Top 100 Airlines  

Comair

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 31 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"excellent flight overall"

(South Africa)

Excellent flight overall from Port Elizabeth to Johannesburg. Boarding at Port Elizabeth was quick and efficient and we departed before schedule, also arriving about 10 minutes early. Plane half full and no one sitting in the middle seat next to me so had the window for myself. Got served a light snack of meat pie (vegetarian option was finished, but irrelevant to me) and a drink. Only Comair and SAA who still serve complimentary snacks in economy class in South Africa. Landing was smooth and baggage reclaim quick. Definitely enjoy flying with Comair.
AircraftBoeing 737-400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePLZ to JNB
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"overall reasonable product"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Johannesburg to Durban return on Comair (British Airways franchise). Check in and bad drop at JNB took ages. Staff at counters slow and could not care less. Security was a breeze. Slow Lounge had good selection of food and drink but was overcrowded on a Friday evening. Departure delayed at the 11th hour and flight left over an hour late. Flight operated by a very old Boeing 737-400. Smooth flight. Good crew. Bags out fast at DUR. Return check in fast at DUR. Slow lounge at DUR much better presented. Return flight left on time. Crew on flight some what indifferent. Flight arrived on time into JNB and bag outs fast. Overall reasonable product.
AircraftBoeing 737-400 / 800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to DUR
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"most unreliable airline"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Johannesburg to Durban. British Airways (Comair) are going all out to prove themselves as the most unreliable airline. Yet another delay - this time because the plane is still being serviced. I understand technical problems, but services are scheduled and should not become my problem impacting on a full day of meetings scheduled for my destination city. Back to SAA!
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to DUR
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"a bit underwhelmed"

(South Africa)

Victoria Falls to Johannesburg, first time on Comair and a bit underwhelmed. Flight was full and FA's served a sandwich and drinks but seemed bored. Aircraft was a Boeing 737-400 showing its age. Flight left and arrived on time so no complaints for that. Would I use them again, yes only if I have to.
AircraftBoeing 737-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVFA to JNB
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"a really nice experience"

(United Kingdom)

Cape Town to Port Elizabeth via Johannesburg. First time using Comair domestically in South Africa, marketed as British Airways. Check in at CPT quick and easy using my BA frequent flier status I was offered lounge access at the 'Slow Lounge' which I must say is pretty good. Flight boarded on time, a new Boeing 737-800, crew very polite and seating good with space, a snack served on the 1 hr 50 min flight! Bags off quickly on landing. JNB-PLZ check in again very quick and polite again offered the use of the Slow Lounge which is one of the best I've been in. Boarding on to a pretty old 737-400, not full so lots of room the aircraft kept clean and looked in good shape a small hot meal offered by a nice crew. Departed and arrived on time, a really nice experience on both flights.
AircraftBoeing 737-800/400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCPT to PLZ via JNB
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"luggage was damaged"

(South Africa)

Johannesburg to Cape Town with Comair. Our row on the flight was skipped when dinner was served and when it was brought to the cabin controller attention, it was already time for us to make our descend. I was famished and exhausted when I arrived home shortly before 10pm. Only to discover my luggage was damaged when the lock was forcefully removed. Not only did the person forcefully remove a combination lock and break my luggage zip in process, but he/she had the audacity to take an intimate item. The call center for baggage claims and lost / damaged property was also clueless and I've been the one to contact them the whole time, while they don't even have the decency to confirm receipt of my mail or contact me to tell me that they'll look into the matter or what the next steps would be for me to take. With the lack of service and bad experience I had on this flight, never again would I book for myself or anyone else.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to CPT
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"would try to avoid this airline"

(Germany)

I had high expectation as Comair flies under the banner of British Airways and considers itself a full-service airline. Reality was different. Cramped seats, very dirty cabin, the staff were the unfriendliest I have experienced, perhaps they had just a bad day but they seemed not to be smiling at all. Food was average. Forgot a picture onboard which was fortunately handed over to me later, thank you for that. If possible I would try to avoid this airline and go for Kulula or South African Airways.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Johannesburg
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"unable to check in online"

(United Kingdom)

Victoria Falls to Johannesburg with Comair, and booked business class because economy full. The biggest gripe is that I was unable to check in online for return journey. As a result, there was total chaos at airport. Long queues are very poor in this day and age,
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteVictoria Falls to Johannesburg
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Comair customer review

(South Africa)

BA operated by Comair is my preferred airline - they always offer customer service above the state owned alternative. Except that yesterday I noticed the counter customer service was despairingly absent at JNB. I have made my best efforts to inform them of this.
AircraftBoeing 737-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteJNB to DUR
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Comair customer review

(Australia)

I recently took four Comair (British Airways) flights in Zimbabwe and South Africa. While the aircraft appeared a little tired, I was impressed with the business class cabin service, catering was good for the series of short flights undertaken and seemed on a par with short-haul Qantas 737-800 international service. If requesting a seat during the booking process, I recommend selecting 1 D E or F. While there are three seats on this side of the aircraft rarely is the middle seat used. These seats are exit row and can, depending on the aircraft configuration, have up to almost a metre of legroom. All Business seats behind row 1 appear only to have legroom akin to economy class (which begs the question why pay so much extra for no more legroom). I fly business class regularly and would happily fly Comair again when next in Africa, and BA when travelling in Europe.
AircraftBoeing 737-400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteVictoria Falls to Cape Town via Johannesburg
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 31 Reviews