Vote Now  

Berlin Schonefeld Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 85 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"disorganised hodge podge of buildings"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Whilst arrival at Schönefeld was relatively painless (fast immigration and good connection to the regional train service towards Berlin), the same cannot be said for departure. The disorganised hodge podge of buildings of varying vintage has left Schönefeld languishing by comparison to other European international airports. Tight corridors and poor signage make transiting through the terminals an odious task. The complete absence of a waiting lounge (other than the paid lounge) means that passengers must resort to sitting on unsanitary flooring in corridors. Security, whilst thorough, is a clunky process here. Poor design and a lack of places to repack hand luggage mean that queues quickly build up. This is an area which many smaller airports seem to fall down at, but is still inexcusable. The food and retail offerings in the airport are decidedly sub par. I opted for a sandwich in the Bakery/Cafe in order to secure a place to sit down (the fast food chain restaurant only has seating for around 6-8 persons plus some standing tables). Overall Schönefeld is utterly disappointing to depart from. By comparison to similar sized European airports it falls short of expectations.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"completely subpar by any modern standard"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Well, I guess it is now pretty much common knowledge the Berlin airports, especially Schonefeld, are a world class joke. More seriously the operator has to do with what is available, that is an infrastructure completely subpar by any modern standard. That being said, and within those limits, I muss say they do a fairly pathetic job of running an airport: I travel about twice a month via SXF and the experience is very painful at best, utterly chaotic at worst. Security checks are completely unpredictable (sometimes they are fairly efficient, sometimes they are completely understaffed (typically one of three checkpoint operating), F&B is super poor (Marché is the only decent outlet but the prices are - well - let's keep this polite), seating non existent, staff often rather unfriendly and sometimes plain arrogant. The WiFi has improved as of late, there has been some investments to increase terminal B security check areas (ie. EasyJet), there is a "new" terminal C "hand baggage only" facility so there is some effort to improve but it is definitely way too little. If you ever fly through SFX brace for blast from the past and plan for the worst.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a shambles and prehistoric"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | I travelled from Berlin Schonefeld and what a disaster it was. Shocking for a country that is econimally stable, that is home to a wonderful historical city such as Berlin and that prides itself on efficiency. The distance from the train station to the airport is unreasonably and unpredictably long, like no airport I have ever encountered, and I have been to many. I checked in my bag to check-in A and B, was on time, then went to security to be told they did not have the capacity due to clear staff shortages and the number of passengers for me to go through and directed everyone to C security (another building). C security again was overwhelmed and had a huge backlog of passengers with nowhere to sit and one member of staff at the entrance of the lengthy queue shouting to all nationalies in German "go left". No staff in the never ending queue to ask information about how much time it requires to reach my gate of departure. Eventually, I got to the X-ray machine and then was kept waiting to go through, seeing my personals, including my iPad, on the other side that could easily have been taken by another passenger, as the woman responsible decided to leave her post and was not replaced (though the other staff managed to find time for a laugh and joke together, whilst keeping me waiting). At last I am through, tried to find my gate through a maze of bizarre ways and filth everywhere to reach Gate 60 which was like an office door and locked. A man suddenly appears to tell me the airplane (easyJet) is at the other side of the airport and no buses, so I missed my flight and had to pay another (Ryanair) delayed for over an hour. Nowhere to sit, people on the floor. A shambles and prehistoric. I owe some gratitude to a member of security staff who kindly assisted me in locating my luggage on the missed flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a non-friendly airport"

(Spain)

Verified Review | Berlin Schonefeld is the worst airport I have ever been to. Not enough seats, disorganized, everybody is sitting on the floor. How can this be an international airport? People waiting for their flight standing. Extremely hot inside. Berlin should review their airport services. A lot of tourists and a non-friendly airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"there is nowhere to sit"

(United Kingdom)

The terminal is so tiny and has only two shops. Because of this, water is charged at 4 euros a bottle and then when you have your overpriced food and drink, there is nowhere to sit. The toilets are dirty and overall the experience isn't great! Fly elsewhere even if it means flying with a different airline.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"overcrowded, dirty and disorienting"

(Spain)

I've flown in and out of Schönefeld dozens of times and I'm sick of it. It's overcrowded, dirty and disorienting. The only good point about it is the duty free shop which is not to expensive and has a lot of articles. The signs and directions are often disorienting (they say that one gate is both straight on and left). You have to walk across half of the departures hall (many times to the actual gates) to find a information screen. Seats are there but they really aren't, as the airport is overcrowded all of them are occupied and you and up standing for about an hour. The flights get delayed a lot (of last 5, 4 were delayed) and the staff is unhelpful and thoughtless. Finding a staff member to ask something is almost impossible and when you finally do so they probably will tell you they know nothing or send you to an even more crowded security check when you tell them that you are running late for your flight. I hope Brandenburg opens soon so I and other passangers don't have to stand this rubbish airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security can best be described as chaos"

(United Kingdom)

This is a terrible airport and like others have said, not suitable for the number of people here. Security can best be described as chaos, there is insufficient room to sit, the toilets were disgusting and a there were not enough places to eat. I would try to fly to the other Berlin airport if possible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the food facilities bleak"

(Ireland)

This airport is appalling to say the least. The staff are the worst I have come across, extremely aggressive. There is nowhere to sit in this airport, the food facilities bleak. No space just long corridors to stand in whilst waiting to board. Its obviously not able to cater for the amount of people they are selling flights to. The whole place should be avoided at all cost if possible. I would certainly not travel through this airport a second time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"long narrow corridors with stairs and no lifts"

(United Kingdom)

Worst ever experience for a major city airport. At arrival faced with long narrow corridors with stairs and no lifts or escalators. Train station a very long way on foot. Ticket machines at station a nightmare to understand and use , platforms bleak and exposed. Train about 1/3 required capacity with only 3 carriages, over crowding worse than London commuting in rush hour, and absolutely no spaces for luggage. At departure same problem with stairs, hardly any seating, very poor restaurants, access to gate blocked by other passengers due to lack of space. In comparison London Stanstead is travellers’ paradise. Avoid if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not a good or lasting impression"

(United Kingdom)

The end has to be nigh for Berlin Schonefeld airport. Horrible experience from long check in and security queues as well as cramped public areas and boarding gates. For such a great city that Berlin is this place really does not give it a good or lasting impression.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 85 Reviews