Norwich Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating N/A
Terminal Cleanliness N/A
Queuing Times N/A
Customer rating from 60 reviews
0/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"What do you get for you £10 airport tax"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | What do you get for you £10 airport tax? I have seen no improvements in 10 years. Staff totally rude, what is there for children to do when flights are delayed? On arrival back after another delayed flight at night no taxis, no staff, no lights, might as well have left me the keys. Staff need to do more about delayed flights with families. Also still like standing outside in the rain on arrivals.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"could not have been more unhelpful"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Love Norwich, the city, hate Norwich 'International' Airport. Had heard stories from friends and family but until you experience it for yourself, you really haven't understood how appalling a place it is. On arrival, the woman in the taxi booking office could not have been more unhelpful had she tried, though that would have required her to make an effort. The fun really began when we arrived for our flight home to Exeter (everyone who works at NIA should be made to work at EIA to learn how their job is done properly), with the famous £10 pound airport improvement levy. Aside from staff training (learn how smile?), proper signage would be a start. Would rather spend 6 hours driving the A303-M3-M25-M11 gauntlet than hand over £10 again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Absolute disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The £10.00 charge is for what, it's shame they don't use some of that money to clean the stinking dirty toilets air side, the walls leading to the toilets have not been cleaned or painted in years, inside the gents the smell is almost intolerable, I have been in third world county conveniences cleaner than that. Absolute disgrace.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Greedy Norwich Airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Greedy Norwich Airport. I have been using Norwich Airport for the past 35 years and used to use it exclusively. Now I look to Stansted and even Heathrow because of the greediness of the management of Norwich Airport with their iniquitous extra departure fee. Richard Pace, the Managing Director of the airport, must be totally deluded that the fee is essential. Passenger numbers have slumped since their peak of 2007, when they reached 773,000, and only last year topped the half-million mark again. When was the fee introduced? - 2007! Yes, the airport is convenient and KLM has been loyal (well nearly loyal - they used to have four flights a day to Schipol, now it's three). But the psychological impact of the fee plus one of the highest airport taxes in the UK (included in the ticket pricing) now make the airport a last resort for me and several of my colleagues. It's a shame. As for facilities, the airport is primitive even in the newish terminal. Check-in staff usually talk amongst themselves and morale often seems to be very low. No wonder. The best aspect is the queuing time - few passengers, short queues.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"it is the lesser of 2 evils"

(United Kingdom)

I agree Norwich is not the best of airports, poor facilities and range of destinations. Do I like the £10pp fee, no, but do I want the hassle of driving to Stansted, 2hrs, paying £100 plus to park, lugging cases onto buses then the shuttle train, no I do not. Also if your flight is early then paying for overnight accommodation. Norwich isn't perfect but it is the lesser of 2 evils.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"the only one that charges £10 for departing"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | "Unbelievable". As a traveller I have been in many airports in the UK and this is the only one that charges £10 for departing for a so called airport development fund, personally I believe this to be fraudulent as the amount of development there has been at this airport since the 1990's has been minimal to justify its existence. Never have I come across any other UK international airport that charges this tax for departures! If I were a local politician I would have this find financially audited, to see what the money is spent on. If I had a choice, which I don't because of the industry I work in, then I would not use this airport ever again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I now avoid Norwich airport"

(Switzerland)

Norwich airport is a joke - there is a GBP10 "departure charge" which all passengers are forced to pay before being allowed to board there flight. If the airport wants to make extra money, why not include this in the cost if the tickets up front, rather than seek to scam passengers as they arrive to get their flight (and therefore have no option)? Even though I have business in Norwich, I now avoid Norwich airport directly because of this and the under-development of the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"comes across as a complete rip-off"

(United Kingdom)

Although we live an hour away it's a number of years since we had used Norwich Aiport until this week as it always seems far more expensive for holidays than Gatwick or Stanstead. However, this wasn't, the case this time on our Thomsons' Ibiza flight. Car parking is very easy, check-in was friendly and the whole process generally stress free. However, facilities are sparse, especially very early in the morning and what is the point of a duty free shop when almost all the flights are to within the EU? Also it was a pleasure to easily walk to the plane, although a little cold at 5am! What spoils it though was being charged the £10 (each) Developement Fee to fund what all other airports provide "free"! Whilst I accept that it may be a small price to pay for the convenience of using such a small and local airport it still comes across as a complete rip-off. Why not just be honest and call it a local tax? It just took the edge off what was otherwise a fairly pleasant experience. That said we will probably use the airport again although it's destinations on offer do not include Fuerteventura our favourite destination.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"will possibly not use this airport again"

(United Kingdom)

Airport development tax. Never ever have I had to pay an airport tax in the UK. 5 passengers travelling on business from Manchester therefore totalling £50 to get home. Staff on security very lovely and helpful. Staff in departure lounge very unhelpful with having to wait at coffee bar 10 mins to pay. I actually had to go in the back kitchen to find someone to pay. Poor and due to paying tax will possibly not use this airport again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport feels very tired"

(United Kingdom)

£20 fee for 2 adults to use Norwich airport. Seriously? What a joke. I liked the airport for its proximity to where I live, and also the speed of security, etc. But the airport feels very tired, old fashioned design, poor shops and cafes (although a very friendly chef who went out his way to cater for our limited diet). But seriously, £10 pp or you are not allowed to use the airport? That really would make me question whether I would use NWI again in the future. Paid £200 for a KLM flight, now another £20 to use the airport. You are making yourself a cheap, mean spirited laughing stock.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 57 Reviews