Airline of the Year  

Rwandair

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 28 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"my bags are missing again"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | Kigali to Dubai. I am supposed to fly 9th February by 15:00, when I got to the airport I was told the flight left by 11, this is a mistake from Rwandair, so I was lodged in an hotel to fly the next morning by Rwandair. 10th of February I left Lagos and landed here in Dubai on 11th, upon arrival my bags are missing again, 3bags. I was told to call on 12th in order to claim my bags, I have to go again to the airport to check but only got 2 bags out of 3 bags, this is unacceptable.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKigali to Dubai
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst experience I've had"

(United States)

Verified Review | This was the worst experience I've had with an airline. We arrived at the airport 2 hours before our scheduled departure time. We tried as much as possible to prepare before and looked online for baggage policies and any online check-in options. When we arrived at the airport there was an employee in the RwandAir line who was checking baggage weight before we got to the check-in counter. On the RwandAir website it clearly states that baggage allowance is 30kg. We were well under that weight for both bags so we figured we were okay. To our surprise we were told that our bags needed to be under 25kg and that one bag was overweight. We were told we would need to get out of line and go remove some items from one of our bags. We complied and went back through the line which was moving extremely slow. Several people were just going straight to the front of the line which seemed to be okay with the staff. By the time the line finally started to move we were getting extremely close to the check-in close time which was one hour before departure. Even after mentioning this, the staff member moved at the same slow pace and seemed to have no clue how to process my ticket. We had no special arrangements or tickets, yet she spent a total of 18 minutes trying to figure things out. By the time she finally finished processing our boarding pass she tells us that it is 7:18 and boarding closes at 7:20! We luckily were able to cut through the security line and make it there in time. When we arrived for a layover at the Kigali airport the Rwandair staff was no better. The staff member at the Joburg airport told me that I would need to get my boarding pass in Kigali (even though I already had a mobile boarding pass). When I arrived in Kigali the staff member seemed to have no clue why I didn't have a printed boarding pass from Joburg (even after showing him my mobile boarding pass) and took about 20 minutes to issue me another. When we finally got onto the plane our flight ended up being delayed one hour due to us waiting on passengers (who never arrived) from another incoming flight which was also delayed. We waited on a HOT plane for over an hour. Our original flight and e-ticket stated that our flight was to depart from JNB with a layover in Kigali and final destination to Accra. To our surprise, when were on the plane the captain announced that we were heading to Lagos, Nigeria. I panicked thinking that we were on the wrong flight and asked the flight attendant if we were headed to Accra. He told me that we were but were going to stop in Lagos to drop some passengers off first, so we just needed to stay on the plane. Not once was this communicated either in an email, at the ticket counter or on the airline screens. You'd think that this would be something that was mentioned. We arrived in Accra almost an hour later than our expected arrival time.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to ACC via KGL
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"very happy with both flights"

(Rwanda)

Verified Review | I flew with Rwandair from Kigali to Entebbe (return) and was very happy with both flights. The aircraft are new and the staff is great. Despite the very shorts flights (about 35 min), the crew made you feel welcome and we were provided with snacks and drinks.
AircraftQ400 / CRJ
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKGL to EBB
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"my luggage are yet to arrive"

(Nigeria)

Verified Review | Kigali to Lagos with Rwandair. I landed in Lagos on the 22nd July and till today 26th July my luggage are yet to arrive. This type of service is certainly unacceptable. The airline is not the first that I would be traveling on. Have my daughters things in there and a couple of other important items. I have never experienced this type of service with any airline. After calling them several times, all they could tell me after 4 days is that my baggage was tagged for Kigali without any remorse. How insensitive!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKGL to LOS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"left 10 passenger bags in Dubai"

(United States)

