Hong Kong Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 110 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"there was no entertainment"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Seoul in March. The cabin crew was lack of teamwork. Food was fine but the beverage they offered was limited with very few choices. No personal TV was offered within the plane, so there was no entertainment.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Seoul
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"delayed again for 2 hours"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Hanoi. First delayed for 45 minutes then delayed again for 2 hours ( technical issues). They provided 75 HKD restaurant voucher. After getting on the plane, the departure was delayed for 50mins. They shouldn't have made customers wait in the flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Hanoi
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"surprisingly nice and attentive"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Auckland to Hong Kong. Flight was quite expensive but I had to book it last minute and no other options were available, as this was the Christmas-New Year period. I arrived well in-time for check-in at Auckland Airport; scheduled departure was 10:15 am, and I arrived just before 8 am. Online check-in was not available for this flight (no reason given). Only two counters opened for check-in at the airport for Hong Kong Airlines. There was already a long queue for what it looked like was a very full flight, and the line was getting longer behind me as well. Check-in process took awfully long; The three ground staff were slow, rude and unapologetic. I was still waiting for my turn at the scheduled boarding time of 9:30 am. They had to rush the last 20 or so passengers for check-in and rudely told us to run to the gate or we'll miss the flight. No priority was given at security, and no airport carts were used to transport us to the gate. I double-checked both at check-in and at boarding-gate with staff to ensure both my check-in bags were on the flight, considering the check-in was hectic; I was assured both times that my bags were on the plane. We finally made it onto the aircraft and departed almost 30 minutes late. Plane and seats were old but nevertheless comfortable - I had a window seat at the back of the plane; curtains and interior were a warm red colour. Cabin-crew were surprisingly nice and attentive; leg room was sufficient and I managed to get an empty seat next to me. Food was delicious, toilets clean, and the help-yourself-minibar at the back of the plane made the difference. IFE was mediocre; not a lot of choice but sufficient. Arrived in Hong Kong 20 minutes ahead of schedule. I went to the transfer desk in Hong Kong Airport to make my Jet Airways connecting flight, here they advised me and some of my fellow passengers that due to late check-in at Auckland, out bags weren't loaded onto the aircraft and they will be coming on the next flight. After I arrived at Mumbai, it took 5 days for them to deliver the bag to my Mumbai address after countless calls and E-mails. Overall, not a bad flight, but they need a more efficient check-in process to ensure all passengers that arrived on time are checked-in on time by the ground staff and ready to board at least before the schedule boarding time.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Hong Kong
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"quality of food is not bad"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | I booked this Hong Kong Airlines flight to Vancouver from Hong Kong because of its unbelievable low price (USD380 return, tax included) it was due to the launch of this long haul service. This is the first long-haul route for HX. I took HX flight many times already but never on a long haul one. Honestly, I did worry a lot before the fight. Once I board the plane, I realised there was no TV on the seat. I was totally freak out as I thought I had to spend 14 hours on the plane without any entertainment. There was also no chargers as well. But after the plane took off, flight attendants hand out iPad with pre-loaded movies and videos to passengers. They are not wonderful but better than nothing. The seats are quite standard economy seats like other airlines. Surprisingly the quality of their food is not bad at all. One thing which makes the airline look very cheap is, they blocked out the whole front row and asked people to pay extra to sit. Even there was no one paid the seats, they left them all empty and put a plate on those seats saying you have to pay to sit there.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Vancouver
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I didn't have Canadian visa"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | I booked a flight from Hong Kong to Seattle through Hong Kong Airlines website. However, when I visited the counter to check-in, I was rejected and missed the flight because I didn't have Canadian visa as there was an internal transit at Vancouver. After asking what Hong Kong Airlines can do to fix my problem, they told me to call to contact center by myself, and it took me 7 hours (9am to 4pm) to get an answer that they could do nothing, not even a refund, and it was my mistake not checking with Canadian immigration rules before booking the flight. As a result, i needed to book from the another airline which is very expensive and I get nothing, not even sympathy.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Seattle via Vancouver
Date FlownMay 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Meal service only had pork"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Nanjing. Meal service only had pork as opposed to my request for something else. Cabin crew who was serving meal wasn't co-operating. Later another cabin crew and their manager came into help and provided me with some meal and offered to double check my return flight's meal request. Check service at HKG airport was good.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Nanjing
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"brought my wife and I one blanket"

(Taiwan)

Trip Verified | I caught a red-eye flight from Bali to Taipei via Hong Kong. I had to ask four flight attendants over a period of 10 to 15 minutes before I received a blanket. One flight attendant brought my wife and I one blanket, but we clearly asked for two (we held up two fingers when we requested the blankets). She later gave two blankets to a couple several rows in front of us. I had to ask another flight attendant (the fourth) to get a blanket. Most people use a blanket on red-eye flights, so I can't see why they were not stowed in the seat pockets, as I have experienced with other airlines.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBali to Taipei via Hong Kong
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"I'd fly them again"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Hong Kong. Pricing is the reason for round trips. I arrived at the airport kiosk, no queue. The hostess welcome was okay. Boarding time is 08.25 am. They were on time. but waiting so long to take off. Onboard, the seat was clean. but I want to change to long legroom. The hostess said I need to pay an extra charge, so I don't change. Seat big enough. They have a TV. The quality of the food was not too bad. I'd fly them again.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"as compensation they upgraded us"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Okinawa. We arrived at the airport to check in. Tried checking in online and at the airport kiosk and didn't work, we saw the line was rather long so asked their staff whether we should do anything and both told us to stay in line until they call our destination for last minute boarding. We wait until they finally call Okinawa, followed the staff to the express counter, at which point they told us "your flight is closed cos you're late". What's worse is that they tried to pass it off as our fault at the beginning despite us following their instructions. When they did finally rebook us on tomorrow's flight they said "we normally charge customers to rebook but we'll waive it for you" as if they were being generous. In the end they rebooked us on tomorrow's early flight and as compensation they upgraded us. Also gave us two food vouchers for the airport, as if airport food is great. I told them I wanted to be compensated for the taxi rides to the airport, lost hotel night, and lost day of car rental but they can't do anything about it.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Okinawa
Date FlownMarch 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"efficient, friendly, and professional"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Vancouver via Hong Kong. Pricing is the reason I flew them, so expectations were low. The cabin crew was very efficient, friendly, and professional. There were often three meal choices in economy. They were on time for the two segments I flew. The recline on the seats was spectacular. Sorry, people behind you. The A330 aircraft are older, with threadbare seats, no wifi, and an interior decked out in Reds and Golds. Their frequent flyer program is sub par. 208 cheap one way economy tickets from Bangkok to Hong Kong will get you a free one way economy over the Pacific. Not really worth participating in, unless you tend to pay higher fares. And the lack of entertainment in the seatbacks. They handed out iPads, but they really didn't stack up to a real entertainment system. The quality of the food was pretty poor, I left most of the suspected meat items on the tray. I'd fly them again, if the price was really right.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Vancouver via Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes