Melbourne Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 324 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"enjoyed my departure experience"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Departure Review: For my first time travelling overseas, most of the queues were very easy to navigate through, except for the baggage drop at the very start. The wait through customs was only about 5 to 10 minutes before I entered the terminal. The International Terminal was incredibly clean compared to the domestic terminals I have previously encountered. Shopping wise, most of it seemed alright, a little overpriced, but fairly decent. The terminal is big but there is a lot less shopping space. If you were one to transit at Melbourne Airport, I'd probably recommend bringing something to keep you busy with you as sometimes the wait for your'e flight can get a little boring. Found it hard to find a seat as well as it was a little busy but overall I enjoyed my departure experience. Arrival Review: The wait for the baggage took a while and was a little crowded at the time, I was pretty annoyed that it took about 20 minutes for my luggage to actually come onto the conveyor belt, not exactly my best experience but I hope it won't happen again. The queues were through customs weren't as bad and the staff were pretty nice and helpful when it came to the e-passport machine. Declaring the chocolate I brought home from Germany went really quickly and I was able to leave the airport at a reasonable time. Can't wait for my next overseas adventure!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"intimidated and harassed"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | This morning arrived from KL. A bus load of passengers and I watched as an airport employee intimidated and harassed an elderly frightened woman. Waited an hour to get to terminal. Melbourne Airport, your employees and government officials’ attitude stinks, your culture is toxic, and your customer orientation is non-existent.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"ranks very low in my opinion"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Another disappointing experience at this airport. Arrived at about 7:45 am on schedule after a smooth overnight flight on Emirates from Singapore (one of the best airports in the world), and that is when it all came to a grinding halt. The Airbus 380 had to place to park so we had to embark with one (1) set of old fashioned outdoor stairs, top deck first, then economy. This took a very long time, about 30 minutes. Then we were herded into a bus, there were only one or two, that took a long time as well. Finally, the luggage carousel, another 30 minutes for our luggage to arrive. The another long, long queue of a few hundred metres for the customs officer. Toilets were dirty. Had to wait for our connecting flight, and there not many places to sit, wifi poor. Travel a lot and Tullamarine ranks very low in my opinion.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"staff could have been friendlier"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We arrived after a flight from LGW via DXB, after arriving in MEL, we were off the aircraft and through Customs and Immigration within 35 minutes. The staff could have been friendlier but they are there to do a job. I would certainly travel to this airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"least welcome attitude and services"

(Australia)

Not Verified | One of the worst airport for comfort, unfriendly staff, dirty toilets. The most 'livable city' has the least welcome attitude and services. The electronic passport check and not having to fill in departure forms is the only good thing I can think of. The management should check out Singapore airport and learn how to treat customers with grace and politeness. I dread returning to Melbourne every single time because we are treated like cattle!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not capable of meeting world standards"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The airports inability to manage arrival pickups fo taxi/Uber pre booking is a disgrace. The taxi’s or Uber drivers say they cannot keep up with constant changes. The fact the airport is not capable of meeting world standards is concerning. Gold Coast airport is so much more efficient and meets world standards, I’m shocked the Melbourne airport representatives cannot visit and learn how to be better. I would think the key to a good service especially airports is to move people on not create delays.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"what a shock to arrive and depart"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Oh my goodness what a shock to arrive and depart at this airport T4. A third world airport comes to mind, tho this in beautiful Melbourne. Woeful also comes to mind. Who on earth designed this budget place? Concrete and corrugated iron, no travellators, few seats, food court woeful and seating there inadequate, huge distances to walk and little help for infirm people as far as we could see. A storm came through when we were due to depart and as there is no cover to the plane, this was delayed an hour and a half. Unbelievable! To make our impression worse, a lady who needed assistance, a wheelchair, was wheeled out without a brolly. Shame on our carrier. We all boarded through showers and all were wet by the time we entered the plane. Sydney’s Mascot is a palace compared to this.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"only one shower at the airport"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Surprised that there’s only one shower at the airport and it was in a deplorable condition with no hot water. Toilets are also not better. It’s an airport, people carry luggage and bags etc and there’s no bench to put things .. eg. only small hooks. It’s like the 3rd world country. Maybe they should go learn how these 3rd world countries do better now.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"poorly maintained toilet areas"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Please could someone hold an intervention on this place. It is not ok to walk 1 km to a gate with no assistance. It is not ok to serve food of such low standard at that price. It is definitely not ok to have poorly maintained and unventilated toilet areas, and so few of them. Giving 1 because no zero.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"lifts were out of order"

(Austria)

Not Verified | Road signs to T4 were to small or none at all. Car park lifts were out of order and walked five sets of stairs. Just as well I’m not an invalid. Where are the arrival signs? Nobody had a clue where to pickup travelers. Welcome to Melbourne, foreigners must think we are idiots. Wake up people.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no