Airline of the Year  

Berlin Schonefeld Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 97 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"very long queues"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Without a doubt one of my worst airport experiences ever. Unfortunately there is very little choice when it comes to travelling to and from Berlin. In short: very long queues, no aircon, grubby old buildings, hardly any shops, poor food choices and nasty staff! You could be forgiven for mistaking this place for a provincial airport in some 2nd world country and not one of only two airports of the capital of Germany. Avoid if possible!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"met by scenes of chaos"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Berlin Schonefeld is the worst airport I have ever had the misfortune to travel through. My friends and I arrived early (9.30am) for our return flight to the UK at 12.30. Upon entering Terminal D we were met by scenes of chaos. There were already 3 lines of queuing people the whole length of the terminal building. We checked in our bags with our airline Jet2.com and were advised to join the lines. The lines moved very slowly and we were standing in the queue until after 13.00, more than 3.5 hours later. My friends and I are all in our sixties. Other passengers were breaking into the lines. Nobody was marshalling the lines, even though Police and Security staff were present they did nothing to assist the situation. I believe passengers were sent to other terminals when they could no longer fit any more people through the doors. When we eventually arrived in the departure lounge our aircraft was already boarding and we had to hurry to the gate. We were the last of the passengers to board the aircraft. I understand this incident had been caused by a fire in a burger bar outside the terminal. I also understand that airport security is vitally important, but I would not like to be in this airport if a real emergency occurred. The only announcements I heard were telling people to keep calm. It was pathetic.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"chaos in terminal D"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | This morning, there was a fire outside the airport which was quickly taken care of by the fire fighters. From there, terminal D seemed to be paralysed: the security check was blocked, no information was given to the passengers for at least 4 hours, people whose flight was boarding couldn't move in front of the line (a staff member explained that "if we do it for one person, we'd have to do it for everyone", as if it was not the standard procedure in any other airport!). Finally I decided to leave the terminal and I discovered that things were running smoothly in the terminal C (30 meters from terminal D!). No one in terminal C seemed to know about the chaos in terminal D.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"the situation is horrible"

(Greece)

Verified Review | Worst airport I have ever been at. Airport staff were not very friendly and did not seem to know the airport very well. There were huge lines at security check which was not opened even after complaining with no reason being told. Announcements are very low volume and usually hard to understand. Food and duty free is eay too expensive, even for an airport. Generally it propably does not sound that bad, but in comparison to other German and European airports the situation is horrible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"dreadful arrival experience"

(United Kingdom)

Every time I arrive at Schonefeld I am shocked by the utterly archaic train ticketing system. The queues are huge for each machine. None of the machines take credit cards (seriously - in this day and age) and due to demand, the machines rapidly run out of change. This visit it took me 45 mins just to buy a train ticket. Dreadful arrival experience.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"out of date and run down"

(United Kingdom)

Berlin Schonefeld is a disgraceful airport for one of Europe's leading cities. Not only does it look out of date and run down it really is. Seating in the departure hall is a very restricted resulting in a good number of the passengers having to sit on the tiled floor, including me at the age of 77. The toilets are disgraceful, the entry is so small that if a passenger has a case (not unusual at an airport!) it is very difficult to get in. Also the toilets I visited were absolutely filthy with used nappies and sanitary towels on the floor because the bins were overflowing. The roller towels had run out and were dangling on the floor. A passenger on her own with small child in pushchair and hand luggage was told there was no lift from security to the departure lounge - it was left to other passengers to help her. At 3.15 our flight was announced on your board to go to gate 7 where we stood in a queue for 20 minutes only to then be told there was an hours delay on the flight. Surely someone knew this before calling the flight. I understand that this may have been easyJet's fault but it is totally synonymous with this inefficient and run down airport
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"as bland as an unsalted cracker"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Arrival at Berlin Schonefeld was about as bland as an unsalted cracker. Off the plane then straight into a bus, which went right into passport control. No shops or anything. Departure is even worse. Chaotic entrance, queues for passport control blocking pathways, dirty chairs, filthy toilets, and a choice of fine dining between Burger King and an Irish Pub (in Germany, God forbid). Avoid this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"A shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | No seating! Rude easyJet staff! Not able to drop bag earlier than 2 hours prior to flight - purchased speedy plus and seats for an easier drop off. Asked to allow plenty of time to get through security? How do you allow for traffic and for getting through security when gate closes 30 minutes prior to flight? A shambles!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely horrible airport"

(Norway)

Verified Review | Absolutely horrible airport. It feels like a temporary airport, long walks to gates, up and down stairs, no where to smoke in the entire terminal. Realy small shopping centres, we were hoping to get some nice rieslings before boarding the plane but the tax free had 4 different wine brands to choose from.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"gives true meaning to the term cattle class"

(United Kingdom)

This airport is barely better than a Greyhound station, horrible, queuing times for security were an hour, staff seriously grumpy and unhelpful, porbably because there weren't many of them. This place gives true meaning to the term cattle class, I will never again use a cheap airline (had no choice this time) that uses this airport. o not recommend as a point of entry or departure to Berlin, the train is pretty good though, the express to and from Central station, Hoptbanhof takes around half an hour.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 97 Reviews