Top 100 Airlines  

Manila Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 299 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"worst airport I've ever seen"

(United States)

Manila is the worst airport I've ever seen. Arrived 4 hours before my flight. Sat down and scoped the food. A very poor selection for a primary international airport. Shameful. Having just come from Bangkok that is like paradise by comparison. After sitting for 2 hours we were ushered from our seat to a ridiculous long queue to once again check our documents. Probably the most innane organizational nightmare that left us without our seats, which my 11 year old was enjoying being occupied by a nearby TV. So we're left for another 2 hours of standing in a cattle pen. Really the worst airport with sour staff and awful services / process.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"there is not enough space"

(Philippines)

NAIA Terminal 2 exclusively used by Philippine Airlines barely improved. Toilets remain cramped and dirty. There is not enough space where passengers are squeezed in like cattle. Seats are metal, hard and uncomfortable, especially while waiting for hours over delayed flights. Food kiosks serve terrible overpriced junk food. Airconditioning barely function. Immigration counters are located at both ends of the terminal, each for Filipinos and non-Filipinos. However, there is no adequate signage visible to passengers so many passengers unfamiliar with the system get confused.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"there are some noticeable improvements"

(United Kingdom)

I must say I have been pleasantly surprised with my recent Manila airport experiences. Domestic T2, arrived 2 hours prior to my flight. Through check in and security in less than 10 minutes. Before heading to the lounge, I scanned for my gate in the small domestic area and found that despite the relative congestion of the airport, there are still some seats at the gates. Few eating options which are overpriced. No drinking stations, and the toilets seem a bit dodgy. MNL T2 domestic has some work to do, but there are some noticeable improvements.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"a pleasantly surprising experience"

(Philippines)

Departed T3 on an 8am flight. Arrived at around 6am with minimal queueing at the strange x-ray stop point as one enters the terminal. Quick check in process and quickly through immigration and final security. The speed of my going from landslide to airside sort of disoriented me (was I really in Manila airport?). Perhaps it was because it was a Tuesday and hence not peak travel time, or the new government really cracked down on airport inefficiency. Regardless, this is one thankful traveler. New stores in the offing but I can't really comment on the dining options as I headed straight to the lounge. Also had a very quick zip from the lounge to the plane. All in all, it was a pleasantly surprising experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"terminal was working well"

(United Kingdom)

T2 is a dreadful place. 20 minute queue to get into the terminal mid morning. Check-In and Immigration were reasonable as was Departure Security, but the Departures Area was more like a bus station than an airport - poor seating, barely functioning air conditioning, pathetic selection of places to eat / drink, no smoking area and queues for toilets. No flight information screens and it's pretty evident that the terminal was working well in excess of its design capacity. Arrivals starts with this Health Check Questionnaire, not sure what they're trying to achieve there, but it's not working. Immigration was fairly quick in early evening and this was followed by nearly 1 hour in the baggage hall with people 4 deep at the baggage belt - total joke. There is no way way this place is capable of handling 3 x 777's arriving within 30 minutes of each other. I arrived at the taxi rank 1 hour 20 mins after landing and waited 45 minutes on a metered taxi. I was able to fly from Bangkok in around 3 hours but took over 2 hours to negotiate Manila airport T2. It's a national disgrace.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"T1 functions well with minimal queuing"

(Australia)

Arrived at Manila airport Terminal 1 and departed Terminal 3. For arrival Terminal 1, although it is obviously dated it functions well with minimal queuing and quick baggage arrival. Terminal 3 is by far the pick of the MNL terminals. Do yourself a favour a pay a porter to avoid the long queues to enter the building but after that it all works pretty well for Manila.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst I have experienced"

(Denmark)

Worst major airport in the world. I travel a lot, both business and leisure, so I experience a lot of airports all over the world. But my 2 transits in Manila airport were the worst I have experienced. You have to pick-up your, already checked-in luggage and clear it at customs, and then a staff member will put it back on the baggage carousel again. The terminal transfer takes around an hour, and you have to give up your boarding card to an employee while waiting for the terminal transfer bus. I went to the airport twice in June, horrible both times. The signs when you arrive with the terminal bus, in terminal 3, are wrong. Restrooms are really dirty.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"the art of chaotic organisation"

(United Kingdom)

Manila airport T2 is for exclusive use of PAL with the North Wing reserved for international travellers and the South for domestic travel. In either terminal you go through layers and layers of security. The first one begins as you enter where there is an initial document check. Only ticketed passengers are allowed in the terminal. Next is an x-ray and metal detector prior to check in. Then immigration then a final security. For those whose flights head for the US, an additional layer is required by the TSA. It is therefore no surprise that even before one boards the aircraft a certain feeling of fatigue sets in. On the departure leg (MNL-HKG), since this was an early morning flight, little resistance was met in all layers, but one can feel the inefficiency, especially of the check in process (considering I was travelling in Business Class). I'd expect the Business Class lane to be free at this time, but it seems that they allowed some lanes to be open for economy class passengers. No biggie, just a little confused. Short lines through immigration and final security was pretty quick too. However, again, since there were layers of what I see as pointless stops, the entire process to reach the gates were just tiresome. The boarding process also was pretty chaotic where there were absolutely no semblance of queueing order (even in the priority lanes). The return experience was no less unpleasant. Queues in the submission of the health declaration was unreasonably long where the officers collecting the forms had no sense of urgency, notwithstanding the simultaneous disembarkation of an A330 and B777. Same experience in the immigration queues and baggage claim. I think Philippine airport authorities of late have mastered the art of chaotic organisation.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"quite orderly and clean"

(Hong Kong)

Terminal 2 in Manila is dedicated exclusively for Philippine Airlines. It is not a fancy or new looking terminal, nor one with very modern equipment, but it's still quite orderly and clean. Because of the exclusivity, the queue at the immigration is acceptable and processes people at fast enough speed. Priority check in luggage came delivered promptly. Upon departure, it's a blessing to fly in PAL business class. From check in at special counters to the use of Mabuhay lounge, it enhances the whole experience. One complaint though, the airport is not sufficiently air-conditioned, causing it to be quite hot, especially in the afternoon. Boarding arrangement is clear and orderly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the facilities inadequate"

(Canada)

Not only are the facilities inadequate, the staff are dismissive, the queues are long, and the stores and options inside are lacking. Similar to the rest of Manila, it will take 10 times longer to get anywhere or do anything in this airport. Plan to leave 6 hours earlier to make your flight as you must pass through 3 security checks before you can sit down at your gate. The first one is outside. To get between the terminals, you must pick up any checked bags, go through customs, get a taxi, get stuck in Manila traffic, go through the pointless security check outside, check in again, and go through the inside security again. Although wifi shows up, it is actually non-existent since you are unable to connect, or browse on the off chance it connects. Save your juices in trying as there are no plugs for electronics anywhere as all 3 of them are used up by mobile air conditioners that blow hot air. Don't count on asking any of the staff here for assistance, they are incompetent. You will spot many workers sitting in the wheelchairs they are supposed to push. Least of all, the poor PA system combined with thick accents mean you must listen very carefully to the announcements to not miss frequent gate change notices. But don't worry, you'll be able to hear the announcements anywhere in the terminal as they are not isolated to the relevant gates. All 3 flights we've taken from this airport, whether connecting or departing, have been delayed, even with fair to excellent weather outside. I recommend any and all people to consider another airport for layovers, or avoid traveling to Manila.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no