Vote Now  

fastjet

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 17 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"cheap and nasty airline"

(Tanzania)

Verified Review | Kilimanjaro to Dar es Salaam. Fastjet is a terrible airline. Normally my flights are cancelled but I had to go with them as I did not have any other option. I paid for 40k luggage as I did not want any issues, but of course got to the airport and staff were rude as one bag was a couple kg over 20kg whilst my other bag was only 13kg. All up on was under 40kg by a number of kgs. Staff were rude with zero professionalism - especially one of the fastjet staff. My two son's flights got cancelled so we're stuck on their way to boarding school. Of course the staff of fastjet did nothing. Super cheap and nasty airline.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKilimanjaro to Dar es Salaam
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"avoid Fastjet completely"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | My honeymoon flights from Johannesburg to Zanzibar was cancelled 2 weeks before the planned flight, with no warning. I got an sms saying that my flights were cancelled and that they have been moved to different dates, 5 days after my initial flight plan. Obviously this is completely unacceptable for a flight to a honeymoon destination. You cannot change your wedding date and cannot change expensive resorts bookings which was made months in advance. My whole honeymoon length and location was based around this low cost flight and I will never make the mistake again to use Fastjet. I had to buy new flights on another airline for a very large amount, and also depart on a date and time which is not preferred, but the only flights available. I have not received any money back for extra costs incurred from FastJet. Only a refund for the flight which is very cheap so worthless. Any proper airline has to compensate you for extra cost incurred due to situations which is completely their fault. This is their response: :"We understand that because of the delay there was a negative cost implication on yourself however since delays are possibilities which we advise you of pre-flight, we do not offer compensation or guarantee reimbursements" I did not even have a delay, my flight was cancelled. They could not even respond personally, just this mass generated email. I advise all other people to avoid Fastjet completely.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to ZNZ via DAR
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight was severely delayed"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Johannesburg to Zanzibar via Dar es salaam. fastjet is a shocking airline. Flew with them to and from our honeymoon destination, they changed the flight times with no warning. The return flight was severely delayed causing us to miss all connections, no communication with passengers at all. Also, snack prices are outrageous. The staff onboard were polite and professional. Get something more expensive if you want a reliable airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to ZNZ via DAR
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"really disappointed with fastjet"

(Netherlands)

I'm really dissapointed with fastjet. For our honeymoon, my husband and I booked a short trip from Johannesburg to Zanzibar, from 18-23 of November. We're both very busy so we cannot take more days off or travel on other days. We booked this months in advance. Then, last week I got the e-mail from fastjet announcing that our return ticket has been changed from the 23 to the 20 November. At this point, I was already very much disappointed (because we only had a 2-day honeymoon and if I wanted to go away for just the weekend I would have stayed in SA) but Fastjet said it was the only option and by now, other tickets were already much more expensive so we couldn't afford anything else. This weekend I got another e-mail, saying the flight had been changed again. We would now depart on the 27 November, 1 week later! And there was not even a return ticket. This was just impossible for us, so we were forced to cancel the trip. Unfortunately, because of such a late notice from fastjet, we cannot cancel the hotel reservations in Zanzibar anymore. Customer service declined my request for a refund of the money which, honestly, is not even close to compensating the disappointment of not having the honeymoon we so much looked forward to.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to ZNZ
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

" a comedy of errors"

(Uruguay)

My wife and I booked round trip with fastjet from Johannesburg to Zanzibar because they were the only direct service, so we could avoid immigration/customs and switching flights in Dar es Salaam (airport hell). A month later, fastjet informed us they were cancelling the segment from Dar to Zanzibar and would have us change to Precision Air (a misnomer if ever there was one!) in Dar. For the return trip, they were going to shoehorn us into a Cessna Caravan (what a downgrade from an A319!). Instead, I paid for a one-way ticket with Precision Air to avoid this. The connection in Dar on the outbound trip was pandemonium, and the boarding in Dar for the return flight to Joburg was a comedy of errors and hugely unprofessional behaviour, as the boarding agents engaged in a heated argument in front of all the passengers. Despite the fact I had paid extra for premium seats at the front, we were stuck at the back and I had to insist that we be moved to the seats I had paid for. When we left the plane after arrival in Joburg, the cabin staff were nowhere in sight, to thank us for flying with them. In short, hell will freeze over before we go near fastjet again!
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDAR to JNB
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"I was really satisfied with all"

