Ukraine International

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 98 reviews
6/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (Ukraine) 29th June 2015

Online-check in worked properly (despite the fact that due to change of plane pre-ordered seats with more legspace were cancelled). Situation at gate in Kiev completely chaotic. Squeezed bus transfer to plane. Start with delay of approx.15 mins, because crew was held by angry passengers at border control. Stewards were not in a well mood. Flight pleasant, no catering beside cup of water. New looking 737-8 with pleasant legspace - no problem for a 1,90m-person. Anyway this was my last flight with them because they became in general by price/value worse than Wizzair.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteKBP to VNO
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (Ukraine) 28th June 2015

I used to fly with UIA a couple years before and it was not that bad. The only complimentary food available for economy class passengers is water, and everything else has to be purchased and paid for onboard flights. People ended up pulling their own stuff out of their bags to have a bite. I will pay whatever it takes to stay with LOT, BA or Lufthansa to escape Ukrainian International Airlines.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteAmsterdam to Kiev
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (United States) 17th June 2015

I frequently and gladly fly "budget" airlines both domestically and internationally - I know what I can expect and what not to so by no means was I under the illusion that I was going to get a luxury experience. I flew from Athens (5.30am) to Kiev (laid over 2 hours) then on to JFK (arriving 2pm same day) for a total of 13 hours of time in the air. Flight Athens to Kiev was fine, flight attendants were nice and courteous. I slept most of the time and they did a brief juice/coffee service just before landing. Once in Kiev, be prepared for perhaps the rudest airport experience. Airport staff (from food service to duty-free to security staff) were miserable. Kiev airport has limited food options, so be prepared to settle on a mediocre sandwich. Flight from Kiev to JFK was hands down the worst flight I have been on. The seats are horrible. I am 5'10 and my knees rubbed the seat in front of me, the seats are narrow and are as big as you would expect from a tiny regional aircraft or island-hopper, not what you would expect for a long-haul flight. The seats themselves are extremely uncomfortable and are terrible in causing lower back pain, and recline only an inch or two. The cabin crew took the cold, aloof, and rudeness of the Kiev airport staff to an entirely new level and were openly hostile towards passengers. The food was laughably bad, but the worst part is that they offered maybe 500ml of beverage for the entire 10 hour flight. They did 3 separate drink services and each time you get about 150ml of beverage in a tiny solo cup, the size many people keep in their bathrooms. I've never been happier to land and be done with a flight, and would not wish flying UIA for long-haul flights on my worse enemy. I would describe the in-flight experience as a 1/10 and the only reason I am giving 5 stars is because the entire flight from Athens to JFK cost me $330 which is insanely cheap and was approximately half the price of the next cheapest flight from another airline. So if you're trying to backpack/budget fly and need a really inexpensive flight into/out of Europe or Asia, take UIA but seriously prepare yourself for a horrible flight and I'd recommend bringing a liter of your own water.
Aircraftboeing 767
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteAthens to JFK via Kiev
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (Ukraine) 16th June 2015

Flight was from Beijing to Kiev on their 767 in Premium Economy Class. We left on time at 01.35 hrs and arrived into KBP on time. Flight was full in Economy and just a few empty seats in Premium Economy. There were a lot of Chinese on board and announcements were also made in Mandarin by one of the cabin crew. The service was good and a Dinner (almost too much food for the time of night) and Breakfast was served. Both were tasty. Plenty of drinks also for those that wanted them during the flight. IFE was pretty poor but then I slept. Better seats and more leg room in Premium Economy in comparison to Economy. Overall a nice flight.
Aircraft767
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteBeijing to Kiev
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (Ukraine) 7th June 2015

I used them 3 times within couple months and can say that they are fine to deal with. The ticket purchase online is trouble free. Their online check in is hit and miss because they often change plane configuration so don't bother yourself up to 4-5 hours before flight. Their bag policy is standard (23 kg free allowance) and their cabin bag allowance is pretty standard. Their paid meal policy is ok as finally you're not fed with substandard food and you're warned that there is no free meal service so you can bring your own. Crews are nice and civilized. Planes are mostly brand new and clean. Leg room varies from generous on Embraer fleet to uncomfortable on older Boeing. Two flights out of three were on schedule. One left 1 hour late. Overall good value for money. A kind of Air Lingus type airline.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages N/A
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (Poland) 1st May 2015

