Nairobi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 72 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

Nairobi Airport customer review

Review by (Switzerland) 19th April 2015

I fly to NBO from Europe 2-3 times a year. Finally after the 2013 fire in the international terminal a few improvements can be seen. Progress is slow but steady. The new departure terminal is very pleasant and now accessible from the international gates. The Java cafe has recently reopened in the new section with its expected good quality. The duty free shops are decent but seem to have erratic opening hours. As mentioned by others the staff and officers are friendly. Queuing is generally swift if you have an evening flight and outside of certain peak periods such as summer vacation or Christmas. During those peaks and when there were alleged threats it can be quite a nightmare also already at the drive through checkpoint. I don't know how busy it is during daytime. First time travellers from NBO should keep in mind that only flight ticket holders can enter the airport building and after check in there's no way out.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
5/10

Nairobi Airport customer review

Review by (Canada) 19th September 2014

Left Nairobi for London on BA64; connected from Kilimanjaro. Security staff are polite and considerate but the process is major overkill. We had to clear 4 security check points with the same screening procedures. Each time they tore my carry-on bag apart looking for something different. At the second point they confiscated my cuticle trimmers which had cleared seven different airports on the same trip. Then they inspected my curling iron like they'd never seen one before. At the next point they inspected my tweezers as if they were a knife. My advice - take no carry-on and arrive early.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
6/10

Nairobi Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 19th February 2014

After all the reports re problems at Nairobi re waits and problems considering last summers fire three of us arrived needing to purchase visas expecting big problems arrived from LHR bus picked us up from the plane taken to temporary immigration / arrival point we were through and clear in about 30 mins and this was despite several international flights arriving. This was half the time we usually queue at places like Miami. Return was the same we gave ourselves 3 hours which was more then enough for our BA flight. We gave the airport a low mark because the lack of food services and the fire has made no difference to the departure lounge services we have used the place for the last five years and it has always been bad.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
2/10

Nairobi Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 2nd December 2013

My main complaint is the chaos while in line to put luggage on conveyor belt when first coming in to airport. Of course you want to keep close to your luggage. Was total chaos with people pushing ahead and just lucky that nothing grabbed from conveyor belt. Security stamping exit on passport friendly. Was surprised to have fingerprints taken. Seems like an idea that could be used elsewhere - would discourage known problems from trying to board planes. Staff at shops selling bottled water in shops after you go through security don't bother telling you to keep a receipt. Unless you have a receipt the bottle will be confiscated and you won't have your safe bottled water on the plane. Lots of shops. Prices seemed ok. Airport is just way too crowded and chaotic.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
7/10

Nairobi Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 30th September 2013

Arrived from London on Sep 4 on BA at 9.20 pm. Out of the aircraft quickly and through immigration in five minutes and on the street waiting for our pre-scheduled driver in less than 20 minutes. The next morning for an 8.15 am departure we arrived at 5.30 am fearing the worst. Again efficient and smooth processing. The result we spent more than two hours in the departure tent (which had wifi!) and were bussed to our Kenya Airways flight for an on-time departure. Quite amazing after all the stories.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
3/10

Nairobi Airport customer review

Review by (Denmark) 26th August 2013

The Airport burnt down earlier this month. Immigration and transfer are major constraints. No apron one has to walk from terminal to aircraft's. No lounges. The airport is full of temporary surprises and mediocre or missing installations signage toilets. Queuing up in lines as check in is semi-manual. Many pax miss flights due to poor or incomplete announcements. Lots of delays. Domestic uses cargo building. Luggage handed out one by one or are picked by pax from trolleys. One has to inquire about flights and crosscheck info on departures and arrivals all the time. The airport is a mess but somehow there is a system and with a co-operative attitude things are working - even without service being functioning. Staff are kind and often allow people to rebook tickets as many misses flights.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness N/A
Facilities 12345
no
1/10

Nairobi Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 28th July 2013

Just returned from a business trip and had the misfortune of having to pass through this airport. The security at the entrance nearly caused me to miss my flight to AMS and the priority entrance is frankly laughable. Once I managed to push my way through to the check-in desk the shambles continues with poor signs unhelpful staff and no shop to buy a bottle of water in the cattle market in sight. The only redeeming feature was the friendly immigration staff but once past this the gate is also a shambles. Avoid if you can but if that's not possible my advice would be to allow a minimum of 3 hours before your departure!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
8/10

Nairobi Airport customer review

Review by (Netherlands) 20th July 2013

Flew domestic from Nairobi to Mombasa on September 2nd 2012. Both security checks and check-in went reasonably fast staff was not unfriendly airport was reasonably clean and screens with flight times were updated regularly. Clean toilets free wireless Internet (of fairly good speed) and some power sockets to charge your laptop or phone. Prices in restaurant were low but I suspect that's only because domestic flights are used mostly by Kenyans. No ceiling fans or fans in general and during the afternoon it got hotter and stuffier by the minute. All in all certainly not the worst place to spend 4.5 hours (3 hour delay).
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
1/10

Nairobi Airport customer review

Review by (South Africa) 7th July 2013

Terrible airport. There are at least 3 terminals and you need to check the big signs outside the airport (upon approach) for your airline name to make sure you go to the right terminal. Feels like no changes have been made to the airport since it was built with no proper signage once inside the terminal. Luggage scanners are at the entrance to the terminal so you may have a problem if you just want to see off someone to actually get into the terminal. We were in unit (terminal) 1 - SAA to Johannesburg. Arrived 4 hours prior to flight departure. Check-in opened at 3 non-descript desks three hours prior to departure. There was a bag wrap service (thankfully) which you can haggle on in respect of the price. There were also some self-service check-in counters which some people used. There were not a lot of people in front of us in the queue yet it still took half an hour just to drop the bags (even though we checked in online there was no dedicated bag-drop desk). There isn't even a small kiosk where one can buy water / coffee (never mind a coffee shop) before going through passport control. One very friendly staff member at passport control however.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
na

Nairobi Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 5th May 2013

I'm recently back from a business trip to Kenya. This airport is poor. Arrival required trekking across the tarmac before entering a noisy hot and crowded 70s style concrete corridor where departing/arriving passengers are in the same place. Long immigration lines and grumpy staff. Make sure you know what you're doing when you exit baggage claim as the public area can be rather threatening. For departure expect queuing just to get inside immigration again very slow and miserable. This airport has few decent shops or facilities; the Java house coffee bar is OK otherwise it's mostly curios T-shirts and duty free alcohol. Toilets were clean but old and no TP! Overall it's very out-dated and overcrowded and makes a terrible first impression for Kenya.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
1 to 10 of 47 Reviews