but you then have to place them back on a conveyor belt whilst you take the monorail to the main terminal building only to have to wait to pick them up again. The queue for the hire car was nearly an hour and was very frustrating. On departure check-in was quick however the security line was long and moved very slowly. Once you are through security you have to take the tram in the opposite direction out to the satellite terminal where the range of duty free shops was very limited. There are plenty of shops in the main terminal building but these are open to anyone and therefore not duty free. Seating at the gate was very limited, there was a B747 being loaded on the gate opposite and there were hundreds of passengers standing around the gate area as all the seats were full. Overall, not a great experience but at least immigration queues seemed to have decreased. Shopping in the airside parts of the airport isn't great however you feel pressured to go through security as soon as possible after checking in because of the long queues.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"very little seating available"

(United States)

Getting through security was awful. Lines were long, slow moving and disorganized. While waiting in lines we were shouted at by the TSA agents our "instructions". The waiting area at the gate itself was crowded with very little seating available. Not the way to end a magical vacation.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 82 Reviews