TXL-KBP-IKA return. First time with UIA and what a nice surprise it was! Excellent price/quality performance. On board staff professional. All flights on B737 and on time or with small delays. On both legs to/from Tehran the last rows were empty so I had 3 seats to myself and actually had some sleep (it's a 4hrs flight). On older B737-500 plenty of space for the legs (it's worse on newer B737-800). There was also a hot meal provided on the legs to/from Iran. UIA uses the new terminal in Kiev which is very good. I will definitely fly with them again.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (United States) 19th April 2015

Flight from Warsaw to Kiev and the next day from Kiev to New York. Warsaw to Kiev trip was perfect flight on time and on board staff very professional. Trip was fine except delayed arrival (1 hours altogether). The next trip from Kiev to NY was fine on time 2 meals (great) I did fly Premium Economy which is definitely worth it drink served every hour staff were nice no problems arrival on time. A lot of space for legs and great duty free selection on board. I would definitely buy a trip with this company again. Service is good for that price.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (Finland) 19th April 2015

St Petersburg - Kiev - St Petersburg. First flight average. Flight full. Back flight better. I am a Finn and can say that the service is as good or as bad as in Finnair. Overall quite nice experience. Good prices and Ukrainians are friendly. Recommend.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (Kazakhstan) 17th April 2015

Flew from Almaty Kazakhstan to Gatwick with UIA (the cheapest option) and decided to fly Business as again it was much cheaper than competitors. Afterwards I could see why. Use of the lounge in Almaty (though that isn't very special). On board it was a great disappointment. Seats are just the same as Economy with a little extra leg room. The middle seat in a row fields down into a table but the seats don't recline any further than in Economy. I assume that UIA can't now fly over Russia - hence the flight was quite long to Kiev - south over Usbekistan and Turkmenistan then over Azerbaijan and Georgia turning north after the Crimea (I could see from Google maps on my phone - there is no in-flight entertainment of any sort). Fairly chaotic at Kiev - it was necessary to go through security again. Boarding was by bus - there was no special arrangement for Business Class. Food was OK but not exciting. No English language paper. On return the flight was delayed at Gatwick and there was only 15 minutes to make the connection but I was ushered through security at the front of the queue. Baggage - 2 x 23 kg bags but no surprise they didn't make the connection. Hence priority baggage handling was of no value - stood around in Almaty for an extra 30 minutes waiting for bags that didn't come. I was informed "this airline do not deliver" so had to come back to the airport the next day. On the whole - I think economy on British Airways Lufthansa KLM or even Turkish Airways would be a better deal.
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (United Arab Emirates) 10th April 2015

DXB-KBP-LGW. Both planes were 737-800s but the seating was not identical. On the Dubai-Kiev leg the seating was cramped my knees were knocking the seatback pocket and anyone much taller than me (178 cm / 5'10") would likely have found it very uncomfortable. The Kiev-Gatwick leg however offered what was clearly roomier seating with minimal knee-seat contact. The latter seating also seemed slightly more frayed; I gained the impression that slightly better legroom was in the older plane. Otherwise there's no getting around the fact that despite being Ukraine's national airline UIA are also a budget airline with no in-flight entertainment and no free food (only limited food options for a cost) on short or medium-haul flights - which includes Dubai-Kiev. If you go into the flight knowing this then the really competitive cost makes UIA worth considering as the flights seem to be punctual staff are professional and transiting at the UIA-dedicated Terminal D at Boryspil is easy fast and painless. If you go into a short- or medium-haul route with UIA expecting full service from a national airline then you'll likely be disappointed. I imagine that the Skytrax 2-star rating reflects the lack of entertainment and limited food options - but judge UIA as a budget airline and they're better than many of their European competitors in the similar price bracket and I've had much worse experiences with full-service North American airlines on (internal) flights of similar length to my individual legs here. If I had to keep costs down on a route covered by UIA's network I'd certainly consider them again.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 94 Reviews