Kathmandu Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 37 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

Kathmandu Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 3rd May 2014

Kathmandu is a small airport certainly nowhere near as bad as some of these reviews make out perhaps it's improved a lot in the last few years. I found staff pleasant. My bags came out at record time as well so I was off the plane and out of the airport in a really short time. Toilets clean enough.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
0/10

Kathmandu Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 7th November 2013

Upon our arrival we had to queue for 2 hours and 20 minutes to get our tourist visas. The toilet was the worst I've encountered at an airport. The whole terminal needs complete refurbishment. Tip: Get your visa in your home country if possible before your trip!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities N/A
no
0/10

Kathmandu Airport customer review

Review by (Nepal) 10th January 2013

Without doubt Kathmandu domestic airport is one of the disgusting places. Many who travel through this place on route to trekking or climbing adventures. There is nothing dignified or organised about the place and for regular travellers it twists a knot in your stomach every time you pass through. You have to avoid the army of porters who want to carry your luggage the 15 metres from security to check in and will give you a disgusted look if you pay less than a dollar. Then you need to check in. Queues don't exist- so it's a matter of crowding the desks. Then through security again and then the endless wait. Don't expect to sit down as seats are never enough. Do not expect to get any info about your flight.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
5/10

Kathmandu Airport customer review

Review by (Australia) 12th March 2012

First time here already had a visa. On arrival from leaving the airplane to getting outside it took me at most 15 minutes. Very fast if you already have a visa on arrival. Staff seemed generally helpful the customs a bit moody with no response to greetings. Departure is a nightmare upon checking in. Long queues check-in staff seemed to be struggling to use their system. Security check was quick. There seemed to be quite a large amount of seating space in the departure lounge. Boarding was usually performed by an official yelling out the name of the airline in the lounge. TV's don't necessarily reflect which airline is boarding. Toilet inside the departure lounge looked new and clean. However outside the lounge many of the cubicles were shut for maintenance. Not too bad of an airport. Check-in could be vastly improved.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
6/10

Kathmandu Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 1st February 2012

Have been through the International 5 times. In the past the airport was rubbish the toilets were dirty the floors weren't clean and their were only 2 or 3 departure gates. Now it has changed the toilets are cleaner the floors are clean with about 6 departure gates which is better than before and they announce for passengers whose flights are ready to depart. The seats are comfortable however some of the staff are rude.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
1/10

Kathmandu Airport customer review

Review by (Canada) 21st October 2011

Both international and domestic buildings are the dirtiest and most disorganized buildings. The bathrooms are filthy. Floors are dirty and the seats are not meant for comfort in any way shape or form. There is no rhyme or reason to the flow of passengers from the time you are dropped off at the front door till you exit the building to your plane. Be prepared for sheer pandemonium at all levels. Entry visas line consisted of one booth open with 3 people at it handling 3 planes that landed all within 20 minutes of each other. It took us an hour to get through it. I suggest get you visa before going to Nepal as there were 5 booths open for visa holding passengers.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
2/10

Kathmandu Airport customer review

Review by (Nepal) 30th May 2011

It seems that the airport is being renovated. However they have constructed something awkward looking entrance gate which doesn't match with any of Nepali tradition and culture. Increased the number of Toilets in the departure hall but Cleanliness is the problem. Still the primitive ways of information system. Have to ask people for the departure gates. Display screens are neither sufficient nor easy to extract information about flights. Service in the immigration is totally primitive. People don't even utter a single word or respond pleasantly to the travellers. Information system in the immigration needs to be updated.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
1/10

Kathmandu Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 30th April 2011

The domestic departure is fine. A couple of security checks and then if you are lucky a run through the airport to get your plane whilst the weather is ok. The international airport is a different story. Our flight was understandably called 2 hours late due to the weather but then between the lounge and the plane we had 6 security checks. The man on xray was the most grumpy I have ever come across in an airport. Apparently they could see something they didn't like in my bag. They still couldn't work it out after passing it through the machine several times and getting me around to the screen to point it out. He then told me that 'he didn't have time to deal with all these stupid tourists that didn't know what to pack in their bags'!!! Luckily I remembered that I was in an airport and it wasn't a good idea to answer back!!! As he couldn't find what he was looking for they eventually let me carry on through to the gate. We had another check at the gate and then another one before we got onto the plane. Not quite sure where they think we would have picked anything up from! Fortunately 80 of us from the plane were on the same flight to London so the plane from Delhi to LHR was kept waiting for over an hour for us. The other passengers weren't so happy!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
1/10

Kathmandu Airport customer review

Review by (Canada) 21st April 2011

Terrible for departures. Luggage was x-rayed twice 4 total pat-downs and twice everyone's bags were opened and searched. I don't see how anything could get in someone's bag from the gate to the airplane that would require two physical checks. Our plane left 2 hours late partly due to all of these checks.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
3/10

Kathmandu Airport customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 9th January 2011

This airport was quite basic but one shouldn't expect something like HKG. Arrival was ok it is not a congested airport so there are no giant immigration queues or long wiats for baggage. However departure was a bit less swift. Check in seemed to take a long time and the queue overflowed onto the pavement outside the terminal (not pleasant in the cold weather). Once inside the terminal things were fine toilets were clean staff were friendly as well they spoke good English. There is limited shopping but for a small airport it was to be expected. Flight left on time with a beautiful view of the Himalayas when ascending!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
1 to 10 of 34 Reviews