XL Airways France

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 57 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"nice and smiling staff"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flight Los Angeles - Paris with XL Airways. June 2017. First of all, when rating a low cost airline, I need to compare it to other low cost airlines and not to Emirates for example. When you book low cost, you should know what to expect: you know that for such a low price, you're not gonna have the high quality you want (for that, you go with Air France and pay $1,500 instead of $600). So, that being said, for a low cost airline XL is really good on several points, but of course some are not. Good points: - the free checked-in bag! Yes, that makes the whole difference, because most low cost airlines makes you pay for it, which then drags the final price up. So that was appreciated. The free meals in-flight. We were given full meals in flight. In addition to that, we were given free coffee / tea, and refreshments as well. Only alcohol is in addition. Food quality: good! I will not say amazing, no, but for in-flight food, it's pretty good. Very similar to the food quality you will get in Air France flights. This is because XL Airways is a French airline, so good products. Trust me after this you will be full, but if you want more, they have a menu with French items, delicious. - the staff. The staff was amazing, really. I think the best service I had on a flight. They are not after you to buy things (which I experienced in most low cost airlines). They were so helpful and dedicated. They give you extra bread, and do not hesitate to serve you twice for refreshment when asked. Overall very nice and smiling staff. Negative points - the seats. I would say the seats are my main and only complaint. They are very tiny, and not too comfortable. I'm a small size woman, so it was ok for me, but the poor guy seating next to me had a hard time. His knees were literally touching the seat up front, so not the best for a long haul flight. This is where you feel that you are in a low cost airline in case you forgot, here's the reminder. - the in-flight entertainment. So, they don't have in-seat screens. However, they do have in-flight entertainment through iPads or other devices. You can access their entertainment through your computer, or they rent iPads for $15 (which also include the premium package). Not a big selection of movies, but enough for a long haul flight. Personally, I enjoyed reading a book better, and also download my own favorite series before leaving to enjoy during the flight. Overall: for the price, I will use this airline again. Mainly because I do a lot of Los Angeles-Paris, and the direct flight, with checked in baggage and meals included is just awesome..
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Paris
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"pleasantly surprised"

(United States)

Verified Review | I was pleasantly surprised by XL Airways after all the critical reviews. The aircraft from Los Angeles to Paris was clean, the attendants were very involved throughout the 10 hour flight (and were pleasant as well), and the flight itself was smooth. Yes the seats are crammed in there and the entertainment is not great. There is wifi and you can watch movies on your iPad. (They also rent ipad minis for $20 so bring your own!). I read a little and tried to sleep so this wasn't a deal breaker for me given the reasonable fare. If want more leg room, you pay dearly ($70 extra) but this is worth it for me. We left and arrived on time which adds a star. I actually found it a much more pleasant experience than my super expensive Air France flight last year. I would fly them again for sure.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Paris
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"pilot did an excellent job"

(United States)

Verified Review | After reading all the reviews about XL Airways and learning that they have 3-4 planes in their entire fleet, I was extremely anxious. We arrived at JFK 3 hours early and were among the first in line to check in. After waiting in line for an hour, we made it to the counter where our back bags and checked bags were carefully weighed. Thank goodness, we were all underneath the required mass. The plane was boarded and we we got on the electricity went completely out but in a few minutes, we were on our way. The pilot did an excellent job piloting the plane and even though we took off late, we made it close to our normal time. After spending a few days in Paris, we went back to check in to our return flight but they had already boarded and we missed our flight. We tried calling customer service but only got a recording and wasn't until the next day that we found out we would have to purchase a one way ticket home. On the way back after Checking in for our one way flight back to the US, the woman at the counter was not sympathetic just said so sorry. We did make it home safely and once again the pilot did an excellent job. Bottom Line: I would take this airline again but make sure that I made the flight next time because you will not be compensated or offered a discount. By the way, I thought the food served on board was really good! We were served breakfast about an hour before our flight landed in Paris and dinner an hour or so into our flight on the way back.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Paris CDG
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"would not recommend this airline"

(United States)

