Vote Now  

Berlin Schonefeld Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 91 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"as bland as an unsalted cracker"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Arrival at Berlin Schonefeld was about as bland as an unsalted cracker. Off the plane then straight into a bus, which went right into passport control. No shops or anything. Departure is even worse. Chaotic entrance, queues for passport control blocking pathways, dirty chairs, filthy toilets, and a choice of fine dining between Burger King and an Irish Pub (in Germany, God forbid). Avoid this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"A shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | No seating! Rude easyJet staff! Not able to drop bag earlier than 2 hours prior to flight - purchased speedy plus and seats for an easier drop off. Asked to allow plenty of time to get through security? How do you allow for traffic and for getting through security when gate closes 30 minutes prior to flight? A shambles!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely horrible airport"

(Norway)

Verified Review | Absolutely horrible airport. It feels like a temporary airport, long walks to gates, up and down stairs, no where to smoke in the entire terminal. Realy small shopping centres, we were hoping to get some nice rieslings before boarding the plane but the tax free had 4 different wine brands to choose from.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"gives true meaning to the term cattle class"

(United Kingdom)

This airport is barely better than a Greyhound station, horrible, queuing times for security were an hour, staff seriously grumpy and unhelpful, porbably because there weren't many of them. This place gives true meaning to the term cattle class, I will never again use a cheap airline (had no choice this time) that uses this airport. o not recommend as a point of entry or departure to Berlin, the train is pretty good though, the express to and from Central station, Hoptbanhof takes around half an hour.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"an airport that desperately needs expansion and upgrading"

(United Kingdom)

Schonefeld is definitely an airport that desperately needs expansion and upgrading, the terminals and general areas are cramped and shabby, the toilets are even worse. Very long lines waiting to go through security, with staff struggling to cope, I just made my flight in time. Too nerve wracking an experience for me, will not fly from here in the future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Schönefeld is to be avoided at all means"

(Norway)

Verified Review | Schönefeld is to be avoided at all means. Unless you are going to save €50+ by going from SXF over TXL, I'd choose TXL. Building is overcrowded, queues move unbelievably slowly, staff are very unfriendly - claiming whichever opportunity they have to disrupt your journey or make it go slower. Before security, there is always someone 'making sure' the queue after boarding pass check isn't overcrowded. Which in effect means someone gets to make you wait, when there's no reason for it, so that they feel important. There are nowhere near enough places to sit, temperature and air is terrible, shops way overpriced, toilet facilities not big enough and poorly maintained. It's is really a disgrace for European airports and to be avoided. Come with plenty of time in advance and prepare for a really uncomfortable time meeting basically staff that rather wished you weren't there.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"disorganised hodge podge of buildings"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Whilst arrival at Schönefeld was relatively painless (fast immigration and good connection to the regional train service towards Berlin), the same cannot be said for departure. The disorganised hodge podge of buildings of varying vintage has left Schönefeld languishing by comparison to other European international airports. Tight corridors and poor signage make transiting through the terminals an odious task. The complete absence of a waiting lounge (other than the paid lounge) means that passengers must resort to sitting on unsanitary flooring in corridors. Security, whilst thorough, is a clunky process here. Poor design and a lack of places to repack hand luggage mean that queues quickly build up. This is an area which many smaller airports seem to fall down at, but is still inexcusable. The food and retail offerings in the airport are decidedly sub par. I opted for a sandwich in the Bakery/Cafe in order to secure a place to sit down (the fast food chain restaurant only has seating for around 6-8 persons plus some standing tables). Overall Schönefeld is utterly disappointing to depart from. By comparison to similar sized European airports it falls short of expectations.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"completely subpar by any modern standard"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Well, I guess it is now pretty much common knowledge the Berlin airports, especially Schonefeld, are a world class joke. More seriously the operator has to do with what is available, that is an infrastructure completely subpar by any modern standard. That being said, and within those limits, I muss say they do a fairly pathetic job of running an airport: I travel about twice a month via SXF and the experience is very painful at best, utterly chaotic at worst. Security checks are completely unpredictable (sometimes they are fairly efficient, sometimes they are completely understaffed (typically one of three checkpoint operating), F&B is super poor (Marché is the only decent outlet but the prices are - well - let's keep this polite), seating non existent, staff often rather unfriendly and sometimes plain arrogant. The WiFi has improved as of late, there has been some investments to increase terminal B security check areas (ie. EasyJet), there is a "new" terminal C "hand baggage only" facility so there is some effort to improve but it is definitely way too little. If you ever fly through SFX brace for blast from the past and plan for the worst.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a shambles and prehistoric"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | I travelled from Berlin Schonefeld and what a disaster it was. Shocking for a country that is econimally stable, that is home to a wonderful historical city such as Berlin and that prides itself on efficiency. The distance from the train station to the airport is unreasonably and unpredictably long, like no airport I have ever encountered, and I have been to many. I checked in my bag to check-in A and B, was on time, then went to security to be told they did not have the capacity due to clear staff shortages and the number of passengers for me to go through and directed everyone to C security (another building). C security again was overwhelmed and had a huge backlog of passengers with nowhere to sit and one member of staff at the entrance of the lengthy queue shouting to all nationalies in German "go left". No staff in the never ending queue to ask information about how much time it requires to reach my gate of departure. Eventually, I got to the X-ray machine and then was kept waiting to go through, seeing my personals, including my iPad, on the other side that could easily have been taken by another passenger, as the woman responsible decided to leave her post and was not replaced (though the other staff managed to find time for a laugh and joke together, whilst keeping me waiting). At last I am through, tried to find my gate through a maze of bizarre ways and filth everywhere to reach Gate 60 which was like an office door and locked. A man suddenly appears to tell me the airplane (easyJet) is at the other side of the airport and no buses, so I missed my flight and had to pay another (Ryanair) delayed for over an hour. Nowhere to sit, people on the floor. A shambles and prehistoric. I owe some gratitude to a member of security staff who kindly assisted me in locating my luggage on the missed flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a non-friendly airport"

(Spain)

Verified Review | Berlin Schonefeld is the worst airport I have ever been to. Not enough seats, disorganized, everybody is sitting on the floor. How can this be an international airport? People waiting for their flight standing. Extremely hot inside. Berlin should review their airport services. A lot of tourists and a non-friendly airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 91 Reviews