Best Cabin Crew  

Luton Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 418 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"its still a building site"

(United Kingdom)

Ok so I first flew from this airport on one of the first Easyjet flights from London Luton to Edinburgh on an old 737-200 at the age of 25 and promised myself never again. Back then it was a building site, I flew from it again in 2012 with work on a private jet and it was still a building site and tonight I picked up my partner who flew in here on business and its still a building site. £7 for 10 mins in the 'Short Term' car park which is still not properly finished with mud filled holes in the surface. You are talking to the converted as personally I will not fly out of or into any other airport than Heathrow as lets face it Luton is in Bedfordshire, Gatwick in Sussex and Stansted is Essex with London City a great hub for short haul European destinations but limited by size for true international destinations other than New York. I suspect it does well for the airlines that serve it offering low cost airlines a low cost airport although its less expensive to park in the enclosed Heathrow T3 short term than the open air semi tarmaced field offered by Luton which is shocking. I remember they charge even for small plastic bags for your liquids so when you add it all up its probably not all as low cost as you think just like when you fly budget. I wanted to write this as I really hoped I'd be writing something positive for this airport all these years on but it appears its been under development ever since I first had the unfortunate experience to use it back in the inagural days of Easyjet.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

"security itself is just a bad joke"

(United Kingdom)

Luton is the worst airport I have used and that's saying something as I've been to a fair few countries. The first thing that happens is that if you can negotiate the tortuous route through the diversions and road works they rip you off by charging £2.50 for 15 minutes in a drop off zone, apparently it's free from the car parks but you have to wait for a bus that can take up to half an hour or brave the half mile trudge to the terminal building in the wind and the rain whilst dodging the traffic in an attempt not to get run over with your suitcases. Check in is relatively painless in January but I'm sure is horrendous during the summer. If you are a smoker this is your last chance for however long you've got before you land at the other end as Luton isn't civilised like some airports and has no facilities for smokers at all once you go through security. Surely it wouldn't be too difficult to set aside a small secure area outside on a balcony or gangway (East Midlands has a really good one) so that smokers can have their "fix" before they board the plane. Security itself is just a bad joke, I know things need to be tighter these days but come on lets be sensible about this, my suitcase has wires and plugs and all sorts of liquids in it but put an ipad or even a breath spray in your hand luggage and it ends up being scanned, re-scanned and swabbed. Surely by now we should have developed technology that's more reliable than some woman with rubber gloves holding a piece of cotton on a stick that makes it look like she's trying to dry clean a lamp shade? I also resent having to walk across their filthy floors in my bare feet because there's a remote chance I might have explosives in the heel of one or both of my shoes. How difficult is it to tell that the seal hasn't been broken on a plastic bottle of coke?, how do they know that the stuff they've taken in to the shops on the other side of security hasn't been tampered with? The shops and airlines are on to a winner because they get carte blanche to rip you off because you've no other options. When you do finally get through to departures there isn't anywhere to sit. Most of the seating is in retail areas where the prices are so high that if you had a meal you would have no spending money left for your holiday. Even in January people were sitting on the floor all over the place, even on the route down to the gates. The expansion starting has only made things worse, there are roadworks everywhere, most of the buildings look and feel temporary and you literally have to walk miles to get from the terminal to your plane. When we landed they even had the next lot of passengers queuing up outside waiting for us to get off the plane. As for passport control, well done to the human being staff - they were beating the scanning machines with no trouble. This is pretty much what it must feel like to be cattle and be herded around at someone else's whim, maybe that's it, someone unseen is playing a game and seeing how much rubbish we will take before we give up and stop flying altogether? This airport is so bad they should level it and start again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"my worst airport experience"

(Singapore)

My worst airport experience. Only one desk for UK and EU and non British passports. One local lady hysterical because of the extremely long queue, more than 2 hours since we arrived at 6.30 pm from Copenhagen. We got our passports at 8.50 pm. The staff should consider many holiday makers with little children and babies have to endure these extremely long queues. I will not be using this airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"gates are small and cramped"

(United Kingdom)

