Top 100 Airlines  

Bordeaux Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 57 reviews
1/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"treated as cattle"

(United Kingdom)

We were flying with a low cost airline so were using Billi, the low cost terminal. It is a complete disgrace, you really are treated as cattle. What an advertisement for Bordeaux. No toilets in the check in area so if you have had a long journey to the airport you need to walk over to the main terminal building to use their facilities. After you have passed through security there is inadequate seating, on the 21st April there were four flights awaiting boarding so the place was swamped. The solitary small toilet block was unpleasant, unclean and smelt of urine, one urinal out of the three was covered with dustbin bags. The pre boarding areas are too small for the number of passengers so people who had paid for priority boarding had difficulty using the service. When this was mentioned to the aircrew the reply was please write and complain, as we have no facilities as well. Arrival facilities are even worse, sometimes there is only one immigration official on duty to deal with 150+ passport checks and when you arrive in the baggage reclaim there is a single cubicle toliet for men and one for women. Mentioning this obvious short coming to staff we were told that when Billi opened there was actually no toilets in the arrival area. They were an after thought. Safe bet that nobody involved in the "design" of the building, administration or ownership of the airport has ever flown through the Billi terminal. The city of Bordeaux should be ashamed that this is the first impression that visitors to this wonderful city receive.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"best avoided if possible"

(France)

Billi terminal is rubbish as many reviewers have already noted. Best avoided if possible, especially in hot weather. It is stiflingly uncomfortable. Try to spend as little time as possible in the terminal in these circumstances. In the main airport there is a restaurant that is also well worth avoiding. Nothing seems to be prepared on site. Just heated up catering company offerings. You're better taking your own sandwich. The sandwich shops aren't much good either by the way. Warning to avoid like the plague the travel agency service that comes up on the airport homepage. They don't make it clear that the administration charge mentioned in the final itemisation is their own agency fee and not an airline charge. Completely and scandalously misleading. Just find the flights you need then go direct to the airline website concerned.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"clean but featureless terminal"

(Switzerland)

Spent time both at the main terminal and the Billi terminal as I had a lot of time to waste whilst waiting. First impressions of the main terminal are of a reasonably clean but featureless terminal. Went to a cafe, waited for 15 minutes for services, and gave up. Whilst vainly waiting to buy a coffee, I tried to connect to the free internet and gave up after 15 minutes of trying. Apparently you have to enter your email address and phone number, and then they will email you a login to access the internet. Perhaps the person who came up with this idea might note that most people cant receive emails until connected to the internet. Perhaps sending credentials by sms might work better given that you've got my phone number. Following this, I walked over to the Billi terminal as I was flying Easyjet. Got wet as the weather was atrocious and there's no covered walkway. Billi is apparently a new design concept where to punter (sorry "customer") is to be treated as livestock. The check in area is a large warehouse with 3 staff weighing baggage. following the weigh-in, the customer then has to lug his luggage elsewhere for it to be taken away. There are no facilities (food, drink or toilet even) prior to security. The security check was similar in terms of disorganization and general lack of comfort. Once through security, you are treated to another warehouse with one overpriced cafe, some very smelly toilets and not very much else. There is a severe lack of seating, and if you are lucky enough to get a seat, you wont want to sit on them for long as they are incredibly uncomfortable. The departure gates are more of the same with a dozen seats to cater for the 100 or so passengers on the flight. We were subject to a 30 minutes wait and felt sorry for some of the older passengers who were clearly very uncomfortable. All in all, the Billi terminal can only be described as a disgrace, and the sooner they bulldoze it the better. Only use it if you really have to.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"lines were literally stuck and staff were swamped"

(France)

Arrival and departure from Billi Terminal. At the bagage claim there was a very strong odor in the terminal while waiting for the lugage (sewage system odors I think). The departure: From the main terminal you have to walk outside to reach Billi: no rain shelter. At the check-in you're asked to handle the luggage by yourself by lifting your suitcase on an X-ray machine belt conveyor, staff do not help. Metal detectors and cabin bags X-ray checks: they use worn out school tables where you prepare you belongings, lack of plastic trays so people were waiting. Some lines were literally stuck and staff were swamped. In the overcrowded terminal: lack of light (was very dark), and lack of chairs (had to go to the restaurant to find a seat). The toilets: this is a small booth with a very strong smell of urine. After boarding you're asked to wait in a room prior to walking to the plane: a full A320 plane with all passengers standing up for 15-20 min in a room with maybe 20 chairs. It felt like we were treated as cattle.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it's quicker to list what was wrong"

