Best Economy Class Seats  

Ukraine International

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 142 reviews
5/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"great airline for cheap travel"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Munich to Tel Aviv via Kiev. A great airline for cheap travel. The planes are a bit old, but clean. Staff friendly and very helpful. Meals are to be bought on board, but you can pre-order online with a discount. UIA doesn't give you free meals onboard. All the flights (I had 4 of them) were on schedule. I will advise it to my colleagues and friends.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMUC to TLV via KBP
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"behind the majority of European airlines"

(United Kingdom)

Bangkok to London Gatwick via Kiev with Ukraine International. I booked a one-way flight for only £248. This was the cheapest flight option and I also wanted to try the B767 for one last time as these are now becoming retired by many airlines. The first boarded well on-time from BKK and departed 01:25am as scheduled. The aircraft was 24 years old so understandably it did not have a new aircraft feel. The interior however I felt needed a little TLC as it had ripped seats in some places. Leg room and width of seat is very tight and no IFE. However for the price I really wasn't that bothered. Connection in Kiev airport was a little confusing as it isn't clear when you get into the airport where you need to go if in transit, however a very pleasant airport worker pointed me in the right direction. The next flight to Gatwick also boarded and departed on-time. This was operated by a much younger B737-800. The aircraft was clean but again leg room / space is challenging. No IFE once again but my expectation wasn't that it would be available anyway so no major complaints their. I didn't eat on either flight as the food did not look great to be honest. However in my view that is industry standard with all airlines anyway. So a couple of things that did not impress me would be firstly charging 2 Euro for a cup of orange juice. This is outrageous in my view and a complete over charge. Secondly and as a bigger issue is the cabin crew attitude. The either all dislike their jobs or perhaps are not trained a or encouraged to smile. On the flight from KBP-LGW the male flight attendants were especially miserable and really struggled with basic manners. Overall I would not choose Ukraine International again as they are someways behind the majority of European airlines but for the price on this occasion it did the job.
AircraftBoeing 767 / Boeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to LGW via KBP
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"staff were kind and hospitable"

(Canada)

Athens to Tel Aviv via Kiev with Ukraine International. Was thoroughly impressed with the fact that complimentary meals were provided on short 2 hour flights. Staff were kind and hospitable and arrival and departures were on time.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteATH to TLV via IEV
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"charge for everything"

(United States)

Verified Review | Kiev to Amsterdam on May 26th. Apparently KLM sold this flight to UIA. Most awful airlines I flew. Flight attendant was rude, they charge for everything on an international flight. Cup of little instant coffee 2 EU! You almost have to beg for cup of free water and they give you a look if you ask for it. All flight they just trying to squeeze as much money as possible from passengers.
AircraftEmbraer 190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKBP to AMS
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"we never made it on board"

(United States)

Verified Review | On May 25th 2016 I and my family (my wife and 3 kids) came to the Kiev airport for our flight from Kiev to Stockholm, connecting to the US. At first they told us they could not find our reservation. After I provided them with my e-ticket number they told us we could not board our flight due to Visa requirements for Sweden. There is no transit Visa required for US or Ukraine citizens if you are connecting through Stockholm. After arguing with the gate agent we were able to get the manager who told us we can board the plane but will have to leave all of our luggage as they have to contract with Norwegian airline and it will cost them $50,000 in fines. Not sure how is this my problem and why I was sold this ticket if there is no partnership between airlines. In the end my family and I never made it on board. I end up buying another ticket for $4500 to get out of this god forsaken place. And this is on top of $2500 I spent on my previous ticket which I purchased through www.KIWI.com. I tried to contact them regarding getting a refund but they told me they contacted Ukraine International Airlines and was told it was because of the transit VISA we were not allowed to board. Ukraine International Airlines do what ever they want with no regards to rules and regulations. Oh one last thing, they told me they have no insurance so if something ever happens to you om their flight good luck getting any restitution.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKBP to ARN
Date FlownMay 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"one of the worst airlines"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Kiev to Tbilisi return with Ukraine International. Truly one of the worst airlines. No inflight service other than water, meals and drinks available at extra cost, something you would expect from a low-cost airline but not from a national one. Every step of the way this airline tries to get more money out of you.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKBP to TVS
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"seats were half-broken"

(Ukraine)

Milan to Kiev. I feel ashamed that Ukraine International is our national airline. Unfortunately, this is the only one (and the low-cost company we had is no longer operating) so it seems that the company's management doesn't care about the quality of services UIA offers. For the flights within Europe the price is not low at all. Flying at least once a month from Kiev to different European cities I choose other companies, even if a stop-over is needed. This time I had to use UIA. You don't even get a complimentary food/snack and beverages - like when flying with low-cost airlines in Europe (where tickets are actually cheap, unlike UIA). The plane was old and seats were half-broken. The staff was nice and friendly - the only positive thing on this flight.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMXP to KBP
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"loses on service quality "

(United Kingdom)

Bangkok to London via Kiev with Ukraine International. Long distance travel is uncomfortable, but this was below the average for me. Plane was uncomfortably hot, wearing light t-shirt and shorts I was constantly sweating and this made 9.5 hour flight almost intolerable bearing in mind I was hoping for sleep. Seats were comfortable initially but with my 6'2 frame, leg room was insufficient (would like to note this is standard on most flights for me) - the reason for the 1-star is the heat issue mentioned above. Two complimentary drinks on the flight, along with two meals. Meals were standard airline fare, nothing interesting. Zero inflight entertainment which was known about prior, hence why I booked a flight leaving at 11pm in the hope of sleep. Cabin staff were unsympathetic about the heat, stating other passengers were cold. I accept that there are some issues with balancing temperature for the crowd, but an offer of a glass of water when this was raised would not have gone amiss! Stopover in Kiev was unremarkable with unremarkable services and staff. Gains points for value for money, loses massively on service quality and the god awful heat.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to LHR via KBP
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"passengers had their own row"

(Ukraine)

Verified Review | Frankfurt to Kiev, nice business lounge in FRA. New Boeing 737-900. UIA fills Economy and leaves the Business compartment (in front of the curtain) mostly empty, so Business passengers had their own row, which made the flight relaxing. Food and service were good.
AircraftBoeing 737-900
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteFRA to KBP
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"here it is our rules"

(United States)

Verified Review | New York to Kiev return with Ukraine International. I had a boarding pass 15C, but airline staff then changed this - they told me that whatever we have we offer to passengers, and I don't care that you reserve your seat before. In your country you can do that, here it is our rules. When I arrive to Kiev my baggage was missing I got my baggage after 5 days, and I had to buy some clothes to wear until my baggage arrived. Same thing happened on the way back to New York JFK on May 7th - instead of my seat 15B, I got 15C.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKBP to JFK
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no