Top 100 Airports  

Bucharest Otopeni Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 41 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"a stressful airport experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Otopeni is a chaotic airport. At 5.15 am on a Monday morning it was hot, humid and packed full of people. The queuing is crazy. Queue No.1 Despite having pre-printed boarding passes, my colleague had a non-EU passport so had to queue at check-in to have it stamped. Waited 15 minutes to get to the front, they then contradicted the instruction on the boarding pass and told him they didn't need to stamp it. Fifteen minutes wasted. Queue No.2 There are two large entrances to the boarding gates. There was 150m queue in front of each. Took 30 minutes to get through. Queue No.3 You clear security and have to immediately queue again for passport control. Luckily only 5-6 minutes. It took 50 minutes from arrival at the terminal to gate No.4, one of the first. All in all a stressful airport experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"check in took 40 minutes"

(Turkey)

Arrival at Bucharest Otopeni was fine and fairly quick. Departure on the other hand was awful. There is virtually no place to sit before check in except in one small restauarnt where they charge 4 times the city price. The airport is stuffy and very hot, check in took 40 minutes. I have never ever seen a check in that slow. Then comes the worst part - security. 2 x-ray machines only with 15-20 people in each queue. With people trying to handcarry forbidden items such as large sharving cream, bottles of water etc they take the time to argue for minutes with those passengers instead of just sending them back. In 2016 people should know how to travel.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"getting more disorganised and crowded"

(Romania)

The airport is getting more disorganised and crowded. Prepare to get very frustrated as each queue is in fact a pile of people shoving to get in front. The airport management seems to be unable to cope with increased traffic. Unfortunately, waiting 30 mins to an hour to get through security is not the exception anymore. They don't bother with general maintenance and cleanliness either - e.g. floor coverings coming apart and smelly toilets.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"going from bad to worse"

(United Kingdom)

Being a regular visitor to Bucharest airport, I have to say it's going from bad to worse. The airport now ban LPG taxis (which is most taxis in Bucharest) and have increased the fee to drivers. Waiting time up to 1 hour as the taxi ticket machines are usually very busy.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not a good experience"

(United Kingdom)

The inside temperature in the airport was far to hot and not comfortable. Having this temperature is not healthy when we are carrying bags and coats. Security took far too long as not enough desks were open. I am afraid it was not a good experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"food and drink are unjustifiably expensive"

(Romania)

Good experience again, from drop-off to baggage claim at return, all was OK. My complaint regards the food/drinks which are unjustifiably expensive. The vending machines are real bandits, avoid or try to use the exact money indicated, don't expect to receive your change (if you're lucky and you item is actually delivered).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"overall facilities much better airside than prior to security"

(Serbia)

Very few places to sit, completely overpriced food and beverages except in the supermarket which is in the domestic terminal. Huge queues at security and rude/ignorant staff, it could take at least half an hour to pass security in peak hours so plan ahead. The airport check-in staff didn't have our plane's configuration in the system after a last-minute equipment change (ATR 72-500) so they had to write the boarding passes manually and we had to carry our luggage to the plane. Overall facilities much better airside than prior to security. The good sides are good public transportation to the city, smokers friendly airport as some people noticed and albeit overpriced, plenty of food and shopping options. Overall a good airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

Bucharest Otopeni Airport customer review

(Romania)

Improvement in cleanliness and staff. Smooth process for drop-off, security, frontier and boarding, fast baggage on belt at return. Smokers friendly airport. The food/ drinks in restaurants are expensive for Romanian standards, at least.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
1/10

Bucharest Otopeni Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Nearly missed my plane, in spite of arriving at airport in good time. One of two Security Gates has to be chosen according to designated Departure Gate, but latter is not shown on screen in Departures Hall. Security itself was chaotic. I was ordered into a queue which took more than twenty-five minutes just to reach the scanning equipment (one man was observing two scanners at once). After my laptop was scanned, I was told to start it up and then turn it off, meaning even more time was lost. Passport control was slow: in total it took more than thirty-five minutes between entering security and entering the departure lounge, by which time my flight was closing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping N/A
Wifi Connectivity N/A
no
7/10

Bucharest Otopeni Airport customer review

(Netherlands)

We transferred from a TAROM flight to KLM and our experience was smooth. The facilities airside are two folded the last part of the pier with our boarding gate (12) was looking nice and modern the first part looked bit shabby and worn down seen the economic reality in Romania it was high standard. I can't make any statement about the landside but the transfer security was lacking proper English skills and it was hard to communicate and get what they wanted which gives you the impression that these people are rude. In fact they aren't if you look into their body language as well.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 40 Reviews