Shanghai Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 90 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
0/10

Shanghai Airlines customer review

Review by (China) 1st June 2015

FM9312 May 28th 2015 Guangzhou to Shanghai. I have been traveling with this airline for four years when on occasion I cannot find another airline that suits my route/timing requirements. I find them to be consistently very delayed with little or no information in Chinese or English on the duration of the delays. I generally feel that a delay of two hours is 'par' for this airline and anything leads than this is a very good result. I would strongly suggest against flying this airline if on business or if arriving on time is a priority.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

Shanghai Airlines customer review

Review by (Australia) 19th January 2015

We bought two tickets to travel from Melbourne to Beijing via Shanghai (late Dec 2014). Without any prior knowledge we were put on Shanghai Airlines instead on both legs. Outbound aircraft was a bit old but the inbound was rather new and clean. IFE (English programs) are rather limited and not up to date. They didn't change the movies selection (our outbound and inbound flights were in different months). Established airlines usually refresh the IFE at the beginning of each month. Food was ordinary very Chinese and please bring your own food if you are hard to please. The FA served water very regularly two thumbs up. Too many announcements (turbulence related) and we were very annoyed. Passengers should have some common senses and not require reminders from the FA's. All in a very basic airline.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Shanghai Airlines customer review

Review by (China) 22nd December 2014

From Pudong to Shenyang on December 12. Flight on time which is already a big plus as most flights out of Pudong are delayed by "traffic control". Even with the heavy snow in Shenyang landing was smooth. Cannot comment on the food never eat airline food. Very annoying is the constant barrage of announcements in Chinese and not- understandable English prevents you from taking a nap. Gold status on Skyteam is never honored in China bag as one of the last to appear on the carrousel even with the priority tag on it.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Shanghai Airlines customer review

Review by (China) 14th September 2014

April 6th CSX-SHA. On the flight to Shanghai the plane was very new and the lights in the cabin were warming and comfortable cabin crew were okay but not very impressive they were very rushed during the flight but understandable as it was only a 75 min flight. Inflight entertainment was a shared TV. Shanghai Airlines really need to improve their cabin crew on common knowledge during the crew announcements they mistakenly said Skyteam as Sky Alliance. Overall a satisfactory trip but not impressive.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

Shanghai Airlines customer review

Review by (Australia) 2nd January 2014

Flight FM846 29 Dec Hong Kong to Shanghai. Flight left 40 minutes late. Paid quite a bit extra and given it was only 8 seats you would expect reasonable service and have a bit of peace and quiet but it seems that if you are in economy you just use any toilet. This was business class you pay the extra for the trimmings and expect a higher level of service and cabin separation. Normally because you have paid more you get a mini bus for business class passengers but there were none. Will be wary of code share flights from now on.
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

Shanghai Airlines customer review

Review by (Germany) 6th December 2013

I was just in the booking process for a Shanghai-Xian flight in discounted first class when they interrupted my input and changed the fares. Instead of a surcharge of 20% above the eco fare they lowered the economy fares substantially and came to a ratio of 1:3. I immediately switched to the new discounted eco fare landed at less than 40% of the original budget and felt "quite comfortable". The flight from Hongqiao Apt to Xian takes a little more than two hours - one can really accept all the environment and service features they offer. Clean 737-800 with better seat pitch than most European airlines. They offer a hot snack en-route (two choices) a limited beverage selection (no alcoholic beverages). Do not expect a sophisticated IFE just those small screens above your head for every second row. The flight was fully booked absolutely on time and a real bargain - what more can you expect? My marks are once again quite high for this China Eastern affiliate.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

Shanghai Airlines customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 8th July 2013

Shanghai to Nanning on July 4. Delayed nearly 2.52hours sitting on the plane with hardly any air-conditioning. However the Captain kept us periodically informed which was good. Flight was okay except the flight attendants did not smile. Check-in was ridiculous! I had to open my checked-in baggage cause they suspected (1) my less than 50 ml bottles of skin care and (2) a small hotel sewing kit!
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

Shanghai Airlines customer review

Review by (Macau) 21st April 2013

Took a flight from Beijing to Shanghai. Flight delayed. The 757 didn't appear to be very old but obviously poorly maintained. I've taken flights on 30-year old planes which looked much better than this one. Tray table locks were loose and broken and a lot of them opened during takeoff. Closet locks in lavatories were also broken and doors were wide open. Most staff were poker faced and unfriendly. I won't take their flights if given an alternative.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

Shanghai Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 1st April 2013

Shanghai (PVG) to Xi'an. FM9205. Check in at PVG seamless friendly staff Enjoyed the China Eastern Lounge. Bussed out to the aircraft but with a separate comfortable sit down shuttle bus. Aircraft was a bit older but the leg room in First was astonishing. At 2 Meters+ my legs were able to stretch out completely. The attendants tried their personal best to speak English food was fine and the flight was on time. I was sceptical after reading all of the other reviews but must say I was completely satisfied with the service and the price.
Cabin FlownFirst Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

Shanghai Airlines customer review

Review by (China) 25th February 2013

Chengdu-Shanghai Hongqiao with very old B757 flight delayed 1hr as usual took shuttle bus for boarding even Chengdu New Airport terminal is almost empty! Seat very hard and narrow and dirty food awful and tasteless crew friendly and still provide efficient service somehow.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 55 Reviews