Anchorage Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 12 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

Anchorage Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 23rd July 2015

Ted Stevens Anchorage Airport South (domestic) Terminal is a pleasure to navigate through. Modern, uncrowded, spacious, scenic with many wonderful Alaskan artifacts. Seems that almost everyone photographs the giant stuffed moose upon arrival. A nice variety of stores-even a McDonalds with a 50 cent ice cream cone. Comfortable and roomy observation deck. Short walk to be connected to People Mover (city bus), Alaska Railroad and rental cars (no need to ride shuttle bus). The most complete and careful security check I have experienced.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date Visit23-07-2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
10/10

Anchorage Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 6th September 2014

The (south) domestic terminal in Anchorage is world class and beautiful. This new terminal is very modern spotlessly clean provides amenities expected at an international airport and offers a view of the surrounding mountains that is breathless. The displays of local wildlife native culture and art is unsurpassed by most airports in the world. However the old north terminal (which is now connected to the south terminal by a concourse) is sad. Anchorage is one of the five most busy airports in the world for international (cargo) airlines but not for international passenger service. The few international airlines that do provide passenger service (mostly during the summer months) are forced to use the north terminal as U.S. customs is located there. All the comments seen on this site are about the north terminal made by international travelers and are undoubtedly true. Wish they all could have been processed through the magnificent south building.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
5/10

Anchorage Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 13th August 2013

Be aware the International terminal has only one shop that sells duty free goods. The only alcohol sold is a restricted choice of whiskeys and they only sell a restricted selection of cigarettes.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
6/10

Anchorage Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 16th October 2011

Went to Anchorage in late 2011. Airport has some restaurants on the security side of the airport but not a good choice and the quality was not too good. The gift shops on the other hand are excellent especially if you are looking for Native American art. Be warned that quite a few souvenirs are like snow shakers with water which will be taken off you by security if you need to pass through them again. Information screens were useful. Plenty of seating and quite a view out of the terminal window.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
3/10

Anchorage Airport customer review

Review by (United States) 5th September 2011

I live in Anchorage so fly through here fairly often. The North terminal is old and outdated with little seating old and dirty bathrooms and few options for dining. The baggage claim in the north terminal is rickety old and often slow. The lines are longer and check-in just isn't as efficient. The north terminal is also very dark. The new terminal is great though lots of food and beverage options nice bathroom facilities plenty of seating moving walkways shorter lines efficient baggage claim and overall better design. There's also a lot more light and a better view of the mountains. The experience really does depend on which terminal you get. It will be either really good or really bad.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

Anchorage Airport customer review

Review by (Switzerland) 23rd August 2011

The airport lacks a transit area. Passengers are forced to leave the aircraft and pass immigration control. Passenger handling seems unprofessional. Gate waiting room had TV screens with commercials blaring out unwanted TV entertainment but lacked an information screen and a PA system. Airport ground handling delayed flight in spite of sufficient ground time.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

Anchorage Airport customer review

Review by 5th April 2009

I connected in ANC on a PDX-TPE trip and I agree with the previous review that the facilities and nice in the main terminal and shameful in the International one. I arrived via AS in the South Terminal and waited 30+ minutes for the shuttle bus to the North (International) terminal. Check-in at China Airlines was smooth and after I cleared security I began looking for the lounge and I was amazed at the pitiful facilities for an "International" terminal. There was no Business Class lounge no restuarant only a kiosk with expensive and silly souvenirs. I was reminded by the clerk who sold me a $4 soft drink that "It's 1am..what do you expect?" When I pointed out that the China Airline flight I was taking was the only true "International" flight at ANC she suggested I call someone who cared ! About 1:30am my 744 arrived from JFK and I was surprised that the thru Pax had to disembark and were herded in to a sterile waiting room with the rest of us going to TPE. Four days later I returned and once again experienced the inefficiency of this Airport: all Pax must deplane at ANC and clear Customs - even those going on to JFK. There were 3 stations open - for an entire 744 that was 80% full. Despite 2+ hours of connecting time I barely made my flight in the South terminal. As far as I can tell the International terminal serves no real purpose with 1 International flight that operates 3x weekly ANC would do well by moving everything to the South terminal and demolishing this relic of the cold war.
no
3/10

Anchorage Airport customer review

Review by 28th September 2008

Your experience at Anchorage International all depends on which terminal you arrive in. The Alaska Airlines terminal shared with Northwest and AA's seasonal flights is quite nice and renovated. There are decent bars and restaurants and many good shops. Then there is the North Terminal - used by Delta Continental US Air and Air Canada. This was the former International Terminal used before Russian airspace opened up and before the 747-400 and 777 came along and eliminated the need for a refueling stop on flights from JFK to Asia and Heathrow - Asia. It is indeed a relic of the Cold War - a dirty dated claustrophobic mess that needs to be razed. There are no facilities whatsoever. Avoid Terminal N if possible.
no
na

Anchorage Airport customer review

Review by 5th May 2006

Easy check in with the kiosks set up - even near the parking garage! I'd suggest taking advantage of Alaska Airlines' online check in as you can get bonus FF miles for doing it that way. Bars were nice - no smoking anywhere but the airport is small enough that you can get outside easy. Security takes a very long time even with a short time. I'd recommend 3 hours for even domestic travel - especially if there is a foreigner in front of you.
no
na

Anchorage Airport customer review

Review by 31st March 2005

The new Alaska Airlines concourse in outstanding. Lots of light from the wall of glass along one side not to mention the breathtaking mountain views. Lots of moving sidewalks and flight information screens. Not many food places yet but these will come. The other concourses are quite dismal.
no