Hamad Doha Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 163 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"has been nothing but lousy"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | The airport is big and has all the commodities that a basic transit airport has to offer these days. However, the transit on my 4 tryouts has been nothing but lousy. About 20 desks from which always only 3-5 were open. The queues to arrival transit are always long and take about 1 hour to get through. The servants are slow and would rather talk with their colleagues (saw this twice while I was being processed). It isn't funny as there are tired kids screaming and crying! The departure is faster. Long queue but will manage in 30mins. The money exchange didn't have exchange for 15 Riyals as 3 euros is so small money for them. No gluten-free food available anywhere. I will stay away from this service center gladly as it doesn't do the job as it could. Istanbul will be my choice in future for whatever cost.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"security rude and impolite"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Hamad airport is a state of the art modern facility with all the amenities that you would expect and some that you would only dream of. The airport is clean, but most of all feels very safe. I must mention that if you are transiting thru Hamad you must go thru an additional security screening and the staff can be rude and impolite. When you transit to return to the USA you must go thru 2 security screenings, one upon arrival and one at the gate for all USA bound flights. This will give you an extra sense of security however I must say that the personnel is not properly trained. I would particularly like to make mention of a service offered named “Al Maha”. Is it it is an escort service offered for guest with two options a gold package and a platinum package the only difference between the two is that the platinum package gives you access to the business lounge if you’re not flying on business. The lounge is very comfortable and my favorite feature was that you are able to take a shower specially after a 10 hour flight and if your next flight is 14 hours like mine the shower comes in very handy. With the platinum package your escort also waits for you outside of the door of the airplane with the gold package they wait for you outside the gate and you do not get the business lounge access. They help you expedite through the security screening line but I must say that on both ocations there was no line. The escorts are very professional however at some point I felt that I was following them and trying to catch up rather than being escorted through the airport. The escorts also wants to get you as quick as possible to your gate and in my personal opinion the service is a bit expensive for what it’s actually being offered. They also tend to make stops to answer questions for other guest and I don’t want to come across as selfish but when you’re paying for two people I would particularly prefer if my escort was not stopping to help others that did not pay for the service. I purchased the platinum package when I flew from the US and flying back I purchased the gold package. I am not too sure I would purchase this services again as it totaled almost $500.00 for 2 people both ways and I was not too impressed. I would like to be fair and mention that if you are considering flying on Qatar Airways please be assured that the Hammad airport is extremely safe they just need to work on training their security personnel better.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"well indicated, easy to navigate around"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Only minus is slow WiFi connection which loosing signal when you move. Otherwise it’s very modern terminal with plenty of different shops (not only luxury). I bought some things here and it turned out to be cheaper than in Hong Kong airport and Paris airport. Airport is clean, well indicated, easy to navigate around. Qatar Airways offers free 3 hours tour of Doha!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"clean, quiet, well air conditioned"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I have read many recent reviews of this airport and feel I need to do my bit to help it’s reputation. Many travellers are comparing this airport to Singapore or Dubai, both airports have had years to perfect their operations (SIA is opening its 4th terminal this year!) Hamad is a brand new airport, and when I visited large parts of it were already being returned. Despite this the airport was clean, quiet, well air conditioned, and as airports go very fun. During a 12 hour layover in any airport you’re going to be bored, but for $50 you gain unlimited access to the spa pool and gym. Transferring was easy, you walk off the plane directly onto concourse, unlike other airports like suvarnabhumi where you need to go through security again. There is a selection of A-La carte restaurants as well as fast food counters. Free Apple computers for use and a strong WiFi through out all concourses of the terminal. I was there between 4pm-4am and the entire place was open, nothing was closed and all staff in shops and around the airport are friendly chatty and want to ensure all travellers have an exceptional experience. Watch out Changi, Hamad is going for top spot!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"We were all disappointed with the staff"

(Finland)

Verified Review | I was at Hamad International Airport Doha during my last flight with my friends. We had quite a long transit and we decided to book a hotel as they said promotional ticket doesn’t have complimentry hotel. We gave our passport and boarding pass to the staff and asked about the time they need to complete our request, she said it doesn’t take long. We understood that a short time meant half an hour or maximum 1 hour, but we were wrong. We had planned to see Doha for a couple of hours and rest in a hotel as well. But we spent 3 hours just for them to issue a visa and book a hotel. There were 40-50 Immigration counters but only a few of them (maximum 10) were in use. The immigration officers were not workig at all. The one officer we faced was chatting on his phone more than working. He asked me to look at the eye detection screen and then carried on chatting. I was countiniously looking at the screen and he wasn’t responding at all. We were all disappointed with the staff at Hamad International airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"a very pleasant experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Huge airport with long distances between some gates, as my flight arrived 40 minutes late I had to rush from one aircraft to another. Never bother with Duty Free but for those who have time plenty of choice. Lots of airport staff available if you need assistance, only had time to use the business class lounge on my return flight but know from experience it's one of the very best. All in all a very pleasant experience, despite the rush.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"Whole experience is great"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Whole experience is great. Airport is big enough (not oversized) and has 1 terminal. Very clean. Very comfortable seats. Well indicated signs. Helpful staff. Plenty of different types of shops and has many gift shops. Food court is decent. WiFi connection is very weak but at least it’s free.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"an excellent hub for travellers"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | Hamad International airport is an excellent hub for travelers, the ambiance of the airport is amazing, staff customer dealings are getting better day by day, it needs to improve, but it is getting much better. Equipped well to handle any rush, the complete check in and immigration exercise got completed in max 20 mins, superb it was, i loved the experience. The Duty free and food courts can literally spoil you, you have loads of options, for me Heathrow, Birmigham, Hamad Intl and Dubai are the favorite airports.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"the airport is not a comfortable place"

(Singapore)

Unverified | Apart from water fountains, the airport is not a comfortable place. WiFi only works if you stand still as it feels like there is only about 10% coverage in the whole airport. Took me half an hour to find the food court. Information counters arent marked. If you see a circular desk with a blue pillar, that's it. The information desk guy said "yes its all clearly marked with a blue pillar". I guess now I know. There are no directories so you pretty much walk around until you find something. Or you could walk around and never find what you want. The airport works on the principle of "if its there, its there" Also security scan when transferring, seriously, what can you pick up between the door of the plane and the airport door?
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"consider what free things to provide"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This is a very large modern airport. It sells itself as a gateway airport for the area and also as a transit airport for interconnecting flights. Whilst it does it job efficiently, compared to Singapore we found this to be a very boring airport. Having five hours to spend there between flights, we found that there was nothing to do other than visit the high end shops (gold bars are not really my thing), eat or use the efficient wifi. They consider what free things to provide to the masses who do not have access to airport lounges. We had to purchase replacement water because ours was seized when we got off a plane and went through security to get our next plane. A replacement 0.5 litre bottle cost £2.44 in WH Smiths - rather expensive we thought. We will try to avoid this airport if we can if we have a large gap between flights for somewhere which adds benefits to passengers. Take a good book with you and some films to watch on your phone etc.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no