Chiang Mai Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 41 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"friendly and helpful employees"

(United States)

Not Verified | Upon arrival in Chiang Mai, we had to take the bus to the terminal, which thankfully was a quick trip. Customs was fast and the baggage claim was easy. Even as a small airport, there were friendly and helpful employees. It was easy to get around, especially finding taxis. I would prefer Chiang Mai over Bangkok airport, and I will continue to go to this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"worst airport I have visited"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | This is the worst airport I have ever visited - and I have visited many. All flights were cancelled on New Year's Eve - yet foreigners were not contacted to inform of the cancellations of their flights. Both the airlines and airport continued to show flights scheduled long after the airport had been closed (see attached). There were no airline staff in the airport and the information staff were beyond useless, leaving people stranded in the airport overnight, many losing a lot of money on connecting flights. The information staff refused to help and even refused to let people use the phones. We were not offered so much as a glass of water. People from Germany, the USA, the UK were simply told "come back tomorrow". When I asked to speak to a manager, a very rude and unpleasant female member of staff on the information desk told me: "You can speak to the police" and called airport security police. Meanwhile the security personnel were lying about on the floor and across seats. Until this point we have received no compensation for the cancelled flights, nor any apology. Since I have now discovered that Chiang Mai airport frequently closes at times of celebration, citing the reason that planes cannot take off when there are fireworks/lanterns, I strongly suggest you do not go there. They have no respect for foreigners, and are simply interested in taking our cash.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"super easy to navigate"

(United States)

Verified Review | This was one of my favorite airports in Thailand (also helps that Chiang Mai is just such a beautiful place). The airport was clean and super easy to navigate, had a good selection of places to buy things from and when arriving we got a great cheap price on a taxi. Unlike Bangkok, we were not asked for an outrageous price to get to our hotel, it was a simple 150 baht to get across town (about $4.50 USD). Very organized, I'd go back anytime!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"airport very crowded, sometimes not enough seats"

(Thailand)

I was traveling to NYC, USA, on 24 Feb, 2017. Airport very crowded, sometimes not enough seats and seats were uncomfortable. No water fountain on ground level, one water bottle on second level to serve too many people so there was a long queue. I finally gave up and bought a bottle of water. Ladies room had no soap, no paper towels, no hand drier. Very unsanitary! In contrast, the facilities at the Seoul airport were cleaner, had hand soap, paper towels, and comfortable seats.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not enough space for all the people"

(China)

Arrived into Chiang Mai on the 31st of December from Luang Prabang in Laos, and it was chaos! Several Chinese flights arrived at the same time and there was not enough space for all the people. No staff available to direct the people and nobody knew where the line started. With only 4 officers on duty, it took us more than 2 hours to get through immigration. My pre-booked driver left because he thought I was not on the flight and there was no way to contact him because the airport wi-fi was not working. They desperately need to change the international arrivals area to accommodate all the passengers. Departure was a domestic flight to Bangkok which was a bit better than the horrific experience in the international arrivals terminal. Will definitely avoid this airport in the future as far as I can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I recommend staying well away from Chiang Mai"

(Thailand)

Avoid flying into Chiang Mai on an international flight at all costs. I have been here two and a half hours now (and still waiting) trying to get through passport control. The queue is one and a half to two hours long. That's a problem for me as I have a damaged leg and can't stand in one place for an hour. The pain starts to get bad at 30 minutes. Never been a problem at any other airport. Unfortunately, I don't have a doctor's certificate. Until they either build another terminal or perhaps limit arrivals I recommend staying well away from Chiang Mai International. Pass through immigration in Bangkok or even Phuket and then fly domestic.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
7/10

"staff were exceptionally slow"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I had thought Chiang Mai would be more pleasant and less busy than BKK, but I was wrong. A long queue at the foreigners security check and the staff were exceptionally slow. We were fortunately one of the first passengers off the flight and near the front of the queue but it still took nearly 40 mins to get through. Those passengers last off the flight would have to have waited much longer. Staff seemed to have little interest in what they were supposed to be doing and were constantly doing other things (such as looking at their phones). Once through this the baggage reclaim was a dream since all the bags were already on the carousel. Return experience through domestic terminal much better. Check-in smooth and security checks were reasonably quick. Lounge not very comfortable but at least there were plenty of seats.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"service is impeccable"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | I found Chiang Mai Airport domestic to be fine, there is some room for improvement as the building is now overcapacity. It is old, giving a claustrophobic feel, terminal extension may cause a tatty feeling, arriving passengers will find themselves having to wait outside for a limousine service. Despite those cosmetic defects, service is impeccable. Their staff accommodate passengers quickly, while always wearing a smile. Distance to city is short and taxi service is cheap. On my return, I spent just a few minutes from check in counter, security, and to departure hall. Plenty of food choices at inexpensive price range.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"queueing times minimal"

(Thailand)

Arrived at the furthermost gate at Chiang Mai airport and had to walk quite a long distance to get to the baggage claim. Plenty of food options before security. Staff are willing to assist, but not always fluent in English. Located pretty close to the city and easy to access by car, but the pick-up / drop-off area should be more organised. Because of its small size comparative to Phuket, queueing times minimal.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"truly efficient"

(France)

Truly efficient on arrival with luggage quickly on the belt, less on departure as the airport has become too small for its traffic. A big plus is that it is very close from the city, the drawback is that all over town you hear the planes. Departure is not quite as efficient with more quieus but honestly acceptable. The 2 airline lounges (Thai Airways and Bangkok Airways) are always overcrowded. Staff in general are not as nice as in other Thailand airports for some unknown reason: I have been through this one at least 20 times and it's always the same, be it airline or airport staff.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 36 Reviews