Hamad Doha Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 197 reviews
6/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"a model hub airport"

(China)

Trip Verified | Hamad airport is a model hub airport that heaps shame on so many other so-called 'major hubs', especially airports like Shanghai Pudong, Paris Charles de Gaulle, London Heathrow and even Dubai. The terminal is clean and modern with a wide range of shopping and dining options. Although the terminal is very large, it feels very compact and easy to navigate given its layout. Furthermore security was very quick and efficiently organised. Based on my experience, I happily recommend flying through Doha Hamad.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"slow and unfriendly"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | I have passed through Doha a number of times and find the airport facilities excellent though the airport's extensive use of buses for aircraft boarding and de-planing could pose difficulties for some passengers. I have stopped over twice in the last month to break long journeys and entered Doha to stay at local hotels. The experience at immigration has been slow and unfriendly on both occasions adding unnecessary delays and stress to the travel experience. Queue management is poor for those of us not from local countries i.e. "other passports" and there are always too few counters open. Today 2 counters were open while the line grew. The queue manager sent me to a counter where I waited only to be told by the officer on duty that he was closing so I called the first guy over and they had a heated discussion in Arabic. I was left standing there until the queue manager decided to send me and others to one of the counters reserved for locals where we were processed by a lady whose use of English consisted of single words barked in an unfriendly tone: "next", "visa?", "camera!" (Short for look at the camera please). Qatar advertises Doha as a stopover destination and has extended visa-free entry to over 80 countries to encourage foreigners to visit but it seems their immigration department hasn't got on board with facilitating this aim. They need to treat their guests better by reducing waiting times and learning a few basic sentences that include the words please and thank you.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Not a good system"

(Qatar)

Trip Verified | On both departing and arriving the e-gate enrollment was closed. When I left Hamad it was during Eid when most people were traveling and the E-gate enrollment was closed. I had actually arrived 4 hours before my flight to enroll. When I asked staff when they would re-open I was told “we don’t know sir, they don’t have hours”. Then when arriving from a Rome flight on a Wednesday night at 11pm the enrollment had just closed while the line for immigrations was completely full. Not a good system.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"airport was chaotic"

(Qatar)

Not Verified | I use this airport frequently. Positives first: quickly through immigration and security. On more than one occasion I’ve struggled to find my gate - today included. Today the airport was chaotic. Business lounges were completely full and staff a tad dismissive. Restaurants were packed too with insufficient staff to show menus or inadequate information available. Jamocha could be a great coffee shop but it’s inconsistent. Air conditioning was insufficient, especially downstairs. They’ve got a lot of work to do if they expect to cope in 4 years!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"absolutely nothing to do"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | What a boring airport! Big, clean and architecturally stunning, but absolutely nothing to do, very few places to eat which are massively overpriced, very few shops, all of which are either overpriced high-end or souvenir junk. One can't even get a pint or a glass of wine here to help kill time. Avoid if possible.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"very clean and impressive building"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Solo traveler, very clean and impressive building. Easy to transit through. Very busy any time of day or night. I did not have time to explore but noticed many high-end retail and plenty of restaurants. Security seemed to be in place and taken seriously. I did not experience any hassles or issues.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"do not recommend a long transit"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Hamad Airport is a very big and impressive looking airport. You can get free and fairly fast wifi if you sign in with your booking reference and surname, though they do block Whatsapp use for some reason, which was very inconvenient. Security to get through to the transit area is quite quick, though their body scanner is probably the most sensitive one around. I had scans at two other airports on the same day and no problems. At Hamad airport, you will have to get patted down. Probably due to a metal trousers zipper, but other scanners ignored this. As far as the duty free shops and restaurants go, I was very unimpressed. The place is extremely expensive and in fact a rip off and not a great selection. For example a 500ml water bottle is equivalent to £3.60 and most foods are 2-4 times more expensive than UK prices, which are high in the first place. Fragrances were 2-3 times more than UK high street prices too. Most clothing shops were very high end luxury brands, so I avoided them. On different occasions, I tried a Burger King burger, chicken curry and coffees. All very bad and the curry chicken was full of bones and tastleless. The only product that I saw that was cheapish were the cigarettes, though I don't smoke, so no benefit for me. They do provide lots of seating areas with plug sockets to charge your smartphones, though most of these do not work, so are useless. There are also reclining type seats to lie down on and try and rest on. This is however very difficult, when they have their security staff making a lot of noise with their walkie talkies right next to them. In summary they have good basics, very poor selection of shops, sky high prices and terrible food and drinks. I do not recommend a long transit stay of more than 4 hours.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"a lot of outlets for shopping"

(India)

Trip Verified | I was traveling back to Hyderabad from Doha. There was a long queue at the check-in counters but it was cleverly managed by the Airport staff. The queue at the Immigration counters was arranged nicely by the Security personnel. The signs at the terminal were clear. There are a lot of outlets for shopping.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"plenty of seating areas"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Hamad Airport in Doha is a one terminal airport by the sea. Its size is relatively large, but still smaller than Dubai. On the departure level there is a separated area for business and first passengers. The check-in, passport control and security is quick, then passengers can enjoy the wide range of shops and restaurants. Departing passengers of the remote gates (C, D, E) can use the automated train, but it is not available for arriving passengers. The terminal is modern and clean with plenty of seating areas. There are quiet rooms to those who are not eligible for a lounge access! The airport hotel is accessible straight from the terminal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"not to my liking"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | As my first Middle East airport I was super excited to visit / transit through Doha on my way from Sydney to Paris. After a long flight I immediately noticed how big it is but very quickly determined that bigger is not better. Impressive architecturally it lacks the basic conveniences that most travellers require when transiting. Food limited, shops expensive in consideration of other peer airports and it has a somewhat locked up feeling and not as fresh and airy as most. The way finding was confusing and the rest areas dirty with inconsiderate passengers waste. $10 AUD for a bottle of water was a bit rough and luckily saved by a bubbler, which, whilst unhygenic, quenched by thirst in the dry surroundings. The experience did not get better on my return leg and have given up on the Middle East route as a means of getting to Europe despite the economical benefits of some of the airfares offered by the Middle East carriers. For me the journey is as much as the end destination and Doha was not to my liking.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no