Luton Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 681 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"It never gets better, just worse"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | A god forsaken dump. It never gets better, just worse. Can take ages to get to the drop off zone where upon you there is a £3 charge for this pretty standard necessity. A trolley if required is just as much again. The walk to the departures is littered with smokers in the way. Departures is crowded and unless you have disabled assistance or paid extra for the convenience, expect large queues at both check in and security. Indeed the muddle that is security will mean that your belongings including your wallet and jewellery will be out of your sight at the end of desks while you are still being frisked. Accusations of theft, rightly or wrongly are common here. The departure lounge is woefully too small for the amount of people using it and the shops, restaurants and bar are crowded. Don't expect a seat. Departures will involve walking. There are no escalators, just some lifts. Access to the aircraft is by foot down steps but at least both the airport of the airlines assist the disabled and the airlines still let people with young kids or those who have paid to board first. On arrival back at the airport, pray that you disembark somewhere near the passport area as otherwise it's up and down stairs as well as a long walk. Passport Control is like every airport now as it is crowded and the baggage area very dingy. If your flight arrives early, don't expect your plane to be unloaded any earlier. Always expect over an hour or so from the moment you are off the plane until you collect your suitcase. Pay again for trolley if required and then walk to the bus via all the people coming in to the airport or indeed keep walking to the drop off (Another £3.00) or the car park / busses. Luton used to be a great little airport until the council sold it. To be fair, the renovations do not help this summer but knowing the place as a Lutonian, I cannot see it improve. There is no way the departure area will be suitable when this place is open to capacity. If you can use another airport, try East Midlands. We use it now even though Luton is nearer. Finally the toilets are not great.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"an utter disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | After leaving a very smart Malaga Airport we arrive at Luton. Into a shed - up 2 fligjts of scruffy steps which is very difficult for people with heavy bags and some with children. Along a corridor (and just to make things even more difficult) we have to hike our bags down more scruffy steps. May I suggest some of the revenue from the incredible £3 charged for dropping off in the car park is put towards some escalators and a smarter entrance. What an utter disgrace! For some people this is their first view of our country.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"an appalling advert for Luton"

(New Zealand)

Unverified | Purchased return tickets to Hamburg on easyJet, out Tuesday, back Thursday. Both to and from Hamburg, arrived at Luton airport and it looked like a refugee camp. Only about one seat per five passengers crowds sitting on floor. So called departure gate is a row of tape, again no seats. To board the aircraft is down five flights of steel steps. Watched a mother with two toddlers and hand luggage stagger down. I assume health and safety out to lunch as we had to cross the apron and climb stairs to aircraft in rain. When an airport looks like a 1960s theme park you have serious problems. What an appalling advert for Luton.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"had to sit on the floor every time"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Stairs from the car park to the bus stop which is crazy with luggage. Not enough space in departures. Have had to sit on the floor every time I have been there. Security outbound is a joke with huge queues and no guidance from staff. Inbound passport control is even worse with the biggest queues and grumpiest most unhelpful staff we have encountered. Border control staff were really rude to my wife for no reason. I have one more trip already booked from Luton which it is too late to cancel but it will be my last. Avoid if you can and go to a proper airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"it was a very mixed experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | First time using Luton in many years and it was a very mixed experience. The bus from Luton Airport Parkway station is not pleasant, on both journeys it was incredibly crowded and took ages to depart and the (hopefully temporary) bus area in front of the terminal is absolute chaos. Security was very slow and there was hardly anywhere to sit in the departure area on this Friday morning, probably as they have squeezed in as many shops as possible. However on a positive note there was no queue at all for Easyjet bag drop when we departed and our bags arrived fairly quickly when we arrived back, so not all bad.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"not a pleasant or relaxing experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Agree with recent reviewers - passing through this airport is not a pleasant or relaxing experience. Almost impossible to find a seat in the holding area people sitting on the floor then a cavalry charge when the gate is announced. Looks as if airside facilities are not large enough to cope with the volume of passengers generated by the flight programme. Avoid this airport if possible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"did everything an airport was supposed to do"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | After reading so many bad reviews on this site while deciding when to get to the airport for our 7am flight, my partner and I decided to play it safe and get there at 4am. Despite having read that security and check in were a nightmare, we managed to make it through it all in under half an hour and had time to kill browsing the shops, one of which was able to give us a very reasonable discount on a plug adapter we needed. It wasn't the cleanest or most cutting edge of airports, but did everything an airport was supposed to do with no problems or delays. There was also a bin just inside the departure gate where you could pick up a last minute bottle of water for a pound. On our return, there was virtually no qeue at the immigration, although I did use the electronic passport gates, my partner's machine did not read his face and he did not have to wait long to see an immigration officer and be let through. Our bags came out onto the luggage belt within the 5 minutes it took me to go to the bathroom and the other passengers to arrive through immigration. Overall, the arrival process was even quicker than the departure. I only took a moment to leave a review here as all the negative comments seem misleading and confusing to us. Having expected the worst, we were pleasantly surprised and won't be that bothered if our next circumstantial flight happens to be out of Luton Airport. If it is of any matter, our flight was with EasyJet to Zurich and back. Safe travels everyone.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"There was little to complain about"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | It was my first holiday travelling through Luton, so I decided to check the online reviews. It was to my shock to hear the disaster stories from all the victims of LLA's shocking airport. I prepared for the worst and decided to turn up early in order to miss all of the queue's and try to get a space in the 'awful terminal's'. Much to my surprise, it turned out to be especially easy to work my way through the standard security checks and boarding like you would find in any airport. There was little to complain about and found my way through to the gates in under 20 minutes. This led me to believe that it must've been a fluke and we must've travelled at an off-peak time when Luton was at it least busy. Therefore, it would've been wrong to judge the airport based off of one experience. However, on the return journey it was exactly the same and I found myself through security with my luggage collected within under 20 minutes once again. If you want a pristine airport with a high speed underground service, michelin star food and high end designer clothing stores - then check out Zurich airport in Switzerland. On the other hand, if you want budget flights (assuming you do as you plan to travel through Luton) then chill out and get over your petty issues. It's an airport, it's not that bad, and they have a roof so it doesn't rain on you.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"better than expected"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Luton Airport was better than expected from previous reviews. Bag drop off and security was quick and easy with nice staff. However, short of seats and floor dirty. Multi-story car park was ok, however you still have to walk outside. My experience 7 out of 10 with ongoing building works. Nice to see a Marks and Spencer available when coming home to get a sandwich, crisps, water etc. The best thing was paying for priority boarding.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"chaotic and not flyer friendly"

(United States)

Verified Review | Three words: A holding cell. This airport was chaotic and not flyer friendly. It was so confusing trying to get from point a to point b in the airport. Overly crowded and dirty. Also, no one can know his/her gate number until a few minutes before boarding, so that causes even more chaos and when people find out, they start sprinting to the gate (who came up with that idea?). I will never fly or transit out of this airport again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no