Best Cabin Crew  

Manila Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 252 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"one of the worst in Asia"

(Philippines)

Terminal 1 in Manila continues to be one of the worst in Asia. Superficially they have painted the terminal, done some work on the roof etc but continues to suffer. The check-in area has inadequate seating. Passport control is not too bad but staff are not friendly. Adequate food and drink options but take the worst of Philippine food, overcharge and then provide no tables and chairs and you have the worst eating experience of any airport. Terrible toilets - not enough and not too clean. Pick-up and taxis are the one area that has improved, but never take a white cab or coupon taxi.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"terminal was stuffy"

(Singapore)

One of the worst airport I have ever visited. On arrival it took me 1 hour 15 minutes to get a cab. Lots of illegal taxi touts, but the official airport taxi queue was very long, with very few taxis coming - people blatantly cutting queues did not help. At departure I could only find 1 toilet in the departure area for hundreds of passengers. This is the first time in my life when I witnessed a queue for men's toilet. The terminal was stuffy, no electronic boards whatsoever to display flight details, public announcements were mumbling. Food options lousy with no proper restaurants - this airport is disgraceful.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"seating is adequate"

(United States)

This airport seems as good as any. Arrival is easy - airport, immigration and customs staff are polite and reasonable (even helpful), and there is adequate space for baggage claiming. Departure is awkward as you get to the airport, but that's only because people must allow time for Manila traffic, so you tend to arrive early for check-in. The check-in area would have to be huge to alleviate this problem, so you can't really blame that on the facility. Once you check in, the gates are well-marked and reasonably near, yet there are some shops and food available - limited selection, but prices are not outrageous. At the gates, seating is adequate, security staff thorough but polite, and the wifi worked just fine for me. Elevators are hard to find, so passengers in wheelchairs or with children in strollers need to ask for assistance. That's really the only problem I see. The problem is fighting traffic going to or from the place. I can't complain about the airport itself.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"pretty chaotic, like always"

(Belgium)

We went to the airport on a Wednesday evening. Light trafic, took 2 hours and 20 minutes from Bulacan. Inside Terminal 1 is pretty chaotic, like always. Had to wait about 35 minutes in lane for Turkish Airlines. Customs went pretty quickly and we went to eat in the shopping area. The boarding area is just too small. People were sitting in the hallways while waiting to board their flights. Wifi was not working for me.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"prepare to be greeted with chaos"

(United States)

This airport in the newest additional to the old ones but don't expect much, prepare to be greeted with chaos and unsystematic work flow. If you are on a long lay over, there is a lounge at the 4th floor where you can lie down or have a massage for only around $200 or P1,000. I think it's worth the money having a relaxing wait at this facility. Most of the escalators or travelators were not working. If you arrived from international travel, brace yourself to be in a crowded arrival. Be careful of your belongings too.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"all rather depressing"

(United Kingdom)

I have been flying in and out of the Philippines for the last two years and I always prefer flying out of Terminal 3 at NAIA simply because it means I don't have to sit in traffic for another hour going to Terminals 1 or 2. Whoever designed the road network to the terminals at this airport was not blessed with foresight. However on the last occasion I used NAIA T3 I finally realised that even that terminal is nowhere near an enjoyable experience any longer. I know the Philippines doesn't really understand the benefits of railways but I wonder why no one appears to have thought about a simple train link from the airport to the city as that sort of thing seems to work well in 90% of the world. Having arrived at NAIA after the usual attempt by the taxi driver to extort more money out of me for the fare I then had to take part in the "fall in line" games. First of all you have to wait in line outside the terminal for what would appear to be a completely pointless screening of all baggage to enter the terminal. I say pointless because everyone just throws all their bags and boxes on the belt as quick as they can, all piled up, so the staff doing the screening can't possibly see everything that is coming into the terminal in the first place. But you can jump the queue - for a fee. Check in takes ages because everyone seems to have more baggage than they are officially allowed and hand baggage seems to cover anything which doesn't require a forklift. Having negotiated the check in you proceed to immigration and security. Thankfully the Philippines has finally come into the 21st century and done away with the need to pay departure tax in cash at the airport since last year, and also the requirement for non Philippine nationals to fill out departure cards - which used to come with insufficient space to give the details required anyway. Length of lines at both checkpoints varies on time of day but on average takes longer than at other airports in the region. There are probably around a dozen stores in the departure lounge all selling exactly the same things ie. banana chips and polveron sweets. And a few food options which are hardly on the level of the average shopping mall food court. There is also a basic smoking room which you can use so long as you buy something from the overpriced bar. I think they have free wi-fi but i've never been able to connect to it. All rather depressing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"must be the worst airport"