Paris to New York JFK. The aircraft seemed to be a really old plane, and the TV's were broken (this plane did not feature individual screens on the back of the seats). But the flight itself wasn't the worst flight I've ever been on. The service was ok, and the food was edible. It is, after all, a budget flight. I would also like to mention that the captain did a great job piloting the plane. My issue with XL Airways is their customer service. We had checked in an oversized luggage at CDG, paid the fees, and followed the standard procedures of checking in. When we arrived at JFK, our oversized luggage was nowhere to be found. The staff at the terminal 4 oversized baggage claim counter told us that we just need to wait. We waited for 2 hours before someone finally told us that most likely it didn't make it onto our flight. We filed a claim, and they provided us with a phone number to contact to track our lost luggage. The number is completely bogus. We tried calling during business hours (8AM - 10PM weekdays) after ringing for about 3 minutes, it goes to voicemail, which is conveniently full. We try reaching XL Airways through several means, and finally we manage to speak to a representative. The representative tells us that we need to send an email with a detailed list of the items in the lost luggage. We do so, and wait for a reply. After doing a bit of research, I find a review dated 2013 about a lost luggage through XL Airways from CDG to JFK. The reviewer finally managed to track down their suitcase by going directly to JFK. So we decide to do the same and drove back to the airport to Terminal 4. After speaking to TSA, they tell us to speak to an XL Airways representative at their ticketing counter in departures. We make our way there only to be told that we need to go back downstairs to lost and found. Finally someone from Swissport baggage transport helps us track down our lost luggage, and we finally receive it. Nobody from XL Airways would provide us with any type of information regarding our lost luggage. They have a compensation policy of 20 euros per kilo for lost luggages, which wouldn't have even covered the cost of the suitcase itself. They have zero respect for their customer's belongings, which is completely unacceptable. Furthermore, no one from XL Airways was willing to help us in the least. They kept sending us to dead ends, and it wasn't until we showed up at the airport the following day that we received any answers (none of which came from XL Airways). This review should serve as a warning to anyone looking to fly with XL Airways. They have a 5kg weight limit for carry on luggage, and a 20kg weight limit for checked in luggage. First checked in luggage is free, after that it's 100 euros per bag. They also don't respect your belongings. To them, you aren't a customer that deserves respect, you are just a sold seat. I will never fly with them again, and their aircrafts need to be updated desperately. They should have been out of circulation years ago. I would not recommend this airline. Fly with Air France, they actually treat you like a human being.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCDG to JFK
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"one of the worst flights ever"

(France)

Verified Review | New York JFK to Paris CDG. One of the worst flights ever. Though we are allowed 5kg (yes, only 5kg) of carry on luggage, at the airport I am informed there is no overhead compartment for small suitcases. When I ask for options, instead of answering my question, they take me to the manager, make me wait for 30min and then accuse me of making a scene. When they all calm down, they explain I can use the storage under the seat which is ok by me and I check-in the carry-on. Though the plane simply does not have overhead compartments for the middle section. To avoid issue it is worse to pay to pick a seat on window side. Otherwise, hot flight with zero AC, totally inedible food, service absent, central entertainment is very low quality. Only positive is the price.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to CDG
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"budget airline with minimal service"

(United States)

