Vote Now  

Jakarta Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 104 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"extremely hot in departures"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I go through Jakarta Airport several times a year. The new T3 is a huge improvement over the old T1 and T2, and Jakarta has a lot of potential to become a major hub in the region. But there are still some problems with T3 that I hope get resolved soon. First, as others have said, it is extremely hot in the departure lounges. The air con really needs to be sorted out. Second, the announcements are terrible. Every 30 seconds announcements are being made over an extremely poor quality PA system. Amongst all the hissing and crackling it is impossible to hear what is being said, or even whether English or Bahasa are being spoken. All it achieves is a headache. The new terminal has been designed with acoustic dampening in mind, too bad it is ruined be the poor PA system.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"uncomfortably stuffy and humid"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Jakarta airport terminal 3 is one of the hottest airports I've endured. They need to turn their air con on properly as it's so uncomfortably stuffy and humid that you end of sweating. There are some nice coffee shops and the queues for check in and security are light which are all pluses but this place is a sweat pit.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"it was an extremely slow process"

(Australia)

Arrived at CGK Terminal 2 and it was extremely hassle free from leaving the plane to immigration, luggage and customs. Upon entering the Arrival Hall, you're confronted with taxi companies wanting your business. I used Silver Bird as it was the recommended one by the conference I attended. Departure was a different experience. I had a flight back to PER via KUL at 4.40am, what I didn't realise beforehand is that my flight was the first to depart in the morning, so there were queues forming for the primary security check at 2.30am, then the check-in counters opened at 3am. Immigration counters did not open until 3.30am, and hence giant queues formed after everyone checked in, it was an extremely slow process. The business class lounge that Malaysia Airlines uses was good in terms of comfort but limited in its food offerings. Duty Free wasn't open until 5am, which was disappointing. Quick progress to the secondary security check then on to the plane, no problems.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"avoid it at all costs"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | I have used this airport numerous times before and it is not improving in any way. It is always crowded and hot. Check in lines are very long and slow. Immigration is even worse and multiple security checks. Security even insist on checking everything when you enter the terminal building. I saw a lot of people unable to carry their heavy suitcases but the secuity guards simply look and sometimes even laugh. Very little choice of food and drinks. Air conditioning always not working so prepare to sweat all the way to the plane. Horrible airport, avoid it at all costs.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"a massive improvement"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | ⁠⁠⁠I have been using Jakarta airport very often. I usually use T3 with Garuda Indonesia. This new terminal is really a massive improvement. The building is huge. The check-in area is huge as well and there are so many desks that we rarely queue for a long time. The wifi is in the top list with fast connection. The staff are good. The toilet is kept clean. Since this is a new terminal, there aren't many shops / restaurants, but now they are opening more. The seats are comfortable. This terminal is really a pride for the country. Can't wait to see T1 / T2 improvement.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"staff barely speak English"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Certainly Jakarta airport is clean but that's it for the positive part. The staff barely speak English and therefore they cannot help you. As in every other airport you may not take beverages past security, but here there is an additional security check at the gate before boarding and any liquid is confiscated. "No water" is all they can say. Simply ridiculous.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"has not been improved since I last visited"

(Singapore)

I agree with many other comments about the International departures at Terminal 2. It has not been improved since I last visited back in April 2015, very chaotic at the immigration counter before my flight SQ959 to Singapore departed, the shopping was very limited compared to other airports I've been to and airport shopping and food was very pricey too. I would use Terminal 3 in the future or use another airport when traveling to Indonesia.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"an embarrasment"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | I have used Jakarta airport numerous times this year alone and I feel it has not improved at all. It is an embarrasment to Indonesia. Immigration is still chaotic, air conditioning still not working and so many taxi touts outside. The traffic is absolutely horrid and there is no mass rapid transit to Jakarta. Probably the only good thing is the clean toilets. I hope international flights will use the new Terminal 3 instead of the terminal 2 which is really awful.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"the building is still not 100% operational"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | I was flying with Garuda Indonesia, so I went to the brand new Soekarno-Hatta's Terminal 3 Ultimate. The building is enormous, with a modern design. Like other modern international airports, the walls are full of clear glass so people can see the apron. The building was neat, I think because it was opened a few months ago. However, the building is still not 100% operational, so there is still some constructions inside the terminal. Also, the interior is a bit plain, maybe they haven't finished decorating it. The staff are helpful and professional. The drawbacks are: maybe because it is still not fully operational, some facilities such as elevators, jetbridges, etc can't be used. Also, there are only few directions, so it was a bit confusing for passengers since the building is so enormous. They should add more directions to create a better passenger flow.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"gets worse every time"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Jakarta airport just gets worse every time. I departed in the morning and there was no staff available. Immigration was very slow and there seem to be no AC. It gets worse at arrivals. The baggage from our flight was mixed with two more flights from Saudi Arabia and Bangkok. It was very chaotic and crowded. Meanwhile, just next to it I saw a totally empty belt, it's totally ridiculous. A very bad impression of Indonesia.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 87 Reviews