Verified Review | Dubai to Kigali with Rwandair. The airline left 10 passenger bags in Dubai because the airline was over their weight limit. This doesn't make sense because the plane was only 60% full. When asked when my bags would arrive in Kigali the staff said they were unsure and this was normal. I'm in Kigali for work and I had my business attire in my checked luggage. The customer service from checking in to landing was less than desirable. The plane was very dirty and had no been cleaned after the last flight. The flight attendant spoke was rude to some of the passengers. I'm quite disappointed to learn the Rwanda Air frequently leaves passenger's checked luggage at the originating airport to bring other cargo on the plane. Nor do they compensate you for lost or late luggage.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDXB to KGL
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"flight attendants full of smiles"

(Tanzania)

I flew with Rwandair for the first time in July 2015 using the route Dar es Salaam - Kigali. I didn't know what to expect initially. However, my experience was quite pleasant and the flight attendants were full of smiles and were helpful. Their seats however for business class were quite small. I don't recall inflight entertainment as the journey was only 1 hour and my novel was what I planned to entertain myself with. I also found the staff on the ground at the airport in Kigali just as helpful. I would definitely use them again on this route and would recommend the Dar es Salaam - Kigali route. I am keen to see reviews on other cities they fly in as they are quite affordable.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDAR to KGL
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"rudest flight attendant"

(Kenya)

Travelled with Rwandair return from Kigali to Dubai. The outward flight was okay, food was good and the staff was warm but on coming back from Dubai to Kigali, I got the rudest flight attendant. the seats on the plane are very squeezed so I requested for a change of seat since I was carrying an infant, the lady just shrugged like I was disturbing her. I had to squeeze between two people on seat 5B with an infant, while more comfortable seats were vacant. Carry a book or magazine as there is no IFE. The airport staff are however very helpful.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKGL to DXB
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"I can't speak highly enough"

(Australia)

I was concerned about this Rwandair flight after reading some negative reviews, but I can't speak highly enough. The flight was only half full, meaning very personal service from the staff on board. The plane was quite new and very clean. The food we received was good and surprising given it was only an hour flight. My bag arrived in good time. Absolutely nothing to complain about.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKigali to Nairobi
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"flight was comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Once onboard the Rwandair flight was comfortable and the cabin service and meals were good. The flights each way were quite empty and passengers spread out to empty rows. IFE is by drop down screen and they had the same movie each way. Check in early as there appears to be confusion about departure times for WB100. Some days of the week it leaves earlier to stop at Lusaka on the way to JNB. We confirmed our flight as leaving at 1810 but when arriving at the airport it indicated 1845 as the departure time. We boarded the aircraft when the screens indicated that boarding would occur in 20 minutes. We left at the earlier time and flew direct but it was not a day when it was scheduled to leave earlier on account of the extra stop.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKigali to Johannesburg
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Rwandair not offering even a single glass of water"

(Gabon)

I flew Rwandair from Libreville to Johannesburg via Kigala, at the end of August 2015 from LBV to JNB, and was very disappointed. The flight LBV to KGL without any problem but when I reached Kigali, to my surprise the ground staff told me to show my vaccination book. I told them that the ground staff from origin did not tell me that I needed to carry my vaccination book. The ground staff told me to stand aside. They agreed that ground staff from origin should have asked it to me as a requirement to travel. I then asked them to find me a solution and suggested that I would agree to get the yellow fever vaccine again at Kigali Airport as long as I could move on with my trip. Their response was that there was no doctor at the airport and I needed a visa to get out of the airport. I told them that I was willing to pay for visa and hotel to stay until the next flight to JNB but they categorically refused to let me out of the airport or to call for a doctor. I finally ended up waiting 22 hours at Kigali airport and Rwandair not offering even a single glass of water. They kept telling me that they would provide me with food and even a free phone to call home, but nothing happened. Fortunately I always carry my credit card and could satisfy my thirst and hunger. Finally, they flew me back to Gabon and told me that my ticket was lost. They treated me as a refugee, keeping all my documents all the way to LBV. When i reached LBV, I complained to the ground staff and to the station manager, but until now I did not get any call or mail. I have never been treated like this before.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLBV to JNB via KGL
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 28 Reviews