Berlin Schonefeld Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 114 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"dirty, poorly designed, aged and depressing"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The terminals are dirty, poorly designed, aged and depressing. I was being dealt with by a pleasant female security assistant in departures, at which point, an incredibly aggressive and rude individual took over, grabbed my bag and shook it - asking if there was a computer inside. There was not as established by the pleasant lady just seconds before. He chucked it down and pushed it through the scanner. He grabbed my coat and other bag and threw them on the scanner belt too. I have never experienced such abhorrent, rude and discourteous staff at any airport in my life. My possessions were subject to a random explosives / drugs test - which is of course absolutely fine and good practice. The tester lifted my top up and rubbed my belt without even explaining he was going to do that - frankly, unacceptable. The run from Terminal D to A felt as if we were running through a prison. I will use Tegel, should I return to Berlin.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"So ignorant and unhelpful"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This airport has single handedly made me want to vow never to return to Berlin again. Never in my life have I met such a disgruntled, rude, nasty and so rude that I feel the need to say rude again, group of staff. So ignorant and unhelpful. We were directed to ‘Terminal D’ to check in for our flight, but then found out that 'gate 62' where we needed to board the plane, was in ‘Terminal A’ so had to leg it through 4 terminals! When we got there the lady said ‘oh hello, I’ve been told to send you back to security (in terminal D!) as there is something in your bag that we need to talk to you about’ - so with 10 minutes to spare before the gate closed I sprinted back to Terminal D, arriving just in time before my heart packed in, only to be told ‘oh it’s okay we don’t need you anymore’. So off I went sprinting back to Terminal A with seconds to spare before the gate closed - I was under no illusion that given how awful the staff were here, if the gate closed before I had arrived back they would have made me miss my flight and wait until the next one, in the morning! The airport ruined our trip to Berlin and I left angry and with a reduced lung capacity. Avoid this place at all costs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Staff are so rude"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Staff are so rude. Security staff are intimidating and just horrible. The human factor in this airport does not exist. It's by far the worst airport I have ever experienced. The respect is basically worse than a farm yard animal. Maybe passengers should go through SXF making sheep and cow noises then that would equate to the way we are treated. Absolutely shocking airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst customer service ever"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I have to agree with others here that this is the worst airport I have ever been to, and I advise all not to use it if you can. I will also, as others mentioned, not come to again to Berlin because of some of their staff. On top of all that others mentioned, if you are traveling with a baby - this is a really no, as they do not allow buggies to go throught security checks, and you need to leave it at check in desks and then hand carry your baby for next few hours. Funnily enough, when we used this airport 10 days earlier, the same buggy went through the security checks, but this time they refused to let us go, and boarding police even pretended that they dont speak English. The worst customer service ever.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"One of the worst airports"

(Germany)

Verified Review | One of the worst airports in the Western world. No place to sit or stand or wait and the most rude staff I have seen in a long time. Amazingly the staff are rude even at Burger King! Also despite the frequency or rainfall in the area there is practically no cover between terminals or between the car parking and the terminal. Last but not least the facilities for disabled people (from the car park till the gates) are among the worst I have ever seen. Shame! If you can avoid it do not think twice.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport for service"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Shocking airport and queuing times - three flights have arrived at the same time and there is only one member of immigration staff on passport control. Queuing for over 30 mins. Worst airport for service. This has put me off from visiting Berlin and travelling back to the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"chaos everywhere"

(Australia)

Verified Review | This has to be the worst airport I have experienced. Rude, unhelpful and unsympathetic staff. Chaos everywhere. If you are departing from here give yourself 3 hours before hand. Sometimes they make proper announcements, sometimes only in German in an anxious tone; and sometimes in English but you cannot understand what was announced. I saw many anxious and angry faces (mine included). A lot of people missed their flights! Customs people were inefficient, I observed 4 persons standing around one scanner when there was a long queue. After a staff did a random check on me, she left me standing while she chatted away with a colleague. And the check-in staff printed my son's boarding card twice (and not mine) causing further distress and confusion at the gate.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"It is simply a mess"

(Denmark)

Unverified | Worst airport ever! Stuffed with people, no place to sit, or no available toilets (2 for the entire terminal). People everywhere, not nearly enough room. Old and outdated. Long waiting time overall. Try to avoid it at all cost! It is simply a mess.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Waited ages to go through security"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Never met so many rude staff in all my life, not a single person smiled or had any manners whatsoever. Got told we had to go through security in terminal D, and then flight was departing from gate 64 - the complete opposite side of the terminal. Waited ages to go through security, and then while waiting for my girlfriend had to go through another security check where the guy was once again extremely rude. Airport itself putting me off coming back to Berlin which was otherwise a great city. Absolute disaster of an airport and by far the worst I've experienced.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"could not find an information board or map"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Dreadful. I've travelled to and from quite a few airports and this is undoubtedly the worst I have ever encountered when departing. Departure announcements alluded to terminal A, B, C and so on, yet there was no information about terminals, just gate numbers. We could not find an information board or map or help desk once we had been through security. We eventually found a map on our smartphone which reassured us that all the 'terminals' were joined up so the gate number was all that was needed. There seemed to be, however, no hint as to the distance to the gate in metres or minutes on any signage. Seating for waiting passengers was woefully inadequate, the toilets were unpleasant and had no toilet paper on our visit. The only positive thing I can find to say is that there were shops and places to buy food and drink. Two members of our party are mildly disabled and the walk from the train station to the airport is quite long. No assistance for the 'hard of walking' seemed to be in evidence and few staff were obvious to ask for assistance or directions. I know this is a work in progress and can only hope, for future passengers, that things improve - dramatically and fast.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no