Los Angeles to Paris CDG with XL Airways. This is a budget airline with minimal service. If you can accept no frills service of getting you to your destination then this might be for you. If you are used to full service airlines such as American, Delta, Southwest, United etc then don't take this airline unless you can deal with the following - narrow seats, poor customer service, difficult website, very restrictive baggage weights. We did it. It worked for us. We kept our bags to 20 kg checked (42 lbs) and 11 lbs (cabin) I strongly suggest you buy a travel scale for like $6 from Amazon. We made a mistake and paid extra for the exit row on our outbound flight. Lots of leg room, but the arm rests are fixed and don't go up like in all other rows. This loses you 2.5 inches in width. Having those extra inches helps. Our flight was only 2/3 full and most people don't pay for the seat selection. I suggest you do. Getting pinned into a middle seat or window seat and having to climb over someone on the tight seats is tough. This was the cheapest ticket for the busy summer season at $1120 round trip. My rating is low because service does matter. Website is poor in my opinion. We could not book return flight seats without calling airline since website did not let us do it after we booked outbound flight seats. Our steward during outbound flight was only capable of handing out meals. Had minimal English capability. Overall summary, if you are experienced traveler and need low cost, then this may work for you if you read up on what has gone wrong for others and avoid their mistakes. I hear all the airlines are shrinking seats (I don't travel much anymore), but 17 inch seat width is the smallest I have ever had and was the smallest seat I could physically squeeze my 270 lb body into without having to ask for a second seat.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to CDG
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"service was really good"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Francisco to Paris with XL Airways France. I was really concerned after reading all the negative reviews and was pleasantly surprised to have a good experience. There were 3 of us and the money savings was a lot. Since we saved so much, I upgraded our seats to more legroom, very reasonably priced. On the way back, we were able to get an emergency row for the 3 of us, $50 each. The service going and coming back was really good. We had a meal, snacks, coffee, tea, and water free. Of course, there was other stuff for sale like on all flights. Legroom in general is not that different from most of the major US airlines, seat width is pretty narrow. The video entertainment is bad, but they do rent tablets with videos, games and documentaries for €10.00, well worth it. Even with all the extras, it was still a big savings. The worst part of XL is their online booking. It's easy to book your tickets, but if you have any questions, forget getting hold of someone. Reserving your seats - only if your lucky. I was able to book our seats about 3 weeks before our trip from SFO to Paris, but not return. When we went to the airport to check in I asked about getting return seats, they said ask in Paris, they couldnt. Paris said, you can't reserve seats until day of flight. We got to the airport about 2.5 hours prior to flight and easily reserved our seats. On our departure flight I noticed a lot of people angry about an extra charge for overweight luggage. Its shown everywhere what the weight limit is, so we didnt have any issues. The weight limit is very reasonable, 44lbs for a check in bag (no charge) and 5kg which is about 11lbs for carry on. If you've got the money to spend at least $400 and more for each ticket for an airlines with more frills go for it, but I think you would have to pay at least $600 more to really feel the difference. ** WAITING FOR TICKET **
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSFO to CDG
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"no service whatsoever"

(United States)

Flew XL Airways France from Paris CDG to Miami. The price could not be beat, but you get what you pay for. After they served the meal, about an hour into the flight, all of the flight attendants disappeared for 4 hours. People kept pressing the call buttons and nobody showed up. I kept pressing mine and someone would turn it off after a little while, no service whatsoever. They will not bring you water, you have to get up and get it yourself in the middle area. They don't have TVs but offer tablet rentals. I tried to rent one but they only had 20 or so for the entire flight, so with only a few people ahead of me for one, I didn't get one. I had to sit there bored for 9 hours. Your flight comes with nothing, you have to pay for everything, including snacks, and a blanket. They have outlets under the seats but they don't work, nobody's outlet worked.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCDG to MIA
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"pay for extra legroom seat"

(United States)

Flew New York JFK to Paris CDG in May 2015. I would fly them again but take my advice and pay the extra $50 for an extra legroom seat. For the amount of money you save by flying XL Airways over the competitors, the $50 is a worthy splurge. Both flights were on time. Fare was a steal at $700. I haven't seen anything this cheap in years. Staff was extremely professional, both in flight and gate staff. Plane was in good condition. Tiny seats, I am 5'3" and didn't have too much problem. However my boyfriend is 6'0" and was miserable. The passenger in front reclined his seat and was basically sitting in my boyfriend's lap for 7 hours. Their website is horrible - after the first leg of my trip, I wised up and was trying to reserve extra legroom seats on the website but kept getting error messages and ultimately was not able to. This was absolutely infuriating. After all those errors on the website, I tried to call their customer service for help but only got voicemail. Absolutely infuriating. Good luck if you need any help after you book. No inflight entertainment. The power outlet at our seats worked only intermittently. Make every effort to charge your devices before boarding the plane.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to CDG
Date FlownMay 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"disregard for customer service"

(United States)

New York to Paris. Our 9.30pm flight was delayed one hour, without explanation, then another hour and moved to another gate, again with no explanation. Then the flight was delayed another hour or so again, no explanation. Boarding of the flight began, and then the flight was cancelled - without explanation at 11:45 p.m. The staff asked for patience, but no information was given to the passengers until after 1:00 am. The reason for the cancellation was that the airline overworked the flight crew. This is something that could have been determined by 8:00pm, but the majority of the passengers did not get a hotel until 3:00 am due to the overwhelming incompetence of the staff of this airline. They did not assist, offer information, they were rude, condescending and complained to the rightly frustrated customers that we were somehow ungrateful for their efforts to not get us to Paris on Christmas Eve. I've never seen such an impressive display of incompetence, and such rampant disregard for the most basic notion of customer service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJFK to CDG
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 57 Reviews