Bucharest Otopeni Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 54 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"hassled to go to my boarding gate"

(Spain)

Verified Review | I am allergic to latex so I asked the woman at the control to change her latex gloves. She refused and I had to insist. Then she removed them, and with no other gloves and her hands full of latex proceeded, with very bad manners, in a humiliating way while critizasing me with his colleagues thinking I couldn't understand a word. I tried unsuccessfuly to find a customer service desk. I asked two different policemen I was both times denied the chance to write a formal complaint, and hassled to go to my boarding gate and forget about it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"all processes were fast"

(Romania)

Verified Review | Our departure to Florence was on Sunday, March 12 and the airport wasn't so crowded. All processes were fast and the staff were kind enough. In the shopping area I was delighted to see that the traditional Romanian products section was upgraded. The products are well presented and correctly priced. Good! A nice experience this time. No so good on the return, we spent some time waiting for documents control and baggage claim, but all in all was acceptable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"airport is generally painfully crowded"

(Romania)

Verified Review | Security checks are extremely slow in the old departure hall, neither are they better in the new terminal. The airport is generally painfully crowded in the morning for departures, and then in the evening in the arrivals area.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"this airport is a total failure"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | This airport is a total failure, mainly because of the staff. Security screening is a nightmare, as staff have no idea how important the time element is for travellers. Today, just ahead of myself was a lady that essentially had her hand luggage stuffed with liquids that were over the allowance. It took more than 20 minutes to screen her while I was waiting. It did not occur to any of the 20 plus purposelessly wandering around staff to take the passenger aside for a full check and move ahead with the security line. And when confronted about her total lack of efficacy, staff were arrogant and repeating that she was doing her job. This is just the most vivid example. There are plenty of little things like people jumping the queue without anyone saying a word, extortionate prices at the shops, not very polite staff altogether. This is clearly an airport that does not deserve any praise and it is a shame that this is the first glimpse of the country someone gets.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"there is a lot of improvement needed"

(Germany)

Verified Review | No matter if departing or arriving you have to be prepared to wait in enourmous lines. I must say that arriving now has improved by the opening of extra passport control desks in the new terminal and it now takes less time. Quite an improvement and a nice surprise for the customers. When leaving it is not the same thing. 45 minutes waiting time at security is not unheard of and you can add some more time for passport control, and that at 5 am because at around 6 am there are plenty of airlines taking off. I guess the maximum capacity of passengers a year has been reached and from here come all the problems. The ground staff try to help but I don't think there is anything that can be done in the short term. A downside of this airport is the connection with the city, there are some buses, but they are small and inefficient. They must provide a lot of space for luggages (these are airport buses after all) but aparently they are just common buses that take more than 1hr to get to the centre. A shameful side of this airport are the prices. When you offer a coffee for 5,5€ or a sandwich for 7€ it is disrepectful to passengers. Now there is a Billa Supermarket located in the arrivals hall which has good prices so finally there is an alternative. As a conclusion: there is a lot of improvement needed.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"the terminal is clean and the temperature is adequate"

(Romania)

Verified Review | The 780 and 783 express busses are the cheapest and safest way to get to the airport and back to the city, however they are usually crowded. The authorities have to invest a lot in the expansion, since the number of passengers is rapidly growing. In the common areas are there are some cafeterias, however are ridiculously expensive. There is a Tarom drop off counter (I am not sure if the accept only Tarom baggage) which is cool if you have done your check-in at home and you just need to leave your baggage. Usually queens to security control are big and the waiting time is abt. 5-10 minutes (sometimes 1 minute, depending on the number of flights) and passport control is working very slow. However recently they opened new passport control cabins. After the passport control there are duty free shops. Expensive and restaurants as well. Vending machines, a 0.5 l. bottle of water costs 10 lei (abt 2.2 Euro). There are a lot of chairs and places to rest. The terminal is OK. Not interactive - just stay and wait. Bathrooms are clean and not crowded. Overall the terminal is clean and the temperature is adequate. There are plenty of signs and directions so it's practically impossible to get lost.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"security process took 55 minutes"

(United Kingdom)

I have been travelling to Romania for 15 years and Bucharest airport has progressively got worse with regards to unbelievable queuing times. Before check-in I was ripped off by the restaurant in the new arrivals area. I was charged for a ridiculous amount for a coffee. The menu offered a price of 16 Lei but when I went to pay it turned into 24 Lei, which is nearly 5 GBP. I have been all over the world and this is the most expensive place to eat or drink. Not only is it expensive but the size of the drink is miniscule. After this experience I then entered the security process, which took 55 minutes. My question is who regulates this? All other international airports are monitored for queuing times and acceptable timescales. Then after this debacle comes duty free, this is more expensive than any high street in the UK/USA or any other capital city. People will just buy nothing from this airport until this it realises that ripping people off is not the way forward.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"generally very dissatisfied"

(Greece)

I've travelled through Bucharest airport many times and generally very dissatisfied. The airport layout is bad and if you don't know it by heart you won't find your way. The renovation has improved the building but the best of all is the Billa supermarket which offers food and everything you need in very low price.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"airport is generally painfully crowded"

(Italy)

The access to the security checks is extremely slow in the old departure hall. 1 minute walk to the right is another access to security checks in the new departure hall which is invariably empty due to an obvious reason - lack of signals and directional information in the old departures hall. The airport is generally painfully crowded seeming a shopping mall in busy Christmas periods, the halls being designed to cope 1970s traffic at best. In the departure halls before check-in counters there is an acute lack of seats. But the most annoying thing is yet to come - baggage claim. In OTP I have experienced the longest waiting times for baggage claim, which is in no way justified looking at the size of the airport, the aircraft being generally very close to the terminal. As a final note - runaways need serious surface smoothing works and not just fill cracks with tar and some cosmetic works around the runaways and taxiways would be good - it is not good for a tourist first glimpse through the aircraft porthole at Romania to be wild grass grown free, rusted fences and vintage aircraft left to decay around.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"staff were efficient"

(Romania)

Verified Review | Bucharest Airport is increasingly crowded. At the time of departure (early morning) stayed in line 20 min approx. for security process in an unventilated atmosphere. Returned, late night, I spent some time waiting for our luggage, the belt assigned listed three flights that had landed. Otherwise, all was ok. The staff were efficient considering the number of passengers, clean toilets, poor offer of food/drinks). For me the bonus is that Bucharest Otopeni is still a smokers friendly airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 52 Reviews