Bologna Marconi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 31 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"immigration was very quick"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | When we arrived we were pleased that immigration was very quick and our bags arrived within 5 minutes. On leaving Bologna there was no queue for British Airways bag drop and the security queue wasn’t too bad, about 15 minutes. The airport is quite nice landside, with lots of shops and restaurants, but once through security there is nothing – just a duty free and a very expensive cafe bar. This may be just for non-Schengen departures. It was incredibly hot and crowded when we arrived and we struggled to find a seat. The toilets were filthy and there was constantly a queue for both. Then gents was then closed for an extended period for cleaning so all the men in the departure lounge had to queue for a single disabled toilet. So this left a rather poor impression. It is rather strange but on both arrival and departure we had a to get a bus to our plane (even though it was easily walkable) but it seems to be only British Airways that have to do this, all other planes had air bridges from the terminal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Most disorganised airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Most disorganised airport I have ever come across, having flown extensively in the USA, Europe, Australia and South Africa. Long queues for everything. Hopeless system of food ordering and paying at the café once through security. Then a long wait for a bus to take us all of 100 metres to the plane - should have been able to walk over. Never again!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"Not enough seats at gates"

(Belgium)

Unverified | Small airport, good transport between airport and city. (central station). Not enough seats at gates and it was too warm. Air-conditioning wasn't working very good. Lots of people have to stay and wait without seats, not pleasant for older people. Staff ok. Some friendly, some just fine. Wifi terrible and slow.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"A pleasant experience"

(Romania)

Bologna to Bucharest on March 16. A pleasant experience. The airport is well connected to the city center. An express bus runs every 15 mins from Central Railway Station to airport (6 euros/ pers.), but the best choice is a taxi. (15 euros, including a tip). The airport is OK, clean and spacious. Ferrari and Lamborghini are well represented here. The fastest drop-off baggage I have seen and fast and smooth security control. At the gate, enough space to stay and amazing views over the tarmac and runway. Shopping area is so,so, I don't really care about this.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"the whole scene was chaotic"

(Italy)

I use this airport frequently, at least 6 times a year travelling to and from Istanbul. I arrived at Bologna on 1st November with a Pegasus flight from Istanbul SAW. The flight arrived 15 minutes ahead of schedule but passengers were kept on board for at least 25 minutes. On reaching the arrivals hall a sizeable queue was obvious but the reason for the queue certainly not clear at first. The queue barely moved but it transpired that additional screening for passengers and hand baggage has been installed. I'm not sure what benefits can be derived from this as all passengers are thoroughly screened before embarking before departure. The time delay was significant as two flights had arrived around the same time and compounded by the fact that there was just one screening unit to process both sets of passengers. The two staff spoke only Italian to passengers giving instructions not to crowd the area, instructions that many people could not understand. The whole scene was chaotic. After eventually passing through the security check there was yet another long queue for passport control. I have no problem with the tightest of security measures but there should be adequate equipment and staff to deal with large numbers of people arriving simultaneously. The situation here is completely chaotic and not able to deal with the influx in a timely fashion. My other choice is Milan Malpensa, further away from my home but so much better organised.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"weren't even seats left"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | The airport of Bologna is quite small but it was very busy when I arrived there. I had some difficulties with finding the check-in services and then there was a long line in front of me. After maybe 45 minutes I was finally checked in. Luckily I could just walk through security. Although there was also a long line at security, it moved quite fast. Then I entered the terminal and it was so packed with people there weren't even seats left so I sat down on the floor. I tried the wifi but it was really slow. After that, I was pleased when they announced the boarding of the plane had started!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"had to wait and wait"

(United Kingdom)

Having got up at 4 am, we arrived and went through security in good time and then had to wait and wait until they arrived to open up the passport check. The area between security and passports is a thoroughfare and it was getting more and more crowded so that it was difficult to get through. The cafe wasn't very good - freshly squeezed orange juice ok, coffee weak and croissant soggy. Lavatories ok with a large mother and child area - bad luck dads. When I got onto wi-fi it didn't work for WhatsApp.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"Kiss and Park scam is tasteless"

(Denmark)

Bologna is a wonderful designed airport with lots of good shops, but the Kiss and Park scam is tasteless and will make me avoid the airport and warn everybody about it. 10 minutes is workable when the areas are not blocked by other cars, but it was and the 1 minute we overstayed resulted in a 10 € Parking Scam Fee which is displayed nowhere when you enter. Besides that, the allocation of Check-in desks resulted in a 75 minute queue, not sure whether SAS or BLQ is responsible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"in need of overhaul/expansion"

(United States)

A bit chaotic and definitely in need of overhaul/expansion, but functional. I have mixed feelings, in part because I love Bologna (the city) so much and have such fond memories of arriving into BLQ. That said, departing is a bit more stressful, as there is never enough room for everyone and there are no real gate areas to speak of (they still use bussing). The airport is generally clean and the staff courteous, with enough by way of restaurants and such. Just a bit "tight".
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"traffic in the airport is absurd"

(United Kingdom)

Bologna Marconi is arguably one of the worst airports in Western Europe. The airport has been under constant renovation for at least 15 years. They're still messing about with bollards and the single lane at arrivals which is now the same for departures. So traffic in the airport is absurd. They are now planning a light railroad into the city to reduce the traffic which the construction disruption has caused. For automobiles, you can use the short stay parking, 10 minutes for free. Unfortunately many people are too cheap to drive in and pay if staying longer so instead clog the roundabouts adjacent to the airport and passengers regularly walk in the middle of the road to meet the friends and family waiting for them. If you land after 11 at night, count on a nice long wait for a taxi. Smoking allowed everywhere in the semi-covered arrivals / departure area - there is a special smoking section but it is placed so close to the exit and entrance to the airport that you can't avoid having the effects of a cigarette when you're leaving or waiting for a taxi. For boarding at times you can walk to the aircraft or sometimes you're taken by bus. When flying discount airlines, you'll sometimes be stopped at the bottom of a stairway without air conditioning until somebody opens the door. Late night flights are characterized by your arrival at passport control after locals race off the bus to watch the border guards quickly scamper into their little booths as if it was a surprise that an airplane full of people are there. They have installed an automatic passport scanner but it still isn't working regularly as I'm told it's an 'experiment' - when other airports have been using these for quite some time now. For shopping, Bologna has got its walk through style facility so you can't avoid it. Nothing worth buying, exorbitantly priced wine, poor selection, and mass market buy anywhere perfumes. The Business lounge serves very good coffee but no regular cleaning of the tables, scant collection reading materials, no free easy access wifi. Employees chatter and sip coffee at the coffee bar made for passengers. A bottle of water on the non EU side costs min Euro 1.89.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 31 Reviews