Nairobi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 72 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Extremely poorly organised"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Felt turned upside down and totally harrassed by security arrangements at departure gate. Extremely poorly organised. Shame on British Airways permitting their paying customers to be submitted to such a poorly organised and chaotic experience. There wasn't anyone from BA on hand to complain to either.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport I've ever been through"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Worst airport I've ever been through. Shoved into a lounge too small for the number of plane passengers and deprived of basic amenities like water and toilets for over 2 hours. This is the 21st century for goodness sake!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"insufficient seating"

(United Arab Emirates)

Not Verified | One of the worlds worst airports. Insufficient seating. The departure lounges are like a cattle farm with no rules and regulations. Passengers standing in lounges with no room. Absolutely a shame for a country once upin a time that had a great tourism industry.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"A really terrible airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | A really terrible airport. There are worst airports in terms of infrastructure and ambience such as Mogadishu or Erbil, but the rudeness of the staff take this to an all time low. Treated with indifference and when you ask a reasonable question dismissed out of hand. Please and Thank you are terms that should be used when making requests of travellers. Full of unimaginative "computer says no" types. I will fly Turkish Airlines next time so I don’t have to travel through Nairobi.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"old fashioned terminal"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | Going back in time. As Kenya Airways flies the new generation Boeing 787-8 Dreamliner, having a transit stop for several hours breaks the mood. Old fashioned terminal, very high price-settings for a beer, yes one waiter asked me ZAR 150 (one hundred fifty Rand) for a beer on draught. Which I refused to pay of course. Lots of improvement can be done here, however lots of staff very welcoming and that compensates.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"you would not want a long transit"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Nairobi is not an airport where you would want a long transit time. Not a lot to do with a very small duty free shopping area and a few coffee shops. Relatively clean, but seating limited. Spent 5 hours here in transit between Tanzania and Bangkok. Free wifi at Java Coffee House near gate 14, but it is usually very busy there. I paid 500 shillings (about US$5) for unlimited airport wifi which was slow, but worked fine.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"a chaotic experience"

(United States)

Whilst the new terminal at Nairobi Airport is excellent for arrivals and departures on domestic carriers, the "old" international terminal is in desperate need of upgrade. We flew BA in and out. Inbound arrivals processing was a chaotic experience, with passengers herded into a wide and deep queue with no apparent order. We were fortunate to determine one could queue to any counter regardless of passport and managed to get out in under an hour. Departure was also poorly managed. Apparently, a private contractor, Swissport, manages security and some operations. Departing passengers are required to display passports / boarding passes and X-ray carry on luggage no less than 5 times in completely uncoordinated fashion - shoes off / all electronics out immediately followed by another checkpoint with a different set of requirements. Swissport staff are surly and rigid, making no exceptions for medical needs. Also, no washrooms past the security gauntlet.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"arrivals and departures were swift"

(Ireland)

Transited twice during November 2016. Both arrivals and departures were swift, especially the visa on arrival process. However the Kenya Airways domestic departures area is still very scruffy. The Sky Team international departures area is new, bright and well populated with shops and cafes. However, Gates 4 to 14 [mostly used by other airlines] is still gloomy with low ceilings and basically untouched by the upgrade. I was with KQ, so had a good experience. Duty-free prices appeared to be high.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"no significant delays or problems"

(United Kingdom)

Nairobi used to be a grim old airport. The sort of place that made one avoid Kenya and I did for many years. Well, I had to go back for work and what a change. The fire was obviously the best thing that could have happened to it. I arrived in on a flight from Juba. I walked quickly from the aircraft to get a ahead of everyone and quickly arrived at immigration which was deserted. That would have been 5 minutes after getting off the plane. The officer processed my e-visa quickly and courteously. So I was in the baggage reclaim area a short time later. And the bags were there already. So from getting off the place to getting out of the airport was not much more than 10 minutes. Something of a record for an international flight anywhere on the planet. If only Heathrow could do that! I passed through a couple more times on the way down to Mombasa and back home to the UK. There were no significant delays or problems with the usual procedures. The new airport is pretty reasonable. There are still bit of the old airport which you can walk round to remind yourself how it once was. I used the Turkish business lounge which was not that great. The business lounges at Nairobi always were a bit rough and the Turkish lounge is below their usual standard.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"new part is much better"

(United Kingdom)

The old part of Nairobi airport remains a bit tatty but there is evidence of a clean-up. There is still a smoking area near Gate 6. The new part is much better with better facilities e.g. a coffee shop, various duty free shops etc. If you enter via the new part and want to go to the smoking area near Gate 6 there is easy access but for some strange reason you have to go through a security check in order to return to the "new" gates.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 64 Reviews