XL Airways France

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 67 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"It was so unprofessional"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New York JFK to Paris. I would not recommend anyone booking a flight with this airline. Two weeks ago, I had a flight leaving from JFK to CDG on Sunday night. When I got to the airport, there was no one from XL airways there. Over 150 passengers were waiting for a flight that never arrived. The worst part is that I tried getting in touch with the airline in New York and in France and there was no answer. The airline did not even have the decency to send me an email or text that there was no flight. The first time I heard from the airline was Tuesday night informing me that my flight will be leaving Thursday afternoon. It was so unprofessional and honestly appalling. The airline did not value any of the people’s time and did not even care to correspond with passengers until two days later. In addition, I lost money on a flight that I had leaving from Paris to another country.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Paris
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"inconvenience so many people"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was meant to fly out of JFK to Paris. I understand the conditions at JFK Terminal 4 were out of XL Airways' control however what was in XL Airways control was to inform its passengers of what was going on. There were no email or text updates about the delays in the flight therefore I traveled to the airport at the appropriate time only to find no information and no XL Airways staff. This is is inexcusable to have no reps in person and the only phone number we could reach was a french number which incurred international charges. The only reason I even found the number to call was because other passengers said they had found some announcements on the XL airways website. Why none of us could be informed via phone, email or any representatives in person is beyond me. How hard is it to send one email blast out to all passengers saying "We apologize for the inconvenience, please check our website for updates and we will continue to share news with you as soon as we have it. Thank you for your patience". Again I understand that the weather and the pipe burst are extenuating circumstances however it is within XL Airlines capabilities and responsibilities to communicate effectively with passengers and have a plan in case of such events that severely inconvenience so many people. It is now 24 hours after my flight was scheduled and I have yet to receive any information from them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Paris
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

XL Airways France customer review

(United States)

Trip Verified | New York to Paris. This is truly the absolute worst airline. They are unresponsive, incompetent, and unequivocally rude. They do not have representatives at the airport and the staff that they do employ refuse to answer customer's questions. I was scheduled to leave on a flight 2 days ago at 9:30 pm. The flight's gate kept being changed for hours after the departure time until it was ultimately CANCELLED around 2 am. Then, they had us stand in the line waiting for a representative to speak to each traveler individually about rescheduling our flights. We waited in this line until 4 am without anyone being spoken to. Then, they made an announcement that they had hotels reserved for us and that we were just waiting for buses to take us there. An hour later, they noted that no buses were on the way and that there were no hotel rooms reserved. They did not provide us with water or answers/information as to when our flight was being rescheduled to. The staff members insulted passengers calling us rude, disrespectful, and annoying for voicing our concern and frustration. They refused to speak to us and did not answer a single question. We could not leave the airport because they would not release our luggage. After we were forced to sleep on the bare floor of the airport, they said that the flight would be rescheduled to the next day at 7:30 pm. We lined up for check in at 4:30, as instructed. The XL representatives/staff members said that we were "misbehaving" so they chose to delay check in until 6 pm. We finally checked in. The flight was re-listed as being scheduled for 9:30 pm. We waited at the gate until 11:30, when they claimed that they were commencing boarding. We stood in line waiting for boarding until 12:45 pm. At this time, they CANCELLED the flight again. Then, XL threatened to have any passengers that complained or showed anger arrested. They instructed us to go pick up our luggage at the carousel. We went to the carousel, where we waited until 4 am. At 4 am, we were told that no luggage would be released to us, and that no other information would be given. I left the airport. I received an email at 3:00 pm notifying me that the flight was scheduled for 2:00 am the following morning. Then, this flight was also cancelled. 3 flights cancelled. They still have our luggage. They have given us no additional information.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Paris
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"seats were terribly uncomfortable"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew New York JFK to Paris CDG. Worst airline ever that I have ever flown with. The seats were terribly uncomfortable, there is no amount of perks that can be had that offsets this. I almost thought it was me that was the problem but after flying with 3 other airlines on our European trip it was XL that was the problem. We flew with 3 other airlines and confirmed that XL Airways one of the worst airlines we have ever used. Choice between XL and walking, I'm walking.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Paris CDG
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Value for money is excellent"

(France)

Verified Review | Miami to Paris. So reading most of the other reviews I was expecting the worst when I boarded XL Airways. If you have been flying for the last 30 years it is a just like going back to the 90s. No screen with individual entertainment. Pros: Food was good as well as price and staff. Cons: If you want a pillow and decent blanket you have to pay 8 euros for it. It's a low cost airline so what do you expect. Value for money is excellent.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Paris
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"attentive and very friendly"

(United States)

Verified Review | Paris to Los Angeles. I was skeptical about flying with this airline before I booked. I had read prior reviews and the ratings were very low. I felt that I should contribute with regards to the overall service that I received from XL Airways. My fare was excellent. I paid more for connecting within Europe then flying across the world. Crew, attentive and very friendly. I received lunch, dinner and snack, as well as headphones. Basic water, tea and coffee provided with meals and throughout the flight. Anything else, needed to be paid for. I understood that before I booked. It's a low cost airline so basic caffinated drinks and or specialty drinks as well as blankets incur an extra charge. The blanket came in a colorful pouch with a blow up half moon pillow and eye mask, for 8 Euros. Credit cards are accepted onboard. They provided duty free purchases before landing. As for Internet, there was a fee to watch movies and listen to music for 9.95. You needed to download the airlines app before departure. If you didn't want to purchase internet to view and listen to music/movies, the aircraft did have three tv's on the plane, in which they played 3 movies and a travel documentary on a particular destination for the long flight. I found the movies entertaining and family oriented. The seats were comfortable for me but of course just average, it's economy class. So please consider this if you are tall! If you need extra legroom, economy plus for an extra fee is available before confirming your flight. The aircraft was very clean and facilities were positioned properly on the aircraft with several almost available at a time. The last check-in was an hour before departure, so get there early. No exceptions are made and is a strict policy that the airline adheres to. I witnessed two customers that tried checking in 6 mins after the airline closed the check in counters and were still denied check in. As for carry on, strict 5kg allowance, one personal hand bag and one carry on only. If you exceeded the 5kg weight, the bag is checked to your destination but with no additional fee to do so, which is nice. I'll definitely use XL Airways again in the future. I found the airline to be great for the overall. I was very pleased with their services! I have a disability and the crew was wonderful in accommodating me and making sure I had proper assistance before boarding and when we arrived to the final destination. Thank you for a pleasant flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Worst experience ever!"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Francisco to Paris CDG. Worst experience ever! My husband's legs (lean built - 5 foot 9 inch) wouldn't fit in! His legs bent sideways. This has never happened in any economy class flights. Vegetarian meal is considered a "special" meal. Its an additional $14 per person. There is extra charge for every little thing ($3-$15) for snacks, soft drinks, chips, cookies etc. Additional charge to book seats beforehand. Husband paid $75 extra to sit in "exit" row. Cabin crew was nice and friendly but a smiley face doesn't alleviate the extreme discomfort. Long lines to get boarding pass. We were in line for an 1 hour 10 minutes even though we reached airport 3 hours early. No seat back TV/screens. No plug point to charge phone/ tablet.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Paris CDG
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"the aircraft was dirty"

(France)

Verified Review | Paris to San Francisco, the aircraft was dirty, thetable was broken on my girlfriend's seat, no in-seat entertainment on long haul flights so be prepared to have a tablet or other form of screen support. Otherwise you can rent an IPAD from the airline however make sure you ask for one as you sit down since they don't have enough for everyone.. The inbound flight was just as dirty - this time no IPADs to rent as none had been charged up from previous flight, my seat was broken in the recline position and the armrests were broken.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to San Francisco
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"really a great experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Francisco to Paris. I was a bit nervous using this airline. I did a ton of research and looked for reviews and couldn't really find reviews base off the experience of their airline. Some of these reviews for XL I feel are from people that expected too much for a budget airline. I read the instructions and recommendations from their website, which I would read entirely to help you have a better experience. When I arrived at the airport I had my boarding pass printed before hand and was quickly greeted by an XL employee. They checked my passport and they checked the weight and size of my luggage. I had to check my luggage in the system, because the weight was too high. Upon boarding I was greeted by a very professional and flight attendants who spoke English and French. They realized I didn't speak French and directed me to my seat. Upon departing they did the standard procedures in French and English for departure. During the flight they provided a blanket, earplugs, water and a free meal! This is a very French airline and the food was very French and flavorful. They were very accommodating for refills of water, tea, and coffee that were free. The airplane itself is older so there is no WIFI onboard for internet. I was not disappointed, because they did provide a free movie and I also had my IPad. I would recommend you take a portable charger for your phone, tablet, or laptop. There are not electrical plugs on the seats for your electronic devices. Throughout the trip the flight attendants were on point and made sure the restrooms were cleaned and that passengers were comfortable. Considering the price I paid for the ticket this is a great value! This is a budget airline and for the overall package this was really a great experience.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Paris
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"I am horrified by the service"

(United States)

Verified Review | If you are tempted to fly with this airline because of the wonderful price do not do it. The flight out to Paris was wonderful. The plane was empty so everyone had their own row to relax. The troubles didn't start until we arrived in Paris. On our flight to Paris they lost our babies car seat. When we went to check in today the lady at the counter was rude and unfriendly. We handed her 5 passports. Three for adults and two children. We had 4 bags to check in a stroller and we had our 2 year olds car seat. We have a double stroller. I was holding our ten month old and our two year old was sleeping in the stroller. In San Francisco they put stickers on all three pieces because the stroller breaks down into three pieces. When we told her that the stroller did that she rolled her eyes and said really. Then we tried to check in our two year olds car seat she said nope you can't take it, or you have to pay for it. When I explained they hadn't charged us for it in San Francisco she said well that is San Francisco. She then called the airline and they said we had to pay 50€ for the seat. She told us we had to go to a separate counter to pay then come back to her. As we were leaving she said wait let me put the stickers on the stroller. As she was putting the sticker on one of the pieces she noticed our daughter and said oh you have another child, we said yes, you have her passport to which she then said oh you don't have to pay anymore. Instead of apologizing she just said your finished. We upgraded to seats 4 thinking they would be wonderful seats because of our previous flight. But the seats had less space than before! They were so uncomfortable! Especially having a twenty pound baby on your lap. There was a section in front of us nobody knew was available. When I finally got the attention again of a stewardess the doors were being closed and she said that I needed to go to the gate to pay. What kind of airline charges for everything other than water, coffee and tea but wont let you buy up a seat? There were 8 seats open! Those seats remained open all flight. Our ten month old was walking back and forth in front of our seats holding onto the seats. We didn't notice but there was an ashtray in our daughters seat. In it was trash with liquid and food. It stuck and was disgusting. Our son put his hand in it. When I asked the stewardess to do something about it, she said you think it's my problem? I said to her I am not saying you own the airplane but you are the only one who's really able to do anything because you have the access to things to clean it. She rolled her eyes at me. 6 minutes later another stewardess came with gloves and took out the trash and in the process got liquid on us and said there I got everything. She went and got a napkin dabbed and said there I am done and walked away. 6th thing, for a couple hours service was non existent. We were trying to make a bottle for our ten month old so he could sleep and we pushed the service button but nobody came for 30 minutes. I am horrified by the service.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteSan Francisco to Paris CDG
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 67 Reviews