Top 100 Airlines  

Montréal Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 115 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"signs would be nice"

(Canada)

After reading the reviews on this page for the last 3 months, I have been terrified to have my layover at YUL. I was coming from Halifax, to Houston with a layover here. I had to go through US customs here. Other than the incredibly long walking distance from my gate to customs and back to my other gate it wasn't so bad. I do wish there were more options for food or moving sidewalks around as this airport is huge. If I wanted something nourishing to eat, a walk from the gate I'm at would be a 10-15 minute walk, so I settled for chips and a drink. Customs was a quick easy process. One of the machines didn't work for me so I went to a newer looking machine and it worked fine. Other than the walking distance, and lack of options for food etc spread out, it's not a bad airport. I did have a hard time finding the way to go, but I asked someone and they directed me. Signs would be nice up the far end of the gates so you can find customs. Don't reccomend for elderly or families with children (due to all the walking) but otherwise I would reccomend.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"avoid this airport"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Third rate airport After our arrival, we were informed through a loudspeaker that announced we might have to wait "longer than usual" at the immigration because the number of arriving passengers was larger than usual. Still at the second level with the immigration officer's boxes out of view, we landed in a long queue of people. After about half an hour we could see the overcrowded immigration hall on the first level. The real waiting began when we had arrived at that level. It took us five or so minutes less than three hours to get through the immigration. Old people and small children alike had to stay in the queue. When we were close enough to the immigration we saw they worked at half capacity: one out of two exits was not operated. It was by far the worst I have experienced on any airport. When we eventually arrived in the luggage hall, nobody of the staff seemed to be able (or interested) to tell us where our belt had been, so we had to move around searching for our bags. We eventually found them after we met someone else from our plane who could tell us where the bags had been put. This search took another half hour. Conclusion: avoid this airport whenever you can.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a total mess"

(United States)

The design and process of the Customs and Immigration at YUL are the worst I have experienced anywhere in the world. Having been to probably 75 or more airports on almost every continent, it is difficult to understand how in such a developed country can there be such a Mickey Mouse operation. The design of the arrivals and customs is like a funnel with all international arriving passengers coming into the same area. Segregation between arriving and connecting passengers is a total mess. Good luck if you have a connection in YUL. The three times I've been there over the last two months was the same experience. Line up all the way up to the second level long before even seeing the customs hall. Well over an hour to clear. Then you're expected to process your customs declaration through an automated terminal, which of course rejects it if you are a Canadian citizen but not a resident. Then the ever cooperative and welcoming customs agents send you back into another line...again. Once outside you can witness the architectural marvel of the bridge to nowhere which has been there for over 10 years and still yet to be completed. If you're connecting in Canada, go through Toronto or Vancouver. If your destination is Montreal, it's almost more efficient to connect through Toronto and clear customs there which allows you to arrive as a domestic arrival in Montreal thus avoiding the circus. Probably works out to the same amount of time, but a lot less frustrating.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"beware if you are making a connection"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Beware if you are making a connection at Montréal Airport and have to clear customs. The immigration hall was overflowing. There were long lines to get into the hall stretching back to the arrival gates. By showing a connecting boarding pass we bypassed part of the line. Little information, few airline staff, not enough immigration staff. Result-chaos. We especially felt for those with small children. Then there is confusion as to where to drop your bags and then a further 30 minute line for security. The whole process was 2 hours. No time between flights for a bite to eat. Avoid customs and immigration at Montreal Trudeau if you can. It's a disgrace
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
3/10

"understaffed customs and security"

(Canada)

Third world conditions in what should be a world class airport. It took us well over two hours to make a simple connection to Edmonton. Lineups, confusing procedures, understaffed customs and security, constant shouting by overworked and frustrated staff. I will avoid this airport in future. It made me ashamed to be Canadian.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Chaos. Disorganized"

(United States)

Chaos. Disorganized. It's almost like they want you to be lost in this airport. Airport have no idea where places are. The janitor seem to be the only person to know where baggage drop was. I know there is a language barrier of sorts but it's not hard to give instructions. Free wifi that doesn't work. Don't offer it if you can't keep it running.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"there is just too much chaos"

(Canada)

Awful. Chaotic. Seems they are surprised that airplanes are coming. Huges waiting lines. Last two times I had to transfer at this airport I missed my next flight. It took more then two hours to pass the border. The staff were ok, but there is just too much chaos.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"could not charge a phone"

(Canada)

Lived for years in Montreal and use the airport often. This past week demonstrated how antiquated YUL is. Getting off a US flight from Vegas, for hundreds of metres neither myself nor other passengers could locate, find and figure out where to find Air Canada's transit check in. It was one tiny, concealed luggage drop-off point but the airport had no signs above to indicate what - it took 40 minutes overall to transit with long lines that made no sense. Finally at gates 1-20 good luck finding any working plugs - I could not charge a phone. By far the worse Western international airport that have been through.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"couldn't access the internet"

(New Caledonia)

I had 1h30 min of transit at Montréal airport, and tried to access the internet. They send you an email and give you only a 15 min time frame to retrieve this email before having more free time. The problem is that my email is linked to a serve that takes more than 10 min to receive the email and in the end I just couldn't access the internet. This is the only airport so far where I experienced such a connection. It would be easier just to sign in a form or tick a checkbox (like everywhere else).
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"had similar 50 minute waits"

(France)

I was told to arrive at 3am for a 6am flight. I telephoned Delta to be sure and they checked and said it opened at 3.30. At 3.30 the machines started to work but there were no agents taking bags - they didn't arrive until 4.00. Security and US customs had similar 50 minute waits. Finally in the departure zone, the gate numbers weren't posted. A friendly agent was looking for her gate number on her phone and told me mine too.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 82 Reviews