Airline of the Year  

Jakarta Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 115 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"airport is still under construction"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | I travel using Garuda Indonesia this time. Since May 2017, all of domestic and international flights of Garuda Indonesia are located in Terminal 3 Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. This airport is modern, new and has a futuristic design. But I must be honest that this airport is still under construction in a few parts. So if you're outside the airport, you will hear tons of construction noises. I couldn't even hear to talk on the phone. When this airport is completely finished I'm sure that it will be great.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"waiting areas are beautiful"

(United States)

I arrived into Jakarta Airport from Taipei, arrival control was quick and wait time to receive luggage no different than other airport. Once I picked up my luggage and proceeded to customs, we were just waived through to the outside. I had a friend waiting for me so the trip to the city was fine. I departed on a few days in a domestic flight to Bali. The process was smooth all the way to boarding. Then when I left to return to the USA once again the process was very smooth. I found the airport clean, signage was adecuate, the people are great and the gate waiting areas are beautiful.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"still needs a lot of improvement"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Still needs a lot of improvement for efficiency! Its a nice modern terminal and its very big which means walking to the gate is quite long. The gap between the travelator is too far, and there's a few only a few so it can be quite tiring if your gate is at the end. Its quite hot inside the terminal, and signage is not clear.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"staff incapable of handling the traffic"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Plane was parked at Terminal 3's remote stand and passengers were transported by bus to the arrival gate. First impression was a rather modern looking, very clean with adequate air conditioning. Lighting was rather inadequate in some areas. Baggage claim area was a much welcomed change (compared to terminal 1 & 2). Again, lighting was a rather unpleasant experience. Two TV screens (two on each sides) above each carousel showed the airline's flight number and baggage drop area activity. Be aware that the fonts for the flight number is rather small. Baggage handling was swift. Heading to the pick-up zone was an unpleasant experience. Staff weren't helpful and signages were ambiguous. Asked a few staff at the baggage claim area and was told to head to the 2nd floor (arrival hall). Waited an hour for my driver to pick us up but was eventually told pick-up was not allowed. Although the rules was obviously broken anyways for the staffs. Another staff came up and rudely told us to go back down to ground floor (taxi and bus pick-up), but again pick-up by private car was not allowed. Finally a fellow passenger told us to head to the parking building. The parking building was divided to 4 levels, again, the signages were inadequate. Finally we waited another 30 minutes at the 3rd floor of the parking building for our pickup. Overall this was the worst experience with staff incapable of handling the traffic of incoming cars coupled with the inefficient pick-up zone design. One plus side is there are seatings and food stalls near the pick-up zone. For the current being, I would not recommend this airport until further improvements in services.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Jakarta Airport is getting better"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Finally Jakarta Airport is getting better. Departing from terminal 2, which is not very crowded. The addition of international food stalls such as Krispy Kreme offers better food options and there are more seats provided. Immigration was ok. The air conditioning still not working properly. Decoration looked so old fashion and in dire need of replacing. The bridges to the aircraft do not have air conditioning, dark and cramped. Arrivals were better managed than usual, with different airlines having their own baggage belt compared to the old way of gathering a lot of flight's baggage into one belt. However, getting into your car is still very difficult as there are very few parking spaces and the construction of the airport railway. By international standards, it is still bad but it is improving.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
3/10

"departure was better than arrivals"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | It's a shame that international flights still use the outdated terminal 2 of Jakarta Airport. Departure was better than Arrivals. However, the check in lines were still very long and people are not organized. Arrivals are much worse with AC non existant and very slow baggage claims. Outside a lot of illegal taxis are waiting to prey on foreign visitors. The only good thing are the clean toilets! Even going to your car will be very difficult as there are very long traffic jams and disused trolleys on the road. The airport should really clean up or risk very bad image and reputation in Southeast Asia.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"waited at Baggage claim for an hour"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Check in lines for pretty much all the airlines were very long, including business class lines. Not sure if that's an airport capacity, airport staff, or individual airline issue. A Business Class lounge was underwhelming, with the only snacks being porridge, sodas, and a small pieces of sponge cake. Plane wanting to land was delayed because the airport was full, and had to circle around for 30 minutes. Arrival immigration had long lines. Waited at Baggage claim for an hour. Exiting the parking lot also needed to wait an hour because people parked on side of roads/round about exit.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"super humid and hot"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Jakarta airport Terminal 3 is brand new. However, it looks like that they were rushing it to be operated. I could still hear the metal clacking and also fuzzy announcements that's too loud. Wifi was only given for 15 minutes only (I mean come seriously?) and the soap from the toilet is very poor. Not to mention that the airport is super humid and hot. Yes it's huge and modern, but the building itself not efficient and confusing for a first time traveller.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"showing its age but still functional"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived from London into T2 which is showing its age but still functional and we were through immigration and collecting our bags in no time. Flew out on a domestic flight from the new T3 which is great. Really comfortable, light and airy and great views over the airfield. A really big change from T2 and hopefully they will start international flights from T3 soon. Staff were very pleasant and the facilities at the new T3 very impressive.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"check-in area is very nice"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | The old terminal 1 2 of Jakarta Airport are outdated, but the newly build Terminal 3 is huge and wonderful. It is very spacious and clean. The check-in area is very nice with a lot of personal check-in machine. Although the building process is not completely finished, it is clear that this Terminal will have a lot of cafes and stores in shopping area. The gate waiting spaces also has a lot of comfortable sofas and chairs for passengers. The only thing that I don't like about this new terminal is the interior design is not very solid and beautiful, for example, public facilities like bathrooms and prayer rooms are placed in the middle of the hall which make it looks ridiculous. The other thing is this airport do provide free WI-FI, but they restrict the usage of it by time. In terminal 3, you can only get it freely for 15 minutes.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 97 Reviews