Best Economy Class Seats  

Luton Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 517 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"horrible experience in every possible way"

(United Kingdom)

Horrible experience in every possible way at Luton Airport. Arrival to the airport is madness - 8 lanes merge on a small roundabout into 1 lane road to the parking. Huge traffic (plan additional 30-40 min travel time for last mile before the airport alone). Dirty. Rude staff. Under staffed on parking, gates, security, etc. Horrible waiting times to check in and twice as bad on arrival (3 hours wait to get the bags). When you get outside you'll be hit with a cloud of tobacco smoke and cigarette buds. This is the worst airport I've experienced in my life.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"planning and management is beyond a farce"

(United Kingdom)

Luton airport planning and management is beyond a farce. It has been on and off terrible for many years but this year it has moved to a level of incompetence that is beyond words. We are ashamed to have to inflict this fiasco on friends arriving from abroad. As regular users including each of the last 5 weeks the use of mere words is barely adequate to describe the failure to deliver any remotely reasonable level of customer experience in any part of the airport. The drop off and pick up area should be better designed and the resulting chaos on the approach roads is dealt with by pathetic emails from the airlines rather than the airport solving the actual problem. A couple of people with a few helpers could probably rearrange the mess to being vastly better within one day at most. This charade of an airport is a national disgrace and would be better if it was closed down until it can offer a standard of service that is close to acceptable to the clients it is rumoured to be providing a service to.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"has to be the worst airport"

(Israel)

Luton has to be the worst airport I have experienced. Forget the out of control queues, the disgusting fee for passenger drop off, which is chaotic, the short term parking which is gravel so inaccessible for luggage trolleys - forget all of that - when we got to our gate with our 6 month twin old boys and their buggies + 2 roll ons and duty free, we were faced with 4 flights of stairs. It was impossible for us to get down these, but there was a lift right there, with a big sign saying "for passenger use only". When I asked to use it I was told I had to be disabled. We kept asking for help but staff said that they were not allowed to help us. Then they had the gall to tell us to hurry up and board as the gate was closing, which was physically impossible to do. We waited 30 minutes, thinking we'd miss our flight until a chaplain came along, and over the protests of staff helped us down the stairs. How dare any airport think its ok to do this to paying passengers simply because they have babies. How dare there be a lift unused because of some daft rule about who can and can't use it (which resulted in not a single passenger going down in the lift, including quite elderly people with walking sticks, and pregnant women). Nobody with any special needs, including babies, should ever think about traveling via Luton.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no planning and dreadful"

(Denmark)

This is not a difficult review to write. Just think of everything that is wrong with an airport and that's it. Parking and the car park - dreadful. Organisation - dreadful. Queues - no planning and dreadful. Airport staff - rude, indifferent, unhelpful and under-trained. Seats - not comfortable and not enough. Toilets - filthy and smelly. The general public - drunk, rude, zero class. Stay away from Luton airport even with the cheap flights. From now on I will pay the extra £200 to fly from any other airport. I would not fly from Luton Airport if it was free.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"fails every time I use it"

(United Kingdom)

Again and again Luton Airport fails every time I use it and that's every 6-8 weeks. Last Wednesday 13th July our incoming Easyjet could not be unloaded for 25 minutes due to a lack of ground staff and exactly the same thing happened tonight on my return on the hottest day of the year. We were left for more than 20 mins with steps attached to the plane, 'no ground staff' again. Absolutely disgraceful. 4 weeks ago I went to the airport to pick up my sister and brother in law at 2.00am in the morning. They were left on board for more than 20 minutes because there were only two buses working and they were elsewhere in the airport. That was the night when I discovered that the free waiting time at the mid term car park had been reduced from 30 mins to 15 minutes. How can you guesstimate when your family will appear, is there anybody out there in management who ever bothers to answer these claims? Luton airport was more efficient 40 years ago, it is without doubt the worst airport in the UK, and I will not accept it has anything to do with the present building work. There is an air of hopelessness about the management. I feel ripped off every time I use it. All their niggly little charges just for using the airport leaves a real bad taste in the mouth. They are more interested in turning the airport into a shopping mall than they are in service to the travelling customer. Shame on the whole organisation.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an hour to get through passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Flying out of Luton was reasonably ok but arriving back was a nightmare. Got off plane after a 20 minute wait for steps. It took an hour to get through passport control even using the electronic system, those without the chip in their passports must have waited a couple of hours. The only sign relating to the delays was a small notice in the corridor which you passed after already queuing 40 minutes. My taxi company had to wait for me and I was charged extra for the waiting time as they only allowed 45 minutes free and after the waiting time at passport control and the at baggage handling it was over an hour and a half. Disgusted with the whole situation and not one member of staff on hand to apologise or explain the hold up.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"woefully inadequate for the amount of passengers"

(United Kingdom)

Luton Airport is as bad as everyone says. Woefully inadequate for the amount of passengers passing through. Small, cramped, uncomfortable, lack of seating, hot and rude gate staff. This used to be an alright airport a few years ago. I know there is a lot of building work going on but that's due to last for years. It remains to be seen when customers will actually feel any benefits in the immediate future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"area is a disgrace"

(Spain)

Travelled to many airports throughout my life (84), Luton Airport will never see me again. Car park and drop off area is a disgrace. £2.50 to drop off and £10 for parking 46 minutes in the short term over 15 minutes walk, 30 minutes if you are disabled and can find the disabled parking bays. The entrance in to drop off and short term parking is totally confusing. Taxi's, Coaches and vehicles blocking the one and only road took over 20 minutes drive to get in. No surprise that you have 20 minute's free parking in the long term, it takes 20 minutes each way, you can always take the free bus every half hour. If you have to travel from Luton in the future suggest you get out at junction eleven M1 and walk the rest to avoid the £80 fine for stopping anywhere near the airport. Thank goodness I booked my travel home via Southend Airport in Essex, different class.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"hideous experience, avoid Luton"

(United Kingdom)

What a shambles Luton airport is It has been in a state of building flux for over 20 years, it is a mess. The drop-off charges £2.50 for ten minutes, if you accidentally stop to try and work out how to use the constantly moving drop off zone, you get a fine. Once inside there's a large checking in hall, which isn't too bad. Thereafter, you walk through a building site to security, and eventually into a tiny departure lounge, which isn't very old, cost millions to build just a few years ago, and is hopelessly inadequate for the numbers trying to use it. To board an aircraft you walk out across the Tarmac to manually positioned steps (1950's style), and on to your plane. Returning is a similar amateurish debacle we queued up to get through passport control - even though we had new e-passports, the manual queue moved faster then the electronic scanning one. Our bags took nearly an hour to arrive - a batch arrived after about 20 minutes, then no more until 45 minutes. Hideous experience, avoid Luton if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"everything is wrong about this place"

(United Kingdom)

Luton is the worst airport I've ever experienced and I've seen many. Everything is wrong about this place. Dirty. Overcrowded. Takes only 30 minutes from North London to get there by taxi but another 30 minutes to get through the the final mile. There is only one drop off line. My flight was delayed over an hour due to airport operational reasons. Not surprised. They opened new huge shopping area instead of helping out with waiting spaces or new restaurants. Madness. Avoid.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no