Top 100 Airlines  

Lao Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 54 reviews
8/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"I won't recommend at all"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Singapore to Luang Prabang via Vientiane. Nice aircraft and nice meal. However, during my holidays, I received a message that my return flight was cancelled due to no shown (which was totally wrong). I had to call my travel agent to understand that the issue was from Lao Airlines. Customer service from Lao Airlines didn't help me at all. Moreover, during the way back, a technical issue happened on the aircraft during the flight so we had to come back to the airport. Huge delay and not much apologies or explanation. Then, I contacted Lao Airline customer service to share my feedback, I couldn't get any reply and after investigation (and 5 mails), they confirmed that the issue was from the airline end due to technical glitch. If you want to travel without any worry, I won't recommend at all this company.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to LPQ
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"very pleasantly surprised"

(United States)

Verified Review | Chiang Mai to Luang Prabang with Lao Airlines. Wasn't expecting much from this short flight and was very pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and efficient. Drinks were provided as soon as possible. I even got my first Beerlao. The food was a snack of 2 apple slices, 2 grapes, and a bun filled with a piece of ham. The ham didn't look too appetizing to me so I ate the bread. Considering the flight was so short, getting anything more than pretzels was a surprise. The flight itself was on time and smooth. The only drawback was that the propellors are loud when you're seated near them.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCNX to LPQ
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"very nice little airline"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Siem Reap to Vientiane via Pakse, Luang Prabang. Lao Airlines is a very nice little airline. Check in was friendly and quick for both flights, and boarding was efficient. The crew were gracious and served a snack and drink on each leg (two of the three legs were less than an hour). The seats were comfortable for a regional hop. The planes operated on time. Note, if you are travelling on the Lao Airlines flight from Siem Reap to Luang Prabang you will go through Lao immigration at Pakse -- so make sure you fill out your landing form on the short hop from Siem Reap. Also, at Vientiane the domestic terminal is very run down and does not have a proper luggage carousel. There is a rugby scrum to get luggage off the flight.
AircraftATR72 / A320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteREP to VTE via PKZ
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"cabin crews were cheerful"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Flew Lao Airlines QV535 from Luang Prabang to Singapore on an A320. Legroom was decent, there was an PTV at each seats but somehow cannot be turned on. The seat was quite comfortable and cabin crews were cheerful serving the passengers. We were served a pack of fruit chip on LPQ-VTE sector and a full meal on VTE SIN sector.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLPQ to SIN via VTE
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"seat was comfortable"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Flew on Lao Airlines flight QV536 from Singapore to Luang Prabang on an A320. The seat was comfortable and the legroom was adequate. Quite comfortable for a 2.5hours flight to Vientiane and followed by 40mins connecting flight to Luang Prabang. However, the meal still needs to be improved. Fruit chips were served on Vientiane to Luang Prabang sector which were delicious.
AircraftA320-214
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to LPQ via VTE
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"very friendly and efficient"

(Japan)

Verified Review | Flew with Lao Airlines from Hanoi to Vientiane in their A320. The aircraft is starting to show its age. They have a PTV installed at each seat but it was not working. No sign of the PTV controller to be seen too. Service-wise, the whole crew was very young and all of them were very friendly and efficient. A simple snack box consisting of a sandwich and water was distributed followed by a drink round. The seat was okay and everything was good for this short flight of 50 minutes.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAN to VTE
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"seats were comfortable"

(Germany)

Chiang Mai to Luang Prabang using Lao Airlines, we had a nice experience. They used an ATR 72, with seat configuration 2-2. The flight was on-time. The cabin was clean and the seats were comfortable. As a full service airline, passengers were given a lot of choices of foods and beverages (beer, alcohol drinks etc). Before the flight, we had requested a special meal and they answered our request within next two hours. The ground staff and cabin crew were polite and friendly.
AircraftATR 72
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCNX to LPQ
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"try not to take this airline"

(Laos)

Traveled Lao Airlines from Bangkok to Vientiane on Oct 18, 2015. Disappointed that the aircraft was ATR instead of Boeing. The seat belt lights came on and we were about to land, the cabin crew were seated as announced by the Captain but they did not stop two passengers from using the toilets. I will probably try not to take this airline if I have another choice.
AircraftATR-72-500
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Vientiane
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"plane was quite new, comfortable seat"

(Thailand)

First time flying with Lao Airlines, and very impressed. Staff was friendly both at check-in as the cabin crew. The plane was just half full. Very smooth boarding. The flight departed before schedule time and arrived 25 min in advance. The plane was quite new, comfortable seat with a lot of space for the legs. We got served a little box with a sandwich, a piece of cake and an orange juice. Apart of that we got offered complimentary drinks. It's true that the flight was pricy, but it's normal considering that is the only airline covering the route, and only 4 times a week. I definitely recommend this airline.
AircraftATR 72-600
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Savannakhet
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I definitely recommend them"

(Thailand)

First time on a flight to Laos. Impressed with the staff at Bangkok BKK airport. I flew to Vientiane on Lao Airlines on September 3, 2015. Not a full flight, plenty of staff at every point. At check in they were very nice. I had to come back and check in a small package because security wouldn't let me through with a tube of sunscreen. Very helpful in directing me to the post office where I could buy a small box, and let me check it in. After I got through security and immigration, at the gate there was a nice clean, quiet waiting area with a bathroom close by. No shortage of airline staff, all of whom were polite and nice. The aircraft is fairly new, ATR 72 prop plane, which seats 48 passengers. The plane was about 50% full. The seats are leather-like and as comfortable as you can expect. Seats recline some. Very clean plane. I did not use the lavatory. They board and disembark from the rear of the plane, so if you are in row 1, you are the last to disembark. The overhead compartments are very small, if you have a large backpack, they won't fit. The seats are a 2-2 configuration. I was in row 5 which was right opposite the propeller. After airborne, I moved to row 3 so I had a better view. Short flight, 1 hr 15 minutes, very smooth, all instructions were given in two languages - English being one of them. Could easily understand them. At a cruising altitude of 25,000 feet, my ears felt a whole lot better than on Airasia! Good landing, good service, good clean equipment, I would definitely recommend them. They did provide a snack, which surprised me. It consisted of a sandwich and water. My flight cost was $100, plus a $50 surcharge for fuel! then taxes, it came to $175.00 for a return ticket. For such a short flight it was a little expensive, and considering they are flying with such low passenger capacity, I am surprised the fares aren't more competitive.
AircraftATR 72
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to VTE
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 54 Reviews