Top 100 Airlines  

VivaColombia

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 8 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"I will never fly with them again"

(Ireland)

The flight itself was not bad, for the price I cannot fault, however the customer service is the worst I've ever experienced. I flew from bogota to Santa Marta arriving @ 8:50 when I got back to my hotel I realised I had left my passport on board. I got a taxi straight back to the airport unfortunately the plane had left. I asked one of the desk staff to make sure once the plane landed in Bogota to get one of the crew members to check my seat as I knew 100% that I left it in the pocket seat in front of mine. She told me it wasn't her responsibility and that I'd have to ring myself. I explained to her on google translate because I don't speak Spanish and pleaded with her to ring on my behalf, it was just a simple phone call for her to make but she refused and waved me away. I rang VivaColombia myself but as predicted nobody spoke English so I went back to the desk and pleaded with her to ring, she eventually agreed to get someone to check the plane once she had time. The plane went back and forth from bogota to Santa Marta 4 times, each time I asked one of the VivaColombia staff to check the plane but nobody did, at 7pm that night after spending 9 hours in the airport one of the staff eventually approached me and said they searched the plane but found no passport nor did any of the staff report that it got handed to them. I was fuming, one simple phone call when I first reported it and I believe I would have got my passport back but nobody cared one bit. Over the next few days I emailed the airline numerous times to see what they were doing to try and retrieve the passport but I kept getting generic emails back saying it is not viva Colombia's responsibility for any lost property. They did nothing to help find it. I had to get an 18 hour bus drive to bogota from Santa Marta and go to the Airport myself and check with the police, the lost and found, immigration and security and inquire myself because it wasn't VivaColombia responsibility to take five minutes out of their day to Call into the above offices which are all right next to each other in the airport, instead they emailed to come and check myself giving no consideration that I was hundreds of miles away. Unfortunately police or immigration didn't have the passport either so I had to get an emergency travel card and fly back to Ireland to try and get a new passport leaving my girlfriend behind in Colombia by herself, in total it cost me $3800 to get it all sorted. I know losing the passport was completely my own fault however I feel with just a small bit of consideration from the airline and some costumer service I would have got my passport back and all this could have been avoided. As long as I live I will never fly with them again and I urge anybody who reads this to do the same, it's all well and good when everything goes smoothly but if anything happens to go wrong you are completely on your own. Spend the extra few dollars on a more reputable company because there is a reason why they are so low cost, it's not in their budget to help customers who are in trouble
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBOG to SMR
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"shouldn't be expect luxury"

(Colombia)

Verified Review | Bogota to Monteria with VivaColombia. I am a foreigner living in Colombia, and I have flown about 15 times with VivaColombia (Bogota-Cali, Bogota-Cucuta, Bogota-Cartagena, Bogota-Santa Marta, Bogota-Lima, Bogota-Monteria). Since it's a low-cost airline, you shouldn't be expecting luxury. For instance, you can't check-in luggage without paying for it, same thing for food and drinks on the plane. But, most domestic flights are 30-45 minutes so who cares if you don't get a free coffee? In a nutshell, if you're a budget traveler or you want to go somewhere for a few days - then this is the best airline for you.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBOG to MTR
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"slow and unhelpful staff"

(Australia)

Quito to Panama via Bogota with VivaColombia. This airline is a perfect example of what happens when staff are not encouraged or allowed to think independently. Whilst dealing with a paperwork issue we waited 5 hours before seeing a representative at the airport desk. During this time we witnessed more staff members than customers casually chatting behind the desk. When we would ask for information about what was going on we would be told one thing, only to be told something different half an hour later. Communication is not this companies strong point. Honestly the flights are not bad for a low cost carrier, just be prepared for slow check ins, slow and unhelpful staff and make sure you stay within the limits for everything including paperwork into other countries and weight on baggage.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteUIO to PTY via BOG
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"client service is terrible"

(United States)

I would advise anyone that is thinking about using this airline to not do so. I flew Miami to Medellín round trip and it was very inexpensive. I thought it would be okay to try it, the service was terrible and the airplane uncomfortable and very hot to say the least. I flew to Colombia with an instrument, my guitar, paid a fee to take it as carry on and that's it. When returning home to Miami, the Viva Colombia Airline crew denied me taking the guitar and said I need to send it through with the bags. Of course, anyone that knows a Taylor Guitar is around $1,300 USD and it would insane to send it with a bunch of bags. I attempted to speak to the front desk staff who said no, spoke to her supervisor who did not even care or was a bit concerned about my problem. She said it was protocol to not take instruments as carry ons and that Viva Colombia in the States shouldn't have allowed me to bring it in. She apologized on behalf of their staff and just walked off. I called the person above her who was even more nonchalant about the situation, she could not have cared less. The client service is terrible. First and last time I ever fly Viva Colombia, as a Colombian it's embarrassing to know they carry our name.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMIA to MDE
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"the lowest class of airline"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Lima to Bogota, and Viva Colombia is a low cost airline like no other that I have had the misfortune of travelling with. Taxes are not included in the ticket. You pay this at the counter in cash (Dollars only). To add to insult, an eticket or boarding pass on your phone is not accepted, it needs to be printed. As expected the staff will refuse to help you with this. They rudely suggested we have an hour to pay them, find the money, or find a way to print it ourselves or not be allowed on the flight we paid for. They can print the pass for you at an extra $15. If you did not check the correct number of bags online that's an extra $15. So it comes to $30. Again, as mentioned lets not forget the taxes you need to pay in cash at the counter. So that makes it $45 extra. All in all, it then becomes the same price as flying on a national carrier. On the flight itself, it's first come first serve in terms of seating as with most low cost carriers. However, being a late night flight, one would expect the lights to be dimmed or turned off at some point, so some people could rest a little. This was not the case at anypoint, hence few were able to sleep. In terms of the Emergency exit, they only allowed one person to sit next to each one. In my humble opinion, that defeats the point of safety. If people are far away from the exit, it takes longer to escape in the unlikely event of an emergency. In terms of Emergency, at no point was their ever any briefing given by the cabin crew. I give this an overall very negative review and easily say it the lowest class of airline I've ever travelled with.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLIM to BOG
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"terrible customer service"

(United States)

Bogota to Matecaña, and VivaColombia has terrible customer service. My flight was delayed then cancelled with minimal communication from staff in Spanish and zero communication in English. Eventually we were placed in multiple charter jets approximately 5 hours after our scheduled departure time. Once at our destination, our luggage did not arrive. Filled out forms and were told luggage would be delivered next day. Two days later I went back to the airport to check and my suitcase had been sitting behind the counter the whole time.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBOG to PEI
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"price of the ticket"

(Colombia)

Medellin to Barranquilla. VivaColombia is an airline if you want travel for business or a short time. The experience on ground is not very well, the staff is not very friendly. The best of this airline is the price of the ticket. Need be more nice with the people and the internet service is confused. I dont need that, I only want to book the travel.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMDE to BAQ
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"only good thing is the price"

(Canada)

I flew them from Bogota to Cartagena return. The airline is nothing to rave home about. The check in staff didn't speak english, the e-ticket onky had a few english words. The cabin crew and check in staff looked bored and looked like they were just waiting for their shift to end. None of them smiled. The leg room in very very small. The only good thing is the price. If you want no frills, this is a good airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBogota to Cartagena
Date FlownFebruary 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no