Top 100 Airports  

Hong Kong Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 78 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"calling card to win my business"

(United States)

Hong Kong to Beijing. 0740 departure on this return leg trip. On the inward trip for the long haul, wanted to change seats on their partner Hainan Airlines, as the inward seats 15 D/G were close to the lavatories etc. On checking in at HKG the agent issued our boarding tickets and lounge pass. I neglected to ask her prior to issue to elect another seat assignment. She said there was availability to change. She would work on it and I should advise their lounge staff to finalize the change. Yeah, like that would happen. In being accustomed to CX's lounge offerings, I was hoping for the noodle bar, unfortunately not at HK Airlines. I did ask the lounge staff to assist, as advised. They said they would help. Their lounge was nice and had plenty to select. The lounge staff advised we could collect our new passes at the departure gate. Arrived at the departure gate and they had no information, but would check. The flight was now on airport hold. Gave the original passes back and said they would contact Beijing staff to assist. Flight was on time, again nice presentation and service. Breakfast, albeit a western choosing was excellent. Fresh, served piping hot and refills on coffee and juice. Arrived on time. On deplaning, much to my surprise a HK Airlines agent was at the end of the jet way with name cards for us. She not only had our new boarding passes, but lounge invitation cards to boot. She also pointed out the security and screening location. We were through the process in 20 minutes. Way to go! That's service and a great calling card to win my business.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHKG to PEK
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"overall a nice experience"

(United States)

Beijing to Hong Kong on Hong Kong Airlines A330. 20.00hrs departure Typical Beijing air control. Crowded and a bit delayed. Not the carriers fault. Only 1 hour behind, but would put us into HKG at 1230 and then to the hotel at 0200. In any case, my first time with Hong Kong Airlines. Boarded quickly, separate doors for business and economy cabins. Seat 15F middle of the aircraft aisle. Warm greeting and beverage offered. Got settled and offered a refill. Nice touch. Nice larger aircraft on the run compared to others. Fully lie flat seats. IFE had decent choices for the 3 hour flight. Full meal service - 3 choices. Beverages and nuts provided, meal served quickly. Refills on beverages without having to ask. Deserts were tasty and ample. English flawless and overall a nice experience. Give them a try
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePEK to HKG
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"deserves it's 4 star rating"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Gold Coast to Hong Kong via Cairns. Check in at Gold Coast was less than 5 minutes. No Lounge Service for Business Class. Left on time for 2.5 hr flight to Cairns. Only a muffin and drink served for breakfast but crew were very attentive. 1.5 hour stop in Cairns. Relatively full flight to HKG. 2 full meal services - 1 hour out of Cairns and 90 minutes before landing. Choice of 3 meals each service with 1 western and 2 chinese. Meals were good portions and very tasty. Plenty of drinks available with crew constantly checking for refills. Daytime flight so didn't take advantage of the fully flat seats, which are very comfortable. AVOD was limited with (understandably) mainly chinese TV shows. Crew were very professional and chatty making for a very pleasant flight. Hong Kong Airlines Business Class deserves it's 4 star rating.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteOOL to HKG via CNS
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"recommend enthusiastically"

(United States)

The flight from Hong Kong to Hanoi is relatively short, but Hong Kong Airlines made it an entirely pleasant experience. I had checked my luggage through from TPE so I can't comment on their check-in staff, but the service and efficiency of the personnel at their lounge and at the gate were exemplary. The flight boarded, departed, and arrived on-time. There were only 2 passengers in business class, so we were attended to cheerfully and personally. HX loses some points for no alcoholic beverage service pre-departure and for very limited selection inflight. Also, the seats are somewhat outdated, but the pillows and blankets were particularly nice, and overall the experience was comfortable. Both meal choices were appealing, and the purser made sure our wine glasses were refilled throughout the flight. I can recommend HX business class enthusiastically for anyone flying into or out of Hong Kong.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHKG to HAN
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"cabin staff are very kind"

