Airline of the Year  

Bordeaux Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 84 reviews
1/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"poorly staffed and slow"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The City of Bordeaux should be ashamed and embarrassed by this airport. It makes us hesitant to re-visit the area, as our experiences on arrival and departure were so unpleasant. On arrival, passengers were herded into a queue outside the terminal in the rain, as space inside the terminal is inadequate and immigration facilities poorly staffed and slow. Later we had to join a long, slow queue for car hire - in common with people using all the car hire firms, even though there had been only one or two flight arrivals. On departure, after a long journey, we were assured at check in that there were cafe facilities airside and so passed through security to find a long queue at the 'cafe-news' kiosk where one person was dispensing a very limited range of filled baguettes, crisps and drinks. Further long queues were involved in emigration procedures. At the gate, passengers were again herded to queue outside (this time in scorching sunshine). Inside the gate there were 2 machines for drinks and snacks, of which one was working. There is nothing good to say about this airport except that the lavatories were reasonably clean. The terminal facilities are wholly inadequate. I wonder what they charge passengers, via their air fares, for this very poor service.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"terrible signage and unfriendly staff"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Utter disgrace, the worst airport I have ever been to. Stood in line for 50 minutes just to get to security only to be told to stand in another line which was even longer so would have missed my flight if I hadn't pushed through the scrum to the front. The only reason for the delays was "because we have several flights at the same time" - you are an airport, thats what happens. Terrible signage and unfriendly staff. Its not rocket science to get this right. Strongly advise against using this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not a very good welcome"

(France)

Verified Review | I have probably used around 60+ airports in my lifetime all over Europe and North America and Bordeaux has to be the worst. On arriving with your car, you will find there are four car parks - confusingly called Parking 0, 1, 2 and 4. I don't know why they start at 0 and who has stolen parking 3 - but that's how it is. Also you don't know which to use as Parking 4 (the long stay) is more expensive than parking at another car park if you stay as long as 4 days (which to me is quite long). You will only find this out if you drive to the long stay car park and then back to car park 2. By the way, if you are dropping off people at the terminal be prepared for a traffic jam, as once you are in the lane you cannot pass the car in front and you have to wait whilst they drop their passengers off. You can easily waste 15 minutes here. Once you have parked, there is more confusion, the are three terminals A, B and Billi. What happened to C? I was in Billi terminal which is approximately 400 metre walk from the other two terminals, be prepared, if it's raining you will get wet. There is no cover and even if you arrive by taxi you will have to walk from the Taxi rank which is around 400 m away at the other two terminals. The terminal (corrugated iron shed) can be hot and airless, there are no tables for you to prepare for the necessary security checks and no chairs just after - so you have to sit on the floor to put your shoes back on. There are only two screens for displaying the flight information. On my return to this 'airport', there were at least two flights which arrived together, and we had to wait approximately 30+ minutes for the one customs officer to check passports, Of course by this time many people were dying to use the toilets, but there are none until you pass customs and then, wait for it, there was one male cubicle, no urinal, when we were there, there was a queue of 15 men waiting to use the toilet. Other facilities are a 400m walk in the rain. All In all this has to be the worst experience I have ever had in over 40 years of air travel, not a very good welcome to supposedly one of France's richest cities.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"it was awful"

(United Kingdom)

I wrote the first review of Billi in 2010, it was awful then and apart from one '4' and one '3' nobody has rated it higher than a '2' since. Although I have visited the region many times I have managed to avoid this horrible terminal until last month. So how was it? Well I am going to be honest and say not as bad as I feared, but that is because I was on the only flight scheduled in several hours: arrival was handled efficiently and with hand baggage only we were out in about 10 minutes, departing was very irritating but just about bearable. The really annoying thing about it is that you are being treated as rubbish because you are on a 'cheap' airline (only Easyjet and Ryanair appear to use it). I have news for the airport's management, these airlines are not always cheap and those of us who live near their bases have little choice but to use them - or are we supposed to transit through Paris on your precious Air France? An example of the sixth rate service, we arrived about two hours before departure to find no staff in the terminal. There are also no toilets in the check-in area (how is that allowed?) so I went to the nice 'normal' terminal about 100m away. It too was empty except for some soldiers and staff standing around looking bored, I noticed that one flight was scheduled between 6pm and the following morning. So a simple question, why can't all airlines use the main terminal? It is not exactly overstretched. No, instead you have to carry your own bags, suffer conveyers that don't join up through security, queue for everything and sit in a windowless shed. With a bit of luck the new TGV line will reduce air traffic and bring about the closure of this dump.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"all in all - torturous"

(France)

Verified Review | Flying in to Bordeaux from the wonderful Marco Polo Airport in Venice, we arrived at Bordeaux - what a come down - Hot. Cramped. Dirty. Only one male toilet cubicle (no urinal). Almost 20 men queuing. Also disgustingly filthy and smelly, being a Sunday, I'm sure there were no cleaners employed. Long queues (30 mins+) for passport control (only one officer on duty). No seats after check-in, so people were sitting on the dirty floor putting their shoes back on. Uncomfortable chairs. Hot and getting hotter due to poor Air-con. (and this was beginning of March). Only two screens displaying flight information. Piercing whining / screeching noise from some machine somewhere. A long, 500m walk in the rain (no cover) to the taxi rank. Poor signposting. Confusing car parks called 0, 1, 2 and 4. No machines to pay for parking. All in all - torturous.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the reality of no frills travel"

(United Kingdom)

Billi - This is the reality of no frills travel. It was the most unpleasant terminal I have been in - and I have had lots of experience across Africa and the Far East. It seems to have been designed on a de-minimis basis. The journey through the security and gate process was very stressful, and this was amplified by the attitude of the staff who no doubt find it stressful working in the building. If it was this bad on an off-peak weekend in January, it must be truly hideous during the summer. The best advice I picked up was to spend as much time as possible in the (empty) main terminal. If you do need to travel to this part of France, consider flying by BA or use another airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"bad seats, very uncomfortable"

(Belgium)

Bordeaux is one of the worst airports in the world. Unworthy of a country like France. Passengers are parked into a hangar like animals. No comfort, no aircon, bad seats, very uncomfortable.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the cattle shed that is Billi"

(United Kingdom)

Who invented the Billi Terminal? There is a beautiful airport at Bordeaux with space, cafes, seats, shops, lavatories, air conditioning and many, many check out desks. Don't get excited, if you're flying no frills you won't be going there. The check out desks are mostly closed in the main terminal, the torture begins in Billi. You will queue, and queue, and queue. You won't find a seat, there is a paltry selection of refreshments, there is no loo at check in and more queues for the loos when you are airside. If you've paid for speedy boarding it's very hit and miss that you will actually get it because they can't be bothered. Once you get to the departure lounge, usually after standing around for ages, you are likely to then be told to exit to the aeroplane, you think it's all over, it isn't. Last week, on a baking hot day, we all stood on the enclosed stairs to the tarmac for what seemed like a very long time as the sun was beating down on the metal enclosure. It is a terrible way to treat people. I like no frills flights, I'm happy not to have the frills, but I don't like to be treated as though I'm being processed by people who care nothing for my comfort and well being. There is a perfectly good airport standing almost empty, why in the world did they need to invent the cattle shed that is Billi? I tried to take a photo of the endless queue and I got a severe ticking off from security.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"causes so much stress"

(United Kingdom)

Well, after a lovely relaxing holiday in beautiful France it's a pity that Bordeaux airport causes so much stress. It was just as well we arrived at departure early so at least the queue wasn't very long but still we waited a long time. I felt sorry for the 2 staff on duty trying to deal with economy class, priority bookings, late arrivals, people with too much luggage and checking in passengers for flights to UK, Porto, Marrakesh. After baggage is weighed you have to take it round to the loading area. There aren't any toilets in this part of Billi terminal so my husband had to find them in another terminal. Actually when we'd arrived 2 weeks before there were only 2 toilets in the arrivals hall and they weren't very clean. I felt sorry for passengers with children. The facilities after security were OK if you're not expecting much though there is minimal seating so anyone lucky enough to find a table in the cafe tends to linger which of course means that others can't find a table. At the boarding gate there are hardly any seats. A hint, if you agree to put your cabin bag/case in the hold because the flight is full, you get to board before others. Since Bordeaux and surrounds are truly wonderful, they are let down very badly by the experience at the airport. Another hint - if you're driving up from Sarlat on the toll motorway and have time, stop off at a motorway service station for lunch. I enjoyed delicious coquille st jacques!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"lovely city, rubbish airport"

(Ireland)

Terrible airport. No proper food available after security. Only 1 small desk selling apples and toasted cheese sandwiches. A pack of Haribo from a candy machine was my best choice. Ample seating not available at gates so people sitting in the floor everywhere. 1 tiny shop selling overpriced chocolate and wine. Lovely city, rubbish airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 80 Reviews