Ukraine International

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 103 reviews
6/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (Germany) 27th July 2015

Oneway KBP-ODS for 1650 UAH/70 USD economy. Check in via online worked properly, security at KBP chaotic at domestic gates. Long bus ride to the aircraft without working A/C and probably 50 degrees. Boarding endless, delayed 15 mins. Seats more or less normal, possible to sit for people with approx 1,85. Service - free cup of water or paid like low cost. Plane clean and new. Behavior of crew neutral (nothing special), however, arrival at ODS complete chaos. 170 passengers squeezed into a small exit waiting for their luggage. Cramped airport - back to Kyiv by train for 600UAH 1st-class - much more pleasant.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteKBP to ODS
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (Ukraine) 20th July 2015

Clean and comfortable cabin. We were offered an option of upgrading to business class on board, and the cost was very competitive, so we agreed. The service was first-class, and so was the food. Even in coach class, the seats were much more comfortable than on our flight from Riga to Kiev operated by Air Baltic. Overall, an unexpected and pleasant surprise. We will fly with UIA again.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteKBP to RIX
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (Armenia) 18th July 2015

The staff lacked knowledge of the English language and basic knowledge of ethics. Being on a transit flight first, I had to move quickly to get out to my respective gate but the staff would not regulate the traffic of passengers leaving the plane, thus, making me be late and managing to board for the last minute. At my final destination, my buggage was lost and no one could answer me properly what the reason was. You had to buy food on the plane if you needed something and nothing was included in the price of the ticket. Flying for more than 4 hours for both flights, having nothing to eat, being treated awfully, losing the luggage made this the worst experience I have had.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteYerevan to Warsaw via Kiev
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (United States) 16th July 2015

The flight took off 30 minutes late, and arrived in Prague 35 minutes late. No accommodation was made by the cabin crew or gate staff for passengers with connecting flights. Cabin service was mediocre, and the cabin was rather uncomfortable. The plane appeared rather poorly maintained, as the intercom emitted a squeal of feedback every time the crew used it.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteKiev to Prague
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (Ukraine) 29th June 2015

Online-check in worked properly (despite the fact that due to change of plane pre-ordered seats with more legspace were cancelled). Situation at gate in Kiev completely chaotic. Squeezed bus transfer to plane. Start with delay of approx.15 mins, because crew was held by angry passengers at border control. Stewards were not in a well mood. Flight pleasant, no catering beside cup of water. New looking 737-8 with pleasant legspace - no problem for a 1,90m-person. Anyway this was my last flight with them because they became in general by price/value worse than Wizzair.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteKBP to VNO
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (Ukraine) 28th June 2015

I used to fly with UIA a couple years before and it was not that bad. The only complimentary food available for economy class passengers is water, and everything else has to be purchased and paid for onboard flights. People ended up pulling their own stuff out of their bags to have a bite. I will pay whatever it takes to stay with LOT, BA or Lufthansa to escape Ukrainian International Airlines.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteAmsterdam to Kiev
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (United States) 17th June 2015

I frequently and gladly fly "budget" airlines both domestically and internationally - I know what I can expect and what not to so by no means was I under the illusion that I was going to get a luxury experience. I flew from Athens (5.30am) to Kiev (laid over 2 hours) then on to JFK (arriving 2pm same day) for a total of 13 hours of time in the air. Flight Athens to Kiev was fine, flight attendants were nice and courteous. I slept most of the time and they did a brief juice/coffee service just before landing. Once in Kiev, be prepared for perhaps the rudest airport experience. Airport staff (from food service to duty-free to security staff) were miserable. Kiev airport has limited food options, so be prepared to settle on a mediocre sandwich. Flight from Kiev to JFK was hands down the worst flight I have been on. The seats are horrible. I am 5'10 and my knees rubbed the seat in front of me, the seats are narrow and are as big as you would expect from a tiny regional aircraft or island-hopper, not what you would expect for a long-haul flight. The seats themselves are extremely uncomfortable and are terrible in causing lower back pain, and recline only an inch or two. The cabin crew took the cold, aloof, and rudeness of the Kiev airport staff to an entirely new level and were openly hostile towards passengers. The food was laughably bad, but the worst part is that they offered maybe 500ml of beverage for the entire 10 hour flight. They did 3 separate drink services and each time you get about 150ml of beverage in a tiny solo cup, the size many people keep in their bathrooms. I've never been happier to land and be done with a flight, and would not wish flying UIA for long-haul flights on my worse enemy. I would describe the in-flight experience as a 1/10 and the only reason I am giving 5 stars is because the entire flight from Athens to JFK cost me $330 which is insanely cheap and was approximately half the price of the next cheapest flight from another airline. So if you're trying to backpack/budget fly and need a really inexpensive flight into/out of Europe or Asia, take UIA but seriously prepare yourself for a horrible flight and I'd recommend bringing a liter of your own water.
Aircraftboeing 767
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteAthens to JFK via Kiev
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (Ukraine) 16th June 2015

Flight was from Beijing to Kiev on their 767 in Premium Economy Class. We left on time at 01.35 hrs and arrived into KBP on time. Flight was full in Economy and just a few empty seats in Premium Economy. There were a lot of Chinese on board and announcements were also made in Mandarin by one of the cabin crew. The service was good and a Dinner (almost too much food for the time of night) and Breakfast was served. Both were tasty. Plenty of drinks also for those that wanted them during the flight. IFE was pretty poor but then I slept. Better seats and more leg room in Premium Economy in comparison to Economy. Overall a nice flight.
Aircraft767
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteBeijing to Kiev
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (Ukraine) 7th June 2015

I used them 3 times within couple months and can say that they are fine to deal with. The ticket purchase online is trouble free. Their online check in is hit and miss because they often change plane configuration so don't bother yourself up to 4-5 hours before flight. Their bag policy is standard (23 kg free allowance) and their cabin bag allowance is pretty standard. Their paid meal policy is ok as finally you're not fed with substandard food and you're warned that there is no free meal service so you can bring your own. Crews are nice and civilized. Planes are mostly brand new and clean. Leg room varies from generous on Embraer fleet to uncomfortable on older Boeing. Two flights out of three were on schedule. One left 1 hour late. Overall good value for money. A kind of Air Lingus type airline.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages N/A
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Ukraine International customer review

Review by (Poland) 1st May 2015

TXL-KBP-IKA return. First time with UIA and what a nice surprise it was! Excellent price/quality performance. On board staff professional. All flights on B737 and on time or with small delays. On both legs to/from Tehran the last rows were empty so I had 3 seats to myself and actually had some sleep (it's a 4hrs flight). On older B737-500 plenty of space for the legs (it's worse on newer B737-800). There was also a hot meal provided on the legs to/from Iran. UIA uses the new terminal in Kiev which is very good. I will definitely fly with them again.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 98 Reviews