Bologna Marconi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 32 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"one of the worst airports"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Very likely one of the worst airports in Western Europe. Drop off: one lane road. Cars stopped at roundabouts. After decades of restructure and renovation, all planes still accessed by bus or walking, no sky bridge. No priority bus for business travellers who often end up boarding the plane after economy travellers (exception is for Emirates Business to Dubai - possibly due to higher traffic). So you pay for priority boarding and you end up boarding last if you're on the wrong side of the bus. The business lounge, 'Marconi' has highly processed food except possibly prosciutto. Staff are often busy in conversing among themselves, noise level is high. No work area. No international magazines. Pathetic little round tables amidst a high traffic area. Desktop computers require byzantine sign in protocol. No small, cold bottled water airside in the non-Schengen (eg flying to UK). There are huge bottles in the bar-restaurant fridges usually lukewarm, elsewhere, bottles of Panna or San Pellegrino are hidden in cylinders at room temperature at the duty free shop right after passport control. Rarely - even in summer - are they ever cold. And each small bottle costs about 1.20. That same bottle of San Pellegrino in Boots Heathrow airport costs less - 1.09 pounds, even though it's imported. The most disgraceful, disgusting, filthy bathrooms I've ever seen anywhere - W Europe, Africa, Asia airports combined. And no hot water in faucets. In March 2018, I had to go to the police at the passports check area to ask if the bathroom attendant could be sent to clean - no airport staff is responsible for this, apparently. And no one showed up. Customs/passport Non Schengen: woefully inadequate space. Inept signage. Currently there's a sign that says EU passports, and non EU. Italians with ID cards are clueless and stop in the EU line which now has passport scanners. But there are no scanners for ID cards. No one had the big idea of writing a sign saying don't use scanners if you are travelling with an EU ID and no passport. So everything stops. Baggage handling - no priority for business travellers on most flights (exception was for an Emirates flight I took from Dubai earlier this year). You leave the airport (all arrivals), pass a homeless woman sleeping on the floor in front of a display window with a Lamborghini and alight at a sidewalk that is one big smoking room. You can't avoid it. No one imposes smoking bans. And this is an area that has a cement roof overhanging so the smoke stays trapped. Yes, there is a smoking area guess where? Right next to the taxi stands. So you cannot avoid smoke inhalation if you want a taxi, even though people smoke everywhere. This is, of course, in addition to carbon monoxide from the passing cars. Taxis require an interminable wait in the second hand smoke. At JFK (not my favorite airport) they can still manage to have 4-5 taxis line up and pick up passengers simultaneously. In Bologna, it's a surprise that a plane lands after 11 p.m. or during a holiday - no taxis or a long long wait. They think they've solved the problem: sky train which if all proceeds will be ready in 2020. It will stop in Bologna main rail station where there's another taxi rank. Guess what? No taxis there, either on weekends, after 11 p.m.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"immigration was very quick"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | When we arrived we were pleased that immigration was very quick and our bags arrived within 5 minutes. On leaving Bologna there was no queue for British Airways bag drop and the security queue wasn’t too bad, about 15 minutes. The airport is quite nice landside, with lots of shops and restaurants, but once through security there is nothing – just a duty free and a very expensive cafe bar. This may be just for non-Schengen departures. It was incredibly hot and crowded when we arrived and we struggled to find a seat. The toilets were filthy and there was constantly a queue for both. Then gents was then closed for an extended period for cleaning so all the men in the departure lounge had to queue for a single disabled toilet. So this left a rather poor impression. It is rather strange but on both arrival and departure we had a to get a bus to our plane (even though it was easily walkable) but it seems to be only British Airways that have to do this, all other planes had air bridges from the terminal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Most disorganised airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Most disorganised airport I have ever come across, having flown extensively in the USA, Europe, Australia and South Africa. Long queues for everything. Hopeless system of food ordering and paying at the café once through security. Then a long wait for a bus to take us all of 100 metres to the plane - should have been able to walk over. Never again!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"Not enough seats at gates"

