Funchal Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 44 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Departure is a farce"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Due to extreme weather, our BA flight was delayed three days - after the first cancellation, we struggled to find a hotel for the night, there were a great number of passengers doing the same thing. Eventually, (I had lots of time) I found there was an information desk but it was hidden in the corner of the check-in area, some indication in the arrivals hall would have helped. During one of our periods of waiting we discovered the cafe on the third floor which has access to a roof terrace, surprisingly there is no security required to reach this area and you are then 50 metres from the aircraft with unlimited views - great for plane watching but from a security point-of-view, worrying. Departure is a farce, from gate 16 to the aircraft was less than 50 metres but you have to be bussed, as the local handling agent was very slow helping those passengers requiring assitance; we waited on the bus for some time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"avoid at all costs"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | After spending a fabulous stay on Madeira we arrived at Funchal airport to await our return to Manchester. Check in was excellent, coffee and cakes at one of the cafes near the viewing area were very good. My wife decided to buy some sandwiches for the flight home and visited Portfolio and bought 2 sandwiches, one of which cost 6.50 euros for what turned out to be a plain bread cake, a paltry piece of parma ham and a slice of cheese. It was, arguably, the worst sandwich we had ever encountered, avoid at all costs!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"improved this airport a lot in the last year or so"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | They have improved this airport a lot in the last year or so, particulary on departures, expanding it and creating wider spaces and more shops and bars. The security screening is also more extensive. Cleanliness remains a particular strong point. They have a broad smoking area outside where you can watch landings and take offs.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"a modern and very nice airport"

(Portugal)

The changes in the departure area (bigger duty free shop, more shops and better quality ones and nice couches with fantastics view over the sea) turn Funchal into a modern and very nice airport. Now Funchal is at the same level as other small international airports in Europe.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"would rate Funchal Airport as being miles ahead"

(United Kingdom)

I have travelled in and out of Madiera a dozen or so times. I have experienced delays, queues and the limited facilities in comparison to other larger airports. I can only say that I would rate Funchal Airport as being miles ahead of the poor efforts of any of the UK airports in handling passenger throughput. To complain about queues at airports suggests a traveller with a private jet or prefferencial check in and boarding terms. Well done Funchal, digital passport controls always work.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

Funchal Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

This is a hopeless place with no organisation and limited capacity. Old fashioned queue to single check in desks. Queue out of door so open extra desk and bring people from back to clear door leaving the rest of us like cattle. Considering already checked in online, baggage drop took ages. This is a sign the airport can not cope with demand. Security check was ridiculous as only four channels for hundreds of passengers. The staff were very nice but hugely overworked. Made our way through passport control as usual,big mistake, All the shops are prior to passport control. The duty free is a couple of shelves, no stock or choice. Boarding was a shambles staff walking the line checking boarding cards and passports but not checking passengers joining family groups or the second side line. Once through gate full bus still at stand but we were forced out of the building into the sun and fumes to make room for more people to crush through the gate. When I asked what the delay was, I was told that they were waiting for a bus. The fact this first bus was still there did not seem to suggest it was moved. We could have walked to the plane it was only 2 minutes away.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

Funchal Airport customer review

(Belgium)

Modern airport, smooth check-in, very friendly staff, good terrace, free wifi (slow).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

Funchal Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Compact but well-signposted, great viewing area, quick check-in, efficient passport and security checks (unlike Manchester with its interminable queues) and a small selection of shops and places to eat. With the exception of the passport and customs staff, the people are friendly and efficient. Pleasant place to wait for a flight and fly from - recommended.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
na

Funchal Airport customer review

(United States)

Horrible experience. Airport had been closed early in the day due to high winds and when I contacted the airport's office that morning they didn't even tell us that. Arrived at airport in mid-afternoon to find total chaos. Little if any communication was provided during wait at baggage drop-off security or at the gate. Approximately 5 different flights were being handled at one time at one gate. There was nearly a stampede as multiple flights were being loaded simultaneously. Several seats were left empty on our flight although the flight was fully booked since many passengers were unaware the flight was even being boarded - no communication. I would never recommend going to Madiera to anyone due to this airport.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
na

Funchal Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Travelled back on Monday 1st Sep 2014 this was a truly dreadful experience queued for 2.5 hrs for check in. Check in desk then closed without notice while still in queue to another flight. Had to join the back of another queue to try and get to Gatwick via TAP Airlines. These have got to be the worst and most unhelpful staff of any airport. No explanation of any sort bordering on rude staff member said she would escort us through as flight was about to close only for her to abandon us before security. Have been using Funchal for last 13 years and over the last 2 it has got considerably worse. We only just caught our plane but this didn't seem to be of any concern to the staff. Absolutely dreadful.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 44 Reviews