I have used this airport for arrivals, departures, and for connecting flights. They make you go through security again if you are connecting flights and will insist on any liquids acquired at the previous airport being in a sealed airport bag with a receipt so watch out if you are carrying any duty free. You have to go outside to get between the arrivals and the departures sections of the airport. The hot dog stand just outside the departures building will charge you for paying by card so carry cash or get food elsewhere. Certain members of the security team are extremely rude. I had to make a complaint to the manager about a member of staff who told me to "come on, get on with it, walk. You put one foot I front of the other, move." I am a frequent flier and had been up all night travelling. We should not be treated like cattle. I received no apology although the staff member was "spoken to". The departure lounge is too small and can be crowded. The ladies toilets in the departure lounge have been done up and reopened a week ago but the sensor taps are terrible and squirt air at you as well as water. One of the taps is already broken, the cubicles are too small, and no one can make the taps work. It can take up to 20 minutes to get to your gate from the departure lounge and there are no travelators or trolleys. The only trolleys I saw were at arrivals and need to be paid for. The free wifi only lasts for 30 minutes which is not enough. After that you have to pay for WiFi. There are very few plugs available for charging devices. There are two next to the boots shop in the departure lounge and a few more inside the Frankie and Bennie's restaurant but you have to buy something. The Pret à Manger café is very drafty and cold because the refrigeration system blows cold air towards most of the tables. The gates are small and cramped and to access them you have to use stairs. There are not enough seats at the gates.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"cameras and cctv vans all around"

(United Kingdom)

Probably the worst airport in the UK and possibly Europe and by a long way I feel. The approach to the drop off is always a bottle neck that not only delays you but takes money off you for the privilege. There are cameras and cctv vans all around to only make sure they get their pound of flesh. The contempt this airport has for its customers is staggering. Will never use this airport again. Be warned.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"never be using Luton Airport again"

(United Kingdom)

Easyjet flight from Paphos arrived 30 minutes early. 90 minutes later and no baggage has appeared and we are all standing like lemons! This is for operational reasons a very bored tannoy announcer told us. I suggest Easyjet ask for their landing fee back. I will never be using Luton Airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is a shocker"

(United Kingdom)

This airport is a shocker and every journey there is a major problem. Top of the list has to be baggage handling on arrival, it would be kind to even describe this as woeful with waits of an hour quite common. Traffic is snarled up so do allow extra time to come in to the airport. Departure lounges are basic and arrivals (proudly announcing London Luton International) are approaching third world standards. Departures lounge frequently resembles an overcrowded street market bordering on chaos - expect a significant wait for the toilet facilities whether male or female. Don't even think about trying to find a seat in departure lounge! This airport is dire, but reasonably well located for the north west London quadrant. It is undergoing a significant redevelopment which is long overdue (why has it taken so long?) but given the inherent underlying problems, particularly baggage handling on arrivals, you have to wonder whether it will just be a shiny new box but with the same old problems.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"long wait for luggage"

(United Kingdom)

Yet again a long wait for luggage after a late evening arrival at Luton airport. And yet again no information whatsoever about when our luggage might finally appear or even what's up. I use Luton airport as the parking is convenient and departures work well but these delays on arrival are too much. I need to not be hanging around here again while my schedule spirals down the toilet and nothing happens.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"a joke, no credibility"

(United Kingdom)

I cannot believe that you have to pay to drop off or pick up at Luton Airport! Even if you get a taxi you have to pay the 'pick up/drop off' charge on top of your fare! This is supposed to be an international Airport! No way, every other main proper airport across the world does not charge for a drop off or pick up! £2.50 for the convenience! What a joke, no credibility
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"all in all thoroughly unpleasant"

(United Kingdom)

Luton airport is to be avoided. But for fact it is by far the closest airport to home but I would not use it. Queued in traffic for 40 minutes from 5.25am on a Monday morning to get to the drop off zone (apparently normal), forced to pay £2 for a trolley and then walked the c.200m to the terminal itself. Utter jobsworth at the oversized baggage area (perils of flying with small children and their car seats), 20 minutes to get through security even though we'd paid for priority lane - all in all thoroughly unpleasant. Arrival better, though as others have noted it is a long walk with multiple stairs to get to passports. Did not have to wait too long for bags though that is about as good as it gets.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no