Manila Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 296 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"undermanned immigration checkpoint"

(Philippines)

Not Verified | My wife and I flew home to the Philippines from Singapore on April 15 2018, Flight number PR508. Upon arrival we were herded through a narrow stairwell (about 300 of us) towards an undermanned immigration checkpoint. When I say herded, I mean like animals, with no regard for elderly or passengers with children. There was no one guiding us, no organized que, just a mad, hot jumble of passengers jammed together like sardines. I have lived here for 16 years and while I don't expect everything to be perfect, I do expect more from NAIA. What a horrible experience and this, from a new modern airport. I can't imagine what tourists must think about our beautiful country, after being treated like this. Even Filipinos were making remarks like "Ethiopia airport is better than this" and "this is like a fifth world country". Many people were taking photos to post on Facebook. It was a horrible experience and it took my wife and I, both of us senior citizens more than an hour to clear immigration. I expect better service than this from Filipinos. Are my expectations too high? Maybe I should lower the bar. I certainly hope this is addressed, although I have my doubts that it will be. Like everything else, it will be ignored and forgotten.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"painful travel experience"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Long immigration queues. Understand that maybe during this time several flights have landed but at least they can facilitate a more efficient way of getting the lines moving. No assigned staff to ensure that people are queuing in a more organised manner. We ended up queuing in foreign passport lanes as the Philippine passport lines are messy; 1 line became 3 and no one knows where it is heading. Each lane has 2 windows for 2 officers, but theres only 1 assigned officer in each window. Hence, adding to the slowness of the queues. They 'management' is expected to know the influx of passengers arriving in a certain period of time. Long Check-in queues: If you are flying Cebu Pacific expect that there's only 1 long line for international flights. Long queue if you require to furnish travel tax: Staffs are very slow; lacks urgency in what they are doing, overall process just too slow moving, including photocopying of documents and payment if needed. Long queue in Immigration: queue overflows international departure gate. There are also few Immigration Officers stationed. Why can't they consider adding officers during peak period? Airport ambience chaotic. Lack of systematic process combined with unprofessional (slow) staffs and lack of staff in place results to painful travel experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"One of the worst airports"

(United States)

Trip Verified | One of the worst airports in the world. They don't care about travelers and no customer service. The free shuttle service between terminals is slow and disorganised. I have never seen any airport shuttle services mixed-in with local traffic-jams. A nearby inter-terminal transfer will last 1 hour. It is horrendous. It feels like the setup is for the local taxis to make some easy money. Long-lines at the border control as well. I was in the front of the line but because of the disorganisation, I was one of the last 4 people leaving customs by following the rules in line.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"isn't enough check-in counters"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I used to always use terminal 3 for arrivals and departures from the Philippines, but this time I decided to use a different airline which uses terminal 1. First thoughts on arriving at the airport was the lighting, it was dim, and the hallways were empty, upon getting to immigration there were only a couple of counters and a long queue. There is also the noticeable amount of construction nearby. Going into the arrivals area you have to cross the street, down the stairs and go to the very noisy and hot arrivals area. People were everywhere shouting, car horns were blaring and just an overall lack of discipline, then again this wasn't the fault of the airport. Overall arrival in terminal 1 was okay. Now on to the departures, apart from families or friends not being able to enter with you to the check in area you were forced to say your goodbyes to the already crowded sidewalk, as the security guards were motioning you away, then they demanded to see your ticket and boarding pass by the door. A total hassle and created an unnecessary queue then a first security check in which you have to get your bags x-rayed etc, while the guard that was operating the x-ray was having a conversation with her colleague not even paying attention. Then to checking in, evidently for an older airport there isn't enough check-in counters to facilitate the amount of passengers and airlines operating in the airport. Queues were criss crossing, and before you check in an hour has already passed, not to mention the need to get a travel tax exemption at another counter. After all this the usual immigration with long queues and not enough counters/staff. Next thing you know the 2nd hour has already passed. After immigration you see some duty free shops. Tiny in selection for a dimly lit hallway. Not enough food choices or places to sit. I decided to walk to my gate to wait for boarding to start, to my surprise another security check where I was told I was only allowed to sit in the area around my gate and not anywhere else (unnecessary but okay). It would've been fine but with the lack of plugs and charging ports so you better hope your gadgets have juice in them still after the probably 3 hours you endured to get to the end. Oh and the Wi-Fi is only limited to 2 hours, so by the time you get to the gate, it's gone all in all the best reward in Terminal 1 is knowing that you're to somewhere better than this.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"has been a noticeable improvement"

(Switzerland)

Not Verified | While Manila Terminal 1 is still not yet Singapore or Dubai, there has been a noticeable improvement in the facilities, cleanliness and A/C. I have seen numerous much worse airports, and even many airports in the US are not much better. PS. Of course Terminal 3 is still much better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"passenger experience remains bad"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | This is a review of Manila Terminal 2, which is the hub of Philippine Airlines. Whilst some incremental improvements are being made, particularly the toilets, the overall passenger experience remains bad. Passenger facilities are very poor. Before immigration, there is no decent place to eat. After immigration, facilities are very limited. There are only food kiosks, and no single decent restaurant. The passenger waiting area is too cramped, seats are uncomfortably placed that you can literally bump into the head of the person sitting right behind you or the knees of the person sitting across you. There is no quiet space, endless announcements are being made every minute. Even the announcements for domestic flights are heard at the international terminal. I hope airport officials realize that noise levels contribute to passenger stress. Overall, this airport is such a stressful place to wait for your flight.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Immigration counters are insufficient"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The airport, Ninoy Aquino International Airport Terminal 1, improved a lot. The last time I used it was around 2015. The arrival was pretty straight forward. The walk was short but it is evident on the finishing, flooring, and lighting that the airport was built long time ago. The hallways were empty from any shops that made the flow of passenger smooth. However, Immigration counter's quite short for the volume of the passengers. Also, luggages took a while before it reaches the carousel. Upon departure, the airport was quite busy but seems organised. Amenities are clean and design's outdated. Facility wise, they are functional and clean. Design wise, they are outdated and brings me back to the 70s. Immigration counters are insufficient. They need to add more counters both for Foreign Passport holders and Filipino and OFW Passport holders. Overall, the experience was really relaxed and did not feel and stress during the security check except for the Aussie Gov't's requirement of opening the luggage, it was really annoying! Good Job NAIA! Keep it up and challenge yourself to be better!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"this airport has improved a lot"

(Saudi Arabia)

Trip Verified | To be fair this airport has improved a lot - Terminal 1. Clean restrooms, fast and efficient immigration procedure. The only problem I see is the number of immigration counters not enough to cater the growing number passengers year by year. There has been a concerted effort to upgrade the services of this airport and by far they are on the right track.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"very few facilities however"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Terminal 3. A very old terminal with very few facilities however, was intercepted by a hostess and directed to the pay to enter Manila Club which was upstairs and offered some food and drinks. Well worth the PP750. We spent 2 comfortable hours. This is the only oasis I could find in an otherwise very old and shabby.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst international airport"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Absolutely the worst international airport I have ever been in. So unorganized. Not 1 restaurant. Only fast food microwaved and pre-made food. No table seating. Not enough chairs. 1 bathroom with 3 stalls! Huge lineup. Asked to use the PAL lounge, nope. No pay for use. Only 1st and business class customers. Also an additional boarding pass / passport check 2 hours before boarding. An enormous snaking line up in the terminal, for what reason? No one could explain it to me. Avoid Phillipine Airlines departures from terminal 2 at all costs!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no