Top 100 Airlines  

Alaska Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 296 reviews
7/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"Slowest website I have ever seen"

(United States)

Phoenix to Seattle. Alaska Airlines flights are normally ok. Slowest website I have ever seen. I acquired a Alaska visa card 2 months ago with the 30,000 miles offer. I was supposed to spend $1000 within 90 days to get the miles. Have spent in excess of $2,000 and no mileage credit yet. If you can contact them they will blame Bank of America who will in turn say they only provide information to Alaska on the "billing cycle" so if that does not come around before 90 days I do not get the bonus mileage. I have a mileage account with a credit union and purchases are posted within a week. Will discontinue the card if not straightened out soon. Cannot believe a major airline has a website this slow and hard to navigate.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePHX to SEA
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they've been going downhill"

(United States)

Verified Review | Newark to Yakima. Alaska Airlines is awful. I've primarily flown with them for the past 25 years and they've been going downhill. They don't allow passengers on board during the boarding time, close doors early at airports, charge exorbitant fees for luggage (food, liquor, etc). They tell people to go to the customer service desk, which isn't even open, don't give options when they won't allow you on a flight that they've randomly decided you can't board because they've closed the doors early, and offer you a 50$ refund when you need to rent a car to dive over 4 hours because of it. They don't offer hotel stays, free luggage, or anything. This has gone from being the best airline, to being the worst airline, over the last 25 years. They have a "20 minute" baggage guarantee, which always takes longer and they never honor. They charge 100$ for a 20 min flight because they're the only airline that flies out of my small town. I refuse to fly with them anymore.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEWR to YKM
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"surprised by the good service"

(United States)

Verified Review | This was my first time flying Alaska Airlines and I was happily surprised by the good service flying from Tampa to Seattle. I was offered free drinks twice and got free pretzels. All the staff were nice and when my carry on bag didn't fit in the stowage area, the steward checked it in for me free. It was a pleasant flight - free charging, free wifi and $10 entertainment tablet rental (which was worth it in my opinion). Great airline.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTPA to SEA
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"staff were helpful and polite"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Had a very comfortable flight with Alaska Airlines from Anchorage to Seattle. The staff were helpful and polite. The pilot gave a great commentary about the sights from the plane although it was often hard to hear him. Food and service were excellent. Seat was comfortable and we left Anchorage on time. Would highly recommend.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteANC to SEA
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"great service from wonderful crew"

(United States)

Verified Review | Oakland, California to Honolulu, Hawaii. Great service from the wonderful crew, who provided excellent service from the pre-flight safety instructions, to the cocktail service, to the meals and entertainment. I would happily recommend this airline to others and can't wait to fly first class in Alaska Airlines next time I travel. Travel with my handicapped mother was not a problem as the airport staff meet her with a wheelchair and helped with all of our luggage and travel arrangements to the hotel. Thanks Alaska!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteOAK to HNL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"1st class is not worth the money"

(United States)

Los Angeles to Puerto Vallarta. I'm going to say Alaska Airlines 1st class is not worth the money for a number of reasons. Here's my observations from Seat 4D. No immediate service. No drinks/snacks as people are boarding. A usual perk of 1st. Personal entertainment devices aren't always available. (Even when they say you have your own). There is no difference in extra leg room between 1st and economy plus. Just 2 seats a row instead of 3, which is nice, but not for the price difference. Service onboard is not first class quality when compared to Delta, Virgin, Air New Zealand (to name a few). Not even close. Food, drinks, services just not that special. Alaska sells off vacant 1st class seats at the last moment if they're available for $50. This is painful. Great for the person who gets a $1000 seat for $50 - not good when you pay a premium for peace and quiet. But, it explains why they don't care about good service in 1st. Alaska needs to step it up. A "wider" seat just isn't worth the premium price.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteLAX to PVR
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"service on board was excellent"

(United States)

Verified Review | Albuquerque to Seattle return, Boeing 737-900. First Class. My new favorite airline in the US. Great experience. New aircraft. Very comfortable seating, we were in row 2. The service on board was excellent both ways. They serve actual, hot food on proper crockery with real cutlery. Chicken with rice to Seattle and a Tortellini to Albuquerque. Flight deck would announce points of interest and of course, they did a great job in getting us there and back safely. The Wi-Fi on board worked very well. I would rate Alaska Airlines as the best airline in the US for domestic travel.
AircraftBoeing 737-900
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteABQ to SEA
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"decent crew and good value"

(United States)

AS 3380, Portland - San Jose, operated by Skywest. Check in at PDX was extremely smooth and efficient, so we had an hour to spare before boarding. Boarding was out of the cramped concourse A and began 10 minutes late with no explanation. Once aboard, the E175 was in good condition and was extremely spacious, even more so than the 737 on the outbound flight, although the overhead bins were small. A weight balance issue resulted in several passengers in the last few rows having to move forward, this took a while as FA's had to recruit volunteers and people were stubborn. Fortunately, we still managed to push back within 15 minutes of scheduled departure and were airborne after a short taxi. Cabin crew were nice, but they could have managed the timing of the short flight better. They spent the first half of the flight chatting in the galley. A small snack with the beverage was a nice touch, but it didn't start until halfway through the flight. Literally right after they finished the beverage service, a flight attendant came through with a trash bag when most people were not even finished, so most had to sit with trash on their traytables while the FA's resumed chatting in the galley. They had more than enough time to get the service done as the FA's on the outbound leg easily served an aircraft twice the size and we still had 20 minutes after the service during cruise. Finally, during final approach, they realized we needed them to collect the rubbish and did so. We landed in San Jose 20 minutes ahead of schedule, and they made sure to brag about Alaska's on-time performance flightstats award. Overall, AS will get you from Point A to B reliably with decent crew and good value, but they shouldn't sell themselves as a major legacy airline when they are really just a decent budget airline. While AS is certainly not bad, I usually try to book with Jetblue or Virgin America due to their combination of a low fare with great service. In summary, I recommend AS for shorter flights, but beware for transcons or Hawaii.
AircraftEmbraer 175
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePDX to SJC
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"snacks provided on short flights"

(Canada)

Edmonton to Los Angeles via Seatlle. I found Alaska Airlines to be fairly average, snacks were provided on short flights, baggage allowance was ok, inflight selection of movies was good, cabin crew were decent, the flight arrived on time and the same is true for the for the arrival time.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYEG to LAX via SEA
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"service attentive, sociable and friendly"

(United States)

Verified Review | My husband and I flew Alaska Airlines from Seattle to Juneau. We were upgraded to the first class because of my husband's frequent flyer's status. There was one main flight attendant (assisted by another occasionally). Staff member was awesome. PA announcements were serious and yet funny so much so I actually paid attention. Service was attentive, sociable and friendly. The food was great. I had been impressed with Alaska Airlines and their services, and still am.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteSEA to JNU
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes