Top 100 Airlines  

Montréal Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 108 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"could not charge a phone"

(Canada)

Lived for years in Montreal and use the airport often. This past week demonstrated how antiquated YUL is. Getting off a US flight from Vegas, for hundreds of metres neither myself nor other passengers could locate, find and figure out where to find Air Canada's transit check in. It was one tiny, concealed luggage drop-off point but the airport had no signs above to indicate what - it took 40 minutes overall to transit with long lines that made no sense. Finally at gates 1-20 good luck finding any working plugs - I could not charge a phone. By far the worse Western international airport that have been through.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"couldn't access the internet"

(New Caledonia)

I had 1h30 min of transit at Montréal airport, and tried to access the internet. They send you an email and give you only a 15 min time frame to retrieve this email before having more free time. The problem is that my email is linked to a serve that takes more than 10 min to receive the email and in the end I just couldn't access the internet. This is the only airport so far where I experienced such a connection. It would be easier just to sign in a form or tick a checkbox (like everywhere else).
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"had similar 50 minute waits"

(France)

I was told to arrive at 3am for a 6am flight. I telephoned Delta to be sure and they checked and said it opened at 3.30. At 3.30 the machines started to work but there were no agents taking bags - they didn't arrive until 4.00. Security and US customs had similar 50 minute waits. Finally in the departure zone, the gate numbers weren't posted. A friendly agent was looking for her gate number on her phone and told me mine too.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"lack of personnel"

(United States)

Worst queuing for security and immigration: each queue was about 45 minutes in all, more than 90 minutes. Many people almost missed their plane even if they arrived more than 2 hours before the flight. Lack of personnel, complicated process for immigration. Uncaring personnel.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"chaotic at times"

(Canada)

We arrived into Montréal Airport 1/2 hour late only to find long queues in a huge warehouse-like building with hundreds of other passengers all walking through a cattle-like walkway up to immigration officers. This process through to immigration was chaotic at times and with passengers looking to get through to connecting flights, almost frantic. This process took 1.7 hours to go through only to find that immigration officers were leaving their shifts and no one was replacing them. These lines then became null and void. We then had to merge with existing lines, which made the process more of a bottleneck and mess. This unbelievable congestion of 100's of passengers was only made worst by more and more passengers coming through while signs were lit throughout reading "Welcome to Canada". Are they serious? I will ver go through Montréal airport ever again and will recommend the same to anyone else.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"you don't feel welcome in Montréal"

(Canada)

Staff at the security were unprofessional, rude and incompetent. The terminal of Air Canada Jazz is old, needs a serious refresh and an improvement of confort. At this airport, you don't feel welcome in Montréal. It's a disgrace. I will definitely avoid this airport in the future.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not fit for purpose"

(Canada)

This airport is an absolute joke and not fit for purpose. Repeated two hour waits for immigration with queues starting as you get off the plane. The staff seem to think it's acceptable to leave your luggage in random corners of the luggage hall with no signs. Something urgently needs to be done to improve this airport and the experience arriving international passengers have, it is a national embarrassment.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"we found staff curt, rude and uncaring"

(United Kingdom)

We arrived on 1/09/2015 and encountered a queue in a corridor of about 60 metres just a short walk from the plane. We waited in this queue for over a hour and all the airport staff did was ask if you had a Canadian passport you could go to the front of the line. We asked the two staff who were policing the line how long we would have to wait to get to passport control we received curt and rude answers. We finally got to the end of the corridor only to look down on to the concourse and see a throng of hundreds of people walking up and down the concourse in a line to get to passport control. After another two hours of queuing we finally passed through passport control and headed for the luggage carousels only to find that none of the screens showed which carousel our luggage was on. We asked four members of staff how we were to find our luggage as luggage was scattered all over the luggage area but all we got from them was that you will have to walk around the area and find your luggage yourselves. We found staff curt, rude and uncaring and our first impression of Montreal was disappointing. After another 30 minutes of looking we finally located our luggage and left the airport for our hotel. Montreal is a fabulous city to visit but we will never return after the horrendous experiance and treatment we received from the staff at Montreal airport and advise other travellers if your travelling to Canada to use another entry airport. We have travelled extensively and found Montreal the worst airport in any country we have visited.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a real nightmare"

(United States)

Montréal Airport, a real nightmare. Immigration took more than 2 hours
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"completely overwhelmed by sheer traffic"

(Canada)

We left in the afternoon on a flight to Munich and noticed that most seats in the airport were taken and some passengers sleeping on them. Very modest offering when it comes to restaurants, the airport appeared very full. Leaving Montreal was acceptable, but returning from Frankfurt in the mid-day time period was awful. Huge line-up of arriving passengers, interminable walking through cattle-like enclosures with immigration officers completely overwhelmed by the crowds. Then looking for our baggage: The carousel was completely overwhelmed as well with 2 rows of baggage, many of the suitcases piled on top of each other,difficult to access or even find. To sum up: Montreal airport is completely overwhelmed by sheer traffic and out-of-control. What a mess, to be avoided if at all possible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 75 Reviews