(Philippines)

Manila Terminal 2 must be the worst airport in the world. I went this evening (13 December) to meet and greet my sister. People waiting are kept outside in 32C heat where there are 2 exits and no indication which one will be used by the passenger. There are no boards indicating flight status and no information desks. There are no seats. We went to the car in the parking area at 8:10 pm. It took 50 minutes to reach the pay booth. There must have been 100 vehicles jammed in fighting for every inch. The vehicles were not lined up, as clearly there was a very poor design to manage the traffic leading to the 2, only 2, toll booths. Of course, the parking management was nowhere to be seen.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
9/10

"Departures were easy and quick"

(Australia)

On arrival to Manila Airport (during APEC) 30 minutes from aircraft to the public pick up area (Terminal 1). Cannot fault this anywhere in the world and the terminal had clearly been spruced up for APEC. Departures (Terminal 3 both domestic and international) were easy and quick. Despite what has been written here before it was hard to fault this airport. If I was to be picky the aircon in the international departures area of Terminal 3 struggled with the setting sun pouring through the glass. Plenty of shops, food outlets and clean toilets.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"full of confusion and construction"

(Thailand)

This is by far the worst International airport in the world. On this trip I got to experience 3 of the terminals - 1, 2, and 3. Terminal 1 is the only terminal that has a hope as they have renovated it. However it is full of confusion and construction and has a long way to go to be any good. Check in at the counter was a joke as they have no line dividers so there is just one huge long line for check in that winds across the entire check in area. Buy some line dividers and be normal. Internet is absolutely terrible - you cannot even skype on it let alone send an email. Terminal 2. This should be torn down and replaced as soon as possible. It saw its day 25 years ago and is the least modern airport in Asia. Philippine Airlines should be embarrassed to operate out of this terminal. There are so many reasons to close this but a few are: It looks very old, terrible metal seats, only one washroom per international or domestic departure area (amazing), and the worst internet in the world. Terminal 3. This is the most modern terminal but fails in a big way for the following reasons. Total lack of air conditioning on the upper level. I talked to the staff in the restaurants and they said it has always been like that! Terrible internet. Very long lines (up to 1 hour) to get into the terminal to check in to your flight - this is just the security check point. Lastly there is a supposed shuttle bus to take you between terminals - forget it. I waited 50 minutes for the bus to come and when it arrived it was packed, no where to put my luggage. Then it gets on the main road into the Manila traffic to go to the next terminal and you can be there for another 45 minutes just go to 2 miles. Given that in Asia some of the nicest airports exist only a few hours from Manila I would like to know how the government of the Philippines can justify that this is the first thing and last thing that guests to their country experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"somewhat of a dungeon"

(Australia)

If you are traveling on Qantas back to Australia it is likely you will leave from Gate 2, which is somewhat of a dungeon. Once you pass through the security and find your gate you will be searched again and any liquids bought from the airport shops will be confiscated. There is a row of employees who will physically go through your bags again. Why? I have no idea. At Gate 2 there are no toilets and go to one means giving your ticket to the security staff who issue you with a pass. Speaking of no toilets, once you enter the airport foyer and join the multitudes waiting to check in the bags, there are no toilets. You must exit the foyer to the public area and then re-enter the airport through security. Ridiculous.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no