Top 100 Airlines  

Bologna Marconi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 25 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"had to wait and wait"

(United Kingdom)

Having got up at 4 am, we arrived and went through security in good time and then had to wait and wait until they arrived to open up the passport check. The area between security and passports is a thoroughfare and it was getting more and more crowded so that it was difficult to get through. The cafe wasn't very good - freshly squeezed orange juice ok, coffee weak and croissant soggy. Lavatories ok with a large mother and child area - bad luck dads. When I got onto wi-fi it didn't work for WhatsApp.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"Kiss and Park scam is tasteless"

(Denmark)

Bologna is a wonderful designed airport with lots of good shops, but the Kiss and Park scam is tasteless and will make me avoid the airport and warn everybody about it. 10 minutes is workable when the areas are not blocked by other cars, but it was and the 1 minute we overstayed resulted in a 10 € Parking Scam Fee which is displayed nowhere when you enter. Besides that, the allocation of Check-in desks resulted in a 75 minute queue, not sure whether SAS or BLQ is responsible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"in need of overhaul/expansion"

(United States)

A bit chaotic and definitely in need of overhaul/expansion, but functional. I have mixed feelings, in part because I love Bologna (the city) so much and have such fond memories of arriving into BLQ. That said, departing is a bit more stressful, as there is never enough room for everyone and there are no real gate areas to speak of (they still use bussing). The airport is generally clean and the staff courteous, with enough by way of restaurants and such. Just a bit "tight".
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"traffic in the airport is absurd"

(United Kingdom)

Bologna Marconi is arguably one of the worst airports in Western Europe. The airport has been under constant renovation for at least 15 years. They're still messing about with bollards and the single lane at arrivals which is now the same for departures. So traffic in the airport is absurd. They are now planning a light railroad into the city to reduce the traffic which the construction disruption has caused. For automobiles, you can use the short stay parking, 10 minutes for free. Unfortunately many people are too cheap to drive in and pay if staying longer so instead clog the roundabouts adjacent to the airport and passengers regularly walk in the middle of the road to meet the friends and family waiting for them. If you land after 11 at night, count on a nice long wait for a taxi. Smoking allowed everywhere in the semi-covered arrivals / departure area - there is a special smoking section but it is placed so close to the exit and entrance to the airport that you can't avoid having the effects of a cigarette when you're leaving or waiting for a taxi. For boarding at times you can walk to the aircraft or sometimes you're taken by bus. When flying discount airlines, you'll sometimes be stopped at the bottom of a stairway without air conditioning until somebody opens the door. Late night flights are characterized by your arrival at passport control after locals race off the bus to watch the border guards quickly scamper into their little booths as if it was a surprise that an airplane full of people are there. They have installed an automatic passport scanner but it still isn't working regularly as I'm told it's an 'experiment' - when other airports have been using these for quite some time now. For shopping, Bologna has got its walk through style facility so you can't avoid it. Nothing worth buying, exorbitantly priced wine, poor selection, and mass market buy anywhere perfumes. The Business lounge serves very good coffee but no regular cleaning of the tables, scant collection reading materials, no free easy access wifi. Employees chatter and sip coffee at the coffee bar made for passengers. A bottle of water on the non EU side costs min Euro 1.89.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"duty free was ok"

(United Kingdom)

The Italian coffee shop near gate 24 should be ashamed. Rude, bored staff with takeaway coffee that is nothing like the Italian coffee you have come to expect. The seating near the gate is uncushioned hard plastic and about as comfy as sitting on the floor. This is not a nice place to end your holiday in. Duty free was ok for such a small departure lounge. The "wine tasting" stand was interesting at first, and I didn't just try it for free wine but was genuinely interested in the brand. After a couple of tiny samples the lady then whipped out her sales pitch, I said I wasn't going to buy any but thank you for letting me try the different options. At this point she gave me a sour look and turned away like I had insulted her.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"inadequate for the traffic"

(France)

Italy is a country where there is not a major dominating airport, but plenty of medium to small airports. It has some advantages, but some of them are not really up to the challenge. Many refurbished airports have had the bad habit to make the simple fact of getting a rental car difficult, clumsy, badly signed and in a word unduly complicated. Although not being refubished, Bologna falls into these defects. You have to walk outside quite a distance on not-at-all "suitcase-friendy" paveways to get to a "temporary" metallic construction where the cars are parked like sardines in a tin (had to enter the car by passenger door). My understanding of this situation is that Bologna airport authorities could not care less about business travellers. When coming back, I (foolishly) followed the sign "departures", arrived straight at safety control, and finally found somebody who explained me I had to check-in at arrival level. Did that (had to wait because they open check-in only 2 hours before boarding time), came back to the security, and discovered: 1 - that there is no priority lane, and 2 - that the business lounge is before the security. Security was not too long, but the food/drink offer Inside is limited especially if you want to sit (and as my plane was 2 hours late, it was the case). Then boarding is not nice because in Bologna, all deboardings / boardings are done by bus, which means priority boarding is a joke, and difficult for elderly people, or those who carry their luggage or bags. Globally this terminal seems inadequate for the traffic and it is worse in summer (the whole area is a wonderful destination).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"well organized airport"

(Namibia)

Bologna's airport is a very nice airport. It's a very clean and well organized airport. Yearly an improvement takes place and the airport is becoming nicer year by year. Food is excellent, with several traditional restaurant and also shopping is quite worth. When I fly to and from Italy I always use BLQ.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

Bologna Marconi Airport customer review

(Netherlands)

The security procedures were awful: too few staff and it was a fight to be there on time. It took me and my family two hours to get through and the staff were inefficient and did not really care about anything. Our gate had already closed but due to the helpful staff of Ryanair, we just managed to board. I had a similar experience a few months before when travelling alone to Bologna. I try to prevent using Bologna, but sometimes it is just necessary when Rimini has no flights from Holland.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2014
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

Bologna Marconi Airport customer review

(Italy)

Luggage claim is very long: you can wait up to 40 minutes to get your luggage. Security check is done by persons not polite and professional and English language skills of the personnel is quite poor. Parking is very expensive and access to airport with the car is not easy. Seats of the airport are unconfortable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

Bologna Marconi Airport customer review

(Italy)

Took forever to have my passport checked. Only one really unfriendly officer was working and looks like she was more worried with the "don't cross the line" rule then actually trying to check the passports fast. Seems like the air conditioner doesn't ever work. The bus to the city is ridiculously expensive (6 euros for 6km ride).
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 25 Reviews