flydubai

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 160 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"would not recommend"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dubai to Entebbe. Seats were uncomfortable. The flight was not full when asked to sit in empty seats was told have to pay $200 to switch seats in same cabin. Worst customer service from flight attendant my son asked for head phone and the attendant never came back to us. Seems ignorant customer service. One thing for sure would not recommend this airline to anyone even it is cheap.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Entebbe
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"simple and elegant concept"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Khartoum to Dubai in a newish B737-800 aircraft in good condition and with fresh interior in bright colours. The business class section was 4 rows in a 2-2 configuration. Only 4 passengers in business made high level attendance from 2 FAs committed to business class. The separation to economy class was made by blue, semi-transparent plexi-glass which is the most elegant solution I have seen for this separation. Further, a rope prevented economy class passengers to encroach the business section. Flight was one hour delayed but not a big issue as I had 3 hours transit in DXB anyway. Lounge access granted in Khartoum to a modest, 3rd party, alcohol-deserted lounge used mainly by Emirates. My first time with Flydubai. When in business it almost appears to be a legacy carrier. Got the ticket during a campaign (FZ and CZ combined) for a fraction of the price of an economy class ticket. KRT is not an easy airport for transfers. They have very, very few transit passengers and there are no routines or clear modality for transitors apart from getting personal attention from officers who instantly seize your passport and let you wait clueless for hours. Onboard, FAs were very communicative and professional. One staff attendant came from Qatar Airways and claimed to be much happier with Flydubai. Food very tasty and 3 options of hot food given. I had all options and they were all very good and presented in a simpler way than for 5 star airlines – but that suited me well – simple and elegant concept. Drinks were of limited choices but good – inc. champagne and decent wines (only 2 wine options). Arrived at the remote Terminal 2 in Dubai but was transferred quickly to the main Terminal 1 for transit. IFE easy to operate with large touch screens. For the money spent (promotional ticket) I can only rate the experience as 10/10 minus 1 for the delay (though it did not affect me).
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKhartoum to Dubai
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"delayed because of a sandstorm"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | I flew from DXB to BAH via FZ023. Flight was due to depart at 7.15am UAE time. Flight got delayed because of a sandstorm. Unfortunately, there was no announcement from the flight crew explaining or apologizing for the delay. Landed in Bahrain without any other events. Cabin Crew were very helpful with passengers finding extra space for the carry-on bags.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Bahrain
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I felt totally deceived"

(Czech Republic)

