Airline of the Year  

Luton Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 657 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"this place is an absolute disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | This place is an absolute disgrace and they add insult to injury with exorbitant drop off parking charges - £3 to drop someone off if you take less than 3 minutes then £1 per minute for every minute above 10! It would still be annoying if you got something slick or nice but like the rest of the airport it is a mess. Why do you have to check large items at a separate point and then collect them from a different area to the baggage gondolas? An area cunningly placed around the corner so you have to keep walking backwards and forwards from your designated belt to see if your bag has arrived! Why when airport destinations just deal with the bags normally with other luggage. Get to the toilet early because I joined a queue (for the gents) which went out of the toilet and down the corridor - 5 cubicles and about 20 people waiting. It is a tip and whoever is in charge should be dismissed immediately and someone with a bit of ability and who gives a damn put in charge.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"permanently being redeveloped or upgraded"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I fly regularly for both business and leisure. I can say categorically that Luton is the worst airport I have ever experienced. It is permanently being redeveloped or upgraded, although I never see the results of this on successive visits. The whole place is run down and filthy. EasyJet have really upped their game in the last few years, the service really is first-class, But Luton airport. Really?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"small, dirty, crowded"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Absolute chaos in customs hall, queuing out the hall and up the stairs and snaking down another corridor. The airport is small, dirty, crowded and very poorly managed. Few eateries, all at saturation point. Overall, it was a horrible experience. I will always avoid Luton in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"understaffed and badly managed"

(United Kingdom)

Do not use Luton airport if you are a business traveller. Arrived 1 hour before flight departure checked in with only carry on. Firstly paid a premium to be close to terminal in multi-storey but queues into airport are horrendous. Took 15 mins from the medium term roundabout. Once through all of the queues, as the multi storey is so badly signposted I ended up driving into the short term instead. When trying to depart took the person forever to answer the intercom and finally let me out. Once out there is no re entry you have to leave the airport and queue again! Once I got to the multi storey yet again another queue for those exiting drop off which was chaos as only 2 men checking people out. Despite screens showing average wait time of 4 minutes for security, it took approx. 20 minutes to get through. One person checking the scanner was removing the bags to be double checked by herself with one person sorting trays and one other inspecting bags. Appreciate the importance of safety but clearly understaffed and badly managed. Once finally out of security had to fight through crowds and crowds of people in terminal. I was the last one to board and had the pleasure of private bus transfer from gate! Which I find daft for what could have been a 10 second walk! Rather than being obsessed with pushing the capacity to the limits, why Luton management don't wake up and realise it can't and hasn't for years cope with what's going through the airport now and put more money efficient processes in places to improve roads, signage and security to boarding such as more security staff and air bridges. It would appear that there is further expansion going on which looks like more gates. If this is the case I will deliberately avoid travelling from Luton in the future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not somewhere I'll return to"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Luton Airport was a shocking experience. The short-term car park was hazardous – poorly marked and with an uneven surface plus no clear pathways to separate pedestrians from drivers. Getting to the terminal required us to negotiate major roadworks and a road had to be shut to traffic to ferry passengers across. Check-in was chaotic with a bag drop facility that didn't seem to be working. My real concern was on the other side of security. The departure lounge was rammed with people, with so many queues it was hard to know which one you were joining. The queue for the loos was so bad that I saw a couple changing their baby's nappy on the floor next to a food outlet. No chance of getting a place to sit, so we ended up on the floor alongside the tired families and elderly passengers who were suffering much more than we were. So many shops and so few places to sit just looks like greed on the part of the airport. Had there been a fire or other emergency I don't know how we would have got out. I sincerely hope that current renovations place more focus on customers. At the moment, Luton is not somewhere I'll return to unless I have no other choice. As other reviewers have noted, it didn't used to be this bad.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"shambles from start to finish"

(United Kingdom)

Hardly know where to start but suffice it to say I will never fly from Luton again - complete shambles from start to finish. No departure gate seats so unless you are able to stand for an hour or more don't come here. No information about reasons for delay, airport so crowded you have to question whether this is safe.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"nothing seems to have changed"

(United Kingdom)

This was my third trip out through Luton this year - nothing seems to have changed and everything still feels half finished. Parking and signage is a disaster and just gives the impression that no one cares - ridiculous pot holes in the short term car park and high parking costs I consider unfair. Inside the facilities (toilets and catering) can't cope with the busy am outbound rush - queues everywhere. This is the price I guess of cheap air travel but Luton should and could do much better.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"extremely uncomfortable and distressed"

(Poland)

Verified Review | I was flying from Luton to Gdansk. Before the flight I was asked to wait at the personal assistance point as I am disabled. At least 40 minutes before my flight I kept asking when I will be taken to check in. The personnel kept telling me to wait and everything is okay. At 8:00 I started panicking because I knew my plane should depart in 25 minutes. No one knew anything and eventually at 8:15 I was pushed on the airport wheelchair somewhere downstairs close to the aircraft but I was not taken onboard. I was told to wait. At 8:40 I was told that the plane is broken and will be 1 hour late. Then I was pushed upstairs again and left. I was not allowed to use a toilet during the whole time which meant I was extremely uncomfortable and distressed. After a while staff came and said that our plane was not in fact broken and left on time. I was informed that I now have to wait for 7 hours. No one knew anything and no one could explain why I was left behind? I was left in a bar / restaurant on a very uncomfortable wheelchair for 7 hours. I was in a lot of pain and discomfort. The whole situation made me very anxious and upset. It was one of the worse experiences in my life. I am so disappointed and very worried about my next flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"badly managed queues"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | It had been a while since I had used Luton, but for two recent trips to London and North Oxfordshire, it was a tempting choice given the cheap flights to get me there. When I first travelled through the airport in 2003, it was small and straightforward, with everything you needed in one place. Its expansion over the years has been to its own detriment as it is attempting to serve more passengers than it seems capable of handling. On my last visits in April and May this year, I encountered badly managed queues, apathetic security staff who made no apologies for keeping me waiting a long time, a crowded departures concourse, a lack of seats at the boarding gates and toilets in the arrivals area that were not fit for purporse. I am, however, an optimistic traveller and I really hope that the current construction work will greatly improve all of this. The airport is in a good location and being a hub for easyjet offers a great range of flights to attractive destinations, so there is potential. I'm hoping that I will have a more positive experience if and when I travel through again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"less and less space for seating"

(United Kingdom)

Luton is the worst airport. Arriving is a mission even after the redevelopment - actually more trafic chaos then before with the new traffic management system. Drop off area absolute shambles, good 20-30 minutes to clear through it. Staff looking lost, untrained and at times rude. The usual long queues and what is seems tragic is the lack space / seats in the departure area. Every time I return to Luton, a new commercial outfit is open, resulting in less and less space for seating for travellers. Toilets not the worst but still a long way. After many and many thoughts I believe it will be the last time I will use Luton Airport. Shame for whoever is running the airport and the planners for the redevelopment.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no