Vote Now  

Alaska Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 331 reviews
7/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"they had the family split up"

(Canada)

Verified Review | We booked our flights in July 2016 with Alaska. It's February 2017. From Kona to Seattle they had the family split up including our 5 year old. They did not care at all (that's the way flights work she said they have to make money). Then the flight attendant prosseded to give my 5 year old pop every time he would ask but my wife and I were not sitting in same row and could not see. My wife got to sit beside 2 people that had to use belt extensions - it was fun for her. When we got to Seattle they had seats for us - one for me but the kids and wife they oversold. They know when you book flights how old people are so the idea of splitting up a mother or father and a 5 year old is ridiculous. The other part is how do you oversell a seat when you book it 8 months early.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKelowna to Kona via Seattle
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Alaska is my third choice"

(United States)

Verified Review | Seattle to Los Angeles. Alaska Airlines has gotten better over the years but still has a ways to go. Many of their flights are still late and they generally do an awful job of updating the electronic screens at the gates. The screen will say a flight is boarding in 5 minutes when there isn't even a plane at the gate. It's also comical how Alaska charges most of their passengers to check a bag but then offers to do it for free as nearly every flight has issues with overhead bin space. So if you're flying Alaska check in online and choose zero bags to check. A screen or two later Alaska will usually offer to let you check your carry-on for free. And even if they don't, they almost certainly will offer to do so at the gate. Why not offer a free checked bag to everyone if you're going to offer that anyway? It's not fair to those who paid to check their bags. On the plus side their newest planes (the "next gen" 737-800 and -900) have more generous legroom and power at your seat. On the downside you have to use your own device for inflight entertainment. Alaska could learn something from Virgin American (which they now own). They do offer free (for now) streaming shows over WiFi but it's cumbersome, buggy, and you have to click past several screens trying to sell you GoGo inflight WiFi. While they offer a decent selection of paid food and beverages they have only a single food and beverage cart for the entire plane and a 737-900 is a long plane. So it takes something like 45 minutes for the service to work its way from the front to the back. But my biggest complaint about Alaska is they have many flights that are chronically late, yet they refuse to change the scheduled times. Even the flight crews have no explanation why they don't change the scheduled times. Southwest flies many of the same routes and puts Alaska to shame with their on-time record on those flights. And if anything goes wrong, like bad weather (we recently had snow in Seattle, for example) look out as Alaska turns into total chaos - especially at SeaTac. Wait times exceed one hour for calling them, lines stretch way down the hall from their customer service counters, their website falls on its face from the load, etc. And if you do stand in line for hours trying to rebook your cancelled, or infinitely delayed, flight, you're usually offered nothing useful and a joke of a customer care package. Basically they just seem not to care as they already have your money. Alaska charges at least $125 to make any changes to most flights and it's often horrifically expensive if you have to make a last minute change. This is in stark contrast to Southwest that charges no penalties for changes. Alaska's boarding is annoying with several "tiers" of preboarding which often amounts to at least a third of the plane with many of those people still blocking the aisles once they start general boarding. Again, Southwest is a far more pleasant and efficient experience. But airlines like United are even worse in this regard. Overall, for west coast travel I often have my pick of Southwest, Virgin America, Alaska, Delta, and United. And I try to book flights in that order of priority. Alaska is my third choice after Southwest and Virgin.
AircraftBoeing 737-900
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Los Angeles
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"should be ashamed of overcharging"

(United States)

Unverified | Seattle to Anchorage. Had to change flight to a later one with open seats. They wanted an additional 400 plus dollars as a change fee. I wish that the Seattle to Anchorage flight was covered by multiple carriers. Alaska Airlines has a monopoly on this route and can do whatever they want and I'm tired of them. You are a terrible airline and should be ashamed of overcharging.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Anchorage
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"agent was amazing"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Jose to Vancouver via Seattle. The Alaska Airlines agent was amazing! Our flight was cancelled and she went above and beyond to rebook us and get a direct flight to Vancouver from San Fran. She could have easily brushed us off but chose to go the extra mile to make sure our vacation wasn't disrupted. We will definitely book with Alaska Airlines in the future. Thanks so much!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Jose to Vancouver via Seattle
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"cabin crew are great"

(United States)

Verified Review | This was a round trip from Philadelphia to Seattle and back with Alaska Airlines. It's my first time traveling domestically in US. I usually travel internationally and first time with Alaska Airlines. It was really nice service and airplanes were near new. Especially the B737-900. More leg room and inflight entertainment wifi was really nice. Cabin crew are great. Really friendly.
AircraftB oeing 737-900
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSEA to PHL
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"cabin crew are really great"

(United States)

Verified Review | This was a round trip from Philadelphia to Seattle and back. Its my first time traveling domestically in US. I usually travel internationally, and my first time in Alaska airlines. It was really nice service and airplanes were near new. Especially Boeing 737-900. More leg room and inflight entertainment wifi was really nice. Cabin crew are really great. Really friendly. One thing I noticed that stands out really well is the appearance. They all look natural than over made up, which is really pleasing.
AircraftBoeing 737-900
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Philadelphia
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"ended loyal use of Alaska Airlines"

(United States)

Unverified | So disappointed after my most recent flying experience. Normally customer care with Alaska has been great, but not this time. I flew with a certified service animal from Dallas to Fairbanks via Seattle. On the plane from Dallas to Seattle my service animal (a large dog) were asked to deboard because they had sold the seat next to me. Both the gate agent and the reservations agent I spoke with encouraged me to buy an extra seat on the Seattle to Fairbanks flight to ensure there was room and stated a refund would be issued with no problems if there were open seats left on the flight. Upon calling for my refund because there were open seats, the customer care agent was extremely rude, said they would refund it only this once and never do that again. She proceeded to hang up on me and not confirm the refund. That topped off with the "don't bother me" attitude of half my flight attendants has ended my loyal use of Alaska Airlines.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDallas to Fairbanks via Seattle
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Thanks for nothing"

(United States)

Verified Review | Portland to Bellingham. Cancelled flight and they thought a meal voucher makes up for missing my family for another day. Ruined the end of a long business trip. Confusing process to get my baggage, find a hotel and get home at some point the next day. Thanks for nothing Alaska Airlines.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Bellingham
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not fly this airline again"

(United States)

Verified Review | Kailua Kona to Seattle. I'm so unimpressed with Alaska Airlines, and will never fly with them again. We didn't get the help we needed when our flight was canceled on January 1, 2017. I was told there were no flights out of Boise to Kona, which was false. I was able to book through United. Then, on my return flight we had zero explanation as to why we were not flying out on time. I tried to ask a staff to get me some water and she refused. The lack of care and unanswered questions is why I will not fly this airline again. I flew United to Kona and was very impressed with their service, not so much Alaska - even though I've been frequent flyer for 5 years.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteKOA to SEA
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Ground staff very friendly"

(Taiwan)

Verified Review | Eugene to Seattle. Flight was slightly delayed due to late arriving aircraft. Ground staff was very friendly but had to correct their own announcements. I am not sure if it was because they were nervous, but it seemed strange that they couldn't simply explain the new takeoff time in a simple and straightforward manner. I hate to dwell on this, however, as everything else went off without a hitch. No drink or snack service due to bumpy weather conditions.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEUG to SEA
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes