VivaColombia

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 14 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"worst I have experienced"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | Quito to Bogota. This airline company is the worst I have experienced. They cancelled my flight in January 2017 and promised me a full refund. Now, after 6 months and many emails to/from their customer service, I have not received my money. They are trying to run me tired by playing stupid and asking me to send the same information again and again. I strongly advise not to fly with VivaColombia.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteQuito to Bogota
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I had a horrible experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | Cartagena to Medellin. After booking and paying for my ticket online I never recieved a confirmation or a receipt by email. The flight information was also wrong on the website arrival time was 11:45 pm but was written 11:45 am. There was no gate number provided either and the flight number was wrong as well. I had to come so early to the airport to recieve my receipt and yet they still charged me for a boarding pass print. With all the miscommunication and misinformations I am very unsatisfied with the service and employee and management handling the situation. And as I am writing this the flight is delayed causing even more inconveniences. I had a horrible experience with VivaColombia as many others on the flight did as well.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCartagena to Medelline
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"company policies are borderline"

(Colombia)

Verified Review | Medellín to Lima via Bogota. VivaColombia's attitude towards customers is in sane. I have never been treated in such a rude and unfair fashion. This happened a couple of times. Of course not all employees are terrible but the line was crossed too many times plus the company policies are borderline. The money I intended to save was outweighed big time by hidden costs, unacceptable policies and expenses regarding canceled/delayed flights and negative feelings. The seats offered the most narrow space ever: if you are taller than 1,85 cm you will suffer.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMedellín to Lima via Bogota
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will never fly them again"

(Colombia)

Verified Review | Medellin to Bogota. VivaColombia is the worst airline I have flown and that is a reflection of their customer service, rules, and the overall experience. The people that represent this company are very rude and routinely say things like "you can visit our website if you have questions about our policies", instead of explaining it to you. They are a budget airline however in the end you pay more for an experience so bad it's actually difficult to put into words. Imagine paying for a boarding my pass unless you have a physical printout of it? They have changed the specifications of the size of luggage you are allowed to bring for carry on just so they can force you to pay for it. I have flown this airline three times and I will never fly them again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMedellin to Bogota
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no staff to give information"

(Colombia)

Verified Review | Medellin to Santa Marta. Don't fly with Viva Colombia. About 3 hours delay, permitted hand luggage size is small (only a little backpack is allowed) and it's expensive to add luggage. In Medellin there was no staff to give information about the delays. No staff at San Marta. Better book LAN, it's a bit more expensive but is worth it.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMDE to SMR
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"avoid flying VivaColombia"

(Canada)

Quito to Bogota. It was the first time flying with Viva Colombia, December 17 2016 and It will be the last, guaranteed. It is the most ridiculous service I've encountered in all my long years as a traveler. Tried using their website to purchase the tickets, unable to get through, bought the ticket via phone, all seemed OK, only to receive an email two days later indicating the tickets already paid for have been cancelled. I'm still waiting for the refund to my CC, no explanation why. Had to buy new tickets. They will charge you for just about everything, right from printing the boarding pass ($16,00 US) to assigning seats (plane was not even half full), to a bottle of water or a snack. The flight was delayed almost one hour forcing us to miss the connection flight with another airline. The customer service at the airport, on the phone, through e-mail was just pathetic, not helpful at all. No offer of any compensation. Forced to purchase new tickets for the next day. Curious enough, while in Bucaramanga, we decided to purchase a flight ticket for a relative, and the story repeated itself again, initial purchase OK, confirmation OK, only to find out two weeks later it has been cancelled and it will be a while trying to get the refund, meanwhile, initiating a new purchase. Pleaase avoid flying with VivaColombia, the "savings" they offer, in the long run are not worth the hassle.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteUIO to BOG
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I will never fly with them again"

(Ireland)