(Belgium)

Unverified | Small airport, good transport between airport and city. (central station). Not enough seats at gates and it was too warm. Air-conditioning wasn't working very good. Lots of people have to stay and wait without seats, not pleasant for older people. Staff ok. Some friendly, some just fine. Wifi terrible and slow.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"A pleasant experience"

(Romania)

Bologna to Bucharest on March 16. A pleasant experience. The airport is well connected to the city center. An express bus runs every 15 mins from Central Railway Station to airport (6 euros/ pers.), but the best choice is a taxi. (15 euros, including a tip). The airport is OK, clean and spacious. Ferrari and Lamborghini are well represented here. The fastest drop-off baggage I have seen and fast and smooth security control. At the gate, enough space to stay and amazing views over the tarmac and runway. Shopping area is so,so, I don't really care about this.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"the whole scene was chaotic"

(Italy)

I use this airport frequently, at least 6 times a year travelling to and from Istanbul. I arrived at Bologna on 1st November with a Pegasus flight from Istanbul SAW. The flight arrived 15 minutes ahead of schedule but passengers were kept on board for at least 25 minutes. On reaching the arrivals hall a sizeable queue was obvious but the reason for the queue certainly not clear at first. The queue barely moved but it transpired that additional screening for passengers and hand baggage has been installed. I'm not sure what benefits can be derived from this as all passengers are thoroughly screened before embarking before departure. The time delay was significant as two flights had arrived around the same time and compounded by the fact that there was just one screening unit to process both sets of passengers. The two staff spoke only Italian to passengers giving instructions not to crowd the area, instructions that many people could not understand. The whole scene was chaotic. After eventually passing through the security check there was yet another long queue for passport control. I have no problem with the tightest of security measures but there should be adequate equipment and staff to deal with large numbers of people arriving simultaneously. The situation here is completely chaotic and not able to deal with the influx in a timely fashion. My other choice is Milan Malpensa, further away from my home but so much better organised.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"weren't even seats left"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | The airport of Bologna is quite small but it was very busy when I arrived there. I had some difficulties with finding the check-in services and then there was a long line in front of me. After maybe 45 minutes I was finally checked in. Luckily I could just walk through security. Although there was also a long line at security, it moved quite fast. Then I entered the terminal and it was so packed with people there weren't even seats left so I sat down on the floor. I tried the wifi but it was really slow. After that, I was pleased when they announced the boarding of the plane had started!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"had to wait and wait"

(United Kingdom)

Having got up at 4 am, we arrived and went through security in good time and then had to wait and wait until they arrived to open up the passport check. The area between security and passports is a thoroughfare and it was getting more and more crowded so that it was difficult to get through. The cafe wasn't very good - freshly squeezed orange juice ok, coffee weak and croissant soggy. Lavatories ok with a large mother and child area - bad luck dads. When I got onto wi-fi it didn't work for WhatsApp.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"Kiss and Park scam is tasteless"

(Denmark)

Bologna is a wonderful designed airport with lots of good shops, but the Kiss and Park scam is tasteless and will make me avoid the airport and warn everybody about it. 10 minutes is workable when the areas are not blocked by other cars, but it was and the 1 minute we overstayed resulted in a 10 € Parking Scam Fee which is displayed nowhere when you enter. Besides that, the allocation of Check-in desks resulted in a 75 minute queue, not sure whether SAS or BLQ is responsible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"in need of overhaul/expansion"

(United States)

A bit chaotic and definitely in need of overhaul/expansion, but functional. I have mixed feelings, in part because I love Bologna (the city) so much and have such fond memories of arriving into BLQ. That said, departing is a bit more stressful, as there is never enough room for everyone and there are no real gate areas to speak of (they still use bussing). The airport is generally clean and the staff courteous, with enough by way of restaurants and such. Just a bit "tight".
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 32 Reviews