(Slovakia)

Verified Review | Victoria Falls to Johannesburg. The flight was really calm and well organized. Actually it was faster than originally planned. Well, what do you need from low fare flight? Get to final destination as soon as possible, feel comfortable and safe and pleasant cabin crew. In my case, all listed met my expectations and I was really satisfied with all. Thank you fastjet, you were valuable part of my lifetime trip!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVFA to JNB
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"made mistake booking ticket"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | I booked a ticket online and made the mistake of selecting Dar es Salaam instead of Zanzibar. I was told it's fine and that I can get off in Zanzibar and then sort the return flight of 26 June out at the Fastjet Officeses. Subsequently I spent a half a day of my holiday at the office. My flight wrongly booked leaves Dar Es Salaam on Sunday just after 8:00. That would mean that we would have to book another flight through to Dar Es Salaam and pay for an additional nights accommodation. Worse is that we lose another night of our holiday. Fastjet has another flight on Sunday with seats available but advised us that they can not accommodate us by allowing us to pay in the additional Zanzibar to Dar Es Salaam fair and to move us to this flight without charging us more than what a complete new full price ticket for the whole trip is.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to ZNZ
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"flight is cancelled"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Mbeya to Dar es Salaam with fastjet. Arriving on Mbeya airport, already checked in and about 15 minutes before actually take off the flight is cancelled. Being the only flight coming in and flying out from Mbeya, the cancellation must be known much earlier, Anyway, Fastjet thank you for the service and missing the connection flight to Holland without refunding the damage.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMBI to DAR
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"a serious disappointment"

(Kenya)

Verified Review | Nairobi to Dar es Salaam with fastjet. The Cabin Crew were the only good thing on this flight. I work in hospitality and the customer service we received was appalling. The only reason we knew that there was a flight time change was because I read every email twice even if they are reminders. Otherwise, the email with the flight change of time was sent as a Flight Reminder with no actual indication that there is a change of timing. When I called the sales office at 4am (when customer service is meant to open) to query if this was correct and not a typing mistake, she said yes, when I asked if there was any way to change the flight, as our party needed to be in Nairobi by 11.00 pm latest, she said no very rudely, then I asked if she could assist us with another airline and while speaking to her, she cut the phone. When calling back to speak to her again, we were on hold for 9 minutes before giving up. When trying to discuss this issue at Dar Es Salam airport, the attended stared at their computer not even acknowledging the fact I was talking to them, with no response after explaining what happened. When checking in, our attended didn’t look up once. I asked a few questions with no acknowledgement. After asking the same question four time, my friend told me to give up as it is clear no one was interested to help. Even though the flight was not full, we were seated on the very last row, where the seats were so small, I couldn't fit in them. Luckily our Cabin Crew were very nice and let me move, and spoke to another passenger about swapping. We had planned a surprise birthday party for one of my friends when dropping her home, as she just turned 25, however as we didn't get back to our homes until 1.30am, everyone had to leave, and the entire surprise was ruined. Luckily again, the cabin crew were nice and made a announcement on the overhead. Honestly the entire experience with this airline apart from the cabin crew is a serious disappointment.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNBO to DAR
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"plane was new and comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

fastjet is a low cost airline, so if you are used to this type of airline, nothing will surprise you. We flew from Kilimanjaro to Dar es Salaam and paid for 1 piece of baggage which wasn't expensive. The plane was new and comfortable compared to other airlines on this route. The check-in was smooth, boarding quite fast as well. Flight left on time and arrived a bit ahead of schedule. Nothing really to complain about.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJRO to DAR
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 17 Reviews