Top 100 Airlines  

Luton Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 439 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"worst airport I have been to"

(United Kingdom)

I actually had to pick my daughter who was flying in from Lisbon, the short term car-parking is an absolute joke, cars going all over the place as they are building a multi storey car park. There were no clear markings and arrows sending cars in conflicting directions. I eventually managed to secure a place. I then proceeded to the arrivals which had 2 small screens and a large crowd gathered around trying to find the flight they were looking for. There was no attendants or flight desk. So I walked to departures where I managed to get someone who did work there and they tried their mobile phone but didn't have any success and said that my daughters flight must have been cancelled. So after a 3 hour wait a car parking charge of £18.00 a complete waste of 4 hours of my time. I still don't know where my daughter is. I have been to airports all over the world and quite frankly this is easily the worst airport I have been to.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"dreadful customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Utter chaos this morning (27 April). After almost an hour in security, got to the gate 20 minutes before the easyJet flight but it was closed. Other airlines appeared to be keeping gates open to allow passengers a little more time. Now my bag, supposedly taken off the flight, cannot be found. Dreadful customer service, no one from the airport around and certainly not even a hint of apology. I now have to pay for an alternative flight. Dreadful experience today.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a terrible experience"

(United Kingdom)

Traveled over to Madrid (22/4/16 at 5am) with my elderly parents for the birthday of my daughter, so getting there was critical and we arrived well before departure, however had to endure a 45 minute queue in security. Then a further 15 minute walk/run to our departure gate, by which time the gate had closed, I had my elderly parents with me who aren't too mobile and were not able to run to get to the gate in time. So missed the flight and ended up queuing with the rest of the passengers that missed similar flights. We were told to wait at gate 22 and would be transferred onto another easyJet flight leaving at 1pm, so after thirty minutes proceeded down to customer services. We then queued for another hour whilst they dealt with passengers and were told we would receive free flights onward to our journey that same day. We finally reached the desk and by which time where told they could only offer us flights to Madrid from Bristol airport. In addition they were very rude and unhelpful. So with this news then left to go back home, disappointed and fed up and my parents were aching from standing up for so long. I did look for seating but nothing was available. Before leaving we discussed our experiences with others and seems they have had similar issues. Also whilst at the airport would like to confirm the following maintenance ongoing: Grounds being renovated, departure entrance missing/undergoing maintenance. Wifi - unable to be used. Coming Soon? Easyjet Customer service booth also under maintenance. Large Security room moved from upstairs to smaller room downstairs to focus on 'retail'. In conclusion a terrible experience. I have taken many flights and never missed any of them.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"I personally had to push him"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Well not sure where to start, landed at Luton airport flying from Sofia, Sunday afternoon (24/4/2016). Wheelchair assistance was booked well in advance. My elderly father and myself who are both disabled waited for wheelchair assistance, a woman came and asked if my father could walk down the stairs, she was not happy when I said no and we waited 30 mins until the assistance vehicle arrived. We eventually disembarked from the vehicle to go through boarder control, guess what no wheelchairs, so had to wait another 10mins for them to bring one to use. To top this off I personally had to push him (I myself use a walking stick). I managed to go through border control, then had to go and find our luggage, our carousel had already finished and I found our suitcases standing in the middle of the departure lounge unattended.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"security took over 45 mins"

(United Kingdom)

A national disgrace. This airport is not fit for purpose. The queues for security took over 45 mins. Understaffed security and this makes the staff manning the scanners abrupt and miserable. Toilets small, not clean. Drop off area to small, confused with pick up too. Avoid this airport if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"continue to use Luton"

(United Kingdom)

Although my wife and I use Luton either once or twice a year we normally fly out in the afternoon, and so having booked a flight departing at 7.00 a.m. on Friday 8th April, during the school holiday, we were rather nervous of what to expect in view of the avalanche of negative reports on this site about Luton in the morning peak. It was clear from the numbers waiting for the shuttle in the Mid-term car park at 5.15 a.m. that it was going to be a busy morning, and when we reached it fifteen minutes later the terminal was teeming with humanity. However the EasyJet bag drop was efficient and the £3 each for the priority lane through security was money well spent. On reaching the airside facilities, yes it was very busy indeed but, having left our airport hotel too early for breakfast, a look at the various food outlets revealed that we could have found somewhere to sit at each of them. In the end we opted for Frankie and Benny's and, despite having to join a queue of seven or eight for a table we were seated, ordered, ate a cooked breakfast, paid and were out again within less than 40 minutes of first joining the queue, and given how busy the restaurant was you can't argue with that. There were plenty of departure screens and announcements were all clear. Passengers have to stand in a queue for boarding but we started to board within a few minutes of the gate number being displayed. On our return the airport was noticeably quieter (we landed at 5.15 p.m.) but having cleared passport control, collected our case from the baggage carousel and made our way back to the car park using the shuttle bus we were getting into the car exactly 35 minutes after the plane touched down, which was most impressive. Five minutes later and we were heading back up the M1. No complaints at all, quite the reverse. We shall certainly continue to use Luton.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"area was overcrowded"

(United Kingdom)

My flight with Monarch arrived 15 mins early but we then had to wait 15 minutes for a bus to take us to the terminal, on a cold wet night this wasn't good. We had the usual queues at passport control but what really caused so much frustration with my fellow travellers was the wait at luggage collection. The aircraft came to a halt at 11.10pm, the luggage started to come through at 12.05 am. The area was overcrowded with lots of crying young children and no staff present to provide any information. Then our driver couldn't find a way out of the building site that they call a car park and I couldn't blame given the chaotic state of the site. It is one of the worst airport experiences I have had.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no seats available"

(Netherlands)

Had cause to travel from UK to Ireland and Luton had the most convenient connection to central London by Rail and the most convenient flights to the South of Ireland. The Parkway Rail station is poorly signed and the transfer bus is expensive, crammed and the drivers are rude. This should be free. The check-in at Ryanair was efficient and courteous but failed to see that my allowance was 20Kg and not 15Kg. It was as clear as day on the ticket. At security the place was jam packed. However the majority of the staff were doing their best and were quite pleasant. The gates are far away and there was no travelator en-route. There were no seats available for the so-called "Priority" passengers who have paid enough to at least sit down for 30 minutes at the gate. On the way back it took longer to get my bag from the belt than it took to actually fly from Ireland. Then onto the dreadful bus - more money - and to the poorly signed station.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very poor first impression"

(United Kingdom)

Luton is one of the worst airports I've ever used. Poor signage, dirty toilets, meet and greet location is a terrible joke requiring a long walk from the airport. Arrived on a Friday evening to very long queues at passport control. So long that the queue stretched all the way to the top of the escalator that led from from the arrival gate. As the escalator was still running people were pushing into those at the back of the queue so they could get off the escalator. The whole scene at passport control was chaotic with overwhelmed and inadequate staffing. Along with the other issues at this airport it gives a very poor first impression to any overseas visitors to this country.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"no convenient trolleys available"

(United Kingdom)

This is the first time I have used Luton for quite a while and the first time I have used it for a trip longer than 1 day. I will never use Luton again. There are no convienent trolleys available where you park your car in short term parking or for Meet and Greet, when to you do manage to find one they cost £2.00 and are no where near where you need one. This is a cost not a deposit as at other airports. On our return the Meet and Greet was at the very far end of the short term car park over bumpy terrain so trolleys don't run smoothly, and not very well marked so we spent lots of time searching for it at midnight. Luckily it was not raining otherwise it would have been even more difficult.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no