Airline of the Year  

Ukraine International

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 182 reviews
5/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"please don't bother flying"

(United States)

Verified Review | New York to Warsaw via Kiev. In a 10.5 hour flight, you would think you would be checked in to make sure you are comfortable or offered amenities to keep you entertained. Ukraine Airlines doesn't even have personal TV's, the whole cabin shares a public tv that they can listen to on their own headphones. When I asked for coffee six hours in, they said I couldn't have any because they were preparing for the second meal service. They remembered my kosher meals and they were delicious but didn't even offer free peanuts. I paid 755 for this flight, saved for months and was treated like an annoyance. The flight attendant kept bumping into me and not even apologizing. Anyone who is tempted by their prices, please don't bother flying on this cheap airline that can't even give you soda without it costing you 4 euros.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Warsaw via Kiev
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"staff are cold and unflinching"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Tel Aviv to New York JFK via Kiev. It's hard to know where to begin to truly describe what flying UIA is really like. Vaguely reminiscent of a newly post-communist state, the staff are cold and unflinching in their mission to provide truly heartless customer service. The seats are small, the legroom basically non-existent and the policy of only giving water and juice for free on a ten hour flight seems barbaric in 2017. The lack of inflight entertainment is pretty inexcusable and was something I only learned after booking my flight (perhaps passengers should be warned before hand). All of my flights ran on time, with very little turbulence. If you're looking to do this route, do your research and go with Turkish instead.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTel Aviv to New York JFK via Kiev
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst flying experience I have had"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I had flown with Ukraine International three times before (LGW-KYIV-EVN and return), and although I knew there would be a lack of facilities (no in-flight entertainment, no price-inclusive catering, and restricted leg-room) I was prepared to travel with them due to the location of the London departure airport (LGW) which was convenient to my home address. I was informed of the flight cancellation less than 24 hours before the scheduled departure time. Previous to that, I had been in Yerevan for a very enjoyable 11 weeks helping folk with their English language skills. (UIA's cancellation continues to sour the whole experience away.) I contacted the advertised 24 hour Yerevan office a few times - no answer. My host then contacted the Kiev office. Eventually the operator found me an earlier flight which meant I had to rise in the middle of the night and had less than 12 hours to pack my bags. Some of my clothes had been just washed, so I took them home slightly damp. My two pre-ordered meals could not be transferred to the new flight - why not? The cabin staff I spoke to were really not very helpful providing some sort of replacement. This is the worst flying experience I have had in my life, and I am now 67!
AircraftBoeing737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYerevan to London Gatwick via Kiev
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"staff polite and nice"

(Austria)

Verified Review | Vienna to Vilnius via Kiev with Ukraine International. The check-in to Kiev was easy and the staff were very polite and nice. I was upset that I could drink only water for free. The Embraer plane was OK. There was not enough information from the cockpit about the flying situation and where we are at, the time or how high we are. A flight to Vilnius from Kiev was a nightmare, because the Boeing aircraft was very old. I am 187cm high and my legs didn't fit where I was sitting. Close to me and around were 5 little children screaming and shouting all the time. The staff were polite and nice to all of the guests. I flew back to Vienna through Kiev. Both flights with Embraer aircraft. The flight was quite good and staff nice. The only problem were the other passengers. They were very unpleasant and loud. They weren't listening to what the staff said. For 200 Euro it was too expensive for a economy class without a luggage but staff were quite good.
AircraftE190 / Boeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVienna to Vilnius via Kiev
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"exceeded my expectations"

(United States)

Verified Review | Chisinau to Amsterdam via Kiev today on Ukraine International and it exceeded my expectations. Both flights on time. Luggage was delivered promptly. Staff was pleasant and smiling and I found most of the flight attendants attentive and wanting to do a good job. This airline is low budget so no food, drinks or movies. Water was available if requested. I had very low expectations and was surprised on the upside. Would try again if price is right. Planes seemed in good shape and were clean.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChisinau to Amsterdam via Kiev
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"nice and affordable price"

(Czech Republic)

Verified Review | I booked my return trip from Armenia to Warsaw on Ukrainian International airlines via Kiev. Despite many comments here I found the trip nice and to an affordable price. Check in Yerevan was accomplished without any problems, hand luggage checked for weight and then onto gate. The aircraft was spotless clean and quite new. I wouldn´t say the crew is partcularly smiling but they are correct and professional. Food and beverages are for sale, and the air hostess even offered to warm up my croissant. There is no on-board entertainment system but the captain gave information three times the old fashioned way over loudspeakers. Transit in Kiev was quick and after 2 hours on to the Warsaw flight. The flight got 40 minutes delayed on the ground due to a small technical fault and water was immediately served to the passengers while we waited on the ground. I do not hesitate to book Ukraine international again.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYerevan to Warsaw via Kiev
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"can't put more than 3/10"

(Ukraine)

Verified Review | Kiev to Amsterdam. The reputation of this company is known to be not that good, and though I tried to stay unbiased, and was generally hoping for the best, I still can't put more than 3/10, because of disgusting smell of the aircraft, and the gate was changed 10 minutes before departure and that whole bunch of people standing in a line had to migrate to another gate. The flight was delayed for more than an hour, that was not announced properly, nor there was any estimate given, so we had to stand in the line for all that time. I usually travel with carry-on luggage only, but that was learned a hard way. And this time my friend's checked-in luggage got lost in AMS
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKiev to Amsterdam
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"transfer flight was a nightmare2

(United States)

Verified Review | Minsk to New York via Kiev. I booked the flight with Ukrainian airlines for the first time. I have arrived to Kiev on time, nothing to complain about. However, my transfer flight to New York (or to be more precise, the wait time before boarding) was a nightmare. The flight was 4 hours delayed, so I had to cancel my other flight. Good thing is they did provide a meal voucher to all the passengers. What did ruin the first impression is the service of airport security. All of the passengers got moved out of the gate in order for the security personnel to pick some of them out and perform a search. The security completely ignored the lane people formed and have called people out. It is their job to inspect and provide security however it is not their job to make an assumption that a traveler is a scandalous person and that's why he is been given double attention! This comment was completely inappropriate, and not professional. I doubt I'll fly through Kiev again. Be aware if you fly there for the first time. I have taken about 4-5 flights round trip internationally with different airlines, however, never have had any issues or complaints.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMinsk to New York via Kiev
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"very comfortable and quiet"

(Czech Republic)

Verified Review | Even though airline is rated with just 2 stars, the new Embraer was very comfortable and quiet. Enough space for my legs (I am 188cm). Cabin crews were nice on the early morning flight from Prague to Kiev Boryspil. Free water was offered during the flight. The only problem is my personal issue - I hate boarding via the use of buses on the airport.
AircraftERJ190
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePrague to Kiev Boryspil
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"onboard service is almost non-existent"

(Ukraine)

Verified Review | London Gatwick to Kiev Boryspil. The quality of service of Ukraine International is really low, and I cannot say I'm satisfied by this airline. I flew them several times, between Kiev, London, Paris CDG, Vienna and Chisinau, and I've never been smiling after these experiences. The seat pitch is very narrow and flights aren't comfortable. Flights are almost always delayed. The most interesting is that they schedule a flight to takeoff from London Gatwick at 04:00 AM while the runway opens only at 05:00AM. Of course we were delayed to 05:00AM without any explanation. The onboard service is almost non-existent, and I always got very unfriendly crew. Almost all flights are boarded or de-boarded by bus in Kiev. This airline clearly doesn't worth its price. Aircraft are sure safe, clean, and quite modern, but I can not recommend passengers to fly this airline.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Gatwick to Kiev Boryspil
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no