Hong Kong Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 99 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Will consider other options next time"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Flew Hong Kong Airlines from Seoul Incheon to Hong Kong. Website was overly-complex. At first it seemed only frequent flyers could access any of the services every other passenger would expect elsewhere. No self-check in service. I had to re-enter my data several times before it was accepted. Booking confirmation reference was 13 digits long and thus hard to remember since most only use 6 numbers. Gate was the furthest ends of the terminal for both origin and destination and there was no view. Seat was far too narrow and very hard and there was awful garish red upholstry. Legroom was quite good but my right leg was obstructed by the seat support in front. No footrest. There was a loose velcro strap hanging down from the seat in front to which could not seem to cling back. No USB port. Very limited IFE with really tiny manual buttons. Screen was dim even at brightest setting. Aircon was not adjustable. They gave cheap ear plugs instead of headphones. Sound quality was poor and required frequent adjustment. Cabin Crew moved so quickly in the aisle that I could not even get a beverage from them. Loyalty points cannot be claimed retrospectively. Lots of long announcements with an annoying bell chime that left your ears ringing about duty free but nothing about the hour long delay until landing. Will consider other options next time.
AircraftA330-343X
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeoul Incheon to Hong Kong
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"hardware was absolutely perfect"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flew from Los Angeles to Bangkok and back. I was happy with the flight LA to HK and back as it was a brand new aircraft. HK to BKK was an older airbus but I preferred the older one as it had more leg room and wider seats. It looked like a higher grade plane, even rest room were more equipped. Pros: Good schedule, on time, we were anxious about a connecting flight from Bangkok onwards to India but made it in time. Crew were smart and nice uniform provided good service. No issues at all. There were snacks and juices at back to aircraft near galley that one could pick up anytime. Food was very good and served hot. Cons: Not many concerns, just the longer flight from LA to HKK was hard on the butt after few hours as it had less cushion, I guess to cut cost and weight that is my only negative esp. on a longer 15-16 hour flight the seat can get uncomfortable. A big one for me personally was the frustrating online check-in process that kept giving vague error messages that made no sense, just some weird code. That was the most frustrating part, the website, the human element and hardware was absolutely perfect. Airport Check in was smooth, friendly and efficient.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Los Angeles via Hong Kong
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"very slow in-flight service"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Flew Hong Kong Airlines from Auckland to Narita via Hong Kong. Firstly, very slow in-flight service by the crew. Took 30 min just to get a cup of coffee, and I needed to ask twice for that. Secondly, my suitcase was not properly transported to my destination, and when finally I received it a couple of days later, they had locked it and so I ended up having to break it open. None of this would have happened if I hadn't chosen to fly this appalling airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Narita via Hong Kong
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"you get what you paid for"

(Taiwan)

Trip Verified | Early booked on this flight and got a relatively cheap deal, but you get what you paid for. The plane felt old and probably was from its parent Hainan Airlines. The flight itself was smooth, and the service was OK. The downsides are that the toilets never seemed to be clean and the meal portion was quite small for a 11+ hour flight. Also the ground handling managed to cause a damage to one of my luggage. Still waiting for airline feedback on compensation but it's not looking positive. The customer service phone number in Taiwan doesn't work.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Taipei via Hong Kong
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"pretty poor service"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Gold Coast to Shanghai via Hong Kong. My bag did not arrive with my business class flight with Hong Kong Airlines from Gold Coast to Shanghai via Hong Kong. I left instructions with HK Airlines for it to be forwarded to me at my hotel in Shenzen as I was departing shortly afterwards for that city. It took innumerable calls to track my luggage - I was finally informed more than 24 hours later that it had arrived at Shenzhen airport and I had to go and pick it up myself. This was after 9 pm at night. They refused to deliver to my hotel like any other airline would do. I had no alternative but to go the airport myself the following morning. The airport was an hour from the city, and i had appointments that i had to cancel to go there. Once there I had to wait 2 hours as the bag was not where they had said. It was an extremely difficult situation for me as very few people at the airport spoke english. After many phone calls to Hong Kong and Shanghai, the bag was finally located at a totally different place from where I had been told. Altogether it took almost 4 hours to get my bag back at my hotel. The bag also had a cut in the side. The only compensation HK Airlines offered for all this stress and inconvenience was the cost of the taxi to and from the airport! All in all, pretty poor service for an international airline!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGold Coast to Shanghai via Hong Kong
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"staff was so nice and friendly"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Seoul Incheon. The staff was so nice and friendly I had to write this review. They brought me every little extra stuff like more orange juice and bread and butter and stayed super friendly. They literally wanted to help me which was a nice feeling. Everything else was good too, food as well.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Seoul Incheon
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"delayed by more than 3 hours"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | My first time travelling with Hong Kong Airlines from Hong Kong to Seoul and my flight was delayed by more than 3 hours due to operational reasons. Their website still showed the scheduled flight time, which was very misleading. I called up the customer service but they could not confirm the gate number. Finally, I had to check over the counter to confirm it.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Seoul
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight was delayed overnight"

(Taiwan)

Verified Review | Vancouver to Taipei via Hong Kong. I knew that because of a typhoon my flight in Hong Kong would be delayed. However the airline wouldn't let me change the time of the starting flight from Vancouver to avoid the bad weather. They promised a hotel in Hong Kong if the connecting flight was delayed overnight, but then once I got to Hong Kong it wouldn't give a hotel. To make matters worse it attempted the connecting flight to Taipei, only to turn back halfway due to strong winds. After that fiasco they gave us 500HKD (USD65), which is not enough for a solo passenger to get a hotel anywhere near Hong Kong airport. There was a typhoon. What did the airline expect?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Taipei via Hong Kong
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"an awful, irresponsible, and inconsiderate airline"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | My connecting flight from Hong Kong to Bangkok was suddenly cancelled, and changed to a flight 10+ hours later, only 2 days before. I was on my trip without the internet and just got informed about it when I checked in at Beijing. The ground staff in Beijing could not help with anything. I asked for an earlier flight, any hotel, any lounge service. They said I have to contact Hong Kong Airlines myself. Why would you have a ground service that cannot support a passenger that needs help? I flew to Hong Kong, just to find out that all rooms at airport hotels were fully booked. I went back to Hong Kong Airlines ground counter. They could not help with any accommodation, and only provided earlier flight to Bangkok after a lot of begging (now, +6 hours from the original one). My wife and I were stranded in the airport without support from the airline for 6-7 hours. When we came back to drop our luggage for the new flight, still no assistance and we had to wait in the long queue for over 30 minutes. If we knew that we can get an earlier flight, we wouldn't have taken out our luggage and just used transfer lounge to wait. Or even book a hotel in advance. The airline just did as it pleased, and didn't care about passenger experience at all. Such an awful, irresponsible, and inconsiderate airline. I don't recommend to anyone. This was my first and my last flight with Hong Kong Airlines.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Bangkok via Hong Kong
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"ground staff were pitiful"

(France)

Verified Review | Hong Kong Airlines ground staff were pitiful. The woman that printed our boarding pass for the Hong Kong to Beijing flight was absolutely rude and talked to us like we were stupid. We were only asking questions about our baggage to make sure we don't lose them. She was not nice, probably because it was 5:10 am. She was not able to provide a nice service, information and good words to customers.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Beijing
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 99 Reviews