Airline of the Year  

Milan Linate Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 27 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"officers just sitting there idling"

(Germany)

Verified Review | I just arrived at Linate airport from Düsseldorf and had to discover that a) my passport was checked and b) there was no transit possibility to my connecting flight without leaving the security area and go through the security check again. Both findings are ridiculous since a) constitutes a violation of the Schengen treaty and b) is simply unbelievable. Also, there were two counters at passport control that were reserved for flights from Bucharest, London Heathrow and a few other airports I do not remember. These counters were empty with two officers just sitting there idling and doing nothing, although the two remaining counters destined for all other passports were pretty busy and crowded. No distinction was made between passports from the EU and other countries. This is a ridiculous violation of the Schengen contract and rules Linate airport out as a transit connection at least for all my future flights to and from Italy.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"there are two choices only: exit or departures"

(Belgium)

Caution: when you arrive at LIN as a transit passenger, you may experience a problem. Upon leaving the incoming flight (in my case CAT-LIN) there are two choices only: exit or departures. I had bought 2 bottles of liquor at CAT duty-free. At LIN there is no transit-route, so you have to choose departures, which means you need to leave the secure area and hence have to go through the security check again. There was quite an argument as to whether I could take 2 x 500 ml in. After half an hour and a LED-scan, I was allowed to take the bottles with me. I asked the security lady what I have to do next time, as there is no transit-route for incoming passengers. She only replied: "Yes, I know." Had it been for the gentleman of the security staff, I wouldn't have been allowed to take the bottles with me, even though they were in a sealed bag with the ticket inside.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Security is close but usually busy"

(Russian Federation)

Arriving in Linate was relitavely easy as the bus took us to the passport control area. The passport check area is quite small as it only has 4-5 desks. This area can easily get overly crowded at peak times. The display screen is very close so you can easily view flight details. There are no stairs or long walks to do. Then the baggage hall is right next to passport control. As there are only 4-5 baggage reclaim conveyors there can be up to 4 flights on 1 conveyor so the conveyor can get overly crowded. In departure the check in zones are spread in 9 different areas. They are not too far to walk. Security is close but usually busy. But in security there's no fast track. Then from there lounges are all very close and A gates are close. B gates are also close but not as close as A.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"fastest airport I have ever experienced"

(Italy)

Verified Review | By far the fastest airport I have ever experienced. Looking more like a bus station than airport, Milan Linate stands out for its flash speed ground operations. I never encountered lines bigger than 10 minutes at check-in counters, most of the time there was zero waiting time. A small bottleneck with the security check but be aware that all passengers flying to Rome have a dedicated fast security check to the left of main desks. If you fly biz or by paying a fee in advance you can use fast track security check to the right of main desks. The airport being small is easily accessible by walking. Only a few jetways so most flight departures are by bus service which works ok. Bus transfers are very short. On arrival in LIN I have a record of 7 minutes between leaving the plane and exiting the terminal at the parking area (although on schengen flight and no checked luggage). If you have checked luggage it will arrive within 5 minutes. If you pass passport control you will find your luggage already on the belt. Although they do not serve long or medium haul flights LIN is best for very fast access to Milan, the airport being literally within city limits. Food and beverages in airport are quite limited, but enough for the business flyers usually using this airport. Parking outside terminals are plentiful and always free. Limited seats is a clear downturn.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"it is very functional"

(Italy)

Airport is really close to the city center, driving early morning with no traffic takes about 15 mins. Terminal building is old and definitely out of fashion but it is very functional and you quickly get to the boarding gate in about no time. Staff are well trained, professional and polite. Queues are fastly moving. Early morning there is barely a bar opening, airport is deserted until 6.30, after is quite poor and expensive anyways. Below Italian standard. Shopping is quite good for a small airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"A very compact airport"

(United Kingdom)

A very compact airport and extremely close to the heart of Milan. The local bus costs €1.50 and takes about 25 minutes running every 10 minutes or so. If you land on one of the 5 air bridges the whole process is very smooth, a few steps, down the escalator and you are in the Baggage Hall, from their through Customs and landside. Arrivals is on the grown floor and has a small selection of shops/café etc. Departures on the 1st floor is quite busy, there are a lot of flights around Italy and other European cities (no long haul). The Security Scan is a potential bottleneck if you arrive at a busy time. In Departures there is a small selection of shops covering most things but the "Duty Free" opportunities are limited. Gates 17-21 are the Air Bridge Gates, the rest are for busses to remote stands. It can feel a bit cramped at times but the overall convenience outweighs this. It is a good airport to fly into our out of.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"beware the taxis"

(United States)

My first time in Italy. The taxi drivers in the airport "took me for a ride". A 10 min ride to the Airport Holiday Inn cost me €35, about 3 times the normal rate. I should have known when he said "cash only", he took all the Euros I had. The hand receipt said "Fly Car Service". Beware! The taxis are not held accountable as in other cities.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

Milan Linate Airport customer review

(Italy)

My favorite Italian airport. Quite a small airport for domestic flights and short/medium haul EU flights. It is perfect for business travelers: small so you do not waste a lot of time walking from desks to gates, very close to the city center and near to highways, convention centers, hotels and business districts.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

Milan Linate Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

I use it weekly. Bus to and from Milan central is found out the front easy to use and regular. The terminal is not large. They have just started to rebuild the area where you go through security - now half the size twice the queue. Not good! Eating places in the terminal are OK some choice landside and airside. Linate has only 6 air bridges - so you usually have to get a bus to a parked plane. There is no walkway from arrivals to gates - for passengers transferring. You have to exit and then go through the waiting and security to get to your gate - Not good either!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

Milan Linate Airport customer review

(Malta)

I have used it twice and both times were a nightmare. Staff are inefficient and rude. On our entry through security a female officer was checking if we had tickets. When it came my turn I showed her I had 6 tickets and she rudely remarked in Italian 'do you think I can see your names if you don't hand me your tickets properly'. I was carrying a camera on a sling bag and a tripod. This same officer came rushing and told me that I couldn't carry the tripod. I had never any problems with it. A fellow traveller in my group offered to put the tripod in his bag and she objected saying that it had to be my bag. At that point I was lucky enough for a senior officer to come by and he let us pass. The second time we arrived 2.5 hrs before departure and waited 30mins for an attendant to check us in. No queuing facilities so everybody was pushing and skipping one another. In the end it took the attendant almost 2 hrs to do the check-In and we nearly missed the flight.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 22 Reviews