Vote Now  

Marseille Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 49 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"What a dump"

(United Kingdom)

What a dump. I honestly asked if this was a temporary building. This is France's second city and they build this. The check in, you take your own bag once it has been tagged. There is no air conditioning. You have to zig zag through probably 200 metres to get to a tiny passport queue which then takes ages. The gates. They are meta lined pens that look like a prison. No toilets no water no vending machines. Sitting here now. Awful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the passport staff were appalling"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrival in to Marseille was fine. Our arrival gate was a long walk away from passport and baggage area but I always expect this when flying with Ryanair - so no real surprise there. The horror came on departure day. After a lovely week on our first cruise, we arrived at the airport very early for our flight (over 5 hours early - due to there being no facilities at all at Marseille Port we decided to just jump in to a taxi straight after disembarking the ship) but it was just a terrible experience. I've been through a lot of airports on my travels and this was the worst. The 'desks' seem to open when they please with no notification anywhere and miserable staff. We queued up for 20 mins to drop our suitcase at the 'all flights' desk only to get there and be told to queue back up in half an hour as they weren't accepting bags for our flight yet. So we sat back down at the one single, very overpriced café and waited, then queued up for another 20 mins, only to find that all the lady did was put a tag on our bag. We then had to take it to another queue, wait another 20 mins and put it on to a conveyorbelt. Then came the next queue for security. Through security we decided to get a drink and a sandwich (poor choice and very expensive again for the quality - possibly made worse by our already bad moods). We then waited for information on our flight, which took an age. We had noticed the passport control but were told not to queue before our flight info showed as we wouldn't be allowed through and there was absolutely no facilities on the other side anyway. So we waited and waited. When our flight info did show we joined the queue - roughly half an hour before the 'gate close' time on our boarding passes, which had already concerned us - and this queue literally didn't move for about 35 minutes. The passport staff were appalling. The airport staff didn't care until the actual take off time of a flight and would then call people forward. Absolutely horrendous. We were so worried until a few people who had experienced this before talked to us and explained that the flight wouldn't take off as the whole plane was in this queue. They were right - our flight took off about an hour late. Both my partner and I have said we will avoid this airport in the future. It was such a bad ending to a wonderful holiday. If you can fly out of anywhere else, then do! Oh - a positive: the wifi was relatively fast and free.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"very clean and the queues are quick"

(Brazil)

The airport is nice, very clean and the queues are quick. The bathrooms are good and it is easy to know where to go as there are many directions signs and the seating is good. When I arrived, I had a long distance to walk and our passports were checked at border control, even though we were coming from Lisbon.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"what a sad end to a wonderful week"

(United Kingdom)

What a sad end to a wonderful week in Provence having to depart from this terrible airport. My wife, who has hip problems, had to stand for 20 minutes whilst two officials took their time in processing a queue of around 200 passengers. The solution to the un-acceptably long queues at the passport control is to have holding areas after passport control instead of leaving it to the point when passengers are boarding - can management not see this? The facilities in general are very poor. If we ever visit this part of France again it will certainly not be via this airport. Poor show Marseille.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"like a warehouse with inadequate seating"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I have never seen such a poor terminal except Yangon's domestic terminal in Burma - that's how bad it is. Specifically: The building is like a warehouse with inadequate seating, poor design and cramped spaces for passengers. Metal barriers snake back and forth towards security and baggage drop. Signage is by hanging a metal sign on hooks instead of digital display. Toilets (only upstairs) were unclean and broken. No men's toilets had any seats. Disgusting! Snack points were expensive. I paid 10 euros for four tiny coffees in small paper cups. Waiting areas by the departure gate were too small and cramped. This airport is a disgrace to the region and a terrible introduction to Southern France. Avoid it if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"ruined our memories of a lovely trip"

(United Kingdom)

Marseille airport can only be described as a cattle market. There was a self service bag drop, followed by a slow trip through the security gates. Breakfast was a very expensive croissant and tea. However the passport control beat all this hands down. The queues were slow and although we had queued for 20 minutes, it looked like we would miss our flight. An announcement came over the tannoy in French and one of our fellow travellers let us know that if we didn't get a move on we'd miss our flight. We decided that we had no other option than to jump the queue. Wrong I know, but in the circumstances necessary. One of the passport controllers came bursting out of his cubicle shouting and gesticulating at us and ordered us back to the queue. Our pleas were dismissed. Now, you might think that we were teenagers intent on getting ahead, but no, we are 3 ladies in our late 50s. We had spent 5 days having a lovely time in France, and in 2 minutes this man has ruined our memories of a lovely trip.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"wonderfully efficient from bag drop to boarding"

(Canada)

Had read a lot of not so great reviews of Marseille airport. Not much to look at on the outside or inside but it was wonderfully efficient from bag drop to security and to boarding. Not the warmest of Air France staff but everything else was really smooth.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"lines stretch across the terminal"

(Australia)

Most reviews are for the awful budget terminal. But even the nice 'looking' full service terminals for international flights are run haphazardly. No bag drop off until two hours before departure. This means for an international premium class ticket you will queue until two hours before your flight. The lines stretch across the terminal and they don't crowd control at all. People will cut in line, 'save' spaces for another 5 people and the entire experience takes more than an hour. For the only flight on that airline for the day, with a business class ticket. Then immigration, then security. Two hours is barely enough time given the illogical and inefficient setup they have created. This only applies to international - we split into 2. One international (terrible) and one domestic (fine - still with the stupid 2 hour rule, but much smoother and faster).
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"endless and chaotic queues"

(United Kingdom)

The terminal MP2 is appalling - it's easily the worst terminal I've ever used, both when arriving at Marseille and also leaving. I used to travel to Marseille regularly (as I used to live here), often flying Easyjet. However, this was my first experience of MP2 and I hope it'll be my last. I don't know what the airport shopping is like as I spent so long queueing in the endless and chaotic queues that I didn't have time to go shopping.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"is done to improve your passage through security"

(Belgium)

I use this airport at least twice a month, as a business passenger almost nothing is done to improve your passage through security - even if you checked-in online, you must still go to the check-in desk to receive a pass. No priority business lane for security and loud complains of other travellers if you want to pass in front of them (understandable), security staff lacks motivation and quite often only one lane open with a long queue while at the next lane the agents are chatting while doing nothing. Toilets are often dirty and even clogged for days. The business lounge has no windows, is noisy. The employees at the boarding-side cafeteria are not obliging.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 49 Reviews