(China)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Beijing with Hong Kong Airlines. It is is a fresh airline company, but the price is cheap and we could enjoy flying with this airline. Their cabin staff are very kind and they could speak Chinese, English and Cantonese. The food was excellent, especially the dessert.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to PEK
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"cabin crew were nice and friendly"

(Macau)

Verified Review | This was my first time flying with Hong Kong Airlines. Before buying the tickets I read some negative reviews about them but their price was so attractive that I decided to give it a try. Flight from Hong Kong to Bali was on time, departing from the recently inaugurated new terminal at the Hong Kong airport. It was an A300 and there was no entertainment on board. The return flight was an A330 and had entertainment, not a lot of movie selection but had some movies that were quite recent. Seats were comfortable, food was ok and the cabin crew were nice and friendly. The return flight had a little delay but some of the time was recovered on air. During my stay in Bali, my daughter had a barotrauma in both ears and couldn’t fly as scheduled. My husband contacted Hong Kong Airlines office in Hong Kong and after a few misunderstandings, and after sending all the proofs from the hospital we managed to change my flight and my daughter’s at no extra cost. I was impressed with their customer service when an emergency arises. Luckily everything went well and I really need to thank the airline.
AircraftA300-330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDPS to HKG
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"definitely fly them again"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | This was an early flight from Hong Kong to Beijing. Hong Kong Airlines flight was from the newly opened Midfield Concourse Terminal. It was still relatively quiet when I reached the terminal. Boarding was called around 7am, and the queue was relatively long despite it was an early flight. Onboard, all seats are equipped with IFE. Choices and varieties of entertainment may not be as much as Cathay. The monitor of the IFE are not so advance as well. The design of this red cabin looks rather Chinese and conventional, nonetheless, I find the 31 inch seat pitch comfortable and roomy enough. The inflight service and meal are both superb. Cabin crew are friendly and well trained. This was my first flight with Hong Kong Airlines. Given it's low fare, I will definitely fly them again.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to PEK
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"a short comfortable flight"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Taipei to Hong Kong with Hong Kong Airlines was a short, comfortable flight. I checked in online and bag drop took about five minutes. There was a slight delay, of about 30 minutes, on the flight. Boarding was very quick as there weren't that many people, considering the size of the aircraft. There was a small meal and drinks service which was quite surprising for such a short flight. The seats were comfortable enough, for such a short flight, and the legroom was adequate enough.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTPE to HKG
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"first and last time"

(United States)

We arrived at Hong Kong Airport at 0550 for a 0750 flight to Bangkok. Upon checking in at the check in counter was told our flights had been changed to 2205 due to overbooking. We had got up at 4am to arrive at the airport on time. I asked why our flights had been changed when I was holding in my hand a printed copy of my flight reservations. Was told by check in counter and supervisors that flights are overbooked and nothing we can do. They put us on standby for the next two flights, also overbooked, to no avail. We were at Hong Kong Airport for 16 hours waiting for our flight, they gave us each 60 Hong Kong Dollar meal vouchers but would do nothing else for us. I asked to be put on another airline and was told I would have to pay for that if I wanted to. This is the first and last time I will fly Hong Kong Airlines.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to BKK
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"service is nice as a whole"

(China)

I was attracted to the promotion of Hong Kong Airlines recently flying from Shanghai to Bangkok via Hongkong. Hongkong Airlines fleet includes A320, and A330-200/300 Business class seats of Shanghai to Hongkong leg are separate and laid flat to 180 degree, arranged 1-2-1. Business class in A333 is same, but what different is an extra bar in it that was not used during our short flight and seats are arranged by 2-2-2 type. What's more, the seats cannot be laid flat totally. Cabin service is nice as a whole. About food and beverage, I can say that is very good - 2 or 3 kinds of entree choice on menus. Red wine and white wine can be provided to me, but no champagne. By the way, view of Lounge in Hong Kong airport is wonderful, and the location is so good to watch planes on airport.
AircraftA330-200/300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePVG to BKK via HKG
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 78 Reviews