Vote Now  

Bristol Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 309 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Very badly organised and understaffed"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | Appalling airport! I queued for an hour at passport control to get in. Very badly organised and understaffed. At departure we were treated like cattle. Very long queues, badly organised and a lot of shouting staff. I will never use this airport again. They need to fix the airport before they expand the number of flights and not the other way round.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Utterly shambolic"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The old security system was pretty slow but the brand new, state of the art layout makes that look like a stroll through the park. Utterly shambolic. We were in the left hand queue, which then didn't move for nearly an hour. Speedy boarding passengers jump in front of that one queue meaning it doesn't go anywhere. When you're travelling with two small children who are desperately hanging on for the toilet it's a horrible experience. I live in Bristol but will recommend people drive to Heathrow/Gatwick/Manchester rather than submit themselves to the torture that Bristol airport has become. So disappointed. It wouldn't take much effort for this to be so much better but whoever designed this system is utterly clueless.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
7/10

"extensive seating and good dining options"

(United Kingdom)

Arrival and departure. Upon arrival, had to walk to baggage reclaim on uncovered walkway. Distance was obviously a struggle for some passengers with buggys, children etc. Stand at which aircraft arrived at had no airbridge, which would have significantly helped matters. Walk through cramped corridor to reclaim was off puting to airport - chipboard walls, mud on floor. Exit from arrivals very easy and was on the Flyer bus within 5 minutes. Departure was very easy. Online check in and carrying cabin luggage only. Security very quiet with no queues. Check-in queues also seemed quite small. Passed through security in seconds - attributable to very clear and efficient method and equipment. Bravo security workers. Departures hall very modern, although you are forced to walk through an extensive duty free to reach the gates -reminded me of the shopping mall which is Gatwick South Terminal. Once through, compact shopping areas with extensive seating and good dining options can be found.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"very poor service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I have flown from Bristol regularly over the last thirty years, I think the car park hasn't been resurfaced in that time despite the high cost of use, 45 quid for a week in advance. The last trip exit was very confusing getting out from it as barriers had been left up at random places with no signage? Never seen any buses from the long stay that I have seen which must be a pain for the less able bodied. Departure as always was fine, no problems with bag drop off and security etc this always seems ok in my experience. The overriding repeated and inexcusable experience and failure however is the immigration check process. I have actually queued as long as my flight has taken waiting to show passport whilst staring at a similarly unfortunate group of people off different flights across a corridor competing for access to a secondary cattle market system, the lame excuse that the staff give everytime is 'we weren't expecting so many flights' really? each time? They are scheduled about a year in advance so it shouldn't be a surprise? I know they are doing something (finally) with the immigration hall but why is this airport unable to process as fast as any of the other numerous airports that I have visited worldwide? Very poor service.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"the walk to leave the arrivals hall is now considerably longer"

(United Kingdom)

Just as they deal with one problem something else gets worse. I think the new security area and terminal are pretty good, up to the standard of most UK regional airports if not better. They are working on the immigration area, it desperately needs it. On the negative side the walk to leave the arrivals hall is now considerably longer than it used to be, not great if you have walked 300-400 metres from your aircraft. The worst of all is the long stay car park which is a shambles, a good proportion appears to be out of use which means finding a space is very difficult (took me 20 minutes this week). The bus service is pathetic, I have used this car park over 50 times and never used the bus - only very rarely seen it. They charge high prices to park in a small space on unpaved ground, there are few paths, on my return I slipped over on muddy ground, frankly they should be grateful I was not injured.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"no more flights out of Bristol for me"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | A very traumatic experience. On going through the metal detector, nothing was set off, but I was ordered to join a long queue for a full body scan. Nothing untoward was found as there was nothing to find. Meanwhile my kindle and iPad were out of my sight. Security is important but this is just unacceptable. I have 2 more flights already booked and am dreading them. There will probably be no more flights out of Bristol for me in the future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"security is the worst shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Bristol is probably the worst airport I have ever been to. Security, new as it is - is the worst shambles I have ever seen, even with the use of fast track. I have never (and I mean never) gone through security here without having to be scanned or take my shoes off. I have been travelling through the airport every week for a year so feel well qualified to comment. Arrivals with EasyJet involves a hike of massive proportions and passport control is the worst ever. The staff do try but unfortunately the systems in place do not lend themselves to enhance the experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"it's a nice cash cow for them"

(United Kingdom)

Bristol is not a good airport but the worst aspect is the long term parking. It is exceptionally expensive and crowded with an appalling surface (mud, gravel and potholes). The shuttle service is supposed to run every 15 minutes (in itself far too infrequent) but I have never seen a shuttle bus in about twenty visits. When I've complained, they simply say that you're wrong and that they provide an excellent service. Nothing could be further from the truth but they don't care as it's a nice cash cow for them.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"an absolute disaster"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | They must have spent a few bob at Bristol Airport installing new security equipment for scanning etc and it's an absolute disaster. Security staff standing around chatting and people's blood boil. They need an urgent redesign! Loads of people missing flights and no-one cares.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"avoid if at all possible"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The journey was a return flight to Malaga. The shocks started as soon as we arrived at the airport drop off point. A friend had kindly taken us and was very annoyed that he had to 'pay' for doing so. When he went to leave the only drop off area he found he could not do so without feeding a barrier machine. All over the place there were warning signs about no parking on the access roads, I'm sure all designed to funnel drivers into the money grabbing car parks. The next shock was to find that luggage trolleys cost £2 each. I travel regularly and this is the only airport I have been to that charges for this. Staff here seem to be paranoid about this as on our return we used a trolley to get to the pick up car park (again payment is demanded). In the car park we unloaded our trolley and I noticed an elderly couple looking a little bemused at the trolley payment machine. I called to them and gave them my trolley. A man approached immediately and said that this was not allowed. They were not 'transferable'. I told him to go away. I had paid for the use of the trolley and until I had finished using it for the purpose for which it was designed, he should mind his own business. When we landed from Malaga at around midnight or shortly before, a couple of other craft had arrived within minutes. After the walk from the aircraft along lengthy corridors and up and down flights of stairs we (hundreds of us including the elderly and very young children) found ourselves in a corridor and unable to go any further. Overhead TV screens kept displaying signs stating that there would be a delay as several flights had arrived together. The airport would have known this in advance and so it was not the cause of the delay which in actual fact was the fault of the number of Border Agency staff on duty - 2 in fact. hopelessly inadequate. There was nowhere for anyone to sit in the corridor, toddlers were upset and showing it and some of the elderly had taken to sitting on the floor. When I reached Border Control I told the officer that he and his agency should be ashamed of themselves. The level of service they were supplying was abysmal and visitors to this country must look upon us as a third world entity. His response was 'We had different flights arriving at the same time'. I answered that they would have known about this and should have made suitable arrangements. He just shrugged his shoulders and said that if I wished to wait, I could make a complaint. I told him that I had just come from Malaga, an airport with a vastly greater turnover than Bristol and which supplied far better service, less waiting, free drop off and collection of passengers and free trolleys. He said, 'I don't think so'. I could go on and on about other points about this airport such as baggage collection and the taxi franchise but the comments would all be extremely negative. This airport is punching way above its weight and does not deserve the grand Bristol International title. Avoid if at all possible. I am taking to using Cardiff or Exeter now and occasionally Gatwick. Traveling may be longer but at least you are in a happier frame of mind.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no