Alaska Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 373 reviews
7/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"Alaska did what they could"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Vancouver to Seattle. Outbound from YVR to SEA was a good flight, until touchdown at Sea-tac. The flight departed and arrived on time, except it gated late. Reason being was another aircraft was getting deiced at our gate. The flight gated late by about 20 minutes - airport's problem. Otherwise, pretty solid flight; good attitude from cabin crew; cabin lights shut off in the duration of the flight so people could sleep; no food or drinks served due to the shortness of in-air time; clean interior. Inbound from SEA to YVR in the same afternoon was cancelled due to snow. (This is an Alaska flight operated by Horizon Air.) Went to the counter and was told to go to customer service - which had about a 2 hour line. They cancelled a lot of flights. Wanting to come home I booked a one-way with AC. After my return to YVR, I received a text from AS that I got rebooked on an 11pm flight to YVR, which I no longer need. I called Alaska, lined up and got a call back after an hour. I asked and received a refund for the return flight to my credit card, pain-free. Thank you Alaska. Overall a rather worrisome experience, but I think the weather was to blame. Alaska did what they could to serve the customer, which is much appreciated.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Seattle
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"it was absolutely shocking"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Portland to Honolulu in first class on 17 October and it was absolutely shocking. Do not call this first class because it is the worst class that seats are cramped and the plane noisy, the inflight entertainment is so bad just save your money and go with another carrier. When I complained online to their customer feedback that is also rigged and it won't allow you to give them a bad rating that is why I came here so you will all know what they are like. I am so disappointed about that flight.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RoutePortland to Honolulu
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no one was empathetic or even cared"

(United States)

Verified Review | Orange County to San Francisco. My first and last time flying Alaska Airlines. Our flight was supposed to leave at 8:47am, then delayed twice because of San Francisco grounding international flights (yet we were domestic trip, but Alaska Airlines parks in the international terminals at SFO). When delayed for a 3rd time, the attendant at the booth stated the next flight will not leave until 2:50pm. We confirmed with attendant to make sure there will be no chance for an earlier flight and he stated "No, there will be no earlier flight then 2:50pm and to check on Alaska Airline app or website for updates." It was 10:45am, so we decided to leave airport to grab lunch and come back for 2:50pm flight (we were not the only passengers that left airport). While at lunch my boyfriend checked website and app (which did not work) on his phone, so I checked my phone and it stated 11:30am flight boarding. We decided to call 800# customer service to get clarification. Customer Service Rep stated they show 11:30am flight, we explained our situation and all they said was "You should have not left the airport". I called the airport directly to confirm and make sure Alaska Airlines knew what they were talking about, at this point we have lost all faith on anything Alaska Airlines were telling us. The airport called to the gate for us and confirmed they are boarding and will taking off at 12pm. We called back to Alaska Airlines and explained again our situation to another customer service rep. Alaska Airlines rep scheduled us to be on the next flight to SFO at 4:30pm. We asked if they could do anything for us (move us up 1st class, comp drink tickets, etc). No, as delay was not Alaska Airlines fault it was SFO, yet they did not even listen that it was their attendant who gave us false time. We arrive back at the airport by 3:30pm and plane was delayed 2 more times to 5:50pm because crew was stuck in SFO and flying down. We get into SFO by 8pm (an hour flight that took almost 11 hours of our time)! Not one Alaska Airlines employee was empathetic or even cared.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOrange County to San Francisco
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Any other airline is better"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Portland to Edmonton via Seattle. My flight to Seattle from Portland was delayed over an hour. No explanation or compensation was offered. No drinks or snacks were offered on this flight. Upon late arrival in Seattle my flight to Edmonton was delayed as well. Again no explanation offered. For my entire round trip on Alaska airlines my flights were either cancelled outright or delayed. Not one flight was on time. Very poorly run company. I would not recommend Alaska airlines to anyone. Any other airline is better.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Edmonton via Seattle
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"customer service was terrible"

(United States)

