Jakarta Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 129 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"very bad design and execution"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | I have been using Terminal 3 since its day of opening 9 August 2016. I think that I am fairly tolerant and easy going but I believe that, like many things that I have experienced in Indonesia over the last 24+ years, this new Terminal (initially named 'Terminal 3 Ultimate') is another example of a big idea but very bad design and execution. First of all the terminal opened before it was ready due to political pressure. As stated in some other reviews it looked dirty and unfinished when I used it during the first couple of months. Since its opening the terminal has experienced several occasions of flooding both external and internal. A lot of things have improved since then but the layout as well as the organization remain very poor. One of the biggest problems with the layout is the length of the terminal which leads to very long walking distances. Add to that the poor organization (of Garuda) when it comes to flight arrival and departure and I find that on most flights a passenger ends up walking more than a kilometer (I checked using my step checker) from the arrival gate to the Immigration Desk. And while there are travelators in both the departure and arrival areas, disembarking a flight often means a very long walk before getting to the actual arrival area where these travelators are. For domestic arrival this has become worse by the opening of the side terminal and will soon be worse on the International side of the Airport as well when the original (old) T3 terminal get added to the International terminal. Considering the above I was amused (putting it mildly) to see sign at the airport suggesting to vote for Jakarta as the Best Airport in the world. What a joke!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a total disaster"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Jakarta is a total disaster of an international airport. Dirty toilets, no baby change facilities, rude and poorly educated staff, no WiFi. Never any taxis. Smell of cigarettes through out. What a dump. The new terminal is not even a year old and already falling down. Walls and ceilings falling off, tiling cracked and holes everywhere. Voids of unused space causing passengers to walk for miles in circles. Only travel here or transit if essential. Trust me I’ve lived here for the past two years.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"clean and pristine"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Check in Terminal 3 Jakarta - the newest terminal in this airport. Everything looks good and since I’m going on a night flight there is no queing here. The check in was very fast - there is a lot of open counters for Garuda, the airport was clean and pristine. The facility is good and can accomodate a lot of people.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"badly designed shopping mall"

(Australia)

Unverified | Jakarta Airport Terminal 3 is shockingly badly designed. I measured the distance from my airplane to baggage pickup and it is 1.1km! That's insanely bad design. To add to the stupidity it has the world's slowest travelators, making it much faster to walk beside the travelator than to weave your way through all the tired passengers blocking them. Then when I get to the baggage belts, there is only one single queue for all taxis, an archaic numbering system that means taxi drivers wait for half an hour to an hour for passengers while passenger wait half an hour to an hour for taxis, total madness. There can be no doubt the new terminal is better than the old, but that's like comparing a rundown antiquated soviet era project to a modern but badly designed shopping mall.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Jakarta Airport customer review

(Indonesia)

Unverified | Terminal 3 has the worst ever arrival management. You have to walk all the way to the parking building for pick up. It's like a scam so you have to pay parking or take the taxi instead. Unlike terminal 2 they forbid people from getting picked up at the departure place instead. It's better to use terminal 2 or 1 instead. This place forces you to pay parking, walk so far away only to get heavy traffic in the building. It's true in terminal 1 you have to pay parking but then it's way faster than going around the parking building.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Departure area was clean and good"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | It was my first time using the new terminal 3 airport for an international route as this had just opened a few months ago. International departure is not so busy, so we could enjoy and relax without rushing, there were enough outlets for shopping. Departure area was clean and good.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"over priced taxi stands"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Unfortunately in 2017 Jakarta is still far beyond other South Asian countries by having over priced taxi stands located inside the building. The taxi stands look official and regulated by the airport but their fares are more than 3 x that of a regular metered taxi or grab taxi. A 45 min ride from the airport to plaza Indonesia is $30 from these stands and less than $10 by the meter. I would recommend all to use the Grab Taxi app to book a fixed fair taxi or metered taxi. The toilets in the airport are clean and usable. The wifi is poor with several available 'free' networks however only one works, albeit very intermittently and slow. Passport control at at 8pm was very quick and smooth.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a somewhat bad experience"

(Indonesia)

Unverified | Had a somewhat bad experience at CGK recently. Came in from SIN (where I could live happily ever after). After a long wait at customs we had to take our checked baggage on the bus to another terminal for our domestic flight, and recheck. Went through security for our gate. No food or other shops inside security. Reader board said gate 7. We waited. It was almost time to board, and I couldn't even tell exactly where boarding was going to be. Went to an information desk to find out exactly where gate 7 would board. Oh, your flight is changed to gate 3. Went to gate 3. Waited. Lion Air, also known as Late Air was delayed. Finally went to info desk again to see how much longer. 30 minutes, they said. 10 minutes later the intercom said our flight was boarding - gate 5! Reader board still had us on the original gate 7. The gate information reader board is seldom updated at any airport in Indonesia.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"significantly above average"

(Indonesia)

Jakarta is a brand new airport mainly to host Indonesia's national carrier Garuda. It is a big and luxurious terminal and one can wait comfortably. Not all facilities are already operational, but even with that condition it is significantly above average of the airports in ASEAN region. The new physical infrastructure should be followed by new attitude from the people who are running the airport. What needs to be improved is the staff professionalism. - security staff and ground staff chatted in front of long queue of passengers. Security staff and ground staff didn't show professional body posture. Staff argued with passengers. Cleaning staff giggled and yelled to each other.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"in some areas, the AC isn't working"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | The new Terminal 3 in Jakarta airport is massive, however, it is dark, not enough lighting and not enough signs to lead you where to go. Construction is everywhere in this terminal. They provide rest area beneath the mezzanine floor where they put bed chairs, but also they put speakers in every corners with a full volume that announce information every minute. I can't even have quiet time in this "rest" area. In some areas, looks like the AC isn't working. The good thing about this terminal is the Garuda lounge that was tastefully done, and the food options. This terminal has potential, but needs extra effort to make it better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no