Best Cabin Crew  

Melbourne Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 265 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"staff are absolutely horrendous"

(Australia)

One word to describe Melbourne International Airport - Immigration, customs and airport staff are absolutely horrendous. For starters we had just got of QF94 and after a 15 hour flight we were tired and pretty impatient. Two and a half hours transit time should be enough to connect to your domestic flight wouldn't you think - well it wasn't. For starters passport screenings would have taken two hours if we weren't Australian. Border security staff were just standing around doing absolutely nothing. Baggage claim was a whole different story. They had somehow stupidly put and A380 for LA with a 777 from Indonesia. It was absolutely crazy. There were two spare baggage claims with no baggage whatsoever on them. From ending up arriving home in Tasmania at midday we missed our connection and didn't get home until 4 o'clock. To top that all off, as we were going up the travelator, someone at the top lost all their luggage and the staff member stopped the traveltor. We thought that after the person had collected the bags the staff member would start it again but they didn't. He just walked down the other side and said "Push it up yourself!" After 15 hours on a plane and after 4 hours in customs and pushing four bags the Melbourne Airport worker couldn't of been any ruder. Fix this Melbourne Airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"timing is everything with Melbourne"

(Australia)

Again timing is everything with Melbourne. Leaving was a breeze, always is. No issues whatsoever. Arriving this time was easy, I think ours was the only international flight arriving at that time (late afternoon). However I can see how it could be a massive problem should there be a few of the bigger planes, the E(?) passport line was backed into Duty Free and that was just our flight. Fortunately my other half doesn't have that sort of passport yet and we had no delays. Far cry from just a few months ago. So something that was designed to make the process more efficient has significant flaws and they need to change the design of the immigration section ASAP. Bags were super fast to arrive (although bonus for being the only International flight in). So for us yes it was easy this time as the timing was right. Ultimately when Melbourne is good it is very very good but when it is busy it is horrid.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"awful new Terminal 4"

(Australia)

Awful new Terminal 4. Jetstar what were you thinking agreeing to the poor customer service that this terminal represents. All departing passengers are corralled into a food court and called to gates when the plane is ready. This forces people to spend money at overpriced retail stoes. No warning of the kilometre walk to Jetstar gates. On arrival at the gate or should I say shed, there are only a few plastic seats that are so cheap and nasty both feet need to be on the ground to stop the seating falling over. On top of this the flight has been delayed for an hour as the door wont close. Why then were we all called to the departure gate with very little seating when the flight is delayed. There are so many people sitting on the concrete floor and squashed into the unstable seating. I could have flown Qantas for not much more.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
7/10

"was through security quickly"

(Australia)

First time I have flown international from Melbourne. Normally use Brisbane. Was flying F on Singapore Airlines. Checked in around 8.45 and airport was very busy that time of morning. Had express card and was through security quickly. Next line was customs and could not see any signs to use my express card and waited in line about 15 minutes. Was told later that there is a line you could use if you had an express card. Then a long walk through duty free to the Singapore lounge compared to Brisbane.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"no staff to regulate the queue"

(Canada)

I question the airport authority about their traffic management. There was such a long queue at passport control, yet there was no staff to regulate the queue. Some passengers had a habit of queue jumping. There was only two passport control booths opened. Airline cabin crew and some other passengers had priority, so they kept walking to the front of the line, while the rest of the landed passengers waited at a queue that hardly moved. Of the two booths that were opened, one of the officers worked very diligently to clear the passenger volume while the other seemed to take as long as possible. I waited for a long time, probably more than an hour. I remember messaging my cousin telling him not to come and pick me up so soon as I had not been "released" yet and we kept having to revise our meeting time. Does the airport authority have any intention to regulate the passenger traffic soon? Because it's quite uncomfortable to stand in queue for so long after a long haul flight. Can't the authority make it a little more humane for the passengers?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is old and tatty"

(Australia)

What a dismal airport. It starts with the car park and goes downhill from there. Car park is expensive, badly signposted, you have to drive around to find a park, no light system to guide you to a park like some of the shopping centre carparks. Long walks to the terminal. The actual airport is old and tatty, low ceilings, queues everywhere, no thought has gone into how to make the experience for the traveller enjoyable. Customs a shambles, no wonder passengers look so unhappy and grumpy. After a long flight who wants to sit on a bus to the city, there is no train, bus or taxi your only choices. A truly miserable airport. You only need to travel overseas to see how backward Tullamarine is, cannot believe it is the gateway to the world's most liveable city, which is a great city, shame about airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"staff are friendly"

(Hong Kong)

Used the smart gate to process my entrance to Australia. It was a breeze. Signs are clearly marked. Customs are always the worst point among all Australian ports. Melbourne is no exception. Long queue during early hours as all flights from Asia and the states arriving around similar hours. Overall, staff are friendly at the airport, just the corridor to the car park area is too narrow.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"2 kilometre walk to baggage"

(Australia)

We flew Jetstar from Cairns to Melbourne on December 27 and out again on January 5 and experienced the joy of Melbourne Airports new Terminal 4. From Jetstar Gate 49 it is about a 2 kilometre walk to baggage. Very little seating in that walk through the terminal. Jetstar is one of the most used airlines in Australia so it is very disappointing that they cannot arrange for better service for their customers. I have a Jetstar Credit card and enjoy the $200 vouchers I get from Jetstar several times a year. But considering that we fly into Melbourne several times a year we will now consider flying with an airline that can get its passengers to their destination without a forced march being part of the package. We are in our late 60s and suffer the normal ravages of time (athritis, hip replacement, etc) and we were put off the plane at gate 49 without any warning of what was to come next. Jetstar should be obliged to inform their passengers of the walk that is required to be undertaken at the end of the journey,
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"a very pleasant surprise"

(Australia)

Electronic passport control made for an almost direct walk from the plane to the baggage collection. This was a huge relief, being used to large queues with my non Australian passport. Baggage collection was fairly quick too. Again, I'm used to waiting a very long time at Melbourne before any bags show up, and that's with the usual long queueing at passport control. Maybe the improvement is down to my midnight arrival, it's hard to say. A very pleasant surprise this time around.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"many eateries and good shopping"

(Australia)

Entered a whole new world in Melbourne Airport's new T4. The drop off is a little walk from the entry to the terminal but has escalators and a lift for those who cant use them. The Ground Floor houses both Jetstar and Tiger Airways check in areas and the space is well utilized. Jetstar check-in is like its sister carrier Qantas, with computer module check-in booths. Printed out boarding cards and from there, you either head outside for a breather or upstairs to go through security. Once through security, you forfeit the right to exit unless you want to go through security procedures again but why would you when the new T4 is exceptional with many eateries and good shopping. Tiger Airways terminal is at minimum walking distance but Jetstar requires a good 5 min pace to arrive at the gates. Escalators or travel carts needed for elderly to access Jetstar terminal but modern otherwise.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes