Luton Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 685 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"the signage is ludicrous"

(Malta)

Not Verified | I travel thousands of miles a month through dozens of airports and Luton is one of (if not) the worst. Hell they even make Malta International look good and that's chaos! It's a perpetual building site, the signage is ludicrous, the seating is non-existent, the staff are lazy, bored and absent! The hire car "campus" is another building site, staffed by drones and in need of a refurb (holes in the road, loose gravel, not enough spaces etc etc). Luton is the worst UK airport by a clear margin and even makes some of the airports in "developing countries" look slick in comparison. If you can avoid it - do so, it's worth paying more for a flight to a "proper" airport rather than this hellhole.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff were unfriendly and unwelcoming"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Where do I start, as soon as the taxi dropped dropped us off to the very far away pick up and drop off stand, the disorganisation started. From there, we experienced a very long walk to the terminal building, as we are fairly fit we were able to manage it, but what do the disabled, elderly or infirm do, it must be a difficult struggle for them. On entering the terminal building, there were no seating, and on check in, only 2 desks were open, meaning a very long queue. Going into security, we were herded like catttle, and staff were unfriendly and unwelcoming. When we arrived in the departure area, it was crowded, with very little seating. Very bad information on where to go for the departure gate and the time the aeroplane would depart. On arriving at Luton airport from Malta, the nightmare started. As soon as we entered the arrivals building, we were greeting with a sea of people, no organisation and very disorganised. The experience at the airport in Malta was totally different, staff were friendly and helpful. The airport was organised and efficient, with adequate seating, very unlike the experience we had in Malta. It was quick, pleasant and organised.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"by far the worst airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Luton Airport is a disgrace. It's by far the worst airport I've ever travelled through. The pick up / drop off charges are extortionate and nothing is being spent on improving basic passenger amenities. No bus shelters. Hardly any gate seating. No covered walkways to the terminal to and from aircraft. Long walks through cheaply built dull corridors. Fights of stairs throughout and only one escalator which has been out of operation for years. Passengers including families with kids are made to stand outside for long periods chained in like cattle and with hardly any protection from the cold or heavy rain. But they have money to keep tight enforcement on parking and to build a huge duty free area and additional overpriced shops to rake in as much as possible from travellers. They even charged for plastic toiletry screening bags for a while. Try and complain on the LDN Luton Airport Facebook page and its removed in minutes. They only keep comments they can blame on other airport services. There should be an investigation in the way the place has been operated to expose this place for the scam that it is.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the most horrific experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I won’t even begin to dwell on the hell that is the arrivals process at Luton. That is well enough documented in these reviews. I was “departing” and Luton’s departure area is by far the most horrific experience of any UK airport. And I take hundreds of flights every year from UK airports. A recent multi-million pound remodelling of the terminal has created almost no new passenger space in the main terminal and, surprise surprise, lots of retail space. So it’s a congested hellhole with absolutely nowhere to sit, despite the so-called “refurbishment”. Even the last resort of its business Lounge is so busy you can never get in. It’s just an embarrassment that makes me curse every time. Perhaps “once a year occasional travellers” could tolerate this sheer hell but as a frequent business traveller I say “no more”. Luton you make me feel like a fool every time I travel through you. And the only answer is to take my business elsewhere. Londoners - you have a choice of airports.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"queue was just beyond stupid"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I cannot complain about my departure from Luton except for the extortion tactics used to get you to spend money whilst passing through. My complaint is my return flight through passport control. The queue was just beyond stupid, we are still in the EU, why is the queue so long. I have 3 kids, one 8 so I was forced to use the manual queue. Then after that queue they try to get you to spend more money which more shopping. I hate going on holiday as my relaxing time is always ruined by Luton airport. Can’t wait till next year, brexit will make it even more fun.