Blue Islands

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 46 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"An utter disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | An utter disgrace. Flight departed Jersey late as heavy fog over Southampton was making landing impossible. A break in the weather meant that the pilots decided to give it a try. As it transpired, by the time we reached Southampton, the fog had resettled and we weren't going to be able to land. The flight returned to Jersey. En route back to our point of origin, the cabin crew told passengers that we'd be 'looked after' by Blue Islands on our return to Jersey and that taxis and overnight accommodation would be provided by the airline. However, when we returned to Jersey Airport, there was not a single Blue Islands employee to be found. The Swissport employee who rebooked the passengers said that provision of taxis and hotels was (understandably) not a Swissport obligation, and this meant that Blue Islands had not only failed to provide the taxis and accommodation promised, but didn't even have the courtesy to send an employee to inform us of the same. We were abandoned at the airport and left to fend for ourselves. When I made a complaint, various Blue Islands' staff denied that we had been abandoned at the airport because Swissport had rebooked us and that Swissport were 'representing' Blue Islands. Being rebooked and then left in the airport without the taxis and accommodation promised, and then being left to fend for ourselves doesn't equal abandonment in the world of Blue Islands. I did wonder what I would have done if I didn't have the money for a hotel or the means to get there. I couldn't tell if anyone from Blue Islands could have cared less as they didn't even have the courage to find an employee to 'front up' to a very angry group of 20 passengers who had been lied to then abandoned. You can't actually rate this level of 'customer service' because there wasn't any. That Blue Islands couldn't land in Southampton due to fog is not their fault. To return the passengers to Jersey and then just leave us in the airport is absolutely unforgivable though. I can honestly say that in c.40 years of flying worldwide I've never experienced anything like this. As you can probably guess, some two months after the event I remain disgusted with the way the passengers on this flight were treated. Blue Islands told me that the cabin crew shouldn't have promised taxis and accommodation. Maybe so, but it didn't stop them from doing so - repeatedly - and when you make that commitment, you are obliged to follow it through if you want to be taken seriously as a company that has any interest in the concept of customer service. Blue Islands didn't follow through, they just ran away. This behaviour was shameless and exacerbated by Blue Islands showing absolutely no contrition whatsoever and claiming that being rebooked by Swissport somehow did not equal abandonment by BI - not only a nonsensical argument, but an offensive one. An absolute joke of an 'airline'. If they had any competition on the routes they fly then they'd be out of business in a fortnight if their behaviour on the night in question was the norm. Shocking. Offensive, uncaring and ignorant. Avoid.
AircraftATR 42-320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJersey to Southampton
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"we left about seven hours late"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | I hate to say this, but my opinion of Blue Islands has really changed after my flight to Southampton. It started by the airport announcing that my 7am flight was delayed to 9.40am due to a late inbound aircraft. Once 9.40 came around, we were informed that the flight was delayed until 10.50am, due to 'bad weather' (there was light mist but lots of other aircraft were arriving in fine). Soon after that, we were informed that Blue Islands had no idea when our plane was going to arrive, and told to wait until 10.30 for new information. The 'new information' was infact just that the new information would be coming at 11.30am. And then 'next info at 12.30', and then 'next info at 13.00'. Absolutely no Blue Islands or Flybe staff around in the terminal. Then, our plane lands, but the delay still keeps on being pushed back. In total, we left about seven hours late. On the way back we were delayed about half an hour, which isn't too bad. The aircraft we were on were clearly very old and tired. There were some loose pieces of metal on the cabin walls, and the seats had small damage, and overall the cabin was fairly discoloured and dirty. Cabin Crew were very friendly however. I usually am fine with Blue Islands and have no problems with the Flybe franchise, however the service was awful. I would try and avoid Blue Islands in the future.
AircraftATR 72-500
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJersey to Southampton
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"sold its soul to the devil"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Guernsey to Southampton. Such a huge disappointment that what used to be a great little Channel Island based airline has now merged with FlyBe. A route that was already relatively expensive, for the air miles travelled, has now become excessive due to the unreasonable way that FlyBe charge for absolutely every aspect of your booking, including booking seats (how else do they propose we travel in an aeroplane?) and taking luggage. This has greatly increased the ticket prices (on a recent review of tickets for later in 2017, I found this to have worked out at approximately £100 increase, roughly a third increase!), which I think is disgraceful. What used to be a small, customer focused company appears to have sold its soul to the devil and been swallowed up by the greedy big boys and I will have to think twice about who we fly with in future: such a shame as I always chose Blue Islands previously, for so many positive reasons.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuernsey to Southampton
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"had to drop to Flybe standards"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Southampton to Guernsey. Really disappointing now that they are incorporated to Flybe. Previously flew this route often with Blue Islands, always good service and on time. Now, impossible to book with free baggage, prices increased, less staff at Southampton and bundled in with other rest of Flybe flights so long check in queues. I understand that airlines need to adapt and move with the times, but why Blue Islands have had to drop to Flybe standards I don't know. Onboard service ok, but expensive/ poor selection food and drink. Would rather have the old lounges and tiny planes back! Would recommend flying Aurigny from London or Bristol instead!
AircraftATR32
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSOU to GCI
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight was not operating"

