Berlin Schonefeld Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 136 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Worst airport experience ever"

(Greece)

Not Verified | No water available after the security control. Either you pay 3.5 euros for 0.5l water or refill from the toilets. Everyone I asked about where I can refill my bottle directed me to the toilets saying that it's the same water. Indeed it might be the same water but toilets have germs etc. Worst airport experience ever.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"one of the most unpleasant boarding's"

(Germany)

Not Verified | This was one of the most unpleasant boarding's in my life. The flight (FR1134) was delayed, but only 15 min, so this is not an issue. But then after long queueing for the gate we were let through only to find ourselves queueing again against a wall outside - in the rain! Of course people cut the line whenever they can, so whoever complied to instructions ended up being in the back of the lane. And since this was Ryanair, most people had to drop off their bags, but there was no sign and no person by them, just a shout through the rain that we should use the wagons. The wagons, however, didn’t even have the walls put up! So we had to raise the bags and throw them in from the top. Maybe for some people it’s not such a big deal, but for a small woman with spine problems this is a serious issue. I wish I never have to experience such boarding again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Very bad service"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | This airport is just very shameful to Germany. We have been waiting for 2 hours for our luggage now and there was no one from the staff coming over to provide any kind of explanation or updates. Just not what you expect from an airport in Germany. Very bad service!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Rude security staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Rude security staff. When you try to contact them via their online form, you do not receive email confirmation that they have received it. So no confirmation that my complaint about the very rude man at the entrance to security zone C has been received. People working in shops are rather abrupt. There is too little seating and there are too few places to eat. The whole airport is rather claustrophobic. Simply too many passengers in too little space. Not many toilet facilities.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"just stairs everywhere"

(Norway)

Not Verified | The ratings speaks for themselves. I have visited alot of airports, but this airport is probably the worst I've ever been to. No elevators, no escalators, just stairs everywhere. The airport is grey and dirty, its very small, confusing to navigate through and no aircondition whatsoever. I advise you to arrive at the other airports in Berlin, because you will suffer here!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"couldn't wait to leave"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Has to be one of the worst airports I've ever had the misfortune of visiting. Arrival wasn't too bad, but departure was worse. It was a Monday which meant it was very busy, so much so that it felt like the airport was two sizes too small. There was very little seating and all the bars were seriously over-crowded. Our worst experience however was going to the gate. There must have been a 100m line to the passport control for our gate, on which was only one officer. There was huge sign next to him which said that Priority Boarding should come to the front. We did the embarrassing walk past everyone, only to be rudely sent back because 'This is passport, you have to wait'. Imagine our humiliation having to walk back past everyone! Joking aside, it was a 30 min wait with no a/c on a hot day. Couldn't wait to leave.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a bad experience"

(Germany)

Not Verified | What I saw at this airport was terrible. From outside the airport looks like a old office building. The facade is grey and dirty. The inside is much more awful. It is old and the check-in counters are out of date too. The security control is OK. The staff were friendly and dutifull. But the boarding was very chaotic. All in all it was a bad experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"It needs demolishing"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | First visit to this airport. It needs demolishing. The toilet for women who have just arrived was appalling. 2 toilets-one was broken and the other one was in need of a good clean. No soap. Disability friendly it isn't. So if you are in a wheelchair or struggle with stairs, don't bother using this airport. Transport connections to Berlin are excellent. When departing from the airport, I was speechless. Having only hand luggage there is an additional facility to go through an electronic check in with your phone or printed boarding pass. At security the queue was horrendous. This is the most squashed and unorganised airport I have ever been through. The facilities are laughable. Eating facilities are pathetic. Hardly any seating, many people sat on the floor. I have experienced better airports in Africa! Avoid.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"you are destined to suffer"

(Sweden)

Not Verified | It is probably the worst airport in Europe. No elevators, no escalators. If you are disabled, old or traveling with a child, you are destined to suffer. Security and airport personal are rude. It is dirty and does not have enough places to sit, that's why you would see a lot of people sitting on the dirty floors. Disgusting.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"massively overcrowded"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | It is difficult to know where to begin with this review after nearly thirty years of frequent flying I would be struggling to remember an airport that comes close to reaching the depths that Schönefeld has. It is massively overcrowded, signs contradict each other pointing in opposite directions. The staff are unhelpful, dour faced reflecting the chaos that is all around them. There very few areas to sit and what is available are dirty with overpriced food and drinks even by airport standards. If at all possible avoid, avoid, avoid. No matter how cheap your flight is, it’s not worth it. Berlin is a beautiful city and a great destination. Find a way of visiting that doesn’t involve Schönefeld.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no