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"fleeced with extortionate parking charges"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I've had the misfortune to use this sad excuse of an airport 3 times in the last 2 years. It calls itself 'London Luton' but it is in Bedfordshire a long way from London. They charge you a rip off drop off fee and then when friends/family meet you on arrival they are fleeced with extortionate parking charges. On my last visit the airport terminal was rammed inside and outside. Huge queues for coffees and food which of course was overpriced, they would be as they have a captive audience. Waited 45 minutes to get through passport control on my last visit. The whole terminal building looks temporary and shabby. Compare that to the squeaky clean and efficient airport in Germany that I had departed from, no contest. Heaven knows what non Brits using the airport must think, it resembles the 3rd world. Luton airport pretty much sums up the UK, scruffy, rip off prices, poor service, disorganised and apathetic owners. I have decided never to use this joke of an airport again, I'd rather pay more to use Heathrow/Gatwick instead.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Possibly the worst airport experience I have encountered almost ever. I have used Luton a few times recently and it is always the same. I highly recommend that travellers should exclude this airport from any of their travel plans even if the airlines offer free tickets to destinations. The airport is practically impossible to get into and to get out of with treatment of passengers simply awful. The security and passport control is a disgrace to this country and the irony is that we are negotiating to control our boarders further when we cannot do a better job than a third world country. When five or six flights arrive around the same time it should not be surprising that there will be a few people wanting to transit through the airport. Luton Airport should be put into special measures like a hospital or school would be if they operated as poorly. Operators of the airport should be sanctioned and fined. If they cannot get boarder force to do their job then simply close the airport - there is absolutely no accountability. Further to the 1 hour 25 minutes to get through passport control, not withstanding that families with children under 12 years old were directed to a queue that took 1 hour and 40 minutes, the transit bus to the train station is often scheduled to leave only 3 minutes to buy a ticket and board the train. One thing you can do is buy alcohol at 6 am in the morning - which is also unbelievable and only promotes poor behaviour.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Luton offers no frills"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Terrible experience. Luton is the airport that welcomes low-cost airlines such as easyJet. Well, just as the airlines it welcomes, Luton offers no frills. And worse. Going through customs is a lengthy exercise, Then the airport is a vast construction site, with poor information. To get to the nearby train station which offers connections to London, a shuttle is available, at a 5min walk. Once there, the passenger learns that it is not possible to board the bus without a valid train ticket, or by buying a bus ticket but only with cash, no credit card. Come on! This is the UK, and the 21st century. Please get real. Anyway, for those who like me did not carry pounds, well that means going back to the airport. No frills and low cost actually do come at a price!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"appalling mess of an airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This airport brands itself as 'London Luton', in which case it must be the worst airport in Europe that serves a major city. Upon arrival confusing signage led through a maze of roadworks to the carpark. The entrance to the terminal is blocked by building works and involves being fumigated by a gaggle of smokers gathered outside. Inside the terminal long queues were the norm, both at bag drop and at security. Both issues were caused by most desks or terminals being closed, in spite of the evident high demand. Things were no better once through security. The terminal was grossly overcrowded with no seats available. Once flights are called there is no seating in the gate area and passengers are herded into enclosures like sheep, where they have to stand and wait for unspecificied lengths of time. In this case that time was an hour - totally unacceptable. The return journey was no better. A lengthy walk with no travelators available led to the the chaotic immigration hall, where understaffing and long queues were the order again. Automated passport machines were available but not working properly. Thankfully I had no checked bags to collect so was able to leave the airport terminal promptly, and will not be returning to this appalling mess of an airport unless there is no alternative
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Luton Airport is a disaster"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Luton Airport is a disaster. On arrival we were herded into a long thin enclosed corridor with temperatures above 30 degrees centigrade and no space to move an elbow. After an hour we finally reached a whole new set of lines at passport control which took another 30-40 mins. Then the passport people had no idea which line we should go in as a mixed nationality family. After finally getting through the shambolic set up, we had to hike through a series of wire fences to get to the drop off area. When coming back through Luton to depart there was a sign at the check in counter for Vueling saying it would open at 1630 but we are still standing here at the counters at 17.25 without a Vueling staff member in sight. Finally, the wifi doesn't work. A disgrace.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no