Funchal Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 36 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
0/10

Funchal Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 5th November 2014

Horrible experience. Airport had been closed early in the day due to high winds and when I contacted the airport's office that morning they didn't even tell us that. Arrived at airport in mid-afternoon to find total chaos. Little if any communication was provided during wait at baggage drop-off security or at the gate. Approximately 5 different flights were being handled at one time at one gate. There was nearly a stampede as multiple flights were being loaded simultaneously. Several seats were left empty on our flight although the flight was fully booked since many passengers were unaware the flight was even being boarded - no communication. I would never recommend going to Madiera to anyone due to this airport.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
0/10

Funchal Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 6th September 2014

Travelled back on Monday 1st Sep 2014 this was a truly dreadful experience queued for 2.5 hrs for check in. Check in desk then closed without notice while still in queue to another flight. Had to join the back of another queue to try and get to Gatwick via TAP Airlines. These have got to be the worst and most unhelpful staff of any airport. No explanation of any sort bordering on rude staff member said she would escort us through as flight was about to close only for her to abandon us before security. Have been using Funchal for last 13 years and over the last 2 it has got considerably worse. We only just caught our plane but this didn't seem to be of any concern to the staff. Absolutely dreadful.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
6/10

Funchal Airport customer review

Review by (Portugal) 20th July 2014

The embarking area is quite small and therefore a little bit suffocating. There's not a huge variety of shops but just enough of them for an airport the size of Madeira. Mondays and Thursdays are the busiest days. There are no air bridges so you most of the time will walk to your plane or to the terminal occasionally by bus if it's a busy day or it's raining. Security staff are friendly and most staff at the airport too. There is some possibility that due to high winds which are quite frequent in Madeira you'll have to go in circles around the island until the pilot is able to land. I frequently use the airport and it only happened last time I used the airport which was last week - July Summer - and it's more frequent during winter months though I flew a lot of times during winter and it never happened before. Rough landings are quite frequent too. On a final note the airport is cleaned to very high standards everywhere you go it seems neat. I never had to go through passport control until now but it seems like there's a chronic lack of staff in that area so be aware of that.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
0/10

Funchal Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 21st March 2014

On 17/3/2014 we flew from Funchal to Manchester. It took us over 1 hr 25 mins to queue for security. This is not acceptable. No explanation was given and staff were churlish. Rather than maximising the income through many shops it would be better to provide more security gates and spend more time on staff training for customer service. I travel a lot and have never experienced such long waiting times at any European airport. It harms the reputation of Madeira if one has to wait such an unacceptably long time.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
10/10

Funchal Airport customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 8th January 2014

This is a unique airport for two reasons. First the location is right on the sea - in fact the runway is partially on stilts over the coast! This gives great views. The second reason is the balcony area. The balcony is on the second floor extremely close to the aeroplanes which offers great views of the runway too. It's a fairly quiet airport though so not many planes landing/taking off. The other facilities are standard if not above average. The price of a coffee is about 1.35 Euro before security and there is a small shop that sells general supplies for reasonable prices. It's certainly a unique airport and combines with cheap espresso I rate it very highly.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
9/10

Funchal Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 2nd October 2013

Having read previous reviews arrived early. The easyjet check-in did not open until less than 2 hours prior to takeoff. Once open check-in was slow but steady. Airport security adequate with delays minimal. Staff were all professional and friendly. Limited eating facilities airside but plenty of seating. By all accounts Mondays are extremely busy with the airport very busy. Fortunately I avoided Monday and the experience was pleasant.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
7/10

Funchal Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 13th May 2013

Arrival no airbridges at Funchal aircraft parked on stand almost directly outside terminal building. Terminal is quite large for a regional airport and of a modern design. Passport control seemed quick and efficient in all queues apart from mine I guess I was just unlucky in getting the fussiest immigration officer in Madeira I eventually hopped over the ropes to the next desk and was processed immediately. Bags arrived quickly and I reckon the whole process from disembarkation to clearing customs took no more than 15 minutes albeit the airport wasn't busy at the time. Departure - no major problems. Just two check-in desks open for my flight so a queue built up quickly and only one member of staff carrying out security / boarding card checks en-route to the airside area. Once airside plenty of retail opportunities but limited seating both in the terminal area and at the departure gates. Passport control has several automated e-passport lanes in addition to good old fashioned immigration officers. Toilets were clean. All in all the departure experience was quick and painless but this was on a quiet Saturday morning and apart from my half-full A319 there was only one other small turboprop aircraft on the apron. From reading other reviews it seems like the airport struggles if several flights depart at around the same time.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
1/10

Funchal Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 19th February 2013

Spent 6 horrible hours yesterday trying to depart from Funchal. Completely agree with previous comments on the lengthy queues as the airport failed to deal competently with the Monday departure of about eight flights to the UK. Passengers on our flight (Jet2 to Manchester) suffered the added frustration of being advised by the display that the aircraft was boarding at its expected time. Passengers passed through passport control only to arrive at the jammed departure gates area for British flights and eventually be told that the aircraft was not even at Funchal having diverted to Porto Santo. Clearly nobody thought to override whichever computer thinks that the airport runs smoothly every day. Eventually we got away nearly four hours late but at least three of these could have been spent in less cramped conditions.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
0/10

Funchal Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 8th November 2012

This used to be a lovely airport but it is now so busy on a Monday it is absolutely diabolical. We arrived at the terminal on 8th October over two hours before flight departure before our flight was listed on the departures board. We walked up and down until we found Easyjet queue. We then waited in this check-in queue for just over an hour! We then spent 55 minutes in the boarding pass check and security queues. After then passing through passport check queue (not to bad) we then entered the bedlam in the gates lounge. The queues for each gate was so long it was difficult to move around and find the end of the queue for our flight. All these huge queues were so slow we would have missed our flight had it not been delayed by headwinds on the journey from UK.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
3/10

Funchal Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 7th November 2012

Seemed OK on arrival but just flown home from there and stood in a queue that snaked round departure check in for over an hour just to be allowed up escalator to join another queue for security. Only three staff on duty on a Monday - apparently one of the most busy days. Then joined another queue for passport control- beware- by the time the information boards were asking our flight to go to passport control passengers were already boarding the plane! My advice don't waste time shopping ignore airport instructions and get through security and passport control ASAP - there is a coffee bar and loos beyond that point but don't expect to be able to sit down for a couple of hours!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
1 to 10 of 36 Reviews