Manila Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 344 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"seems to be better now"

(Saudi Arabia)

Verified Review | Manila Terminal 1. My last arrival / departure on this terminal was around 2014, travelling by Singapore Airlines outbound. The terminal was under refurbishing after it was rated as one of the worst airports. Fast forward, arrival 31 August 2017. They have refurbished the whole terminal and had is now carpeted. The terminal now is bright and the lights all over. Which was good since this terminal used to be very outdated, dark and gloomy. Immigration was fast as well as the baggage claim. I managed to go out of the terminal in around 45 minutes. Departure, 13 September 2017. Philippine Airlines transferred their Middle East flights (except Dubai) in this terminal. Check-in was fast. Since Philippines Airlines has a counter for itself, and you can check in anytime to your destination (Middle East only) at any counter. Immigrations was fast as well as long as you have all the paperworks handy. The old Sampaguita lounge was not there anymore, so a friend informed me that there is a pay lounge called "Club Manila". There are stairs going up to the lounge, before reaching Starbucks. The usual Duty Free is still on the same location, stalls on both sides plus added seats for passengers. There are new restaurants, and quiet places where a passenger can sleep. Departure Gate. It was freshly refurbished, and everything looks new. Just hope that the maintenance department will do its best to maintain the new refurbished terminal. One downside, its not as cold as it seems, but not as as hot as before. All in all, NAIA T1 seems to be better now!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"worst representation of the Philippines"

(Philippines)

Unverified | The worst representation of the Philippines. An airport should have a welcoming and relaxing feeling to start of a trip. But Manila Airport (or NAIA) has a stressful, uncomfortable, and overall bad feeling to it. All lines are really long. I would rather choose Clark International Airport over this.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it is just plain simple stupidity"

(Norway)

Verified Review | Have you ever been to the Philippines before? If yes, then you most likely have been flying in or out from the infamous NAIA 2 terminal in Manila. Why infamous? Well, this airport really has something of a bad reputation, built up over many years, which amazingly enough happens to be used by the national carrier, PAL – Philippine Airlines, as well. It all starts as soon as one arrives in the airport area and the driver tries to navigate through a total chaotic traffic situation basically in front of the doors to the departure hall. This is where there are more family members and friends than actual travelers, clustered together right by the entrance where one will show the passport and ticket, in order to pass first check point. One already has a sneaking feeling this is going to be an interesting experience. After almost elbowing myself, with a sorry this and sorry that, I pass the first security check point to line up at the first baggage x-ray point. It is understandable these days, with all the security issues everywhere, except there are normally only 2 machines operating for 1000s of travelers and their luggage at NAIA 2. Then, after the first x-ray checks, more chaos awaits you with all the people moving in all directions, looking for their check in gates. The check in area is so narrow it is quite amazing to think that up and running intelligent people actually thought this out. People bump into each other all the time, looking for their gates. Some give up and line up by the information desk. They are actually helpful. And you are directed to the correct check in counters. This is because of poor information on the sometimes not always up and running boards. Check in goes fairly quick, which is probably the most positive about this nightmare of a terminal. After all, we should also give credit where it is deserved. Off we go to passport checks, and another absolutely crazy solution. They seem to change the configuration (layout) of the passport control points every so often. I have been 21 times to Manila, but 10 months since last time, but it must be the 6th or 7th new layout in 11 years. It takes only 35 people in total before the lines start to form in to one single line, which starts to stretch along the airport itself. Absolutely ridiculous, and one can not see which type of line one belongs to before one is well inside the area. Was watching a senior citizen who lined up at the senior citizen line, and kept waiting and waiting. Nobody helping. Finally, after some time she asked one of the immigrations officers who just hang around the ones working, and she was scolded and told to line up in the other lines. After this ordeal, we are into another even worse one. Namely the terror of the last security check of hand luggage, shoes, electronics, except the "American Freedom Check". Again, only 2 machines for 1000s of people. With, wait for it, only 10-11 boxes available for items like laptops, etc. It feels like this is some kind of joke, but I realize it is just plain simple stupidity. Stupidity by the morons who created it, and by the cowards who are too afraid to tell their bosses how idiotic this system is. You finally get yourself a box, which is kicked over the floor (Indeed it is) and put all your stuff in one simple box. Laptop, pads, mobiles, chargers, Camera, belt, watch, and your shoes as well, all in the same box.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"the worst WIFI connectivity"

(United States)

Verified Review | Manila Airport has the worst WIFI connectivity. The airport allows you to log in to their WIFI but only for 59 minutes. After 59 minutes you have to buy in pesos for another hour of connection. The airport needs to improve this service as it is very important to every traveler.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Departure gates not shown on the board"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | This airport is what hell is like. It has 3 food stalls all of which are gross and cash only. There is no way to get out cash or transfer currency once here so if you have no cash you will be unable to purchase food or drink for the duration of your stay. Departure gates not shown on the board and the gate was changed. I only discovered this by chance because I walked past the new gate and was like "hey that's my flight". Update: they just changed my gate again which I discovered after sitting at the gate labelled with my flight number when I overheard a conversation from another passenger. Despite going through security to get into the transfer section they won't check you for liquids until you get to your gate so you can't bring a bottle of water onto the plane.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Staff felt cold and unhelpful"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Arrived from Hong Kong on Cathay Pacific. Immigration was present as soon as I exited the gate. The employee was a trainee and took a very long time to check passports. When it was my family's turn, the employee had to constantly ask her colleague on the procedure, delaying the line and the process. This was not good for us, as we had a car waiting for us and the flight was already delayed from Hong Kong. Staff felt cold and unhelpful. Shopping and food options were limited, and we had to get food outside the airport. There was no free WiFi, and the airport wasn't clean and needed a facelift. It took us an additional 45 minutes to claim baggage. Really needs major facelift and renovation, better yet a move to outside the city.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"very limited facilities"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | On a positive note, Manila Airport finally has cushioned seats at the passenger boarding area. But it took airport officials 17 years to install such seats. They also placed indoor zen gardens, which seems useless because their view are obstructed by machines or chairs. On a not so good note, the airport continues to have very limited facilities for diverse range of needs of passengers. There are no quiet zones for weary passengers to rest; the entire airport is crowded and noisy. Airside, there are no adequate cafes, restaurants; the only decent cafe which has actual seats is always full. The toilets are pathetic, run-down and packed most of the time. Duty-free selection is not enticing; products are old and even quite expensive. The flights are always delayed by at least more than an hour due to air traffic congestion. The airport may be functional, but overall it is poor in both aesthetics and sense of passenger well-being.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an embarrassment"

(United States)

Unverified | Manila is the worst international airport I've been to. Avoid. We got stuck here for a 6 hour layover and I cannot wait to get out of here. The whole terminal is a 75 m stretch without a single restaurant. The food options are horrible. They have a few small coffee shops, but some of them only take cash, no credit card. And there is nowhere to exchange money. The seats are very uncomfortable. The flooring is tile, so not an option to sit on the floor. This airport is an embarrassment as largest airport of the Philippines. It's better to connect through Singapore.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"The food stalls are pathetic"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Flying Philippine Airlines from Terminal 2. Firstly, the lines to the immigration counters snakes around the ticket counters and when you finally get inside the immigration area, there are only 3 immigration officers working. When all is finally cleared, you get inside the Terminal 2 departure area and there are no seats available. One section was closed off and I saw one security or airport terminal employee asking people seated to leave the area. The food stalls are pathetic. There are no decent food to purchase. These stalls only sell hotdogs and instant noodles. One of their concessions Cafe France, had endless queue of people and only 2 people manning their kiosk. Their food and coffee is as pathetic as their service. This terminal only has 2 toilets and just as the immigration and food stalls are queued by people, the same goes with the toilet. This is such a pathetic excuse of an airport especially when people are made to pay Php1,620 for travel tax. Other 3rd world airports are far better than Naia.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"A poor airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | MNL T2 is a terminal of contrasts. Departure (at least the check in / immigration / security) is usually quick and efficient. Arrivals are normally slow and inefficient. I always check in early and have a lengthy wait in the dismal departures area with uncomfortable seating, barely functioning air conditioning and no decent food / drink choices. Arrivals are usually a lengthy wait at Immigration followed by an even longer wait in the baggage hall. If I get to the taxi rank within 1.5 hours of arrival I consider I've done well and a further 20 minutes wait for a metered taxi is about as good as it gets. A poor airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no