Luton Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 367 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

Luton Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Got to airport early enough to be able to relax in departure lounge. That didn't happen, every available seat was taken, which is not difficult as there are very few of them. The various retail and food/drink outlets practically take over th whole lounge area. Very unpleasant area, and needs revamping. Perhaps the £100m investment which is being advertised everywhere will address this. Only positive was the timely arrival of luggage at LTN.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit27-08-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Luton Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Trolleys- £2.00 which is non-refundable, set down area £2.50 just to drop off, and with the new set down area 500 yards from the terminal building, Luton Council who own the airport have guaranteed you will get drenched in the rain. No help available when needed, no wheelchairs when requested, most airline staff disinterested, unhelpful and desperately try to fob you off. Security staff treat you like inmates, so you try and avoid them by fast tracking only to find all the other passengers who suffer their demands and abuse are now queuing in the fast track. The fast food is poor and expensive, and when you get it you find nowhere to sit, and you are not allowed to walk to you gate holding food and drink. Frequently there are gate changes and as there are no announcements, you don't know until it's too late. Last time we were asked by airline staff to queue on the stairs as the departure lounge was full. All creating unnecessary stress for passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit26-06-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Luton Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

I went to collect friends arriving from Murcia. As I drove to the airport the dual carriageways and local streets were adorned with people parking to wait to collect arrivals, it did not feel safe. I arrived 40 minutes after the flight landed and with the 15 minute usual parking this gave me a 55 minute window to collect my friends - a strategy which has always worked in the past. However, it took an hour for the bags to be unloaded to the baggage hall and the delay cost an additional £6.50 for 15 minutes parking! The incompetence of the system, the dangerous approach and the extortionate parking to collect passengers makes this the worst airport I have ever attended.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date Visit26-08-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Luton Airport customer review

Review by (Denmark)

I arrived with 3 hours to spare so the queues though horrid did not bother me. The wifi did not work of course, so I waited until the gate number came up on my screen and went directly to my gate. Unfortunately the gate number was incorrect for this and the next filight. It was corrected quickly but with no announcment, so me and a couple of other early passangers did not get any notice of the change and missed our flights. That was expensive as the next flight was the next day at Gatwick. Once we missed our flight we were told to go and wait at the wervice desk at gate 22 or 23. There was of course no one there, and the service phone we were to use was not answered for more than hour and a half of constant ringing. Going back to security was no help as we were rudely told to go back to wait at the desk. It took 2 hours to get back to the easyjet service desk and out of the airport. Easyjet were sympathetic but did not repay the missed flights because they did not ask for a gate change and the error was with the airport its self. The only oppertunity to get some of the lost flight repaid was to go to the airside airport service phone and ring. There was of course no answer.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit25-07-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Luton Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

I had the worst experience with Luton airport on morning 23rd August. After landing we had to wait long time on board as there was no space available to park the plane. When finally parked, we waited another 15 minutes on board for the stairs. After all I have bought a bus ticket but on the platform have been told it is not for my destination. Really poor service all over the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit23-08-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Luton Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

For the last 18 months I have travelled from Luton Airport simply because of the locality and times of flights. If not for these reasons, I would never fly from here again. Starting from the journey by road into the airport. You have 4 or 5 lanes of traffic, filtering into 1 lane. At 05.00 it took me 30 mins most Monday mornings to get to the Priority Parking area. Warning: Make sure you leave ample time when travelling to the airport Regarding parking, whether it be drop off £2.50 for 15 mins, Priority Parking (varies depending on time of year from £50 to £80 per week). All others are highly priced compared to other airports. Even Heathrow and Gatwick do not charge for drop off/pick up. Once in the airport the staff in all areas, are unhelpful, never see a smile, and quite abrupt when you ask them a question. This also includes Border Security staff. Queuing in Security is the norm, so each week I chose Fast Track however it seemed slower than others, and depending when you chose this, even though you purchase a ticket for Fast Track you go through and then have to join another queue as the fast track one is closed. The shopping experience is just that - an experience. A total mess of a handful of shops, expensive drinks/food areas so head down to gates 1-4 where you have Bar 10. Don't expect it always to be open, very hit and miss. Most days you cannot pay by card as the machine never works, and on random occasions the receipt machine did not work. Wifi - In this day and age, you would think Wifi would be the norm, but not here - Yes you get free Wifi but only 30 mins worth - use it wisely and if you have a flight delay, which is quite possible, get ready to pay for more Queuing systems at gates 1-4 and 15/16. I can only comment on these, but sure others are the same. 15/16 - If two flights are departing at the same time be ready for war on the stairs - make sure you are in the correct queue as one may be 15 and the other 16 - no one tells you. When you actually get to Gate 15, as Priority you are semi-ok, but others, you just have to go through the maze. Gates 1-4. 1 & 2 are OK, but 3 & 4, and also if others at 5 and 6 well again make sure you are in the correct queue - They all seem to merge and the staff are totally unhelpful. You ask a question, response is literally a grunt and they wander off. They are making a lot of changes but in total honesty, I think this will just make things worse. All costs will increase to pay for it, staff will continue to be unhelpful, and it will still take 30/45 mins to actually get into the airport. My opinion, chose Stansted or Heathrow
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit16-07-2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

Luton Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Awful airport. Hardly any seats for waiting. the food they served in the food village was very expensive. The toilets were filthy I will not be using this airport again in a hurry, awful experience!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit15-08-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Luton Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Luton Airport is by far the worst airport I have ever flown from! It is so disorganised it is embarrassing. The queues were massive and I will never be flying from here again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit15-08-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

Luton Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Used Luton twice once to Geneva and once to Rome, reccomend online check in. Average airport, typical budget airline type airport, but smooth experience without long waits. Not much selection in the terminal but was okay for the price we paid.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit14-05-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

Luton Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

The worst airport I have been to. Endless queues, takes forever to get to airport from roundabout where all lanes join into one lane. Rip off charges for privilege to drop somebody off - £2.50 for 15 minutes. They actually charged £2.50 for 50 seconds. People should actually stay there for 15 minutes to get their money's worth. One pound for plastic bag - another money maker. Long queues through security, nowhere to sit after that. On way back waited for luggage for nearly half an hour. Wouldn't use it again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit12-07-2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no