Airline of the Year  

Alaska Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 353 reviews
7/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"very helpful, great service"

(Norway)

Verified Review | Alaska Airlines flight from Redmond to Portland, and was then headed to Oslo, Norway after that. I only checked my luggage to Portland and thought I had to get it and check it again. A very nice lady checked the possibilities to check my luggage all the way, and I did not even ask for it. I did not have my flight numbers ready but she just fixed it all for me and was so very helpful. Great service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRedmond to Portland
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"a top notch experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | Detroit to Seattle. Phenomenal service, excellent food. This is my first time flying Alaska, and I chose them because they're partners with Virgin, it was my best flight in a quite a while. This plane was older and the interior was showing wear, so I was a little concerned about what to expect - worry not, you're in for a top notch experience with Alaska Airlines. Service was super friendly and attentive, meals were designed by Seattle chef Tom Douglas (I skipped the entree & dessert, so I can't comment on that) but the salad was very nice, dinner smelled wonderful (pesto), dessert was gorgeous, and the beverages never stopped flowing. I've read reviews that Alaska's first class chairs are uncomfortable due to pitch, I didn't find this to be the case - I found them very comfy, but this was only a 4-5 hour flight. The only slight negative was I had planned to work in-flight and the barely there internet connection made that impossible - they use GoGo and it runs $24 for an in flight pass. I'm not sure if the wifi problems were a GoGo issue, a hardware issue, or due to some other factor. I didn't mind though, it was nice to take a break and enjoy some on board entertainment. Even better - the cost for this first class nonstop flight was only around $100 more than the next best option - an economy carrier with seating headaches, no meal service, and connections amounting to twice the travel time! Alaska Airlines - my new favorite carrier!.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteDetroit to Seattle
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"cabin crew were all very nice"

(France)

Verified Review | My first experience with Alaska Airlines flying from Portland to San Francisco. Not happy with ground staff who charged me 75 dollars for a slightly overweight check-in luggage. I was travelling with a First class ticket and with my baby. On board, cabin crew were all very nice. The purser provided us with an outstanding service. It was highly appreciated specially as I was travelling with a very young baby.
AircraftBoeing 737-900
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RoutePortland to San Francisco
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"outstanding Alaskan Airlines team"

(United States)

Verified Review | Bozeman to Anchorage via Portland / Seattle. I'm blown away at how far this company has gone to help me get home. My booking agent took me on a wild ride with a 6 hour layover in Portland and a 11 hour layover in Seattle. When checking my bag the agent said no this won't do we can't do this to you and told me to speak with my gate agent for help. As busy as my gate agent was she worked with 3 others to get my flight from Seattle to Anchorage bumped up shortening my layover. They told me to get on standby in Portland asap to avoid this 6 hour layover. On Memorial Day I got the last seat. I'm heading to Seattle 5 hours early and might get home to my dogs tonight if standby works in Seattle. I want to thank the outstanding Alaskan Airlines team for helping me get home the quickest most affordable way possible. Customer for life.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBozeman to Anchorage via Portland / Seattle
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"how service is meant to be"

(United States)

Verified Review | A direct return flight to Seattle from Boston. Both ways were on time, which is generally regarded as mission impossible in the Boston Logan airport - no idea how they manage to pull it. The return flight landed half an hour early which was very much appreciated, considering that it was almost midnight. Alaska guarantees that the bags are delivered to the carousel 20 minutes from the moment the disembarkation starts, both times it was faster than that. Drinks were served 3 times during the 5 and half hour flight. The selection of meals for purchase was generally so so, but no demerit points for that since it's expected of all airlines. They did give a free cookie. Ample space between seats. The wifi was sluggish at times, but the entertainment package was fine. The crew were efficient and polite. But it's the service that made me write the review making sure the airline gets a deserved praise. After the outbound flight, our bag was nowhere to be found. We filed a report while a very patient and nice customer service lady told us what may be happening. She also said that the bag may arrive while we are filing the report as it may have been misdirected elsewhere in the airport. This is exactly what happened. Her apologetic and helpful attitude was already compensating for the inconvenience. However, we were given $50 discount off the next flight. On the flight back, something started dripping on me from above. It turned out some kind of saline solution from another passenger's bag (makes me happy that they prohibit carrying acids and dangerous chemicals!). The crew rushed with napkins, cleaned everything up, made sure the dripping stopped within minutes, and we got all the alcohol and the food for free. This is how the airline service is meant to be. Well done, Alaska!
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Seattle
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"very friendly and accommodating"

(United States)

Verified Review | We flew from Detroit to Seattle to Oakland and then finally to Maui, all flights were Alaska Airlines and I was very impressed. I am one of those people that are afraid of flying but never once did I feel unsafe. The flight attendants were very friendly and accommodating. The only complaint I would have is probably the same for all airlines, it is just so cramped and when flying 5 hours becomes very uncomfortable. I will definitely recommend Alaska Air to anyone looking for a great airline.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDetroit to Maui
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Another great experience"

(United States)

Unverified | Anchorage to Portland. Another great experience on the best airline in the Pacific NW if not the USA. The flight down to Portland was just great, a redeye. I sat with two other Veterans so we were able to spend some time comparing our service activities, places, people and things. The flight was as good as could be hoped for - clean plane, wonderful crew and on time to boot! The flight to Chicago was perfect in all respects. I was moved to First and sat next to a young lady who works for Alaska. We spoke about a number of subjects and I inquired about her time with the airline. She said she is very pleased to be with them in the reservations department. I told her I am a Gold member and really enjoy the flights I have had these past seven years. I spoke with two of the flight attendants and thanked them for their obvious hard work and great attitudes. Again, the flight was smooth, great service and fine food. I could not have asked for more!
AircraftBoeing 737-800/900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteANC to ORD via PDX
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"doesn't recognize my itinerary"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Francisco to Matzitlan via Los Angeles. Alaska and Virgin America are merged except for computers. I can't even post a review on alaskalistens because the form doesn't recognize my itinerary. I booked thru Alaska Airlines and they put me on Virgin America for the SFO to LAX leg. When I got to SFO they couldn't book my luggage to Mexico. The counter agent observed or booking was stupid. We told him Alaska booked it this way. First leg ended in LAX, point to point. So our luggage could book thru. After three levels of supervisor and 45 minutes the ticket agent figured a way to get the luggage to Mexico but advised us to check in Mexico to avoid the issue returning. No agent in Mexico would take responsibility for the issue. As a consequence when we got to LAX on the return we had to shelp our bags from terminal 6 (Alaska) to terminal (3) Virgin to recheck them in. Took so long we missed our flight to San Francisco. We are long time Alaska users with a credit card and a mileage plan. Very disappointed. If they try to put you on Virgin for one leg be forewarned that they haven't worked out all the kinks is the merger. And I couldn't even make this statement to Alaska direct because the company doesn't acknowledge an SFO to Matzitlan itinerary using Virgin for one leg.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSFO to Matzitlan via Los Angeles
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Really nice employees"

(United States)

Verified Review | Albuquerque to Portland via Seattle. Surprisingly awesome. Really nice employees on and off the plane, timely, great landing, option to check carry on bags for free when the flight was full, preassigned seats, relaxed boarding, free texting and entertainment via gogoinflight, and good cookies.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAlbuquerque to Portland via Seattle
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"customer service agent very rude"

(United States)

Verified Review | Alaska Airlines is the worst that I have flown on. Not only did they give up my seat from Seattle to Anchorage, the gate employee and the customer service agent was very rude. They didn't offer anything to fix the problem and rebooked me for a flight 6 hours later than my original, middle seat, after I have been flying for about 18 hours.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Anchorage
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no