Trip Verified | A few days ago, I was flying from Prague to Singapore via Dubai and I purposefully chose to fly with Emirates to try a new carrier on that route as it was recommended to me by a friend who had a great experience with them in the past. However, on the day of the flight, I was unpleasantly surprised to find out that the 5.5hr flight from PRG to DXB both ways was serviced by flydubai. As the flight number was starting with EK like all Emirates flights do, and as I did not see any warning about it while purchasing the ticket online, I automatically assumed the whole trip would be with Emirates. Oh boy was I shocked when I found out - I felt totally deceived! And to clarify, I had 3 other options I could have chosen from in the same price category and flight time for that route, but I chose this "Emirates" one to give it a try (as I have flown the same route before with Turkish, Qatar, Lufthansa/SIA) - so yes, the excuse by flydubai for all their mediocre and below standard service as their "efforts to keep prices low" is just completely wrong - it's not cheap at all. And on a side note, a lady I met in Dubai that was taking the same flight back with flydubai felt exactly the same way and said she would never fly with them again and that she also did not know it was going to be with them either - she was outraged. So, what was the flight like? A complete dread and discomfort, which I would certainly not expect for such a long flight. If it was 1-1.5 hour flight, it would be perhaps acceptable, but certainly not for this long flights - I am shocked that they are not banned from operating such long flights given that they are simply not suited for them. In short, there was much lesser legroom and smaller seats compared to the Emirates ones, no food or drinks provided on the whole trip (unless for a few exceptions - I was one of them and I received a 1.5dl of water in a plastic box and a veggie lasagne and that was it - and it's not like I couldn't have bought something from their onboard shop - the thing is that I was so disgruntled with their services that I did not want to contribute them any more money. And btw I would much rather pay those few extra bucks at the point of buying the ticket for the comfort of having everything included in the price - again, I felt like I was cheated once more, because I do expect much better services on long flights). All the entertainment was paid (again, I would much rather pay those few bucks beforehand to have it included) and no wifi. It was all just a pain. Another huge downside about the experience was the flydubai's distant and extremely low quality terminal 2 in Dubai, where all their flights fly from. Not only that it took 45mins to get to the main Emirates terminal on my way to SG, but it also did not feel safe and the service was really bad - we took some shabby buses that seemed to be for workers at the airport and the drivers were not too compelled to work and to drive us there, so it took another 20mins just waiting on them. Also, on my way back, I was looking forward to doing some last-minute souvenir shopping for my family in the modern part of the airport - and nope, that part of the airport was not possible to access if you were leaving from T2, so I went directly there and it was just bad - one large dirty hallway, and small duty free. Never again - not them, nor Emirates - for the fear that part of the flight would be with flydubai again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePrague to Singapore via Dubai
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Bad planning and bad systems"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Dubai to Baku. Poor online booking and check-in experience. Online Card Payment process for mastercard failed and customer service wanted me to go to a machine to pay by cash. Card processing retried and worked with Visa. But had to ring again to get email ticket receipt. Queues at airport at 10.30 am were growing clearly because of insufficient staff planning for checkin desks. Fast bag drop took over 30mins. At one point queue of over 30 people and only 1 person on desks. 1.5 hours before flight time. Fast bag drop process seems very slow. Bad planning and bad systems.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Baku
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"below the standard"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Dubai to Bishkek. This flight with flydubai was really below the standard of a typical budget airline. As a budget airline, I expected the seats and terminal to be cramped, no PTV or any entertainment, service, food or beverages. These are expected from an low rated budget airlines such as flydubai. However, the problem was that the crews were extremely unfriendly and could not even be bothered to help passengers to put away the carry-on bags on the overhead compartments. There were a lot of elderly passengers and those with children who really needed assistance from the crew. Instead the crew just chatted among themselves while they watched the fare paying customers struggled with their bags. The chatting continued for the entire flight - only briefly interrupted by the safety demonstration. The minute the safety demonstration was completed, the chatting started again. This chatting then continued at the back service area of the plane for the entire 4.5h. Even when all the lights were dimmed (an overnight flight), the crews' chatting continued to disturb passengers who could use some sleep. To the crews stationed at the back should be ashamed for letting down your passengers and kept chatting for 4.5 hours - something that I did not expect even from the worst budget airlines.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Bishkek
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"is not a budget airline"

(Pakistan)

Trip Verified | Karachi to Baku via Dubai. This is not a budget airline, in fact it is the worst airline I have ever flown. The nightmare started as I started to book my and my wife’s ticket on line. The opening cost was Rs 52,200. Well I was happy for that. Then began the nightmare. For every seat I chose I had to pay. Then down the page I had to dish out “administrative charges”. Before flying I had to sent this ticket to their local office to put the stamp of “ok to board, that cost another Rs 500 each. So the total cost came to Rs 59000 per ticket. On our flight to Baku I noticed they didn’t provide a pillow even, what to talk of other facilities. On our return flight the flight from Baku to Dubai was late by 45 minutes and the flight from Dubai to Karachi was late by 2 hours. Horrible experience.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKarachi to Baku via Dubai
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"my experience was a good one"

(Bahrain)