(Luxembourg)

Verified Review | I booked flights for my boss and 2 colleagues with Blue Islands to fly to Jersey on Tuesday 23/5/16 on a flight due to depart at 14.40. I booked the flights online on 27/4/16 and checked them in online on 22/5/16. When they arrived at London City on Tuesday they were told by airport staff that Blue Islands have changed to their summer schedule and that the 14.40 flight does not operate any longer. Not only was I able to book the flights less than a month ago, I was also able to check them in online and print boarding passes for a flight that was not operating. We received no message whatsoever that the schedule had changed and in fact they are still selling this flight on their website. I've had no response to date to any of my emails or voicemail messages left with their 'Customer Care' department. My colleagues also informed me that there is no Blue Islands desk in London City Airport.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLCY to JER
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"expect much better customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Absolutely appalling. Blue Islands changed my booking less than 24 hours before the flight from Bristol to Jersey by 3 hours on the way out 4 hours on my return journey. They didn't have the courtesy to call me to ensure that I received this important message, and did not apologise in their email and neither have they apologised subsequently, despite writing a complaint. The actual flight was very loud, but apart from that is adequate. But with such high prices you would expect much better customer service and it appears as this is completely lacking.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBristol to Jersey
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"very unhelpful offers"

(United Kingdom)

Saturday afternoon phone call to say Monday's Blue Islands flight (23rd May) from London City to Jersey was cancelled. No emails, no messages, lucky I picked up the phone call. Very unhelpful offers of other flights far too early or far too late. Shambolic, trip ruined, what a rubbish airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLCY to JER
Date FlownMay 2016
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I could not check in online"

(United Kingdom)

Blue Islands Airline has a poor Website and I could not check in online. No problem with British Airways, EasyJet or Flybe. Phoned up Blue Island Customer services. Dreadful customer service, just left waiting on hold. Only one carrier between Jersey and Guernsey, so much for competition. The customer services representative told me to queue up at the airport for a boarding pass.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJER to GCI
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"would fly with them again"

(United Kingdom)

Jersey to Guernsey. When I was looking for flights to Guernsey, I originally chose Flybe, but the return trip was cancelled so I was forced to go Blue Islands. The staff at check in were very friendly and efficient and the lounge was fantastic with free coffee and biscuits. ATR42-320 cabin was lovely with comfortable seats and flight was on time. The only thing I didn't like was the price. It was a 10-15 minute flight, but the fare was £60 per person per way! And they charge £29 per person per way to get from Jersey to London! I would fly with them again.
AircraftATR 42-320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJER to GCI
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"company in grave and terminal distress"

(United Kingdom)

My Blue Islands Southampton to Guernsey flight was cancelled due to fog last Sunday which was bad weather luck. I emailed Blue Island that evening to cancel my Monday return flight and to ask for a refund. I also tried phoning but gave up after 20 minutes in the queue. Today is Wednesday and I am in Guernsey Airport. They have not yet replied to my email. When I go to their website they state that I am unable to 'manage my booking' for that cancelled flight, and there is no refund option on the page. I have tried phoning Blue Island again today several times, and after a 10 minute wait I left my phone number for a call back. None so far. It makes no difference which dialling menu option I choose, I get the same braying idiot recorded message telling me I'm in a queue. Actually I think the recorded message would be more truthful if it told me that there's no one there to answer my call. Now, I would have thought I could find a Blue Islands employee at Guernsey airport but there isn't one. Their customer service desk is manned by Aurigny who are able only to give me the same phone number and email address for Blue Islands. There is a courtesy phone, but this only reaches the same braying idiot. My experience has many of the characteristics of finding a company in grave and terminal distress.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSouthampton to Guernsey
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 46 Reviews