Top 100 Airports  

Manila Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 294 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"a pleasantly surprising experience"

(Philippines)

Departed T3 on an 8am flight. Arrived at around 6am with minimal queueing at the strange x-ray stop point as one enters the terminal. Quick check in process and quickly through immigration and final security. The speed of my going from landslide to airside sort of disoriented me (was I really in Manila airport?). Perhaps it was because it was a Tuesday and hence not peak travel time, or the new government really cracked down on airport inefficiency. Regardless, this is one thankful traveler. New stores in the offing but I can't really comment on the dining options as I headed straight to the lounge. Also had a very quick zip from the lounge to the plane. All in all, it was a pleasantly surprising experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"terminal was working well"

(United Kingdom)

T2 is a dreadful place. 20 minute queue to get into the terminal mid morning. Check-In and Immigration were reasonable as was Departure Security, but the Departures Area was more like a bus station than an airport - poor seating, barely functioning air conditioning, pathetic selection of places to eat / drink, no smoking area and queues for toilets. No flight information screens and it's pretty evident that the terminal was working well in excess of its design capacity. Arrivals starts with this Health Check Questionnaire, not sure what they're trying to achieve there, but it's not working. Immigration was fairly quick in early evening and this was followed by nearly 1 hour in the baggage hall with people 4 deep at the baggage belt - total joke. There is no way way this place is capable of handling 3 x 777's arriving within 30 minutes of each other. I arrived at the taxi rank 1 hour 20 mins after landing and waited 45 minutes on a metered taxi. I was able to fly from Bangkok in around 3 hours but took over 2 hours to negotiate Manila airport T2. It's a national disgrace.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"T1 functions well with minimal queuing"

(Australia)

Arrived at Manila airport Terminal 1 and departed Terminal 3. For arrival Terminal 1, although it is obviously dated it functions well with minimal queuing and quick baggage arrival. Terminal 3 is by far the pick of the MNL terminals. Do yourself a favour a pay a porter to avoid the long queues to enter the building but after that it all works pretty well for Manila.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst I have experienced"

(Denmark)

Worst major airport in the world. I travel a lot, both business and leisure, so I experience a lot of airports all over the world. But my 2 transits in Manila airport were the worst I have experienced. You have to pick-up your, already checked-in luggage and clear it at customs, and then a staff member will put it back on the baggage carousel again. The terminal transfer takes around an hour, and you have to give up your boarding card to an employee while waiting for the terminal transfer bus. I went to the airport twice in June, horrible both times. The signs when you arrive with the terminal bus, in terminal 3, are wrong. Restrooms are really dirty.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"the art of chaotic organisation"

(United Kingdom)

Manila airport T2 is for exclusive use of PAL with the North Wing reserved for international travellers and the South for domestic travel. In either terminal you go through layers and layers of security. The first one begins as you enter where there is an initial document check. Only ticketed passengers are allowed in the terminal. Next is an x-ray and metal detector prior to check in. Then immigration then a final security. For those whose flights head for the US, an additional layer is required by the TSA. It is therefore no surprise that even before one boards the aircraft a certain feeling of fatigue sets in. On the departure leg (MNL-HKG), since this was an early morning flight, little resistance was met in all layers, but one can feel the inefficiency, especially of the check in process (considering I was travelling in Business Class). I'd expect the Business Class lane to be free at this time, but it seems that they allowed some lanes to be open for economy class passengers. No biggie, just a little confused. Short lines through immigration and final security was pretty quick too. However, again, since there were layers of what I see as pointless stops, the entire process to reach the gates were just tiresome. The boarding process also was pretty chaotic where there were absolutely no semblance of queueing order (even in the priority lanes). The return experience was no less unpleasant. Queues in the submission of the health declaration was unreasonably long where the officers collecting the forms had no sense of urgency, notwithstanding the simultaneous disembarkation of an A330 and B777. Same experience in the immigration queues and baggage claim. I think Philippine airport authorities of late have mastered the art of chaotic organisation.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"quite orderly and clean"

(Hong Kong)

Terminal 2 in Manila is dedicated exclusively for Philippine Airlines. It is not a fancy or new looking terminal, nor one with very modern equipment, but it's still quite orderly and clean. Because of the exclusivity, the queue at the immigration is acceptable and processes people at fast enough speed. Priority check in luggage came delivered promptly. Upon departure, it's a blessing to fly in PAL business class. From check in at special counters to the use of Mabuhay lounge, it enhances the whole experience. One complaint though, the airport is not sufficiently air-conditioned, causing it to be quite hot, especially in the afternoon. Boarding arrangement is clear and orderly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the facilities inadequate"

(Canada)

Not only are the facilities inadequate, the staff are dismissive, the queues are long, and the stores and options inside are lacking. Similar to the rest of Manila, it will take 10 times longer to get anywhere or do anything in this airport. Plan to leave 6 hours earlier to make your flight as you must pass through 3 security checks before you can sit down at your gate. The first one is outside. To get between the terminals, you must pick up any checked bags, go through customs, get a taxi, get stuck in Manila traffic, go through the pointless security check outside, check in again, and go through the inside security again. Although wifi shows up, it is actually non-existent since you are unable to connect, or browse on the off chance it connects. Save your juices in trying as there are no plugs for electronics anywhere as all 3 of them are used up by mobile air conditioners that blow hot air. Don't count on asking any of the staff here for assistance, they are incompetent. You will spot many workers sitting in the wheelchairs they are supposed to push. Least of all, the poor PA system combined with thick accents mean you must listen very carefully to the announcements to not miss frequent gate change notices. But don't worry, you'll be able to hear the announcements anywhere in the terminal as they are not isolated to the relevant gates. All 3 flights we've taken from this airport, whether connecting or departing, have been delayed, even with fair to excellent weather outside. I recommend any and all people to consider another airport for layovers, or avoid traveling to Manila.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"awful and stressful"

(Philippines)

Terminal 3 is awful and stressful. First, the long queues almost at every stage. One has to wait in line for around 15 to 20 minutes just to go inside the terminal. Thereafter, a long queue awaits just to go through the check in area. Lines at immigration and security are too long as well. Second, air-conditioning does not work. Third, cramped seating. Whoever designed the interior never thought of the need for space of passengers who will carry luggage and will be packed for hours in airplanes. Fourth, dull interior. I arrived at around 2am and there is even no adequate lighting at the check-in area. Fifth, toilets are lacking, dirty and unmaintained. Sixth, upon arrival one will be met by touts offering "airport taxi" that are overpriced - more than triple than the prescribed rates. Meanwhile, airport management seem not to take feedback seriously.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"real disappointment are the food outlets"

(Canada)

Ninoy Aquino International Airport Terminal 3 is a clean airport. Signage is clear and easy to follow. The real disappointment are the food outlets and also the queuing times. The first thing that you will do is go through a very long line up outside the terminal. Once you are in, you must put your luggage through an X-Ray machine. You then proceed to your check in counter where you will again join a queue to check in. Food outlets are on the second floor and that's where chaos is. So many flights going on at the same time that most food outlets are full and the one's that are not, usually don't offer decent tasting meal (well, from the pictures posted outside their restaurant). There are limited food stalls as well once you are inside but again, mostly full and nowhere to sit. Air conditioning was not working properly at that time so the departures area are so warm. You can see the discomfort on everyone's face.Boarding was fast and organize though. Clear and loud announcements from the airline staff. Wifi is spotty and kicks you out all the time and I think it was limited to 1 hour only (not sure). Don't come to the airport hungry because you will probably lose your temper finding a place to have a decent meal. Bring extra patience, you may need it as well.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"worst airport to transit"

(United Kingdom)

Manila airport is a dump and it makes it even worse when you have to spend 14 hours here. We thought we'd be able to leave the airport and visit Manila for the day, however, were told that we would have to be staying for 4 days in order to leave the airport, which leads me to believe that if you book a couple of nights in Manila, they wont let you leave, surely this can't be right? I can only think I got a grumpy immigration officer. There were no comfortable chairs, apparently there is a new transit lounge coming soon, which was of no use to us of course. There are day rooms and sleep loungers that can be booked in terminal 1 and 3, but of course we were in terminal 2, therefore stuck in limbo. Terminal 2 gate side, only has kiosk type shops, all you can get is sandwiches, hot dogs and pasta in plastic containers. Worst airport to transit for more than a couple of hours, horrendous. With so many transit passengers, you'd think they'd make the most of it to bring some income into the country, but it would appear they are not interested. The one good thing was they had some WiFi and charge points.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no