Trip Verified | After reading the reviews on this site, I was dreading my day trip to Dubai on flydubai. I normally travel business class so economy class on a budget airline was new to me. My feelings were entirely misplaced. I had booked extra legroom seats at around $26 per sector. I checked in online and was able to go straight through to the departures area. As a Visa Infinite card holder, I was able to use the excellent Dilmun Lounge. The flight boarded and departed on time. The extra legroom made a huge difference with the added bonus that my row was empty. As many reviewers have mentioned, all amenities onboard are on a “pay per use” basis. I do not see any problem with this. The flight arrived on time though the taxi to DXB terminal 2 was long and we had to wait for 5 planes to depart before crossing a knives runway. The bus ride to the terminal was long. I cheekily went straight through the “fast track” passport control and was not challenged. The return flight was much the same. The checkin area looked chaotic so I was glad that I had checked in online. Spent some time in the very crowded Marhaba Lounge, courtesy of my Visa Infinite Card. The lounge would have been great but was packed. Boarding was quick and once again, I had a whole row to myself. The flight departed on time and arrived early into Bahrain. I was though passport control (fast track) and customs within 5 minutes. In summary, my experience was a good one: My plane (as with all flydubai’s planes) was relatively new. The crew were extremely friendly and helpful. Although the legroom looks a bit tight, it is no more so than most other airlines (including Lufthansa and BA). Anyone who wants extra legroom can purchase an extra legroom seat. I have no issue with Buy on Board - this is becoming the standard, even with legacy carriers. A good trip and my experience seems to be different from those of other reviewers.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBahrain to Dubai
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"it should be cheaper!"

(France)

Trip Verified | Dubai to Kiev. This low cost company is pretty good. Seats in the plane are comfortable. There is some basic entertainment system. Staff is helpful. Of course extra charges for everything: food, movies, etc. Since it low cost it should be cheaper! I don't understand why prices are similar to bigger airlines.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Kiev
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never thought of looting customers"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Dubai to Trivandrum. I am writing this to bring it to your attention about an experience happened to me and my brother while we are travelling. We went to India on 9th of Feb 2018 and our final destination was Trivandrum. We were occupying 19th row seats. After take off, may be after 1.30 mins my brother went to toilet and fainted and fell down due to some health issues. He is a diabetic and Blood pressure patient. Suddenly crew members with the help of other passengers given him some water and Juices. He seems to be ok for the next 30 mins. After that he told me that he is not feeling well. Suddenly he went to the backside toilet and on his way it self he started vomiting. Some fellow passengers also got disturbed and i was the one who was cleaning all this. I really dont care as he is my brother. The issue happened afterwards, as he was requesting to lay down and they offered him a seat in business class for 10 mins. He was taken to the business class and i approached the attendant who was there to allow him to stay there as I can see half of the business class seats were empty. But he said that its full and I told him that i am ready to pay as i cant keep him there in that situation. There was only 1 hour 30 minutes remaining for landing and he asked me whether you want to pay for this. I said if you allows him to stay back then its fine then he said no. Then i agreed to pay the cost of 2200 AED which was collected from my card after 15 mins. After this I went to check my brother and he was asking me to keep the passenger who was sitting with us in business class so that he can lay down in my lap. So he was taking rest in my lap having issues to do proper breathing. After landing we arranged the airport doctor and took directly to the hospital. Here i would like to raise some points, what help you are offering if their is any emergency situation like this. If that person is not well at all, at least a courtesy to keep in a comfy place were he can get some rest. I know that staff have incentives for upgrades and up selling but you need to educate your staffs not to use their up selling skills at an emergency. Today this happened to me and my brother and tomorrow to anyone else. I am not disputing for the payment which i have done as he took the payment with all my permission. I don't think anyone will think about the money when your brother in that condition. In my past 12 years experience in hospitality i have gone through lots of emergency situations, but me or my management never thought of looting customers at that time. I made an official complain regarding this and after 16 long days, i just received a reply from them saying that sorry to inform that we are not able to refund your money.
AircraftA 320 or 340
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Trivandrum
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no