Melbourne Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 224 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

Melbourne Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 22nd June 2015

Melbourne airport has 4 terminals, T1 for Qantas and Jetstar domestic routes. T2 is international. T3 Virgin Australia domestic routes, and regional express. T4 is Tigerair only. I go to T2 very often. DFS are big, and the price is cheaper but not as compatible as Hong Kong or Incheon. This terminal is big and light. Wireless internet is not so good, but acceptable. Prepare at least one hour to pass the custom, especially in the evening. Overall, Melbourne airport is a good airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit22-04-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
3/10

Melbourne Airport customer review

Review by (Saudi Arabia) 11th June 2015

Arriving is a maze from disembarkation to get to the arrivals area but at night time it was busy so 20 mins to get through but immigration officers quite arrogant, rude in their questioning and they ask you what you are actually going to do which takes up time for queuing passengers, its not a very nice welcome to Australia that you get. No checked in bag so was lucky not to wait around for that and quickly through customs. Departure is entirely different as the passport control and security is truly awful and staff as has been said are rude, aggressive and need some serious customer training. Was quite glad to board my plane even with a 50 minute delay at the gate which is too small to handle the amount of passengers on my flight to Doha. The airport needs expanding as its the gateway to Melbourne which is a beautiful city but this airport really lets it down unless you get lucky and come in when its quiet.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
no
2/10

Melbourne Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 24th March 2015

This airport is a joke if compared to some of the International airports in the region (apart from Australia). Check-in Security Customs and Immigration staff are generally slow inefficient and rude.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
0/10

Melbourne Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 24th March 2015

Over 2 hours to get through immigration - the longest it's taken me to get through immigration at any airport in the world after 100's of visits to airports. Rude staff also. Not acceptable. Absolute chaos.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities N/A
no
0/10

Melbourne Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 24th March 2015

I live in Melbourne and dread returning here every time its just chaos with queues to get through immigration especially if you have a child as the smart gates cant accommodate children's passports. One counter was open and processing local passport holders while 3 other counters remained closed and our public service immigration officers milled around joking and laughing amongst themselves. Why couldn't they open more counters as it was a weekday morning around 10am so go figure? The answer I got was they're under staffed? What were the immigration people standing around doing standing around acting like typical public servants by the look of things. Great to see your taxes at work and what a disgrace to our so called international airport.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
0/10

Melbourne Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 17th March 2015

We departed from this airport 2 weeks ago. We encountered the rudest staff and the slowest check in we have ever experienced. The customs staff need to be sacked. Australia is a lovely country and the people made our holiday.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities N/A
no
1/10

Melbourne Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 18th February 2015

Took ages to check in there was not enough staff for an extremely long queue. Departure lounge a real joke for an international flight very tight and not enough seats. Airport not spacious and clean enough.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
0/10

Melbourne Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 23rd January 2015

Plane landed and over two hours later I got out of customs. Last year I travelled twice overseas and it took over 1.5 hours to get out of customs so things are getting worse. I am standing there with many foreign travellers who were discussing amongst themselves how poorly organised the systems at the airport were. When three planes land at the same time sure there are a lot of people to manage but their arrival is tracked by radar so it should not be a surprise when they turn up and thus staff and facilities should be prepared you would hope. Other airports are so much better organised. I am thinking of flying into Perth in future and clearing customs there instead then go domestic after that sounds crazy but might be a quicker way to get home.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
0/10

Melbourne Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 14th January 2015

Melbourne airport's international arrivals area is nothing short of a national embarrassment. Arriving on an early January morning I had to wait an hour for my bag followed by another half hour to progress through the customs queue chaos. The repeated intercom announcements made it clear that other flights were similarly affected. Despite its worldly pretensions this is more like a regional aerodrome which becomes utterly overwhelmed when more than a couple of long-haul flights arrive in close proximity. Wide-body jets do not just turn up unannounced - there is no excuse for the airport's inability to cope. Shame on you Melbourne airport: go overseas if you must and learn how to run a proper facility Singapore and KL are only seven hours away. Just don't forget to allow plenty of time to get through the terminal on your way home.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
2/10

Melbourne Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 14th January 2015

Luggage cart service is very poor! 1) Parked car in Multi-Level Long-Term Car-Park and found no trolley on the whole level at all! 2) Waiting for luggage after landing and finding you have to pay $4 to get a trolley!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no