Shanghai Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 67 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"it was a pleasant flight"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Shanghai to Kota Kinabalu. Shanghai Airlines code shares with China Eastern Airline. It was a new plane and the flight experience was good. Although one of the air steward seems like he hates his job but overall it was a pleasant experience. The meals served was exactly the one I was served on my trip to Shanghai. Nothing special, something to fill an empty stomach. The seats are comfortable whereby the headrest was tiltable. We were given pillows and blankets on the flight but the flight was kinda warm even though we flew during the night. Coming from someone who cannot really stand on cold, the flight was really warm. Overall, it was a pleasant flight, nothing special to praise or criticize about, at least it got me safe back home.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Kota Kinabalu
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"a worn-out B737 plane"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | Shanghai Airlines flight from Guangzhou to Shanghai. The flight was more than two and a half hours late. We had to get on a follow-up flight and then we went on the connecting flight. Waiting for more than 4 hours - no basic refreshments were offered to the waiting party. We asked the desk clerk to call or send a message to the company with whom we had to continue the flight, but it was refused. The counter clerk also did not give any details while waiting when the flight would leave. The flight itself on a worn-out B737 plane, broken chairs. A flight meal under any inspection. Since the flight was delayed and because we had missed the connecting flight, we turned to the company for an alternate flight. The company disclaims any liability and sends us to the company of the connecting flight. Perfect contempt. We got stuck all night at the airport, no hotel or refreshments were provided. A blatant disregard for their commitment to the passenger.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Shanghai Pudong
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"just at the standard level"

(China)

Trip Verified | Shanghai Hongqiao to Lanzhou. As a Skyteam Elite member I could use the priority check-in counter and priority security lines. It was very wonderful. The service of cabin crew was just at the standard level. The meal was simple, and the kind of the drinks was not enough. The seat was comfortable.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShanghai Hongqiao to Lanzhou
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"have the worst customer service"

(United States)

Verified Review | Shanghai to Kuala Lumpur. My flight is in December and they change the flight early and we don’t have enough time to connect. Expedia and myself have been try to contact them for the past week and nobody pick up the phone. They have the worst customer service and if possible do not fly on Shanghai Airlines. I am still waiting for them to answer their phone.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownNovember 2017
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"we had to go standby"

(China)

Verified Review | Never use your frequent flyer miles from one airline and get placed on Shanghai Airlines. We had a confirmation number and ticket number from our partner, and Shanghai Airlines could not locate us in the system so we lost our reserved seats and had to go standby. Ticket counter said we'd have no issues on return flight. Guess what? We are standing in Bangkok as I type with the exact same problem with a sold out flight. Seems they don't put you in the system if you are using another airlines miles, even though they are partners, or at least that's how it looks from our end.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Bangkok
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they don't seem to care"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | We booked a flight from Kuala Lumpur to Amsterdam via Shanghai with China Eastern Airlines. The part from Kuala Lumpur to Shanghai was operated by Shanghai Airlines. Departure time was 2.10am out of Kuala Lumpur and expected arrival in Shanghai at 7.20am. The inbound flight already arrived 30 minutes late so we boarded the plane at 2.30. The seatpitch at seat 33A and B was okay and after showing the safety instruction video on the screens we expected to depart. To our surprise the cabin attendant announced a delay of 3 hours due to ATC-restrictions by ATC Singapore. The gate was already disconnected and the boarding door was closed so we had to stay in the plane for over 3 hours. A cup of water and a meal were being served at 3am. After that, we had to stay in the plane and we were told to stay in our seats. There was no information from our captain and the flight attendants hid in the galley. Out of the blue the plane was pushed back from the gate at 6.05am. Without information we departed out of Kuala Lumpur. No idea how long the flight was going to take and what the arrival time in PVG would be. During the flight they served one croissant (which origanally would be served during the dinner we received at 3am) and half a cup of Chinese tea. Our bags never made it to our final destination and are still in China. Today, 3 days after the flight with Shanghai Airlines/China Eastern, we still haven't received them back nor did we get any info about our bags. My advice is not to fly with Shanghai Airlines. They don't seem to care about passengers and their bags and leave you without any information.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKUL to PVG
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"fly them again on this route"

(South Korea)

Seoul Gimpo to Shanghai Hongqiao return for a long weekend. As with all Gimpo international flights, it was 100% full and extremely short. Plane was clean, in good condition. Only a bottle of water was given with a tray of food. Ignore the food as it's just beef and rice in some kind of sauce. The food seemed the same in both directions. As far as cabin service, all of the Korean staff were polite. GMP-SHA there were a few, obviously tired and sour Chinese attendants wearing a visible frown and throwing the food on the tray. At 240 USD round trip all in, I don't really care about the service on these short flights. No seatback TV, but again, the flight was barely an hour and a half. No time to watch anything. The plane was clean, leg room adequate and, surprisingly, on time given Chinese airspace. I'd fly them again on this route.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGMP to SHA
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"don't choose Shanghai Airlines"

(China)

Tianjin to Shanghai. Terrible service, terrible food and terrible airplane. Dirty and smelly, the cabin staff so miserable and horrible. Delays again with no announcement or no apology. If you come to China and you fly on a scheduled not budget airline, don't choose Shanghai Airlines.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTSN to SHA
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"comfortable seats"

(Switzerland)

Flew Shanghai Airlines from Phuket to Shanghai Pudong on a new Boeing 737-800 on an overnight flight. Best economy class experience, very clean and new plane, comfortable seats with lots of leg room. Very good and tasty food. I would fly Shanghai Airlines again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKT to PVG
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"absolute disgrace of an airline"

(Germany)

Hong Kong to Shanghai Pudong on Shanghai Airlines. For reasons as yet unexplained to me, we boarded the aircraft at 16.45h and remained on the aircraft on the ground until 23.40h (yes, an unbelievable 7 hours), when we were then told that “the flight is now cancelled” and we deplaned again. During the time onboard neither the captain or first officer spoke with the passengers and the cabin crew made three announcements stating only that "we would be updated on the departure time later". An absolute disgrace of an airline and crew.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to PVG
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 67 Reviews