Top 100 Airlines  

Shanghai Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 61 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"fly them again on this route"

(South Korea)

Seoul Gimpo to Shanghai Hongqiao return for a long weekend. As with all Gimpo international flights, it was 100% full and extremely short. Plane was clean, in good condition. Only a bottle of water was given with a tray of food. Ignore the food as it's just beef and rice in some kind of sauce. The food seemed the same in both directions. As far as cabin service, all of the Korean staff were polite. GMP-SHA there were a few, obviously tired and sour Chinese attendants wearing a visible frown and throwing the food on the tray. At 240 USD round trip all in, I don't really care about the service on these short flights. No seatback TV, but again, the flight was barely an hour and a half. No time to watch anything. The plane was clean, leg room adequate and, surprisingly, on time given Chinese airspace. I'd fly them again on this route.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGMP to SHA
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"don't choose Shanghai Airlines"

(China)

Tianjin to Shanghai. Terrible service, terrible food and terrible airplane. Dirty and smelly, the cabin staff so miserable and horrible. Delays again with no announcement or no apology. If you come to China and you fly on a scheduled not budget airline, don't choose Shanghai Airlines.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTSN to SHA
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"comfortable seats"

(Switzerland)

Flew Shanghai Airlines from Phuket to Shanghai Pudong on a new Boeing 737-800 on an overnight flight. Best economy class experience, very clean and new plane, comfortable seats with lots of leg room. Very good and tasty food. I would fly Shanghai Airlines again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKT to PVG
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"absolute disgrace of an airline"

(Germany)

Hong Kong to Shanghai Pudong on Shanghai Airlines. For reasons as yet unexplained to me, we boarded the aircraft at 16.45h and remained on the aircraft on the ground until 23.40h (yes, an unbelievable 7 hours), when we were then told that “the flight is now cancelled” and we deplaned again. During the time onboard neither the captain or first officer spoke with the passengers and the cabin crew made three announcements stating only that "we would be updated on the departure time later". An absolute disgrace of an airline and crew.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to PVG
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Shanghai Airlines customer review

(United States)

The plane had a foul odor throughout the flight. The plane sat on the tarmac for nearly an hour before going anywhere. The food was hardly edible, though not necessary for the short 2 hour flight. Lukewarm beer was served free of charge. The plane itself was old and in need of retirement. The seats were about as cramped together as any I have seen.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Routecan to shanghai
Date FlownAugust 2014
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Shanghai Airlines customer review

(China)

I fly with this airline regularly between Shanghai and Hong Kong because it's one of the few airlines that lands in Shanghai Hongqiao airport, which is more convenient for me. Convenience is my only motivation, as this airline is bad. Poor food. Staff will tell you to switch off your phone 30 mins before landing, but do not stop customers using phones. Seats are uncomfortable. I really wish there were more options between SHA and HK - but unfortunately I am stuck with Shanghai Airlines.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Shanghai
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
na

Shanghai Airlines customer review

(China)

FM9312 May 28th 2015 Guangzhou to Shanghai. I have been traveling with this airline for four years when on occasion I cannot find another airline that suits my route/timing requirements. I find them to be consistently very delayed with little or no information in Chinese or English on the duration of the delays. I generally feel that a delay of two hours is 'par' for this airline and anything leads than this is a very good result. I would strongly suggest against flying this airline if on business or if arriving on time is a priority.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

Shanghai Airlines customer review

(Australia)

We bought two tickets to travel from Melbourne to Beijing via Shanghai (late Dec 2014). Without any prior knowledge we were put on Shanghai Airlines instead on both legs. Outbound aircraft was a bit old but the inbound was rather new and clean. IFE (English programs) are rather limited and not up to date. They didn't change the movies selection (our outbound and inbound flights were in different months). Established airlines usually refresh the IFE at the beginning of each month. Food was ordinary very Chinese and please bring your own food if you are hard to please. The FA served water very regularly two thumbs up. Too many announcements (turbulence related) and we were very annoyed. Passengers should have some common senses and not require reminders from the FA's. All in a very basic airline.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Shanghai Airlines customer review

(China)

From Pudong to Shenyang on December 12. Flight on time which is already a big plus as most flights out of Pudong are delayed by "traffic control". Even with the heavy snow in Shenyang landing was smooth. Cannot comment on the food never eat airline food. Very annoying is the constant barrage of announcements in Chinese and not- understandable English prevents you from taking a nap. Gold status on Skyteam is never honored in China bag as one of the last to appear on the carrousel even with the priority tag on it.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Shanghai Airlines customer review

(China)

April 6th CSX-SHA. On the flight to Shanghai the plane was very new and the lights in the cabin were warming and comfortable cabin crew were okay but not very impressive they were very rushed during the flight but understandable as it was only a 75 min flight. Inflight entertainment was a shared TV. Shanghai Airlines really need to improve their cabin crew on common knowledge during the crew announcements they mistakenly said Skyteam as Sky Alliance. Overall a satisfactory trip but not impressive.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 61 Reviews