Berlin Schonefeld Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 129 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"It needs demolishing"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | First visit to this airport. It needs demolishing. The toilet for women who have just arrived was appalling. 2 toilets-one was broken and the other one was in need of a good clean. No soap. Disability friendly it isn't. So if you are in a wheelchair or struggle with stairs, don't bother using this airport. Transport connections to Berlin are excellent. When departing from the airport, I was speechless. Having only hand luggage there is an additional facility to go through an electronic check in with your phone or printed boarding pass. At security the queue was horrendous. This is the most squashed and unorganised airport I have ever been through. The facilities are laughable. Eating facilities are pathetic. Hardly any seating, many people sat on the floor. I have experienced better airports in Africa! Avoid.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"you are destined to suffer"

(Sweden)

Not Verified | It is probably the worst airport in Europe. No elevators, no escalators. If you are disabled, old or traveling with a child, you are destined to suffer. Security and airport personal are rude. It is dirty and does not have enough places to sit, that's why you would see a lot of people sitting on the dirty floors. Disgusting.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"massively overcrowded"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | It is difficult to know where to begin with this review after nearly thirty years of frequent flying I would be struggling to remember an airport that comes close to reaching the depths that Schönefeld has. It is massively overcrowded, signs contradict each other pointing in opposite directions. The staff are unhelpful, dour faced reflecting the chaos that is all around them. There very few areas to sit and what is available are dirty with overpriced food and drinks even by airport standards. If at all possible avoid, avoid, avoid. No matter how cheap your flight is, it’s not worth it. Berlin is a beautiful city and a great destination. Find a way of visiting that doesn’t involve Schönefeld.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is small and chaotic"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This airport is a joke, a total embarrassed for a great capital like Berlin. No seats available whatsoever, more than half of the people lay on the ground. The airport is small and chaotic, it's dirty and miles away from being on par with other international airports. Avoid at all cost if you can.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Staff were very unfriendly"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Flight from Berlin to Moscow on 21-02-18, needed 1 h 50 min with a German passport to get through all the checks. Staff were very unfriendly not to say rude. Shops were very limited. Only 1 restaurant open with prices skyrocketing but poor quality. I'm ashamed as a German that foreign visitors get such a lousy impression of our capital's airport. Better use HAM or FRA or MUC or DUS. But not Berlin. Berlin is 'the city of the poor' in Germany. Well, you always get what you pay for - Berlin is one of the poorest cities in Germany with flight connections at extremely low rates. The staff there are not used to deal with international travelers and to meet their requirements. It is more 3rd world than 1st world there.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"I was highly disappointed"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | For Germany, I was highly disappointed. The train was standing room only. Terminal was grubby and dirty with a lack of seating. Staff was rude. I know, I was flying to Russia, but I was highly disappointed in the airport staffs lack of courtesy and politeness. I felt I was breaking rules all the time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one of the worst in Germany"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | One of the worst airports in Germany. I departed from Terminal D (low cost carrier terminal). Check in was quite fast. First problem occurred because I needed to go to customs, but even though there had been 3 flights out of EU the office was closed and I had to go to Terminal A to do what I needed to do. Then walking back to Terminal D for security. More or less ok, waiting time was not too long. In departure area there is just one restaurant, one duty free and one kiosk. Restaurant (Marche) is very expensive and the choice was small. Food was not edible, but expensive nevertheless. There aren't enough seats for all the passengers. Smoking area not available. During my 2 hours there I did not see one of the staff smiling.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"it is just far too small"

(Germany)

Not Verified | This poor facility is struggling under the weight of passengers it has to handle daily. Although well connected via S-bahn and Regional Train to central Berlin, albeit with a bit of a long walk from the station, the first impression one gets when approaching the terminal buildings is the sheer amount of people walking everywhere. The airport authorities have cleverly opened "Terminal C", for passengers with hand luggage only, which is basically nothing but a building with additional security checkpoints, but it seemed on my visit that some passengers were going to their allocated terminal, checking their luggage in, and then being sent outside and to Terminal C to pass through security. This is surely not what this system was designed for. After security the airport deteriorates into a maze of small corridors, stairs, prefabricated extensions, and surprises behind every door. Passengers were sitting all over the floor as the gate areas are too small, you had to literally pass through the Burger King and a bar to get to the gate. Toilet facilities are overstretched and hard to find, plus, upon walking down a quiet corridor full of doors, suddenly it appears that behind one door may be a cleaner's store, and the next a departure gate full of 150 people waiting for a flight! On my return I waited for 50 minutes in the Immigration line, but then had to walk for ages through more corrugated iron prefabs that were basically outside on the ramp, down more sets of stairs and then I found baggage reclaim and a welcome bathroom. The place must have been adequate in its day, but it is just far too small now and really just needs replaced by the shiny new BBI airport sitting on the other side of the runway.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"dismissed by all security"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Disgusting behaviour of security and clueless check-in staff. Travelling with an infant I was treated with no respect, I needed guidance and help and was dismissed by all security. There is no information available and staff are so rude, it's beyond belief! It looked to me that the staff were not trained as they were clueless to give me any answer to any question I had. I travel around 3-4 times a year from that airport, and my experience was never as bad. It was the first time I've travelled with an infant on my own, and I've experience the worst possible behaviour. Customer service does not exist in this airport!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport by far"

(Norway)

Not Verified | I’ve been travelling quite a bit for the last 10 years and visited a few airports. Schoenefeld, however, must be said to be the worst airport by far! I could not have imagined it was possible to make it less user friendly and ineffetive. First of all there it is hard to even find the check-in, then you’d spend an hour in security checks as the staff are not even considering speeding up one bit. Next is to find the gates, or even a flight information table. If it was possible I’d give a negative rating..
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no