Verified Review | Seattle to Los Angeles. I had a flight that was originally scheduled to depart at 740pm. I had a 1 hour and 21 minute layover and was supposed depart on Virgin America from LA to Boston. The flight out of Seattle was delayed until 8.45pm. I got out of the plane at 1124pm and missed the 1126 flight to Boston. The crew on the flight said there would be a representative available for those connecting with Virgin. There was no representative around for questions. Virgin America told me I would need to find an Alaska representative. I looked all over the terminal and finally found 2 at Gate 69A. They initially tried to help, but since it was almost 12 by then they were eager to leave for the night. They told me to go to Customer Service next door and someone would help me. I waited 10 minutes and no one showed up and the other workers left for the night. I had to resort to calling customer service. They informed me that I was rebooked for a 7.50am flight with Virgin America the next morning. I was never made aware of that or given options. They also would not give me a hotel claiming it was due to air traffic control and they were not responsible. So I got stuck at the airport for the night. The customer service was terrible. Honestly, I fly a lot. I had really liked flying with Alaska previously and was going to fly more with them. I even got their credit card. I had even talked with my friends about how I preferred Alaska, but after this experience I have changed my mind. I have some flights with some partner airlines coming up, but I no longer have a preference to fly with Alaska. I also will be changing credit cards in the near future. I no longer need to accumulate points with an airline I am not pleased with.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Los Angeles
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"with poor customer service"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Edmonton to Portland via Seattle. My flight at 6am was cancelled and rescheduled to 1 pm. Then my 1 pm flight was cancelled as well and I was placed on a flight the next day that had an additional stop and got me to Portland more than 24 hours later than when I originally booked. The response from Alaska Airlines was not adequate enough in my opinion. I spent 45 min on the phone with them fixing this issue. I would not recommend flying Alaska Airlines to anyone. Many previous flights have been cancelled for me as well. Overall a poorly run company with poor customer service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Portland via Seattle
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"the outstanding assistance"

(United States)

Verified Review | Redmond to Denver. I wanted to acknowledge the outstanding assistance I received from a booking agent of the Alaska Air Seattle, WA. office in making last minute reservations for two separate trips I was planning to take. The agent patiently walked me through the process to book a flight from Redmond, OR to Denver, CO. on October 3rd, 2017. She also assisted me in booking a flight for my wife and I round trip from Portland, OR to Fort Myers, FL departing on April 24th, 2018 and returning May 19th, 2018. She was friendly and polite throughout our entire contact and serves as a great representative to Alaska Airlines which is why I continue to choose Alaska AL whenever available.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRedmond to Denver
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"unhappy with the service"

(United States)

Verified Review | Flew Seattle to Sacramento. First they bumped us from premium when they downgraded our plane, then they moved my large child onto my lap and I was forced to buy a new ticket at last minute prices (4x what I originally paid). Then they boarded and we sat on the runway forever before they returned to the gate to let someone on. How important did that person think they were. If they were sick or something I'd be happy to accommodate them but they seemed decidedly not in special circumstances, then we sat again for 20 minutes. By the time we took off we were supposed to have landed. My poor daughter was worked by the stress of the situation and I ran out of snacks and tricks. Seriously unhappy with the service.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteSeattle to Sacramento
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst customer service"

(United States)

Verified Review | New York to Lihue via Seattle. I booked a trip to Hawaii on Alaska almost 1 year before the flight date. This week, Alaska decided to change all of their flights, turning what would have been an 11 hour trip to New york into a 20+ hour trip with an overnight layover. I am flying with a 9 year old. When I called two days ago the agent had offered to fix my trip by routing us from Ogg->LAX->JFK. I called back today (2 days later) to take them up on that offer, and the agent said she would be unable to do that, and that I'd have to buy a whole new ticket. This is ridiculous on multiple levels. First, I paid $3000 for the voucher I used, which was donated by an Alaska executive at a Parkinson's charity auction. I am happy to track down and document all the details of that. Second, It is the airline schedule change that is causing this issue. Third, Alaska Airlines offered me this remedy two days ago, which was not ideal, and are now retracting that offer. Frankly, I'm speechless. This is the worst customer service experience I've had in a long time. Probably ever. And this is just the return flight. For the outgoing flight, they've change the schedule so that my connection now departs before I arrive. There is another flight from JFK (rather than Newark) that would solve this issue, but they are unwilling to make that change, due to some technicality in their system -- even though these airports are 20miles apart. See the picture below. It's a total joke.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteNew York to Lihue via Seattle
Date FlownJune 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"go rebook with customer service"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Tried Alaska Airlines once, never again. Flying from Phoenix to Edmonton with a connection in Seattle. Phoenix to Seattle left on time, but was 25 minutes late. We got to our gate in Seattle 10 minutes before our flight was supposed to leave to have them say sorry, go rebook with customer service. It was their mistake and they still wouldn't let us on the plane that was at the gate. Will never fly or recommend this airline.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhoenix to Edmonton via Seattle
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no