Alaska Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 423 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"had the best time"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My husband and I flew home from Orlando to Seattle on Monday night on Alaska flight 19 from MCO to SEA and had the best time! The flight crew were very accommodating and joked around with us each time they came by our row, messing with us about our drink orders. My husband and I are pretty fun people so we really enjoyed the playfulness on such a long flight. This was our first time flying in the premium section and the extra 4 inches of leg room really makes a difference! Plus, you get a free checked bag as well as complimentary drinks the whole flight. I always fly Alaska when I fly and have yet to have a bad experience and will continue to fly Alaska any time I can.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteOrlando to Seattle
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"have a lot to improve on."

(United States)

Trip Verified | Las Vegas to New York JFK. I’m currently writing this review while I’m on flight. This company have a lot to improve on. First and foremost they should have stated that for passenger that siting on row 8 and 9 (behind and front of emergency exit) that their seats can’t recline! It’s a 5 hours flight. You expect me to sit straight for the whole time? I booked this flight on October of 2017, which is 6 months in advance and they didn’t bother to state the seat won’t recline? The passenger in front of me recline their seat all the way so it was even more difficult to move or to eat. The meal tray can’t even put all the way down, so I asked the flight attendant to help me ask the passenger in the front to move the seat up a little so I can eat. The flight attendant say she can’t do it because it’s the passenger right to recline all the way or changed seat but all seats are taken - so what about my rights? My rights were taken away from me. Although she later ask the passenger to move a little so I can put the tray down but I already felt disrespected. This is considered my rant and it is my first and last time I’m taking this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to New York JFK
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Alaska has a long way to go "

(United States)

Not Verified | Having been a dyed in the wool Virgin fan, I was eager to see how Alaska measured up. They didn't. I flew back from Philly on a Sunday evening (7:45 scheduled departure). The flight didn't take off until 10 p.m. I wasn't notified via text until 6:30 that it was delayed (same thing happened on the flight from SFO to Philly). Had I been notified a bit earlier, I could have stayed and had dinner with my son before going to the airport. How is it passengers aren't notified sooner than an hour before the flight that there are system wide delays due to air traffic control issues in Philly that had been an issue for hours on both flights? Worse yet, I flew First Class and was looking forward to seeing how it matched up with Virgin. Sadly, no comparison at least no in this flight. While the flight attendant was good, they seemed totally unprepared for passengers. He had to go to the back to get mixers each time. Dinner was a mess. I got the vegetarian entree I didn't order, followed 25 minutes later by part of my original order which was stone cold. Perhaps it was because they transition isn't yet complete, but regardless, Alaska has a long way to go before earning my family's loyalty.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RoutePhiladelphia to San Francisco
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly with Alaska again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Fort Lauderdale to San Francisco. I have never flown with Alaska Airlines before. I had heard good things and was looking forward to my direct flight home from a week long vacation. Unfortunately however, I had a terrible experience. Before we took off, the flight was delayed several times. The lack of information from Alaska staff was the worst I have experienced. During the initial two and a half hour delay the only announcement that had been made said "The flight will be delayed by 80 minutes due to weather, which is good news compared to what I was hearing." Alaska staff seemed surprised when people came up to the desk with frustration. After boarding three hours late and being requested to buckle seat belts, we were told we'd be off the ground asap, max 30 minutes. The flight took off 80 minutes later with absolutely no further announcement. Once up in the air, my seat did not go back. My screen brightness buttons did not work. My headphone jack did not work. There was no USB charger. And the wifi did not connect for the entire six hour flight. If all this wasn't bad enough, Alaska flight staff then decided to offer double shot free alcohol to a clearly unstable gentleman sitting in the seat closest to the exit row door. This decision put the safety of all passengers on board at risk. After 3-4 large drinks, the gentleman proceeded to shout loudly on at least 10 separate occasions, and continued to act erratically. After another gentleman on the exit row requested to be moved, he was left alone in the exit row to potentially open the emergency door in his inebriated state, or perform action in an emergency situation! My wife was seated directly in front of this now drunk, unstable man and genuinely feared for her safety. Finally the Pilot was summoned to threaten an emergency landing and FBI action. Quite frankly, my wife and I and several other passengers we talked to were just relieved to land safely. Needless to say we will never fly with Alaska again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFort Lauderdale to San Francisco
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"tried to do the best they could"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Flight San Francisco to Vancouver was delayed by 2 hours 45 minutes, causing me to miss a connecting flight- the last of the day. This was not Alaska's fault, as the delay was ordered by SFO air traffic control. Alaska offered me another flight the next day from SFO, which I declined and, after a 2nd call, a flight from SEA the same day with a different airline, which I accepted. But after boarding the plane a mechanical issue arose, which took another 3.5 hours to resolve and again I missed connecting flight. Throughout Alaska did their best to keep us informed, they apologized profusely and they offered us food vouchers and complimentary food and drink of their own, including alcohol. It seemed they tried to do the best they could under the circumstances.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Seattle
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"will not give me a credit"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Boston to Seattle. If I cancel an upcoming trip with Alaska Airlines they will not give me a credit, instead they ask for 125$ extra cancellation fee and fare difference that will be more expensive if you book a new tickets with all these penalties. In jetblue they give atl east minimum amount credit after their cancellation fees so I decided not to book a ticket from Alaska Airlines.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Seattle
Date FlownMay 2018
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"now that flight is delayed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New York JFK to Los Angeles. My flight was cancelled, so I had to take one the next day - now that flight is delayed multiple hours and the gate seats haven't even been built yet. No complimentary lounge or anything. They just expect us to sit in an unbuilt terminal for hours relaxing. Last time I ever attempt to fly with this airline. Too bad Virgin and them merged.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Los Angeles
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline I've flown"

(United States)

Trip Verified | LAX to San Francisco. After dealing with parking and the shuttle chaos of the LAX, my family arrived as they called for boarding to the counter. We were refused our paid in full passes, and told we couldn't board the flight. We could see the gate from the counter, and there wasn't a line for TSA. Any other airline I've flown on would accommodate for a small time crunch, but they flat out refused and proceeded to charge us $2004 for new tickets. The gate was still open for some time after double ticketing 3 adults and two 6 yo children. Again, we had plenty of time to casually proceed if we were allowed to. This is the worst airline I've flown, and they will rob you any chance they get.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to San Francisco
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never flying Alaska airlines again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My bag didn’t come with me on my flight from Fort Lauderdale to San Francisco for some reason and now I have to wait days before I can get my bag back. I don’t know how the airline found this acceptable and I didn’t once have anybody apologize to me and the 20 other people who also had their bags left behind. I’m never flying Alaska airlines again, it’s not worth the trouble.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFort Lauderdale to San Francisco
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"a much better experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Alaska Airlines has a morning flight from Pullman to Seattle leaving at 5am, allowing passengers to catch early flights departing SeaTac. I flew this route on a busy Monday morning, to make a connection to Atlanta. Security at Pullman Moscow Airport was extremely fast and allowed TSA PreCheck, so getting to the 5am flight went as well as it possibly could. My only complaint was that, in the front row of the Q400 prop plane, the seat was extremely cold from the boarding stairs (it was well below freezing) and never really heated up during the 1-hour flight. The connecting flight to ATL was a much better experience and more typical of Alaska Airlines.
AircraftBombardier Q400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePullman–Moscow to Atlanta via Seattle
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes