Jakarta Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 133 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"it has seen remarkable improvements"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have flown in and out of this airport multiple times over the past few years and it has seen remarkable improvements. I have almost always had a positive experience here. The staff are friendly and helpful. If you need help finding something, they're usually happy to direct you. There are no longer pushy porters who ask or money and corruption is not common anymore. Immigration is fairly efficient considering the sheer number of people in the airport. Be prepared to wait a bit when entering the country, but exiting is fine (as a foreigner). Your experience will probably vary a bit depending on the terminal. Terminal 3 is the newest and most modern. But the other terminals are quite nice as nice. It's pretty nice to see traditional architecture implemented within the airport. There are a variety of restaurants and shops to buy snacks and drinks from, all of which are rather affordable and quite good. The budget terminal is much simpler. Again, you're flying with a budget airline, so that's to be expected. It still has an decent selection of food and beverage options. When you first arrive at the airport, be prepared to show your documentation to security and then place your bags through the scanner, then proceed to check in. You will go through security with your carry on again before boarding. The internet works well and is easy to connect to (no requirement to give a phone number like in some countries). It may not be the fastest, but it's perfectly fine for responding to messages and checking emails. You can buy a local SIM at the airport after the baggage claim, although it will probably be cheaper in the city center. The airport has recently opened a SkyTrain, which makes inter-terminal travel much easier and I think is a great improvement for the airport overall. Soekarno-Hatta has also recently opened a train between the airport and city centre (called rail link). The train is modern, clean, and perfect for getting to Jakarta. If you are taking a taxi outside of the airport, make sure you look for the proper taxi cue. This way you can book a metered taxi with a reputable company. You will probably be approached by people from private taxis, but these get very pricey! (Rp 400k + road tolls to the city centre). Bypass their requests and look for the Blue Bird que. You can take the more luxurious Blue Bird Taxi (Silver Bird or Black Bird) which will be available sooner, but these will cost more, and honestly the regular Blue Bird taxies are quite nice and the drivers are polite and knowledgeable (around Rp 150k + tolls). Terminal 3 an electronic queing system where you simply take a number from a machine. This is especially great for non-Indonesian speakers! Also, do keep in mind the situation and norms of Indonesia. I have seen many reviews criticise Soekarno-Hatta due to a lack of bars, lack of fluent English, and being too hot. Well, you're in a tropical, developing country that has stricter laws on alcohol and English is not widely spoken here. With that in mind, I think the airport great and I usually find it much more pleasant to fly out of than most airports. As far as language issues, international travelers should not have a problem. Staff at the airport always speak to me in English before Indonesian and the important staff always speak English or will connect you to an English speaker.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"a great and old airport"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Jakarta Soekarno Hatta T1 is a great and old airport. If I was flying with a different airline my experience would be very different. One thing that I love about the airport is the amazing traditional roofs, everything is cheap, food, water and duty free. You can get water for only $2. Only problem was the toilet, it was very dirty, there were also great signs, showing directions.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"modern and spacious terminal"

(France)

Trip Verified | Terminal 3 is a very modern and spacious terminal. There is a wonderful choice of restaurants land-side. Check-in, security and immigration were an absolutely breeze. Staff very friendly . It is true that gates are quite far apart one from another which involves a great deal of walking. Besides, part of the departure gates are not operational yet, so we had to board a bus and be taken to a further gate for boarding, but this inconvenience should soon be over
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Unbelievable stupidity"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Unbelievable stupidity. The whole process is just stupid. Security screening before check-in, counters, security screening again after immigration just before the gate and then 3 staff searching every single bag by hand after the security x-ray machine. Congratulation Indonesia you will remain a 3rd world nation with substandard airports for long time to come.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
10/10

"it looks like a new terminal"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | This is the old terminal (1 & 2), but after refurbishment it looks like a new terminal. This terminal was built in 1984. Compared with fully glass airports (SIN, KUL, BKK, CGK T3) I think this terminal has more character. More like a boutique airport than a glass wall airport. Drink vending machines everywhere. Fast free WIFI. Free toilets. Praying room. Everything to cover a passengers basic needs. The TV monitor was on but without showing programs (save energy please).
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"staff are warm and helpful"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | I had a very good experience traveling from CGK Terminal 3. It is my first time traveling from terminal 3. It is clean, spacious, and a very comfortable interior design. The staff are warm and helpful. Unfortunately, I kinda need assistance today at the terminal since I am not feeling well and have difficulties walking long distance. Since I am traveling only with my husband and my infant, my husband need to push both of us by himself, me sitting on the wheelchair and my baby sitting on the stroller. Suddenly, a very kind technician staff approached us and offered help to push my wheelchair. I really thank the staffs and the respective parties that make such improvement happened for Indonesia.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"very bad design and execution"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | I have been using Terminal 3 since its day of opening 9 August 2016. I think that I am fairly tolerant and easy going but I believe that, like many things that I have experienced in Indonesia over the last 24+ years, this new Terminal (initially named 'Terminal 3 Ultimate') is another example of a big idea but very bad design and execution. First of all the terminal opened before it was ready due to political pressure. As stated in some other reviews it looked dirty and unfinished when I used it during the first couple of months. Since its opening the terminal has experienced several occasions of flooding both external and internal. A lot of things have improved since then but the layout as well as the organization remain very poor. One of the biggest problems with the layout is the length of the terminal which leads to very long walking distances. Add to that the poor organization (of Garuda) when it comes to flight arrival and departure and I find that on most flights a passenger ends up walking more than a kilometer (I checked using my step checker) from the arrival gate to the Immigration Desk. And while there are travelators in both the departure and arrival areas, disembarking a flight often means a very long walk before getting to the actual arrival area where these travelators are. For domestic arrival this has become worse by the opening of the side terminal and will soon be worse on the International side of the Airport as well when the original (old) T3 terminal get added to the International terminal. Considering the above I was amused (putting it mildly) to see sign at the airport suggesting to vote for Jakarta as the Best Airport in the world. What a joke!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a total disaster"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Jakarta is a total disaster of an international airport. Dirty toilets, no baby change facilities, rude and poorly educated staff, no WiFi. Never any taxis. Smell of cigarettes through out. What a dump. The new terminal is not even a year old and already falling down. Walls and ceilings falling off, tiling cracked and holes everywhere. Voids of unused space causing passengers to walk for miles in circles. Only travel here or transit if essential. Trust me I’ve lived here for the past two years.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"clean and pristine"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Check in Terminal 3 Jakarta - the newest terminal in this airport. Everything looks good and since I’m going on a night flight there is no queing here. The check in was very fast - there is a lot of open counters for Garuda, the airport was clean and pristine. The facility is good and can accomodate a lot of people.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"badly designed shopping mall"

(Australia)

Unverified | Jakarta Airport Terminal 3 is shockingly badly designed. I measured the distance from my airplane to baggage pickup and it is 1.1km! That's insanely bad design. To add to the stupidity it has the world's slowest travelators, making it much faster to walk beside the travelator than to weave your way through all the tired passengers blocking them. Then when I get to the baggage belts, there is only one single queue for all taxis, an archaic numbering system that means taxi drivers wait for half an hour to an hour for passengers while passenger wait half an hour to an hour for taxis, total madness. There can be no doubt the new terminal is better than the old, but that's like comparing a rundown antiquated soviet era project to a modern but badly designed shopping mall.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no