The flight itself was not bad, for the price I cannot fault, however the customer service is the worst I've ever experienced. I flew from bogota to Santa Marta arriving @ 8:50 when I got back to my hotel I realised I had left my passport on board. I got a taxi straight back to the airport unfortunately the plane had left. I asked one of the desk staff to make sure once the plane landed in Bogota to get one of the crew members to check my seat as I knew 100% that I left it in the pocket seat in front of mine. She told me it wasn't her responsibility and that I'd have to ring myself. I explained to her on google translate because I don't speak Spanish and pleaded with her to ring on my behalf, it was just a simple phone call for her to make but she refused and waved me away. I rang VivaColombia myself but as predicted nobody spoke English so I went back to the desk and pleaded with her to ring, she eventually agreed to get someone to check the plane once she had time. The plane went back and forth from bogota to Santa Marta 4 times, each time I asked one of the VivaColombia staff to check the plane but nobody did, at 7pm that night after spending 9 hours in the airport one of the staff eventually approached me and said they searched the plane but found no passport nor did any of the staff report that it got handed to them. I was fuming, one simple phone call when I first reported it and I believe I would have got my passport back but nobody cared one bit. Over the next few days I emailed the airline numerous times to see what they were doing to try and retrieve the passport but I kept getting generic emails back saying it is not viva Colombia's responsibility for any lost property. They did nothing to help find it. I had to get an 18 hour bus drive to bogota from Santa Marta and go to the Airport myself and check with the police, the lost and found, immigration and security and inquire myself because it wasn't VivaColombia responsibility to take five minutes out of their day to Call into the above offices which are all right next to each other in the airport, instead they emailed to come and check myself giving no consideration that I was hundreds of miles away. Unfortunately police or immigration didn't have the passport either so I had to get an emergency travel card and fly back to Ireland to try and get a new passport leaving my girlfriend behind in Colombia by herself, in total it cost me $3800 to get it all sorted. I know losing the passport was completely my own fault however I feel with just a small bit of consideration from the airline and some costumer service I would have got my passport back and all this could have been avoided. As long as I live I will never fly with them again and I urge anybody who reads this to do the same, it's all well and good when everything goes smoothly but if anything happens to go wrong you are completely on your own. Spend the extra few dollars on a more reputable company because there is a reason why they are so low cost, it's not in their budget to help customers who are in trouble
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBOG to SMR
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"shouldn't be expect luxury"

(Colombia)

Verified Review | Bogota to Monteria with VivaColombia. I am a foreigner living in Colombia, and I have flown about 15 times with VivaColombia (Bogota-Cali, Bogota-Cucuta, Bogota-Cartagena, Bogota-Santa Marta, Bogota-Lima, Bogota-Monteria). Since it's a low-cost airline, you shouldn't be expecting luxury. For instance, you can't check-in luggage without paying for it, same thing for food and drinks on the plane. But, most domestic flights are 30-45 minutes so who cares if you don't get a free coffee? In a nutshell, if you're a budget traveler or you want to go somewhere for a few days - then this is the best airline for you.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBOG to MTR
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"slow and unhelpful staff"

(Australia)

Quito to Panama via Bogota with VivaColombia. This airline is a perfect example of what happens when staff are not encouraged or allowed to think independently. Whilst dealing with a paperwork issue we waited 5 hours before seeing a representative at the airport desk. During this time we witnessed more staff members than customers casually chatting behind the desk. When we would ask for information about what was going on we would be told one thing, only to be told something different half an hour later. Communication is not this companies strong point. Honestly the flights are not bad for a low cost carrier, just be prepared for slow check ins, slow and unhelpful staff and make sure you stay within the limits for everything including paperwork into other countries and weight on baggage.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteUIO to PTY via BOG
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"client service is terrible"

(United States)

I would advise anyone that is thinking about using this airline to not do so. I flew Miami to Medellín round trip and it was very inexpensive. I thought it would be okay to try it, the service was terrible and the airplane uncomfortable and very hot to say the least. I flew to Colombia with an instrument, my guitar, paid a fee to take it as carry on and that's it. When returning home to Miami, the Viva Colombia Airline crew denied me taking the guitar and said I need to send it through with the bags. Of course, anyone that knows a Taylor Guitar is around $1,300 USD and it would insane to send it with a bunch of bags. I attempted to speak to the front desk staff who said no, spoke to her supervisor who did not even care or was a bit concerned about my problem. She said it was protocol to not take instruments as carry ons and that Viva Colombia in the States shouldn't have allowed me to bring it in. She apologized on behalf of their staff and just walked off. I called the person above her who was even more nonchalant about the situation, she could not have cared less. The client service is terrible. First and last time I ever fly Viva Colombia, as a Colombian it's embarrassing to know they carry our name.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMIA to MDE
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 14 Reviews