Bucharest Otopeni Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 66 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"one of the worst airports"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | This is one of the worst airports I have ever transited. Otopeni airport became increasingly more crowded in recent years and nothing was done to improve travel conditions for passengers. The queues for check-in, security check and passport control (especially on arrival) are most of the time quite long. Automatic passport/boarding pass control is completely unheard of. The waiting time for luggage pick-up is even longer (prepare to wait for 20-30 minutes or more). There is a fairly good amount of restaurants for the size of this airport, but with very few seating places. The food and beverage prices are extremely high compared to the city and you don't even get decent conditions to sit and eat. The gate seating areas are equally small for the rising number of passengers. The way to the gate is even more overcrowded, with gate queues blocking your way. The absolute worst of all are the toilets. There are way too few toilets for the number of passengers, in very bad condition (broken toilet seats, water not running) and always dirty. They're literally a health hazard to the passengers. The whole airport is basically smelly, from the moment you step into the terminal. Upon arrival, the queue to the only toilet I found on the way to the exit was so long I had to quit and ask my Uber driver to stop at a gas station. On top of it all, the attitude of the airport staff is very rude (e.g. there was a closed toilet and when I asked if I may use it I got a very rude "find another one" reply from the staff).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"extremely expensive catering"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | No seating or waiting area land-side before check-in opens; extremely expensive catering concession prices, e.g. RON 10 for a bottle of water costing less than RON 2 in the City; very poor passenger announcements.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"this is insulting"

(Turkey)

Trip Verified | Not a bad airport actually although check in speed, luggage delivery speed and the facilities could be better of course. Arrival is quick and easy, departure too, what I find insulting though are the prices you pay for pretty much everything there. Food and drink prices are between 4-5 times the prices of any other place in Romania. A beer that sells in a bar in town for 5-7 Lei is 25 Lei at the airport, please, this is insulting. Duty free prices are a joke, (The name of the duty free store is "Best value", that in itself is a joke). Everything is just overpriced. They have a very nice selection of Romanian wines where I would have bought a bottle but prices are 2-3 times that of any shop in the country and all duty free must be paid in Euro or Dollar, no Lei's accepted so you can't get rid of the change you have. Not sure what their business strategy is, to me it's just silly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a real disappointment"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | For the main airport in the EUs sixth biggest city, a real disappointment. Transport to and from is by bus or taxi and there’s nothing “express” about the express bus service. My main issue with this airport is the extortionate prices for “duty free” and food and drink in the terminal - small water is 13 Lei, on the street you might pay 2. Food is more expensive than any airport I have ever flown from in the rest of Europe or the US, which is odd as the prices outside the airport are lower than many European cities. At the duty free, you can’t spend any Lei that you might have left over, it is Euro or USD, not that you would want to as you can find it all on any European high street at a better price. No sense of urgency at security or passport control.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff are unprofessional and grumpy"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | One of the worst airports I have ever seen, medium size, no waiting area with just a few chairs at the entrance. Everything extremely expensive (2.60euro for a small bottle of water!) and worst of all the staff are unprofessional and grumpy! Organise yourself to spend the least possible amount of time either arriving or leaving from Bucharest.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Small and overcrowded"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Small and overcrowded airport with passengers queuing at gates spilling over into the main passageway of the terminal. Not a particularly well designed, modern or efficient facillty. Poor value for money at the Duty Free Shop where local currency is refused in favour of the euro or dollar. Local money has to be exchanged at poor rates of exchange to be able to make duty free purchases. Apparently this is the law, so the assistant in the shop told me. Can't help feeling that visitors are being unashamedly overcharged through rate exchange manipulations. This airport still has some way to go to catch up with other EU capital airports in terms of its scope of facilities, staff friendliness and convenience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"friendly to the passengers"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | This is a great airport, I am always out in 10 minutes. Passport control is fast and efficient (incoming and outgoing), Free trolleys for the bags, and if we fly Lufthansa the bags will take a minute to be in the hall (really). The airport is not big, but is efficient (if you are travel with decent airlines). Out of the plane, passport control, Bags, no more than 10 to 15 minutes. It works, is friendly to the passengers is what I have to say.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"unsympathetic and unapologetic"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Wait at the baggage drop at 5.30am on 1st October 2017 was well over one hour due to belt technical problems. No communication from check in staff. They seemed unsympathetic and unapologetic. Many, like myself, feared missing my flight despite being at the airport 2 hrs before departure time. Unacceptable for any airport not to have contingency plans in place should an event like this occur.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"terrible experience at this airport"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Absolutely terrible experience at this airport. The queue for customs was far too long and no staff were there to organise the people into lines so everyone was pushing into the front. It was very dangerous with lots of small children in the "rabble" This resulted in lots of people missing or being late for flights. The airport should organise their staff better for lines to be under control and to stop this from happening. Personally I'll avoid flying from this airport ever again. Flying is stressful enough without an absolute shambles of a customs and passport check.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"hassled to go to my boarding gate"

(Spain)

Verified Review | I am allergic to latex so I asked the woman at the control to change her latex gloves. She refused and I had to insist. Then she removed them, and with no other gloves and her hands full of latex proceeded, with very bad manners, in a humiliating way while critizasing me with his colleagues thinking I couldn't understand a word. I tried unsuccessfuly to find a customer service desk. I asked two different policemen I was both times denied the chance to write a formal complaint, and hassled to go to my boarding gate and forget about it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 61 Reviews