Jakarta Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 139 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Terrible design and layout"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Terrible design and layout of terminal 3, which often means 1) very long walks with no travelators to get to the baggage claim, and/or 2) disembarking on the apron and having to take long bus rides to get to the terminal. It’s ridiculous that more than a year after the enormous Garuda flagship T3 opened that much of it remains inefficiently used and so many Garuda planes still have to park on the apron and rely on buses rather than aero bridges. Very slow baggage as well, given the distance that the plane parked from the terminal.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"easily the worst airport"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Easily the worst airport I've ever flown into. If you fly with the national carrier you get your bags at a decent time. If not, you will have an hour or more wait. Layout is atrocious. If you don't need to fly to Indonesia in general stay away.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"T2 remains a good terminal"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Terminal 2 at Jakarta is still a good terminal despite its old build back in the 1990’s. Well immigration from arrival to baggage claim did not take too long, maybe just 30 minutes. The other part is the toilets were pretty clean but not modern overall. Upon taking my luggage and the baggage claim, I had to do the baggage check again. But overall it’s not really bad. Overall, T2 remains a good terminal like Terminal 1 does, but haven’t flown out of T3 yet which is poor compared to T2 or T1. But with many airlines moving to T3 within few months from now, I don’t know if it will be good or not, but will still recommend T2 or T1 at this moment.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"I'm very disappointed"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | I must say I'm very disappointed in the new Terminal 3 - more and more flight companies move from terminal 2 to this mess as terminal. Extremely long distance to walk to the gates, from flights to emigration and custom. The existing travelators are wrong designed. Too short and too slow. Very hot inside due to the air condition is too poor. Only local business lounges so not possible to have a beer in the whole airport. I hope the flight companies start to look at the poor quality we customers got from the new terminal 3. It's hard to call it an international airport with minimum standard.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"people are all very nice

(United States)

Trip Verified | This was my third time in 10 months flying to Indonesia and arriving in Jakarta. Upon arriving I was met by the VIP Representative, (which I had contracted for prior to arrival,) and was whisked away through immigration to luggage pick up, (total time less than 10 minutes.) Waited for about 30 minutes for my luggage, the Terminal 2 area was pretty busy - it was around 1:20 p.m. probably a lot of international arrivals. Picked up my luggage and through customs and outside the terminal. This was pretty straight forward and hectic but I just think it was just a lot of traffic. On my way home, each airport has their own security nuance and here you go through a security check point to actually enter the check in area. Then you check it and walk to the the Passport Control, where they verify that you have not exceeded the 30 day visa you get upon arrival, then you are in the area of the terminals with shops and restaurants. Honestly looks just like any other nice airport anywhere. Expensive stores and expensive restaurants. When you finally make it to your gate, then you go through a security check point once again and at this time is where they do not allow you to have any liquids, so if you buy any water or drinks to think you can take them on the airplane, oops, they take them away from you. Kind of a bummer and something you do not find out until you get there. No one tells you but if you read this review you will know. Interesting enough, once you exit this security check point there are a few food counters after check point where you can buy water. Go figure. This airport can seem to be a bit overwhelming but it is really not. They just opened a very nice train service between terminals, which is free and makes the transfer from one terminal to another a breeze. Many, many food options in the outside of all the terminals to satisfy anyone...many US fast food chains there with their Indonesian twist. The people in the airport are all very nice and even those that do not speak English are helpful, even the soldiers with the sub machine guns.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"it has seen remarkable improvements"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have flown in and out of this airport multiple times over the past few years and it has seen remarkable improvements. I have almost always had a positive experience here. The staff are friendly and helpful. If you need help finding something, they're usually happy to direct you. There are no longer pushy porters who ask or money and corruption is not common anymore. Immigration is fairly efficient considering the sheer number of people in the airport. Be prepared to wait a bit when entering the country, but exiting is fine (as a foreigner). Your experience will probably vary a bit depending on the terminal. Terminal 3 is the newest and most modern. But the other terminals are quite nice as nice. It's pretty nice to see traditional architecture implemented within the airport. There are a variety of restaurants and shops to buy snacks and drinks from, all of which are rather affordable and quite good. The budget terminal is much simpler. Again, you're flying with a budget airline, so that's to be expected. It still has an decent selection of food and beverage options. When you first arrive at the airport, be prepared to show your documentation to security and then place your bags through the scanner, then proceed to check in. You will go through security with your carry on again before boarding. The internet works well and is easy to connect to (no requirement to give a phone number like in some countries). It may not be the fastest, but it's perfectly fine for responding to messages and checking emails. You can buy a local SIM at the airport after the baggage claim, although it will probably be cheaper in the city center. The airport has recently opened a SkyTrain, which makes inter-terminal travel much easier and I think is a great improvement for the airport overall. Soekarno-Hatta has also recently opened a train between the airport and city centre (called rail link). The train is modern, clean, and perfect for getting to Jakarta. If you are taking a taxi outside of the airport, make sure you look for the proper taxi cue. This way you can book a metered taxi with a reputable company. You will probably be approached by people from private taxis, but these get very pricey! (Rp 400k + road tolls to the city centre). Bypass their requests and look for the Blue Bird que. You can take the more luxurious Blue Bird Taxi (Silver Bird or Black Bird) which will be available sooner, but these will cost more, and honestly the regular Blue Bird taxies are quite nice and the drivers are polite and knowledgeable (around Rp 150k + tolls). Terminal 3 an electronic queing system where you simply take a number from a machine. This is especially great for non-Indonesian speakers! Also, do keep in mind the situation and norms of Indonesia. I have seen many reviews criticise Soekarno-Hatta due to a lack of bars, lack of fluent English, and being too hot. Well, you're in a tropical, developing country that has stricter laws on alcohol and English is not widely spoken here. With that in mind, I think the airport great and I usually find it much more pleasant to fly out of than most airports. As far as language issues, international travelers should not have a problem. Staff at the airport always speak to me in English before Indonesian and the important staff always speak English or will connect you to an English speaker.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"a great and old airport"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Jakarta Soekarno Hatta T1 is a great and old airport. If I was flying with a different airline my experience would be very different. One thing that I love about the airport is the amazing traditional roofs, everything is cheap, food, water and duty free. You can get water for only $2. Only problem was the toilet, it was very dirty, there were also great signs, showing directions.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"modern and spacious terminal"

(France)

Trip Verified | Terminal 3 is a very modern and spacious terminal. There is a wonderful choice of restaurants land-side. Check-in, security and immigration were an absolutely breeze. Staff very friendly . It is true that gates are quite far apart one from another which involves a great deal of walking. Besides, part of the departure gates are not operational yet, so we had to board a bus and be taken to a further gate for boarding, but this inconvenience should soon be over
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Unbelievable stupidity"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Unbelievable stupidity. The whole process is just stupid. Security screening before check-in, counters, security screening again after immigration just before the gate and then 3 staff searching every single bag by hand after the security x-ray machine. Congratulation Indonesia you will remain a 3rd world nation with substandard airports for long time to come.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
10/10

"it looks like a new terminal"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | This is the old terminal (1 & 2), but after refurbishment it looks like a new terminal. This terminal was built in 1984. Compared with fully glass airports (SIN, KUL, BKK, CGK T3) I think this terminal has more character. More like a boutique airport than a glass wall airport. Drink vending machines everywhere. Fast free WIFI. Free toilets. Praying room. Everything to cover a passengers basic needs. The TV monitor was on but without showing programs (save energy please).
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes