Chania Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 14 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Incredibly rude"

(Sweden)

Not Verified | Boarding was delayed by more than one hour. I approached the staff - including the terminal supervisor - to ask them to inform a very long line of families with very small children that the flight was delayed. Believe it or not, I was told by one of the check-in staff at the gate that the flight was not delayed! I asked her to look at the screen where it stated the departure time as 00.05 and pointed out that the time now was 00.40. She scoffed, the terminal supervisor turned her back on me and continued to chat to the check-in staff. Incredibly rude! Incredibly unaware that the airport might need to have passengers to survive and that there is something called customer service. I will definitely avoid anything to do with this airport in the future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"the whole building is welcoming"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I am sat in a light and airy air conditioned building drinking Cappicino Freddo. The queue for checking in was small but very organised and the whole building is welcoming. Arrival was just as good although a slight wait for baggage due to three aircraft coming in close together. This airport has come on a lot since last year and I recommend it. The indicator boards all seem to be working ok and the WiFi is good. What more can you want. Don’t blame the airport for things they don’t control.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"provided the wrong information"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Terrible! Our flight has been delayed for more than an hour, just as our arrival flight and the previous flights from this airport. On moments like this you depend on the information screens on the airport to be able to know when to board. The information screens provided the wrong information and so we had already missed our flight once we got to the gate! According to the staff it was our fault because we had to be in the gate while the screens told there was no boarding.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Good food available"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrival to Chania airport was easy, no hold ups and straight through to a waiting taxi. Departing was just as easy and again no hold ups. Good food available. Toilets were very clean as was the whole airport. It was a pleasure to arrive and depart from Chania airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"prepare for bad service"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | So what has changed since the rebuild and the takeover by Fraport? Nothing! Same check-on procedures, if you booked business with any airline it’s worth nothing! Queues at check-in, queues at security, no lounge. Why would one book business flying to and from CHQ if there’s no benefit attached to it. It might not be the airports fault but there’s no such thing that rectifys airline charging a premium for nothing, but the airport management doesn’t seem to care at all. The shopping prices however are in line with Fraport. High price, no service, as usual. But HER is as bad so if you need to fly to Crete, try to prepare for a bad service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"staff are not well prepared"

(Sweden)

Unverified | Chania Airport seems to have a lot of passengers traveling but I feel the staff are not well prepared to handle them. Most of the staff say they don't know when you ask basic help. The food counters available in the terminal are very few and do not have enough space for the customer to be seated.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Crete is wonderful, airport is poor"

(Sweden)

Arrival at Chania was not bad, neither was it good. It is a small airport, didn't experience any problems at arrival. A week later we went to the airport as we were to travel home. We had a bus to the airport (charter), the guide showed us were we should check in. First we should weigh our bags and get our boarding passes and baggage tags. It went quite slow, the staff didn't work very fast. Then we had to take our bags and drop them in another place. Since we had 1.5 hours left until boarding we decided to sit down a bit before going upstairs to the security controls. However, there were no seats so we had to sit on the floor, which wasn't very clean. Visited the toilet, they were awful – worst toilets I've ever visited. After that we decided to go upstairs were we would go through the security controls. Three queues, also here the staff didn't work fast. Only two of the detectors were in use, which created a mess since many passengers had a lot of hand luggage. Anyway, we got through and decided to buy snacks for the flight in the tax-free store. It doesn't have that much variety, but it was good enough. Crete is a wonderful island, too bad the airport is poor.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"love Crete, hate Chania Airport"

(United Kingdom)

Arriving to Chania was fine but departing was really stressful. Worst airport I have ever been to. Utter chaos. Had to queue outside in the midday sun as we were not allowed in as the terminal was too small. TUI travel reps had no idea what was happening. Finally allowed in airport with flight due to depart in 45 mins. Then had to queue to check bags in. Was sent to the wrong check-in desk 3 times by travel reps. Once labels are on suitcase you have to take them yourself to be x-rayed - more queueing. Long queues at passport control, and hand luggage control. Flight was delayed due to check-in nightmare. Also only 1 female toilet at departure gate with no toilet paper. Love Crete, hate Chania Airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"departure was utter chaos"

(United Kingdom)

Arrival into Chania went smoothly and as expected for a small airport. Departure, however, was a different matter - utter chaos. Tour groups waiting in queues outside the airport was the first indication of trouble. Check in for BA business class was OK but after check in, we were told to join another queue with everyone else in the airport to drop our cases. Because the airport was so crowded, we could not tell where the queue began and there was no airport staff directing proceedings. There was no priority queue for business class or disabled people. As my husband was using a crutch after an operation, we ended up just pushing in. When we got to the front of the queue, there were just two scanners for the cases. I would say that you would need to allow at least 3 hours to get checked in, drop your baggage and get through security. Some people had clearly been waiting in the queues for a long time as they were telling staff that they were getting close to missing their flights. Security was OK. Airside was chaos again with no information about flights - our flight was delayed for an hour and there were no announcements and the staff did not have a clue what was going on. Seating and facilities were very limited and there is no VIP/business lounge - despite what the airport website says (a fact that BA also did not mention). The airport is currently being extended but they need to work on the passenger experience or we will bot be returning, which is disappointing because Crete is a great holiday destination.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"never experienced any major issues"

(United Kingdom)

We have been flying into Chania for the past 14 years and have never experienced any major issues with this typical Greek (primarily holiday) airport. OK, so the queues at check in can be a bit chaotic and the baggage reclaim is 'interesting' especially when the Gatwick baggage handlers decided to send my case via Munich for some inexplicable reason. The duty free shopping is well stocked, taxi ranks are well ordered, hire car areas clearly designated, food is available airside, but not inspiring. Departure lounges are basic and occasionally the aircon works which makes for a pleasant wait. Having been flying into Greece now for close on 40 years, compared to some of the 'arrival and departure' areas I have experienced Chania is pretty good.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 14 Reviews