Airline of the Year  

Manila Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 330 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"this is a chalk and cheese airport"

(New Zealand)

This is a chalk and cheese airport depending on which terminal you are flying into and out of. Terminal 4 or the Manila Domestic Terminal is simply appalling being far too small for the amount of flights it has to serve. Security is overbearing (I had to remove my belt twice for example) and this hangar has only a few overpriced outlets should a beverage be needed. Terminal 3 is the complete opposite. Flew in and out with Cathay Pacific from/to Hong Kong. This is what I call a proper terminal. Organised, no overbearing security but efficient instead, check in areas well organised and clear as to where to go. Immigration efficient and with a smile. Overall, I am glad that both the terminals I used now accept that Grab or Uber are part of the scene and overpriced taxis are no longer obligatory. My scores are based on Terminal 3, not terminal 4.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"airport is a disaster"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | This airport is a disaster at the departure check-in area, it is so crowded and the space provided for waiting passengers is terrible. The seats are old and uncomfortable. No place to take a quick nap. Queuing to check-in is another nightmare, you will need to queue for at least one hour. Arrival is a bit better after renovation but still nowhere to take a quick nap, seats in the waiting area are pathetic and can only seat few passengers and no place to be eat! Only one dirty toilet availabe each for arrival and depature terminal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"turns into chaos and staff are incompetent"

(Canada)

I have been flying in and out of Manila since 1994 from all three terminals. T3 is newer and T2 dedicated to PAL. The airport works well enough on an average day but in context of its Asian neighbor is substandard - just ahead of Dhaka Bangladesh. When things go bad it turns into chaos and staff are incompetent. I arrived on a flight from Bangkok on a Sunday evening to utter chaos in the immigration area - too many flights coming in and for some inexplicable reason there was a maintenance guys blocking the center part of the arrival area while he was painting the ceiling! Two hours later I go into the outdoor chaos and get a yellow taxi to take me to my hotel. Its enough to make me not ever want to fly PAL again or even go into the chaos of NAIA or Manila again.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"terrible out of date airport"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | It was my first time using this airport, Maila Ninoy Aquino International Airport. When I arrived, I was surprised that it looked like something from the 1940s. Terminal 1 was small, quite crowded and hot. If you are caucasian looking, taxi touts will approach you. Do not listen and go direct to the White Taxis or Grab stand in front. The positive side, the walking time between getting off your plane to taking a taxi was minimal. Departure was even worse. Everything must be scanned, including your very heavy suitcases. The check in line was incredibly long, there are no desks for online check in which is ridiculous. All airlines must scramble and share only 50 check in desks! The airport was hot and there was not enough seats. Prices of duty free was expensive if compared to KLIA or even changi. The food selection was ok, there was a starbucks but very crowded. My gate, which is gate 1 is situated downstairs with no lift. Imagine a handicapped passenger trying to get downstairs. In addition there was no machine to do security check so the guards open up your bag and mess up everything. Overalll, terrible out of date airport!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"airport is overly congested"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | This airport is overly congested and is in a bad state. Flew Philippine Airlines so I was expecting good service since they have exclusive terminal (NAIA 2) but left disappointed. I had to wait for almost 2 hours in the line for immigration. At the boarding area, conditions are bad. Seating is crowded. They added those cheap looking plastic chairs that are uncomfortable to sit. If you travel for business and plan to do some last minute work at the airport, forget it because there is no place for it. Not to forget the toilets - dirty and again have to fall in line just to use. So just imagine the experience of using a horrible airport when flying a 3-star airline.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"place is overpopulated"

(Philippines)

They have tried to improve Manila Airport but it's just not enough. The place is overpopulated - they do not have enough seats for everyone. Toilets are clean but just lacking - 1 soap dispenser for 10 sinks, 1 hand dryer hidden at the very end of the toilet area, just very poorly thought through and without the customer in mind - just trying to save money. Also, aircon is terrible. People are waiting for their delayed flights (and the flights are always delayed here) and sweating - the aircon is useless. Filipinos can cope but foreigners are not used to it and it gives a bad impression overall. No one seems to know how to provide good service and facilities to the public despite having Singapore and Bangkok airports less than 3 hours away - take a look at your neighbours Philippines and learn.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"impression is rather positive"

(France)

Verified Review | After having read so negative comments about Manila airport, my overall impression is rather positive. Arrival at terminal 1 at midnight did not give me a very good impression. I did not expect an airport to be so crowded at such an hour, but, departure from the tiny (domestic) terminal 4 was quite smooth (considering I travelled during a peak holiday season) and from terminal 1 a breeze. No queues, friendly staff (I did not even have to remove my coat to go through security), no unnecessary shops, no interminable walking to the gate, wi-fi worked very well. The only drawback is that the air-conditioning is too cold for my taste.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"noticeably improved"

(Canada)

Verified Review | My family and I have flown to the Philippines for about 25 years now (My wife is a Filipina). This trip we arrived / departed terminal 1 (last time it was 3) so I got to see the 'renovations'. Next trip we'll likely go to Clark airport as it's closer to where we all need to be (northern Luzon). Arrival (trip on EVA Air). Overall the washrooms are much improved (need more of them) with slight decor improvements (lighting, AC and carpets). The worst part, the ramps to the parking area, are only slightly improved (bumps, traffic, crowds and steep declines - they need an elevator) . Overall, I've always found it efficient, friendly and it works relatively well now that there's less congestion thanks to terminal 3. Customs was also friendly and efficient. For long time customers no having to tip in the washroom or getting you baggage. Departure (trip on EVA Air). Noticeably improved. To beat Manila traffic we arrived about 7-hours early. Seating was really nice, great overhead sign, nice and clean washroom nearby, great lighting. Some (high priced) stores after security which I don't remember last time. We did some shopping and grabbed a coffee (which was expensive). They need some more moderate priced places for families. No more airport fees on the way out which was great. The only issue was 1-hour free WiFi limits (you can also use free Smart/Globe plans) - that needs to be addressed. Less searches then in days past - while seating is crowded at the gate it's not bad, though you need to use your passport to go to the washroom from the seating area. On the plus side not more security (metal detector, carry-on searches, shoes / belt-off) each time you do that, which is much better. 2 trips ago I flew NAIA Terminal 1 (2nd worst airport) to JFK Delta terminal 3 (worst) and JFK was far worse. With the renovations at terminal 1 I find it pretty good, though it's no 'first-class airport' like Narita or Haneda. For our family we found it friendly, fast and efficient despite it's age.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"1h15m to go thru immigration"

(Hong Kong)

At Manila Airport, the line for Diplomat / Apec passports was very long and the majority of travellers were neither. Only one Immigration officer to service that counter while nobody serviced the airline crew line. Took 1h15m to go thru immigration.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"airport was absolute chaos"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Finally the renovations of Manila Airport Terminal 1 are almost done and there are noticeable improvements. But I think the airport still lacks good passenger services. Key comment are the waiting areas. The way they design waiting areas is too cramped. They squeeze all passengers into a tiny space with seats more cramped than the airplane. There are no spaces where passengers can relax before boarding. Airport is too small. During my flight there were around 4 airlines that were leaving at the same time; and the airport was absolute chaos.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no