Vote Now  

Hong Kong Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 89 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"flight attendants super friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Taipei. Just flew them yesterday. Got to the airport 4 hours before departure, was told at checkin the flight had been overbooked, had the option to take another flight in a hour with another airline in economy or take the next flight with Hong Kong Airlines at 10:35pm which was 5 hours after my original departure. So we decided to wait and take their later flight. When we checked in to the lounge we was told the flight is at midnight now. However the staff ware very friendly, the seats was alright. The food was delicious and flight attendants was super friendly. They are great for value compared to CX business on the same route.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Taipei
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"inflight entertainment pretty good"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Tokyo Narita to Hong Kong with Hong Kong Airlines. The check-in counter did not open until 2 hours before the departure time, which is an annoying policy. So it is utterly useless if you want to arrive at the airport earlier and save time for shopping or going to lounge to rest after going through the customs. This is particularly hateful as an hour or so was typically not enough for Hong Kong travellers to buy souvenirs in Japanese airports as there are loads of stuff to buy. The flight was delayed for around 40 minutes, which was nice, at this occasion interestingly. The A333 is equipped with inflight entertainment, of which I can watch movies and listen music, pretty good. The legroom is within reasonable range, not spacious but acceptable. The hot meal is included in the ticket price. It was reasonably good. The crew refused to store my fruit in the fridge politely. No complain on this, just a bonus if this request was accepted.
AircraftA333
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Narita to Hong Kong
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"very impressed with the airline"

(India)

Unverified | Mumbai to Auckland via Hong Kong. When I travelled to hong kong via Jet Airways and then to Auckland thereafter with Hong Kong Airlines, I was very impressed with the airline. To begin with the greetings on board in English, the airline staff made me feel so comfortable, the seats were brilliant and much better then Jet Airways. The service is 10 grade, the staff took care of me and my my family so well be it food, drinks or even my 7 month old toddler. I am impressed with the airline for its service, food served me my choice of Indian (hindu meal) the best rajma chawal I have had, the drinks and the uninterrupted service on a 11 hour journey. I would recommend all my family members and friends to try Hong Kong Airlines. Just add a lot of movies and entertainment as its a 11 hour journey.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMumbai to Auckland via Hong Kong
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"it got me to where I want"

(United States)

Verified Review | Beijing to Hong Kong return with Hong Kong Airlines. The first flight was an older model without IFE. The second flight was on a much newer and more comfortable plane, with IFE. Usual meals and bathroom facilities. Happy with ground crew, she was able to send my luggage all the way to my final destination on a different airline and ticket. Budget airline and fare. It got me to where I want over the Chinese New Year festival.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Hong Kong
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"good service and tasty food"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | This is the first time travelling with Hong Kong Airlines flying from Bangkok to Hong Kong. It's also my first experience in Hong Kong Airline J Class. My pork noodles were cooked by the famous Thai cuisine restaurant, Blue Elephant which were delicious. The cabin equipment is clean and tidy. Cabin crews are nice and very friendly! Entertainment services (movie, TV) are very up to date. Good service and tasty food. Affordable price, taking into account that I flew business class.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to HKG
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"drink and hot snack are served free"

(China)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Chengdu. Hong Kong Airlines is the low cost Hong Kong airline, owned by Hainam Airlines. It costs 1/3 flying them compared to Cathay Pacific, so I shall have no complaints. The seat pitch is tighter than Cathay or other airlines. It was a dinner time flight and drink and hot snack are served free. No complaints as expectation was not high, to be fair.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to CTU
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"fraught with red tape"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Ground Staff at Osaka Airport require more training. My partner and I arrived in Hong Kong on 29 October. We are both British passport holders although I also have a Hong Kong ID card. My partner has leave to stay in Hong Kong for 6 months and this is clearly stated on a slip attached to his passport. We took a trip to Kyoto (via Osaka) for 6 days. Everything was fine on the outward journey but the return trip yesterday was fraught with red tape. First, despite having checked in online 48 hours before, we had to get our boarding passes at the check-in desk at Osaka Airport. It was really frustrating as we only had hand luggage! We saw 5 members of the staff attending to one lady customer while the queue grew ever longer. Little did we know that we would have the same attention. The girl at the counter asked my partner how long he was/would be staying in Hong Kong, wanted to see his return ticket to England etc. We pointed out the page where it stated that he could stay until April 2017 of he wanted, but she sought advice from a colleague and then 4 more joined her!! We couldn't to get them to understand that he can stay in HK for 6 months. Eventually they asked my partner to sign a "Release of Indemnity". The process of queuing and grilling lasted from 14.25 to 15.50. They were all very polite and very apologetical - in fact 2 gentlemen later saw us at the gate and apologised again for their lack of English, but it was no less frustrating and annoying for us. My partner could not have been the only British passport holder in this situation. I think that with more training the check-in staff could have more confidence to deal with similar situations. Other than that, we were happy flying with Hong Kong Airlines on such short haul flights
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKIX to HKG
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"nothing to complain about"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | I have been flying with Hong Kong Airlines many times on this same route from Naha to Hong Kong, it has never disappointed me. Excellent flight time, punctuality, matched with equally satisfactory inflight service and catering. Very often they sell seats at promotional price, make this an instant winner over the other airline from HK which serves this route (But at a hugely marked up price). For a 2 hour flight, from the airport priority check-in, lounge access, to the wonderful 1-2-1 seat arrangement (flat bed), there is nothing to complain about. Crew were enthusiastic and pro-active. The menu has 3 choices, and a small but acceptable wine list. I feel for the price I paid, this is more than I had expected. If anything to pick it would be the food, it's not bad, but it is not yet very good, one little area to improve on. Priority luggage first the belt, I couldn't ask for more.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteOKA to HKG
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"ground staff were awful"

(Thailand)

My travel was PVG to BKK with a stop in HKG. Travel was on October 22nd 2016. The check in (about 2 pm) took 1 hour because they were changing my flight from PVG to HKG. The check in agent said don't worry the flight will not leave before 7 pm because of weather. The gate personnel and the flight notification board said go to gate, flight leaving at 3 pm. At gate, the personnel there had no idea what was happening and just said stay at the gate. They were not even airline personnel. I went to the lounge and called the airline. They said the plan was now a 7 pm departure, and the plane was still in HKG. The plane finally boarded at 8 pm. We then spent 4.5 hours parked at the ramp while the pilots waited for a takeoff slot. Finally arriving at 3 am in HKG (3 hours after my connection left). In HKG, the staff were very rude about rebooking and told me that I could wait until they were ready. Apparently they started work at 4 am, so we needed to wait. I was finally booked on a flight leaving to BKK at 1 pm. That flight was delayed until 2 pm. Then we were boarded and made to wait on the plane another 2 hours before takeoff. Arrived BKK about 6 pm. In short, the air staff were very good and the flights were fine. The ground staff were awful and seemed to have very little training or information. I travel a lot and decided to save a little money on this trip, but the ground service was the worst I have ever had. On a good note, The lounge in HKG was not bad at all.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePVG to BKK via HKG
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"staff were rude"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Flew Hong Kong Airlines from Hanoi to Hong Kong. Flight attendant rolled her eyes at me when I asked for a glass of red wine. It was a major mission to agree to this request. Staff were rude, dismissive and completely uninterested in providing any type of service. Not recommending this airline to anyone.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAN to HKG
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 89 Reviews