Kathmandu Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 49 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"A real lack of seats"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Upon arrival at Kathmandu airport, I was bewildered by the process to obtain a visa, the process isn’t made particularly clear, but I got there in the end and I cleared customs in under an hour, someone I met a few days later explained they’d spent 2 hours trying to get through and getting a visa. Some work needs to be done to streamline the process and make it more user friendly. Departure: I was told to go through entrance B when I arrived at the airport but the security official outside the terminal, which I did and it subsequently turned out I needed to go through entrance A, although they were only a few metres apart so it begged the question why be so regimented. Anyway, cleared customs and security and spent some time in the executive lounge which is a must as there isn’t anywhere to sit waiting for your flight. A real lack of seats. Also the power went on and off throughout my time there. Overall it’s an airport that could do with some work, few more shops and some more food options plus more seating, toilets could do with a spruce up as well.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"close this obsolete thing"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Coming and going to and from Kathmandu for over 20 years. The airport is dirty, slightly less, people friendly. Food is often missing, sometimes not. Two new airports in the making always delayed. Why is this country not getting the World Banks' help with infrastructure? Roads are disastrous, and Delhi just around the corner has the worlds number one or so airport. To improve tourism which is so important for the people, close this obsolete thing. This airport can be repaired, refurnished and domestic only. Tourist can go Bhairawa and the other fancy new one please. Some common sense. When you have Hyatt Hotel you want people to see the donkey home first?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"arrival in Kathmandu is chaos"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | The arrival in Kathmandu is chaos but at least they try to make it more structured. We had to wait a while to actually do the landing since there was fog in Kathmandu and the airport is not as well equipped as other modern airports where fog doesn’t matter anymore. At the immigration it’s not completely clear about what are the steps to actually enter the country. There are many machines for people not holding a visa yet, everyone has to process the visa application there (the machines have some difficulties now and then), afterwards you have to go to another counter to pay the visa fee, they take a lot of different currencies! After that you can go for the actual immigration, ther haven’t been defined lines so everyone was sort of cutting lines and then some officers decided to make a break. But after that all was good. I’d recommend to arrange transportation in advance at the airport there are hundreds of other people shouting to go with them.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"it was just ok"

(Nepal)

Trip Verified | This airport is small as compared to other international airports. Airport is dirty, not very clean. I dont know what the cleaning staff do. Tables were dirty. Someone's water bottle spilt and they didnt bother to clean it. But I was able to get a good view of the airplanes. It was very crowded as it is a small airport. Overall it was just ok.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"I have come to like it myself"

(New Zealand)

Unverified | Kathmandu Airport often appears in traveler's top ten lists of worst airports. With constant delays, long queues, bored and impatient staff and poor cleaning standards, I don't blame them at all. However, as I visit this airport annually there is usually little change, I know this airport very well and I have come to like it myself. For Departure: Clear Check-In and Immigration as soon as possible. This may take a very long time, as queues tend to be obnoxious. After Immigration, do not clear security immediately, instead find something to eat or buy. Unless you are an aircraft enthusiast, (Even then, the Apron tends to be dominated by generic A320's and 737s) there really isn't anything after security, simply hanging around the gate for hours is the mistake many travelers make. Perhaps the best solution is to go upstairs to the airport restaurant, which is run by the the Radisson hotel. It is a cool, air-conditioned room and the staff do not mind you hanging around and getting free water. Go through security at least an hour before boarding if you are sure there will be no complications, your plane is likely to be delayed being Nepal or earlier if you are worried you will have a problem. Once you are at the gate-there really is nothing to do so keep yourself busy by doing something. If your flight is delayed, do not be too surprised. Ke Garne (What to do?) anyway? Arrival Arriving into Kathmandu is simply a matter of getting out as quick as possible. Before the earthquake, Immigration was a nightmare as the officers were very slow and unprepared. Today, the new system is much faster for foreigners. Simply fill out your arrival card (it's really not that important-just leave the visa details if you are getting it on arrival). More importantly, head over to the bank queue, declare the number of days you wish to stay and make your payment in US dollars. Then, considering that you have your arrival card, Make your way to the immigration desk. State the necessary information to the officer (This may be: date of last visit to Nepal, How much money you are carrying and length of time for the present stay), hand over your bank receipt and receive your visa. Then go and get your bags and get out. Please mind the random bits of cargo lying around the baggage area. If you have checked baggage that has been sent straight through from your origin (E.g Nelson, New Zealand direct to Kathmandu without being picked up at Auckland and Bangkok), you must show your baggage receipt to the security staff as you exit. Lastly, a policeman will be blowing his whistle very loudly at the exit and harass passengers hanging around, so get into the carpark quickly. Despite this Kathmandu airport is a great place for a opening or leaving experience of the third world, and after you know what to do, you find it to be not so bad after all.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"all in all, not too bad"

(United Kingdom)

Was dreading these flights from but not too bad at all. Kathmandu Airport is small and seems to only really handle 5 or so flights per hour. Arrival was smooth - no queue for immigration or customs and only 5 - 10 minutes or so for luggage to arrive. The queue seemed quite long for 'visa on arrival' so I was pleased that I had obtained this at home. Departure similarly smooth but there are multiple steps to departure - showing passport and ticket to enter the terminal, screen and tag luggage, pat down for all passengers, then check in at the desk, show passport to go to immigration, then immigration itself, wait in lounge, proceed through security then finally boarding. I can imagine if the airport was heaving or you didn't leave enough time, that it could be a bit stressful. Didn't use the toilet facilities. Small variety of shops. All in all, not too bad
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"nothing seems to have changed"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Nepal is my home country so every year I fly from UK to meet my parents and Kathmandu airport never ceases to amuse me. I have been flying for past 6 years and nothing seems to have changed in airport at all. Literally everything is exactly same as it used to be. As soon as plane land everyone gets ready to get their luggage. Front and rear end both door opens, we get out then get on bus it takes approxs 30 sec then we walk towards immigration. The worst thing is getting luggage because it always takes 30-45 mins for the luggage to start coming. Departure is really chaotic when checking in, after that you clear immigration and you have literally 4-5 shops or store in duty free just like it used to be. Queues are long.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security is chaos"

(Austria)

Verified Review | One word for Kathmandu Airport - dirty! From arrival to departure everything is dirty. Rude staff, no air conditioning, security is chaos. Full waiting hall - people were sitting on the dirty floor. No priority boarding.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"rude immigration officers"

(Nepal)

Kathmandu airport has not so pleasant staff including the very rude immigration officers. The airport is quite dirty including the toilets. The seating areas are all occupied quite often so you have to stand most of the times. Not many places where you can eat and shop. Very small airport. But, you get free Wi-Fi.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"Kathmandu Airport is utterly chaotic"

(United Kingdom)

Kathmandu Airport is utterly chaotic (in excess of two hours to collect bags off the belts, luggage tipped onto any belt and the whole place jammed solid with humanity attempting to also get their bags). Whilst not a great start upon arrival, we expect little else at Kathmandu, all part of the experience of Nepal. Anybody who wants instant baggage delivery needs to go somewhere else I'm afraid.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 46 Reviews