Berlin Schonefeld Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 105 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"could not find an information board or map"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Dreadful. I've travelled to and from quite a few airports and this is undoubtedly the worst I have ever encountered when departing. Departure announcements alluded to terminal A, B, C and so on, yet there was no information about terminals, just gate numbers. We could not find an information board or map or help desk once we had been through security. We eventually found a map on our smartphone which reassured us that all the 'terminals' were joined up so the gate number was all that was needed. There seemed to be, however, no hint as to the distance to the gate in metres or minutes on any signage. Seating for waiting passengers was woefully inadequate, the toilets were unpleasant and had no toilet paper on our visit. The only positive thing I can find to say is that there were shops and places to buy food and drink. Two members of our party are mildly disabled and the walk from the train station to the airport is quite long. No assistance for the 'hard of walking' seemed to be in evidence and few staff were obvious to ask for assistance or directions. I know this is a work in progress and can only hope, for future passengers, that things improve - dramatically and fast.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a terrible airport"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Probably the worst airport I have ever traveled from. Disorganised and very outdated. Incredibly lengthy queues and rude and unhelpful staff. Specifically, we needed special assistance for a wheelchair, which had been requested when flights tickets were booked - after bag drop, we were told a wheelchair would come. After a long wait, still no wheelchair; we asked repeatedly how much longer we had to wait, but staff did not want to discuss or help. After a ridiculous wait, and with time ticking before the flight, we had to make our own way with our disabled family member not having a chair. Security was rude and inconsiderate. After security, several stairs to climb and no lift or help for people with disabilities. After arriving home to Edinburgh Airport, the difference in approach was so stark - special assistance with a chair waiting for us at the plane after landing, and support all the way through baggage collection to the bus back. Almost glad to be home again in Scotland. Great holiday in Germany, but Schonefeld a terrible airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the waiting room was stuffed to the brim"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Stood in line for 45 minutes to get a stamp on a printed boarding pass, where a person glanced at my passport. People from flights about to leave kept getting pushed in front. Then 40 minutes in the security check line, then had to walk a long way to stand in a 30 minute line to get in the gate, where my passport was checked again, then my paper boarding before pass was once again stamped, for no apparent reason. Then the plane was not ready for boarding (5 min before supposed departure) and the waiting room was stuffed to the brim, a dangerous level, so we once again stood and waited, mixed in with people from an adjacent gate also waiting for their flight. I've been to many developing countries with much better airports. I honestly don't understand how it's this bad. A city this large should have a world class airport. I would rather take a train back to Munich next time and use their airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Never come across an airport as poorly structured"

(Canada)

Unverified | I have travelled throughout much of the world, everywhere from Southeast Asia to South America, Europe and throughout many other regions. Never have I come across an airport as poorly structured in regards to efficiency as Berlin Schoenfeld Airport. In fact, I would much rather fly out of Kathmandu's Tribhuvan International Airport, which has shut down in the past due to excessive potholes on the runway, then subject myself to this ever again. Oh, and upon arrival to the airport subway terminal we were greeted with ticket checkers for the train, which is not a big deal, but seeing as we had to try three different ticket dispensaries before we found one that worked, unnecessarily mean spirited.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Has to be the worst airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Security queues were the only good thing at this airport. The facilities in this airport (terminal D) were next to nothing. There is very limited seating and the prices for water were abhorrent. There isn't even the option of a water fountain. Once the gate was called we were then funnelled through a long corridor whilst having to step round and over other passengers, whilst they were forced to sit on the ground waiting to board their flight. Once through passport control we were then ushered into a small room to wait and board the flight. No toilet facilities were available and there was no prior warning to this. Has to be the worst airport I have ever flown from and would actively try to avoid coming back to it!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Cleanliness is shocking"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | This is by far the worst airport I have ever had the misfortune of visting. I travel extensivly and I can honestly say that this ranks number 1 on the worst ever list and I have seen some poor airports. Cleanliness is shocking. Security is a joke, facilities are better at Lulea airport and that is nothing more than a shed with a runway attached. I have now been through this airport 3 times and yet to see a single flight leave within an hour of its scheduleed departure. Operations are shambolic at best. The landing fees must be ridiculousy cheap as its the only reason I can see for any airline to even consider using this place.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"unutterably shoddy"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Berlin Schonefeld Airport is filthy, unfriendly, cramped, uncomfortable and unutterably shoddy and disgusting all round. There is no aircon, facilities are very limited, there is nowhere near enough seating, the cafe facilities are falling apart and jam packed with hardly any choice. Security staff were rude and disrespectful. The departure area is filthy and full of flies. I have flown from many airports around the world including in third world countries and this is the most disgusting experience I have ever had. This is nowhere near the standard one expects of wealthy European cities.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely rude and completely unnecessary"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | It was a horrible experience and I don't recommend it to anyone. Security control is extremely inefficient and rude and speaking to me in German all the time despite me asking for English. I spent half an hour (because they only opened two lanes out of four) standing in the queue with people queue jumping. After passing through security, the lady next to scanner started shouting at me in German (at an international airport) so I asked her for English which she did not bother with. After scanning my shoes, I thought it was done and another lady told me to put my bag on a tray. When I asked which, she said 'you know what means all?'. Absolutely rude and completely unnecessary. I was very upset, angry and felt like I was flagged for adhering to the rules.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very long queues"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Without a doubt one of my worst airport experiences ever. Unfortunately there is very little choice when it comes to travelling to and from Berlin. In short: very long queues, no aircon, grubby old buildings, hardly any shops, poor food choices and nasty staff! You could be forgiven for mistaking this place for a provincial airport in some 2nd world country and not one of only two airports of the capital of Germany. Avoid if possible!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"met by scenes of chaos"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Berlin Schonefeld is the worst airport I have ever had the misfortune to travel through. My friends and I arrived early (9.30am) for our return flight to the UK at 12.30. Upon entering Terminal D we were met by scenes of chaos. There were already 3 lines of queuing people the whole length of the terminal building. We checked in our bags with our airline Jet2.com and were advised to join the lines. The lines moved very slowly and we were standing in the queue until after 13.00, more than 3.5 hours later. My friends and I are all in our sixties. Other passengers were breaking into the lines. Nobody was marshalling the lines, even though Police and Security staff were present they did nothing to assist the situation. I believe passengers were sent to other terminals when they could no longer fit any more people through the doors. When we eventually arrived in the departure lounge our aircraft was already boarding and we had to hurry to the gate. We were the last of the passengers to board the aircraft. I understand this incident had been caused by a fire in a burger bar outside the terminal. I also understand that airport security is vitally important, but I would not like to be in this airport if a real emergency occurred. The only announcements I heard were telling people to keep calm. It was pathetic.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no