Top 100 Airports  

Luton Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 562 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"staff at Luton are on a go-slow"

(United Kingdom)

Plane arrived home after our trip to Lanzarote. The plane was kept waiting on the tarmac for 15 minutes before the steps arrived to disembark the plane. Even the pilot was unhappy with this. Then, we had to wait almost 60 minutes at baggage reclaim. It seems that the staff at Luton are on a go-slow on Sunday's. Not impressed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"appalling delays at passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Appalling delays at passport control almost every single time. Long queues stretching down the hallways with only half of the passport desks actually staffed. As a minimum How's about a family priority Lane? It really is an unpleasant way to arrive back in the country.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"passport control is consistently full"

(United Kingdom)

Like a lot of my fellow commuters who have to suffer this abomination for an airport week in week out it is beyond acceptance. Passport control is consistently full with queues often stretching back out beyond the hall. The entrance to both manual and automated control is chaotic at best and is not limited to just a specific day either. Priority lane security is shared with the adjoining lane so it is only through politeness that everyone manages to go through but given you pay for the priority lane it is not acceptable. Some of the staff I have come to know over the years I have been travelling through Luton are very pleasant and helpful, but a recent encounter at the oversize baggage area proves them to be an exception and from other reviews I have read is not limited to them either. My wife said that the toilets outside passport control were disgusting on one trip back and when she brought this to the attention of what looked to be a responsible person she was totally uninterested. Outside by the bus lanes are marking on the ground and from a photo I seen look to be the points where the roof is secured to the ground. If this correct then they are only feet from where passengers embark and disembark buses and given the pain already being felt by passengers it will only get worse. If Luton Airport was my first experience with the UK I would look to an alternative airport or country even.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it was just one big chaos"

(United Kingdom)

I used to think that Stansted was the worst of all airports in London. I have travelled through Luton before but had early flights so never had to experience what I did today. The queue at security was ridiculous, first because there was no staff to manage it so it was just one big chaos, at one point a person checking the scanning screen disappeared for a good 10 min so we were all just standing and waiting for a miracle. It is just basic customer service. Also the departure area was packed, food places full of people, customer service awful. Didn't even want to shop as you cant move around. I will not travel through Luton again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"appalling, truly appalling"

(United Kingdom)

Appalling, truly appalling. Arrived at 4.45 for an easyjet 7.15 departure, had pre-paid booking in long stay car park, took fifteen minutes to find a space. Wife tripped over stones littering the car park walking lanes. We had hand luggage only so went to security. We then encountered queues around three hundred long just to get into the security area - rather conveniently there were priority booking machines placed right outside the main hall at £8 a pop just to get a service that would be normal at any other airport - and where are they getting off on charging a quid for two plastic bags for your liquids? The staff are under extreme pressure and it shows with their demeanour - short tempered and intolerant. It took us so long to get through we came out of it at 6.20, raced to our gate to find they had closed it, we very luckily allowed on as there were disabled passengers caught up in the mayhem. Coming back my wife needed the toilets and came out without using them, they were disgusting and the attendants could not care less. Never again will I travel from this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"total disregard for passengers"

(United Kingdom)

Luton Airport is my nearest airport and that's the only reason I use it. It has never been a great experience and I sometimes use East Midlands or Birmingham which are better. But I can't believe how bad Luton is at present. Yes I know they have major building work underway but this seems to be done with total disregard for passengers. The charge of £3 for drop off and pick up is outrageous and I really don't know how they get away with it. The drop off area is absolute chaos and the current road layout is causing major hold ups getting in to the Airport. We arrived for an early flight and there was a queue of about half a mile at 0700. The taxi driver told me this is nothing compared to peak times when it can be a mile or more. Baggage was a major problem on departure and arrival - were the baggage handlers on holiday? Easyjet had to stop checking people in for about 20 minutes as the baggage was not being removed from the conveyor belts. Coming back from Naples we waited 40 minutes for bags to appear. This is a terrible airport and I will use alternatives in future where possible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"utterly appalled at the charges"

(United Kingdom)

I am utterly appalled at the charges incurred for dropping someone off at this shoddy airport. The traffic is horrendous and to then be charged £3 - yes £3 - simply to let someone out of the car is daylight robbery. It makes me sick to be treated in this way and to be blatantly ripped off. What other choices do you have? Even with a taxi you still have to pay this outrageous charge. Absolutely disgusting.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"incredibly disappointing"

(United Kingdom)

I know this is peak season but it took one hour for our luggage to come through on the carousel and then a nightmare journey with a trolley to find our taxi driver outside, with rubble everywhere. Cost £3.00 plus £7.00 as driver had to wait so long he had to go and park in the short stay car park. Incredibly disappointing and a rip off too. And they charge £1 for clear plastic bags.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"chaos set to continue until 2020"

(United Kingdom)

Criminal to charge so much for so little. Before you even get to Luton airport there are long queues. Entrance in and out is chaotic with departures and arrivals sharing one tiny entrance. People are walking around the access roads with suitcases to try and avoid the problem. To top it all off they charge you £3 to drop off someone. £3 to sit in you car for 30 seconds whilst your passengers get out. A long walk to the terminal then more chaos inside. The charges continue for a clear plastic bag at security. Then they force you through duty free with no sign for the departure area. The duty free area is calm and well laid out. Funny how they manage to get their highest revenue area sorted out. Departure area is once again chaotic with people blocking walkways trying to find somewhere to sit. A third rate airport located just outside London. The chaos looks set to continue until 2020 so avoid Luton like the plague.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"service hasn't changed in 6 years"

(United Kingdom)

Building works at Luton airport are not a reason for the poor customer service. The standard of service hasn't changed in the last 6 years I have been using it, rude staff, under manned security clearance so to encourage people to buy express security clearance.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no