Airline of the Year  

Hamad Doha Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 132 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"it's bewilderingly gray"

(Australia)

Verified Review | This is my fourth trip through Doha in 6 months and hopefully my last for a while. Why is it so badly lit? There's some better light once you walk down to the gates but other than that it's bewilderingly gray and low-ceilinged. The long walk to transit smacks of poor planning. The security checks are potluck. If more than one plane lands at once you may be stuck there for an hour - sometimes there will be enough lanes open, but often not - be prepared to hold your ground as you're pushed past in the queues. If you're in transit, once through security I recommend taking the escalator to the ground floor and asking for your ongoing departure gate at the Information Desk. The boards flit and float through airlines and flights from one moment to the next with no apparent order and it will be far easier for you to simply ask the desk staff. The terminal promises a lot but you'll find you're wandering around in what's essentially a shiny gray hanger. The food and drink options are limited and expensive - I bought an expresso at the cheaper foodcourt and the staff charged me 4 euros. And aside from the giant bear lamp sculpture, which is good value for an Instagram snap - that's kinda it. The wifi is a bit slow but functional, although you're better off entering your e-ticket number rather than trying to login with your booking number, which has yet to work for me. It's unclear to me who this airport is designed for. Possibly it's meant for people on business who head straight for the lounges. It's certainly not designed for regular travelers.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"airport is absolutely beautiful"

(Saudi Arabia)

Verified Review | I remember the old Doha airport when I travelled many years ago but this was my first experience flying through the new Hamad International Airport and boy they do not disappoint. The airport is absolutely beautiful and everything is so well organised and well maintained. I booked the lounge at the airport since this was the only place you can get a beer while you are in transit (The only reason they do not get a full 10/10 overall rating). Please open up a few more bars please! They have good restaurants but not as much as Dubai Terminal 3 but still not bad at all. I would definitely travel through this airport again in the future. Loved the free Mac stations.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"poorly planned and laid out"

(Australia)

The airport is big, new, shiny and above all else poorly planned and laid out. There are not enough rest rooms close to the gate. The rest rooms which are close to the gate are small and inadequate. The 'sleeping' or 'rest' area is small and uncomfortable. The food and beverage choices are very limited for budget travelers. All the food outlets are expensive and fancy. The cleanliness of the rest rooms is appalling. Worst of all? The security checks. 3-4 Airbus A380's carrying over 1000 people will touch down within minutes of one another and the airport in all it's wisdom decides to have 2 security lanes open. Approximate wait time? An eternity or till hell freezes over, whichever comes first! After you have endured Doha airport security, made your way to a disgustingly feral lavatory, paid $7 for a coffee, you then have the pleasure of another security check! This airport is a joke. Qatar airways - please find the people who worked on Changi Airport and pay them billions to re-work the disaster that is your brand new airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"more high-end shops than I've ever seen"

(United Kingdom)

Doha airport is big and brash, with more high-end shops than I've ever seen at an airport anywhere. We did wonder how they manage to sell enough stuff, but presumably they do. For the average person with the average budget, the options are fairly limited. There is a food hall, open 24/7, with the usual fast food offerings. Not cheap, on a par with airports in the UK. There is free wi-fi, and it works, which is a real blessing. Very little in the way of seating until you get to the gates. I guess people sitting around are not shopping. Toilets were not as bad as some reviewers have suggested, but not great either. I get the feeling that one day the airport itself will be the destination, with people being encouraged to come here and have a day's "shopping experience". Certainly, on the two Qatar Airways planes which we landed here on, almost everyone was in transit. Only a small handful of people trundled off to actually enter Qatar. Our planes all ran to schedule. There is plenty of space at the gates, and plenty of space in the whole airport. Unless you're absolutely loaded and enjoy buying high-end designer goods, I wouldn't recommend having to be here too long in transit. Couple of hours is OK, but if you've scheduled a 9-hour transit to save £20, it'll cost you more than that in food and coffee, and you will end up bored. Clearly, everything is being readied for the World Cup 2022. For an airport so geared to transit passengers, how will they cope with a few weeks of packed flights full of football fans trying to enter the country? I suspect a lot of fans will stay in Dubai or Bahrain and just fly in for the matches, so there could be a lot of coming and going throughout that time. From the air, Doha looks like it could be blown away by a sandstorm, it looks so fleeting and transitory. The airport has clearly had a huge amount of cash thrown into it.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"very grey and dull lighting"

(Kuwait)

Very grey and dull lighting at Doha Airport. Feels like 2am no matter what time you visit. Good designer shops (at full retail prices) and expensive food if that's your thing. Takes ages to get anywhere, if you get unlucky the transit security takes an age, if you are trying to leave to enter Qatar and are not business or first class it is an absolute nightmare, allow at least 90 mins of being treated like cattle.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not so sure what all the hype is about"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Airport is functional, but not so sure what all the hype is about. Travelling with a 9 month old we were assured that there would be a pushchair waiting at the gate upon arrival for us. However it was not to be. Airport staff at the gate sent us to 'customer service' who just shouted 'no no no, go back to your gate'. Gave up on ever getting one, and joined a number of frustrated travellers with children who had been promised a pushchair but couldn't find one. Terminal is much less crowded than the previous one, but didn't get to see any of it as ground staff informed us that our gate was a 25 minute walk away, and we must rush (obviously without pushchair). Guess the ground staff walk slowly as we made it in 3 minutes.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"new, luxurious and spacious"

(Greece)

Verified Review | Had a 3 hour wait there for a transit flight. Initial impressions are good. The transit security took a while about 20 minutes which in a hurry might be an issue . However on my return trip we didnt even go through security. All in all a very nice airport, new, luxurious and spacious. Nice Duty free and nice restaurants. Wifi was good though a couple of times it stopped working.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"easy to navigate, clean and efficient"

(United Arab Emirates)

Very easy to navigate, clean and efficient airport. Have had many transits and arrivals here. When connecting to Dubai fast track is great or often your are just disembarked into transit area anyway. First class, business and silver lounges are all top quality, restaurant service in first and business is excellent. Shopping area is nice and always more than enough staff hanging around to help. Only faults I have is the departure screens design is not pleasing on the eye but they generally Have a guy standing nearby who looks it up for you and short hop flights are always very far away gates that have a bus transfer anyway. With such a new airport one would imagine it possible to air bridge all flights. Looking forward to going back.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"one word to describe this airport: unsatisfactory"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | One simple word to describe this airport: unsatisfactory. I came in with the same expectations as Changi Airport, perhaps even higher since it's new. The Al Maha lounge is like a pub. Full of drunk people and no seats. Shopping is overpriced, 9 riyals for a 500ml Evian! When I thought Suvarnabhumi airport was overpriced charging 6 for a 600ml bottle. There's no fast food in sight, no Starbucks in sight, only some overpriced fancy seafood bar, which is not what I want for breakfast. I was lucky that there was good food on the plane. However, there is a zone for families with comfortable seats and privacy. The structure is also strange. Normally airport and airplane designers try to make the terminal airy. Too bad it'a airy only in The Central concourse, the rest of the terminal is like walking in an old hospital, a pretty large hospital though. The good thing is, the airport will never be overcrowded, especially at the baggage claim.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Hamad Doha has got it's act back together"

(Qatar)

Verified Review | Hamad Doha has got it's act back together. It's clean, high class and efficient. All elements of a great airport are back in place. The problems of poor service, things not working are once again a thing of the past (December). Check in was fast, security even faster.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes