Barbados Grantley Adams Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 43 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"had an awful experience at this airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | I had an awful experience at this airport. The screening agent was extremely rude and disrespectful. She emptied out the contents of me up bag and toiletries into a dirty bin that is used by thousands of people. My personal hygiene products, everything. I had a wonderful trip in Barbados but this type of experience cast a negative view over my overall trip. I wouldn’t return here because of this. Terrible staff in the airport, not the lasting impression that should be sent on with visitors.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"truly, truly awful"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The arrival process at this airport post passport control is truly, truly awful. I have never encountered such rude, and on one occasion aggressive customs staff - ever. There is no organisation, reason or process as to why people are forced to queue for lengthy periods of time whilst others simply glide through. On one section of the compulsory entry form I was shouted at for not completing the section on how many children were accompanying me. When I said I had none, and that if this was the case the form said to pass on to the next section the customs lady shouted at me and told me to complete it anyway. Residents and visitors alike are treated with equal disdain - unless of course you pay for a porter or private pre-arranged fast track. Perhaps therein lies the reason why lesser mortals are treated in such an abominable fashion.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"The whole place is chaotic"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This has got to be one of the worst airports I have had the misfortune to pass through. Both arrival and departure were very stressful. I travelled with two people who needed wheelchair assistance. On arrival we had to wait on the plane for about three quarters of an hour because there is only one "cherry picker" (the contraption that lifts the wheelchair folk from the plane to the ground) and this was in use elsewhere (there are no air bridges at this airport). We were lucky, with special assistance we jumped the queues, but it still took an hour. I felt sorry for those in the huge queue for immigration which seemed to move at a snail's pace. Our special assistance lady got us a redcap porter, I'm not sure I would have managed without her as they were thin on the ground. She also took us to the front of the queue for customs clearance, there was also a long queue for this. No walking through a door signed "nothing to declare". She then got us a taxi. Honestly without her I really don't know how we would have managed. The whole place is chaotic. Perhaps they have expanded faster than they can cope with. The return journey was slightly better as we were able to use the club lounge. This is shared between all airlines and is more like an upmarket cafe than a club lounge, but it's a haven from the scrum downstairs. I hope never to have to pass through this airport ever again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"the slowest airport I have been through"

(United Kingdom)

Possibly the slowest airport I have been through. Long queues arriving and departing. They probably arranged for the airport wifi not to work so it would be harder for us to post an immediate poor review! Immigration and security staff could do with a course at a charm school. Strange, because the island and the people we met on the island were great.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"serve with some respect or at least basic manners"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This airport has the most ill mannered Customs Staff we have ever had the misfortune to encounter, border control staff represent their country and the visitors they meet are paying their salaries. We queued for over two and a half hours in the arrivals hall area. There were 3 immigration officers on duty the rest of the booths were empty, please review staffing levels. The officer who processed our forms was not friendly but that was acceptable he wasn't rude. Next were the female customs staff, we have never encountered anyone so openly hostile, rude, ill mannered officers at any airport and we are frequent travellers. One officer was marching up and down the line being openly aggressive, while the other one who checked your documents did not speak but pointed and clicked her fingers to communicate with you without eye contact. Meanwhile the redcaps were walking by with passengers and were exempt from this why? We will avoid this airport in the future this is not the face Barbados wants to present to the world, please re train or replace these individuals, meanwhile remind them that we (the visitors) are paying their salaries and treat the people they serve with some respect or at least basic manners.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
7/10

"Staff are very pleasant"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Its fair to say that the departure experience is better than the arrivals, which is a shame! Our flight arrived just after a Virgin flight that meant a very long and hot queue at immigration. Staff are very pleasant however. Everyone had to go through the red channel and porters with trolleys seemed to have priority and hence kept jumping the queue! The departure experience was much better, check in was quick as was passport control and security, everybody very polite. Shops are very limited, but good local rum only BD$22 a litre!!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"met with smiles and friendliness"

(United Kingdom)

This airport is simply amazing comparative to many airports within the Caribbean. I may go as far as to say some of the larger airports elsewhere should follow them. I arrived from Gatwick and was met with smiles and friendliness. Though I had to wait for a little bit within immigration, the officer's smile helped me to forget the little wait. The airport is quite large and spacious comparative to others I've seen in the Caribbean. There is a Concorde exhibit where one of the 7 British Airways Concordes is housed (the other 6 are in USA and UK respectively). It was a really good exhibit. There is airport wide wifi which is excellent and I am told that the airport is undergoing expansions within the next couple years. All in all well done Barbados.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"utter chaos ensued"

(United Kingdom)

This is the second time I have used this airport. I doubt I will go to Barbados again after our latest experience. Arrivals was a pain. 45 mins to get through passport control, they check your documents and your 'blue' form at passport control. Collect your bags in the Arrival hall. Queue again for 30 mins whilst one, yes one lady checks / collects your 'blue' form again. Then wait 45 mins whilst transfers try to get their act together checking our form three different times. 2 hrs to get onto our transfer bus. Never mind, we're on holiday now. Depature can't be any worse. How wrong can a person be. We were due to fly home at 17.25 with Thomas Cook. Arrived at the airport at 14.20 to a massive queue at the Thomas Cook Check In. Two desks open for Glasgow and utter chaos ensued. They had no idea what they were doing. It took us until 16.00 to check in. Some people were stood in front of the check in desk for over 10 mins whilst they faffed around disappearing into the back room then consulting each other. Queue for passport control and security was the same. After getting air side we had to run to Gate 14 as it was gone 17.30. Utterly pathetic, no customer consideration. The Thomas Cook pilot apologised for the chaos and we all got a free drink and upgraded film package, which was a nice touch. However, I have never experienced such a shoddy, unprofessional, slap dash experience in my 50 years of flying. Get your act together Grantley Adams, your customers have plenty of other islands to fly to in the Caribbean. Our money can easily be spent elsewhere and mine will certainly will not be spent in Barbados again until I hear things have improved.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"won't be coming back in a hurry"

(United Kingdom)

We have been coming to Barbados since 1988 albeit not for the past few years, our BA flight arrived behind the Virgin flight and we ended up at the back of the passport queue from the two flights, no problem. When eventually going through to collect baggage there was another huge queue to go through customs, the green exit was closed with six staff checking each and every passenger at the red gate. How come that using one of the barrow boys for a cost of $20 US lets you straight through, after the long flight and one long wait at passport control is OK but to then be subject to a second huge queue or get stung by the barrow boys is not a good start. I won't be coming back in a hurry. Holidays are meant to destress from work so avoid Barbados unless you want total travel stress before your holiday.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"bags arrived quickly"

(United Kingdom)

First time to Barbados for recent holiday. No problem with arrival or departure experience. Good to walk from/to aircraft instead of the usual lurching bus ride. Bags arrived quickly, probably because we had beaten BA. Passage through airport quite speedy. I was only passenger from our transport for Virgin Atlantic flight so had personal escort to desk and exceptional service from their staff. Immigration no problem. Very good shops with polite and helpful staff. Large lounge area by gate with plenty of food outlets available. Again, easy access to aircraft.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 40 Reviews