(United Kingdom)

This was by far the worst airport experience I have ever had. It's quicker to list what was wrong, and it can be summed up with one word. Everything. I will never fly to or from this airport again if I can help it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"very unprofessional unguided chaos"

(United Kingdom)

I have never experienced such a tiny, very hot, dark, disorganised airport in my life as Bordeaux Airport. Not enough room for everyone. Very cramped. Queues far too long in such heat with no air circulating. Not many staff and all over the place trying to hurry people through security to make the flights on time. Then hold you in a tiny place herded in with no air, no windows, no water, few seats and no lights. Very unprofessional unguided chaos with Speedy Boarders and families with little children mixed up with other boarders. It was a mess. The flight itself was nice and quick with informative announcements from the captain a couple of times en route.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it's basically a human cattle shed"

(United Kingdom)

Once again stuck in the Billi terminal of Bordeaux Airport in unbearable heat. It sadly still looks like it did the first time I visited, like it is under construction and it hasn't changed in the years it's been here. Easily the worst airport terminal I have travelled from. It's basically a human cattle shed.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

Bordeaux Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Departed today from the Billi terminal which serves Easyjet. Not sure if it is being refurbished or if the refurbishment is still underway but it is pretty dreadful. Massively overpriced food and drink, one of the worst cappuccinos I have had in France (go to Italy for the best) and very badly maintained toilets. Because they have a monopoly it seems that the airport operators put minimum investment into the facilities. Generally it ranks worse than Luton and that is a disgrace.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

Bordeaux Airport customer review

(France)

How to negotiate Billi terminal at Bordeaux Airport. Don't travel with children. Don't travel with hold luggage. Don't have a need to use a toilet. Don't have a need to sit down. Don't enter the Billi terminal more than 30 minutes before the announced gate closing time then go straight through security. Expect airport staff to be in a permanent state of stress. Don't arrive hungry or thirsty. Wear light clothes or avoid travelling during hot weather due to the lack of ventilation and air conditioning. In the event your flight is delayed or cancelled then immediately make your own arrangements for rebooking a later flight, food and/or overnight accommodation, keep recipes and reclaim your fair and reasonable out of pocket expenses direct from the airline. Don't rely on the airport staff to do this for you. Don't have normal expectations. The Billi terminal of Bordeaux is like nothing you will have ever encountered before whilst travelling in Europe.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Bordeaux Airport customer review

(Ireland)

I travelled through Bordeaux airport last week (inbound and outbound) and it is the poorest quality terminal that I have experienced as a flight customer. As highlighted by a number of the earlier reviews there are many problems/inconveniences: As I approached the security area - I was asked to push my carry-on luggage along chip-board tables (while sometimes taking my luggage off to avoid the roof poles). The security area was so busy (and it appeared the staff were stressed) that a 200ml bottle of sunscreen that I had forgetten to take out of my handbag was not picked up by the security screeners. We could not proceed to go through the passport control (unusually enough this appears to be a requirement upon leaving the airport) as there are only 2 boarding gates (beyond passport control) and they were full with passengers waiting for their flights. Once we could proceed to our gate (called 35/45) it was clear that the facilities at the gate were extremely basic. It has very few seats (I'd say about 10-15 for a full flights of about 200 passengers), no air conditioning (or at least that is how it felt), no toilets (and in our senario our flight was delayed by an hour) and no snack / beverage areas (particularly if one needs water). The procedure to use the toilets requires one to give one's boarding card to the airline staff at the gate, take one's passport to go out through passport control and to use the toilets in the 'main' lobby of the terminal. In some parts of the terminal, particulary in the arrivals area, there is a very strong smell of fish. A very pleasant security guard sought to explain what the cause of the smell is. I didn't quite understand his French - however, it is clear that the fish smell is a problem and the authorities are aware of it. The same security guard stated that the design of the terminal resulted in a very poor experience for both passengers and staff alike. I commend all the staff we encountered as they were very courteous and professional while working in a stressful environment. I think the Billi Terminal in Bordeaux Airport gives a very poor impression of the airport as a whole and it is should be a priority to upgrade it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 53 Reviews